BBB Accredited Business since

A-1 Heating & Air Conditioning Service Inc.

Phone: (703) 451-1100 Fax: (703) 941-6164 5641J General Washington Dr, Alexandria, VA 22312


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A-1 Heating & Air Conditioning Service Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A-1 Heating & Air Conditioning Service Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A-1 Heating & Air Conditioning Service Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 20, 2002 Business started: 02/02/1971 in VA Business incorporated 02/02/1971 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR)-VA
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Henrico VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8500
The number is 2705040335B.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dan Clarke, President Mr. Jay Krafft, Owner Ms. Laurie Mihalyi, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dan Clarke, President
Principal: Mr. Jay Krafft, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Laurie Mihalyi, Office Manager
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems


Additional Locations

  • 5641J General Washington Dr

    Alexandria, VA 22312

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is in reference to two major floods in our home due to an improperly functioning air conditioning unit. In the summer of 2013 a malfunction in the AC unit led to a flood causing costly damage. The problem was supposedly resolved by this company. However, in the summer of 2014, just about one year after the first flood, there was another flood. Both resulted in costly damage to carpeting, structure. While we understand that events such as these do occur, we are particularly upset that two of these events happened in about one year's time. In response to our frustrations, the company simply said that we should called to have someone to look at the unit earlier in the summer as it was expected that another incident may occur. However, no one told us about his imminent concern when the initial repair was made. Additionally, the company had always called in the past to inquire if we wanted a yearly check (and we have always adhered to proper maintenance). Yet, we did not receive any call from them about scheduling a check last summer. (They said that they sent an e-mail, despite the fact that I stated my preference was to be contacted by phone as that is my main method of communication). Furthermore, it seems apparent that the repair from the first incident was subpar as the same problem somehow reemerged just a year later. We believe that this company not only exhibited poor communication (why did they not call us to schedule a check if they knew it were so important) but remarkably poor service. We believe that to have two costly floods in the span of one year is unacceptable. Yet, this company remains completely indifferent.

Desired Settlement: As we said, we understand that mishaps do occur and we absorbed the cost of the first flood. However, given what we described above, we believe that this company should have covered some part of the repair after the second flood.

Business Response:

I can completely understand the homeowners frustration with having to deal with water damage and how disruptive it can be to their daily life in having to deal with the repairs and getting things back in order.  With regards to this particular home we have been servicing it under a maintenance program for over ten years now and they are very familiar with our service and the need to keep up with their scheduling of their maintenances that they prepay for under the maintenance program.  After the first incident in July of 2013, maintenance inspection had not been scheduled or performed yet despite reminder being sent, we did convince the homeowner to install two ******* drain line safety devices to help prevent this from happening in the future.  Unfortunately, again despite 2 reminders being sent this past year on 2 different occasions (July 23 and Sept. 11th) after not hearing from the customer to schedule their routine maintenance we did get and emergency call on September 16th that another water leak had occurred causing water damage again.  Unfortunately because the drain lines had not been cleaned as they would have had the routine maintenance been performed a sludge had formed which caused the ******* safety switch mechanism to fail as the slime had caused the float to be held down and not cut the unit off as they are designed to do.  The ******* device was wired correctly and was not the reason it failed to cut the unit as it is designed to do.

I understand this customers frustration as I mentioned but I fail to see what we as a company did to deserve this complaint honestly.  We have a customer whose home we have been in over 30 times since 2005 for routine maintenance, prompt emergency service, to install new equipment when needed, and for repairs to both of the systems in this house as well as for their humidifiers.  We solicited an email address several years ago as we do with all of our customers on a maintenance program so that we can send courtesy reminders to schedule their inspections and this email address was provided to us by this particular customer which we used prior to both water leak occurrences to remind them to call to schedule their inspections and with regards to this past year two notices were sent. 

These particular homeowners have been very loyal customers to our company for many years, they have a good working relationship with our technician John who has been servicing them all these years and they just last month renewed their contract for the upcoming year.  As a courtesy and a sign of our appreciation for their loyalty I will extend their contract on both systems for another year so that they not won't be renewable until January of 2017. 

 

3/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted A-1 to diagnose and fix a problem with my furnace. The furnace would not answer the call for heat from the thermostat unless the unit was turned off and on again. It would, sporadically turn on w/o the aforementioned reset, but would mostly turn off before the desired temperature was reached. The technician who was sent to perform the service could not diagnose the problem, saying that the unit was functioning normally. He recommended that I "may want to change the thermostat" and also that I "try not changing the temperature on the thermostat at all". Neither of these prospects sounded reasonable to me. In addition, he opined that the thermostat was in a "drafty" location, and that contributed to my problem. Four days later I called another company to diagnose and fix the same problem. When I met the technician, I gave him the same verbal description of the problem I gave A-1's technician. This person told me what he thought the problem was that was causing these symptoms. He did this before we went to the basement utility room that houses the furnace. That is, he had a clue without even looking at the unit. He told me that the flame sensor is probably dirty and needs to be cleaned. When dirty the sensor does not sense/inconsistently senses the flame, causing the unit to shut down for an extented period of time, before it tries again. When he got to the unit, he showed me that the sensor was indeed dirty. He unscrewed it, cleaned it with steel wool, and the problem was fixed within minutes. He also showed me how to read a code the furnace puts out, to diagnose future problems. I believe, A-1 sent an unqualified technician to my home who could not diagnose a common problem. This does not warrant a service charge. A woman who answered the phone when I called to complain refused to acknowledge inferior service, maintaining that she 'stood by her guy'. A message left with the Service Manager has not been answered.

Desired Settlement: Refund-Credit Card Credit

Business Response:

*** ****** I am responding to the complaint that was given ID # ******* as requested.  On Saturday January 25, 2014 my answering service received a call from the customer indicating that she had no heat and the message was relayed to my technician who promptly called the customer to make arrangements to go to the house and try and restore her heat.  When my technician arrived at the house he found the heat functioning properly and no error codes recorded on the board to indicate what might be causing the problem.  The customer indicated that she had been resetting the switch on the side of the furnace to get the heat to operate and unfortunately when the customer does this it clears the codes from the board which help indicate what is causing the problem since it was described by the customer as a sporadic problem which does make it difficult to diagnose especially when the unit was operating upon our arrival. 

 

*** ****** this particular customer was told to call if the problem occurred again to give us a call back as is noted on the service ticket (attached copy) as we were not about to start replacing parts at the customers expense until we could identify the part causing the problem.  The problem and description indicated by the customer could have been caused by several things which is again why we did not just start replacing parts as I would rather a customer be disappointed that we did not identify the problem (again on a working system) than be upset with us for selling her a part that she did not need as that is not how we operate which is why we have a 98% rating in ********’s ********* for customers indicating that they would use us again.  *** ****** I will return this customers diagnostic charge despite the fact that we did nothing wrong for this customer who should have simply called back and utilized the warranty that was given with her original call until the problem could be identified.

 

*** ******

President

A-1 Heating & Air Conditioning Service


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on A-1 Heating & Air Conditioning Service Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)