BBB Accredited Business since

Modern Mechanical, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (571) 291-3338 View Additional Phone Numbers 21730 Red Rum Dr Ste 182, Ashburn, VA 20147 http://www.modernmec.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Modern Mechanical, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Modern Mechanical, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Modern Mechanical, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 19, 2010 Business started: 03/01/2009 in VA Business started locally: 03/01/2009 Business incorporated: 03/10/2010 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR)-VA
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Henrico VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8500
The number is 2705134143 A.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Shawn Mitchell, President Ms. Terri Estep, Secretary Mr. Zach Turner, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Shawn Mitchell, President
Business Category

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Plumbers


Additional Locations

  • 21730 Red Rum Dr Ste 182

    Ashburn, VA 20147 (571) 291-3338

  • 21750 Red Rum Dr Ste 162

    Ashburn, VA 20147

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Modern Mechanical came to my home to assess problems with Hot Water Heater. The service receipt indicates that "...keep getting pressure switch error...Will order new Pressure Switch and return to fix." This is dated 2/18/2014. They have taken my $100 payment, BUT, they have not returned to my home to fix. It's been almost 2 months. I've called them no less that 5 FIVE times and they keep telling me they'll call me back when they know more or when the part comes it or when the supervisor returns, etc etc. They have NEVER called me. I feel that they've taken my money and ran. Terrible service to not even call me back.

Desired Settlement: Return my $100 simply for stress and hassle and my time in continuing to call and time to complain on BBB.

Business Response:

Thank you for contacting Modern Mechanical.  We care about your concerns and always strive to provide the best possible customer experience.  

I apologize for the breakdown in communication.  We were working with your home warranty company and we communicated with them several times about the part availability status.  We assumed they were keeping you informed of the progress.  We agree the process did not serve you well and we will quickly refund the $100 deductible.  In addition to the refund, when the part arrives we will install it for no additional charge to help compensate for your frustration you incurred.  Thank you again for bringing this to our attention and we look forward to working with you in the future.

11/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a service contract with this company and had them come out last February (2013) to look at my HVAC because it wasn't cooling/heating properly. The technician who came out told me I just needed an air handler adjustment. On 8/26/13, I had them come back out because my upstairs AC unit was not cooling properly, and the technician inspected the units and told me I needed to replace both units at a cost of between roughly $11-16K depending on which replacement units I purchased from them, etc. I was surprised that 6 months earlier the technician didn't mention that anything was wrong with the AC units, and then was told I needed to replace them both. He told me that an alternative solution that would fix the AC unit for about a year was a "Super Seal Stop Leak", which would cost under $1000. I opted for that solution, and so he claimed to have pumped my HVAC full of R-22, and the cost was $753. As I was writing him a check for $753, the technician told me for the first time that sometimes the Stop Leak "doesn't take" or fix it, in which case I would just need to replace the units. Shocked, I explained to him that if he had told me there was a chance it wouldn't have worked, I would have just put the $753 toward a new unit instead of throwing it away on a temporary solution that may or may not work. About 5 weeks later, the upstairs unit stopped working completely. Because I had completely lost faith in Modern Mechanical and believe they scammed me, I called ** **** to replace the upstairs unit at a cost of $8132. I contacted Modern Mechanical to obtain a pro rated refund and they explained that because I didn't call them to come back out and inspect the unit and have them give me a quote to replace the unit, they would not provide any sort of refund. The manager who called me back claimed that they warranty their work and that they should have been given the chance to come out and see the unit, but because I already had it replaced and they couldn't inspect it, they wouldn't give me any sort of refund. However, the Work Order for the $753 Stop Leak has a warranty section on the form that wasn't completed by the technician who scammed me, so I had no idea that there was any sort of supposed warranty. I really believe that only because I didn't buy a replacement unit from Modern Mechanical, they arbitrarily fabricated some "warranty" and are using that as an excuse to keep my money after ripping me off with a supposed "fix" that never had a chance of working for a year. In fact, 2 HVAC companies that gave me estimates after it went out told me that given the condition of the unit, a Stop Leak would never have fixed it and that Modern Mechanical shouldn't have even suggested it as a solution.

Desired Settlement: I want a pro rated refund. This "Stop Leak" solution they talked me into lasted 5 weeks out of the 52 week period that the technician stated it would last, or 9.6% of the stated time. So I would like a refund of $680.60 because they basically suggested a fix that was a waste of money, and I would have rather put that cost toward the purchase of a new unit.

Business Response:

**. ******,

 

We’re sorry to learn you were not satisfied with our service of a leak repair on your equipment.  We have a 100% satisfaction guarantee posted on our website and we wish we would have been given the opportunity to resolve the situation.  On our websitewww.modernmec.com we describe Freon leak repair and the warranty specifically as follows…. “Please recognize that Freon leaks can be extremely difficulty to locate. Our warranty applies only to the replacement part(s) we use to correct Freon leaks we find. However, if you notify us within 90 days of our repair service that your unit still leaks Freon, we will perform a diagnostic inspection at no charge.” 

 

You wrote that five weeks after our repair the upstairs unit “stopped working completely” if you would have contacted Modern Mechanical we would have diagnosed the problem at no charge.  In this case we could have determined the cause of the unit not running and if it was because the leak repaired was leaking again we would have repaired the unit again or given you the $753.00 as a credit toward a new system, your choice.  Given that Modern Mechanical is currently running a special for $3900, the applied credit of $753.00 would have given you a new system for as little as $3147 compared to the system you purchased for $8132.00.

 

You mention that our technician informed you that both systems needed to be replaced due to their age and condition before you opted to do the $753 leak repair.  You also mentioned that two other firms agreed that the equipment needed to be replaced so we are confused why you “lost faith” in Modern Mechanical’s assessment of the comfort systems.  As a general rule we always want to give customers more than one option of solving their equipment breakdown, that usually includes one solution for repair and one for replacing the system (if the equipment is in poor condition).

 

It is unfortunate that you did not contact us to diagnose the cause of the unit not cooling but given that fact the unit was removed by another firm we cannot issue a refund because there is no way to confirm our repair was the cause of the unit not working.  

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: The paperwork they provided me specifically had the warranty section left blank, leaving me to think there was no warranty. The technician who talked me into the "stop leak" repair never told me there was a chance it wouldn't work until after they had performed this non-fix.  It would be unreasonable for me to contact this company again after their solution didn't work to give them a chance to try to scam me again,  in light of the gross incompetence displayed by the last 2 people they sent to diagnose my issues.  This manager's expectation that it  would be reasonable to require me to wait to give them a chance see if the fact that their repair didn't work (which it obviously didn't), while my upstairs level with all of the bedrooms is 87 degrees, is absolute nonsense.  They misrepresented the effectiveness of this fix until after they performed it and scammed me out of my money and they never indicated there was any warranty until now--and in fact specifically left that off the work order.  I think that their reasoning for not giving me a refund demonstrates why no one should give this company their business.

Regards,

******* ******








Business Response:

We understand the possibilty for the customer to not understand the warranty terms for service repairs, for that reason we put the terms in writing on our website  http://www.modernmec.com/services.php?id=463

We find it hard to understand the claim that the customer did not think they had a warranty, so they purchased a new unit from another company, but then immediately after the repaired equipment was removed they contacted our company to ask for a "warranty" refund. 

 

We were never afforded the opportunity to inspect the unit to determine the cause of the unit not cooling. Modern Mechanical will always honor customer requests for an in warranty service or products, however in this case the equipment has been discarded by the homeowner and it is impossible to conduct a warranty service inspection

 If we may offer an analogy, this would be comparable to a consumer having a repair done on a motor vehicle then taking it to the scrap yard to be crushed, then calling the firm to claim the repair did not work and then demand a refund without allowing the service provider to examine their service repair.  Modern Mechanical will warranty our work 100% of the time and if the repair failed we will redo the work at no charge or apply the cost of the original repair towards an upgraded system. 

In conclusion, the Modern Mechanical warranty is still available and in effect on the equipment we preformed services on, however because of the actions taken by the homeowner, that equipment is not.  We are unable to make a refund on a system that no longer exists.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: they haven't addressed my complaint or issued a refund, and I feel this company scammed me.


Regards,

******* ******








10/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Modern Mechanical come my house to fix my air condationer unit though my insurance company in July 5th. They have check the unit and told me that they have to order some part.The problem was with the unit system was not cooling. I waited 2 weeks in hot weather with wife and my 5 years old kid.After 2 weeks they have told me they have the parts.The earliest appointment was a week after even do I called a week before ask a schedule an appointment. Finally they came there weeks after to fix it.I wasn't home my nephew was with them. They have asked pay them $600 for the cost also the first day when technician came we had to paid another $200 for the cleaning the unit.They have provided there months warranty.Two days after they left a felt the unit wasn't cooling again.I saw the same problem again unit was getting freeze again and not cooling.I called them. they gave me an another appointment one week later.The technician fixed the problem a day later some problem again.He said something needed to clean It won't happen again he said. I called them again they offer me another appointment one week I was out of town I ask the following Monday because I wasn't working that day.Technician came he said he needs to get another opinion from other company.Because he talked with his boss they didn't want waste any more time.But this technician find the real problem this time.I paid this company $800 and they give me 3 months warranty they even didn't fixed the problem I still have the same problem.Please help me this matter.

Desired Settlement: I paid this company $800 I still have the same problem.Unit is not cooling and freeze up.I like to get my refund please.So I can find another company to fix my unit. I had miserable summer with my family in my house.This people waste my time.Since June 25 th I have no air condationer in my house today is the September 03 th still I have no air condationer.I called them this morning They haven't even return my call.Please help me to get my money So I can find another company to fix this issue.

Business Response:

**. **********,


We are sorry you continue to have issues with your air conditioner.  We understand it can be frustrating waiting for parts to become available and working with a home warranty company can complicate the process sometimes.


Your home warranty company dispatched our office for your heating and cooling need.  Our technician identified a very dirty condenser coil and a clogged txv in your evaporator coil.  We filled your claim quickly and your home warranty company required the cleaning to process the claim.  We had to wait on them to send up the coil and we schedule within 2 days of receipt of the coil.  We also made a courtesy call at no charge on August 14 and replaced your hardstart kit at no charge and noted your unit was running properly at that time.  We then scheduled another courtesy call for 09/02/2013 at no charge to you and noted that you were having a new problem with your condenser unit and that based on your home warranty guidelines, we had to go through your home warranty company.  They require a second opinion on a new claim. 


Customer satisfaction is very important to Modern Mechanical, so we will refund you the $200 you spent on 07/11/2013 for the cleanings and also the $550 you paid on 7/30/2013 for the items not covered for your evaporator coil replacement.  You will receive this refund in 7-10 days.  Please contact our office to confirm.


***** ********

CEO 

Modern Mechanical