BBB Accredited Business since

Modern Mechanical, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (571) 291-3338 View Additional Phone Numbers 21730 Red Rum Dr Ste 182, Ashburn, VA 20147

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Modern Mechanical, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Modern Mechanical, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 19, 2010 Business started: 03/01/2009 in VA Business started locally: 03/01/2009 Business incorporated 03/10/2010 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR)-VA
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Henrico VA 23233
Phone Number: 804-367-8500
The number is 2705134143 A.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Shawn Mitchell, President Ms. Terri Estep, Secretary Mr. Zach Turner, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Shawn Mitchell, President
Business Category

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Plumbers

Additional Locations

  • 21730 Red Rum Dr Ste 182

    Ashburn, VA 20147 (571) 291-3338

  • 21750 Red Rum Dr Ste 162

    Ashburn, VA 20147


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Technician came out about 3 weeks ago and found that my furnace had a cracked heat exchanger. I have not received a call back from their office on the status of the replacement part. This is after calling their office 3 times every week and leaving numerous messages. Dispatch office is supposedly different from location who answers the callabout

Desired Settlement: If they cannot replace the part, they better replace the furnace which was their last resort as covered by our home warranty thru Modern Mechanical.

Business Response:

First, let me say we’re so sorry you have experienced poor service or response time from our team and thank you for bringing this to our attention.  We completely understand how frustrating it can be when information is not being communicated effectively.  You will be contacted today in regards to your open claim.


It is our company policy to return all messages within 24 hours.  During the last several weeks we had one employee not performing to the Modern standard , and as a result we lost many customers messages and several customers did not receive responses to their concerns or issues.  We have upgraded our talent in the customer service department and we will achieve the goal of returning all messages within 24 hours.  Going forward everyone can be assured of getting a return phone call – if you do not, you may call me, **** ********* – COO and Co-owner on my personal cell phone ###-###-#### or email me ****************** and I will make sure you get a return call.  We will be calling this customer to work on the resolution.  Again, we are sorry for this temporary disruption in our service.

5/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Modern Mechanical came to my home to assess problems with Hot Water Heater. The service receipt indicates that "...keep getting pressure switch error...Will order new Pressure Switch and return to fix." This is dated 2/18/2014. They have taken my $100 payment, BUT, they have not returned to my home to fix. It's been almost 2 months. I've called them no less that 5 FIVE times and they keep telling me they'll call me back when they know more or when the part comes it or when the supervisor returns, etc etc. They have NEVER called me. I feel that they've taken my money and ran. Terrible service to not even call me back.

Desired Settlement: Return my $100 simply for stress and hassle and my time in continuing to call and time to complain on BBB.

Business Response:

Thank you for contacting Modern Mechanical.  We care about your concerns and always strive to provide the best possible customer experience.  

I apologize for the breakdown in communication.  We were working with your home warranty company and we communicated with them several times about the part availability status.  We assumed they were keeping you informed of the progress.  We agree the process did not serve you well and we will quickly refund the $100 deductible.  In addition to the refund, when the part arrives we will install it for no additional charge to help compensate for your frustration you incurred.  Thank you again for bringing this to our attention and we look forward to working with you in the future.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Modern Mechanical, LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart