BBB Accredited Business since

Flores Air Conditioning, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (610) 264-7523 Fax: (610) 264-5929 View Additional Phone Numbers 259 Race St, Catasauqua, PA 18032 http://www.floresair.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Flores Air Conditioning, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Flores Air Conditioning, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Flores Air Conditioning, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1977 Business started: 08/01/1967 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dale Flores, Owner/President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dale Flores, Owner/President
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems


Additional Locations

  • 259 Race St

    Catasauqua, PA 18032

  • PO Box 147

    Catasauqua, PA 18032

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Flores for annual maintenance . The ac was working and the tech turned the thermostat to heat and the heat did not turn on so he attempted to bypass the thermostat to start the furnace. He did not seem too confident in what he was doing and said that the transformer was blow and he would have to replace it for a charge of 207.00. We both thought he may have been from a new thermostat that we had installed and he told me he could not adjust my thermostat but he could sell me on of his for 175.00. He also said that I should keep the power off because if I tried to turn the heat on again the transformer would probably blow again. So he put everything back together and rushed out of here quickly. I then contacted another company who came out and said the problem was definitely not the thermostat it was something else. The first tech did say to me that the transformer was hot and the second tech said that is normal. So now I have a bill for 306.00 and a new transformer that does not work and wondering how it happened in the first place when it worked before he showed up. Also the second tech told me the transformer part costs about 40.00 and Flores charged me 207.00. I called Flores and told them I would be happy to pay for the service call and the part but that the installation charge was robbery and my problem was not fixed. They told me the charge was valid and they would not negotiate and they would send my charge to collection and that is what they did with an additional 30.00.

Desired Settlement: I would like to pay them for the call 99.00 plus the 40.00 part

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

We will attempt to respond in a way that is clear and understandable. On September 26, 2013 Flores was contacted by the homeowner at **** ********* *** *********, PA. Annual maintenance was scheduled on the heat pump at the residence the following day, September 27, 2013.

According to the technician, when he arrived and switched the thermostat to heat, the system did not operate. At that time he determined that the control transformer was burnt. The customer informed him that they had replaced the thermostat themselves. It is Flores Air Conditioning policy to not install or correct problems from customer installed thermostats. The reason is that we have no way to know if the customer has purchased or installed the correct thermostat. Installing the incorrect thermostat or incorrectly installing a thermostat can result in a short in the control circuit which will short out the transformer.

The technician recommended that the transformer be replaced and offered to replace the thermostat. I have attached a copy of the invoice # ****** on which ***** ***** accepted the transformer replacement for $207 and declined to replace the thermostat. After replacing the transformer ** ***** was informed that to turn on the power would likely result in the failure of the new transformer.

The technician was unable to complete the annual maintenance and the customer was charged a service fee of $99 instead of the $140 for a heat pump check up. The customer said they would reinstall their old thermostat.

 The $207 for the transformer replacement is not just the part. It is also for the labor and all the other costs involved with that part, its replacement and the operating of a business.

Respectfully submitted,

***** ******

Service Manager

Flores Air Conditioning Inc

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I will never know if their tech caused the transformer to blow. I was put in a position of not really having a choice and felt very taken advantage of because I'm a woman. How do I know that the part they replaced was or was not working and that the replacement part was working. Why did he replace it if he knew it was not going to fix the problem? I think they were trying to get as much money as they could for this repair. So I paid for a part that did not repair the problem. I really want other customers to be aware of there questionable business practice. I also own a business and understand but you don't overcharge people and when they complain not even try to compromise. I want something posted on the bbb sight warning others.

Regards,

***** *****








Business Response:

To whom it may concern:

We stand by our original statement. We do not discriminate against anyone. Our fees are up front in writing before the work is done. Customer approval is also in writing at the agreed upon price before the work is done.

Respectfully submitted,

***** ******

Service Manager

Flores Air Conditioning Inc

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


Regards,

***** *****