BBB Accredited Business since

Creators of Total Comfort Mechanical, Inc.

Phone: (703) 966-0057 PO Box 535, Haymarket, VA 20168 http://www.cotcmechanical.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Creators of Total Comfort Mechanical, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Creators of Total Comfort Mechanical, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Creators of Total Comfort Mechanical, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 29, 2011 Business started: 02/04/2009 in VA Business started locally: 03/04/2010 Business incorporated 02/04/2009 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR)-VA
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Henrico VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8500
The number is 2705134253B.

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR)-VA
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Henrico VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8500
The number is 2710050585.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Tiffany A. Trainer, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Tiffany A. Trainer, President
Business Category

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 535

    Haymarket, VA 20168

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the $59 big deal for A/C service from ******* **** to get one of my A/C unit serviced. The unit had been running fine for 5 years. On the first visit, the technician supposedly checked all the connections and told me that he was adding 1 lb. of refrigerant as covered in the coupon. Once he left, I found out that the system would not turn on and there was some burning smell from basement. I called them back and the technician came back later in the afternoon and told me that he had left one of the capacitor (inside the house connected with Thermostat) wire loose and that it should be fixed. Checking connections is one of the advertised items on the deal. I verified that the system did turn on at that instance. For few days as the temperature had dropped after that, so we did not have to turn the A/C on. As we turned it on for past few days, we found out that the system does not cool. When we called the company back, they were rude and started arguing that they had recommended that we put more refrigerant. I don’t argue that they made a recommendation, but I also do not believe that the A/C system that was working perfectly before they showed up ran out of original refrigerant and the additional 1 lb. they claimed to put in during the service within 2 weeks of performing the service. The company did not even have courtesy to send the technician and make sure he had not messed up something else just like the capacitor wire before. I hired another A/C company to come and do a full diagnosis. They told me that the wire for the Capacitor(the one outside this time) was burned and melted causing the capacitor to blow because it was likely left loose during the service. I have the service and repair orders from both companies. It is obvious from the attached ticket and the fact that other capacitor wire was also left loose during the service that the technician did not do the job right and created a problem that cost me around $450.00.

Desired Settlement: I gave the company an opportunity to come and fix the issue. Since they did not want to come and take ownership of the problem that they created to begin with, I had to use another reputed company to get the work done. The desired outcome is for the company to pay for full cost diagnosis and repair.

Business Response:

July 13, 2015

The Better Business Bureau or To Whom this may concern,

This letter is in regards to the ******* ******** complaint that the BBB received. I've attached copies of our technician's service reports from 5-28-15 along with a copy of a check we sent Certified to the customer in the amount of $59. This is how much the customer had requested we refund them when they filed a complaint with ****** ****. We feel they are trying to scam the system by going to ****** **** and now BBB asking for different amounts of money.

Also, I would like to note that the customer mentions she smelled a burning smell. Not once did she mention this in her first review/complaint with ****** **** nor did she mention it on the phone with us. We would like to request copies of the service tickets showing the repair made from the other HVAC contractor the customer hired. Because of the false claims they have made against our company we have found it necessary to contact our lawyers.

This is what we will be providing as our comments for the case manager:

We did service this member on 5-28-15. The technician arrived at 7:45am and left at 8:45am. The customer (Mr.) was present with the Tech during the entire maintenance. While checking the refrigerant charge, the Tech did find the refrigerant charge to be low. He indicated this to the customer (Mr.), and because the coupon included up to 1 lbs. of refrigerant, he added 1 lbs. of R-22 refrigerant. The Tech then appraised the customer (Mr.) of the need and cost for additional refrigerant. The customer (Mr.) would not approve for any additional refrigerant to be added to the system. The Tech did reaffirm that the system would not work properly or cool for any length of time without more refrigerant. The Techs service ticket that is dated for 5-28-15, and is signed by the customer (Mr.), does assert this... Upon leaving the residence, the Tech did call the office and inform us that the customers (Mr.) system was not working properly, but that he had declined repairs.

Mid day on 5-28-15 the customer (Mr.) placed a call to our office. The Director of COTC Mechanical answered the phone and spoke with the customer (Mr.). The customer (Mr.) claimed that his air conditioner was not cooling, and wanted someone to return to his residence to take a look at it. The Director stated that we were not too surprised that his air conditioner was not working, as the technician did find the system to be low on refrigerant, and that the technician had stated the system was not going to cool properly. The customer (Mr.) stated that he understood the system had not been working properly, but he insisted that although it had not been working properly, it had been doing something, and that now it was doing nothing. We agreed to send the Tech. back to the residence to take a look. The Tech arrived back at the residence on 5-28-15, at 4:15pm. The Tech. found that he had failed to re-secure a wire properly after checking a capacitor (checking a capacitor does require that you remove the wires to check). The Tech did inform the customer (Mr.) of his mistake and apologized. This repair did return the system to it's minimal operating condition. The Tech again stated that all was okay with the system, other than the low charge he had found earlier that morning.

We received a call from the customer (Mrs.) on June 9th. The customer (Mrs.) stated that her air conditioning was not working and she requested that we return to her residence at no additional charge to fix it. We again indicated that we were unfortunately not surprised that the system was not working. And we explained to the customer (Mrs.) that if we perform an air conditioning tune up and recommend repairs, then those repairs must be made for us to consider it a warranty situation (also of note is the fact that: we warranty an air conditioner tune up for 90 days if we perform the service, but don't find any repairs to be necessary). The customer (Mrs.) accused us of having no warranty, and we corrected her. We told her that if we found her system to be malfunctioning during the tune up, and that they had declined repairs, then there could be no warranty. As there were no repairs made to a system that was failing before we ever arrived at their home (it is also of note that we've never serviced this member before or after the two services described above). We stated that we would be willing to return to the residence for a charge, and then provide pricing for repairs. The customer (Mrs.) would not approve for us to provide additional services if there would be a charge.

We do feel that the customers review is disingenuous, defamatory, and intentionally fraudulent. If we had not spoken to the customer in between the Techs services, then we might be left wondering what happened. But the customer (Mr.) did tell us that he knew the system had not been working properly prior to our arrival. For us, this removes all doubt as to what may have taken place. The Tech did make a mistake during the first service by not properly re-securing the wire. But that was corrected, and there was nothing caused by this mistake. The customers do acknowledge in their review that the system would turn on after Levi's second visit. But then they also stated that they felt like we had broken their air conditioning, and that they did not realize this for some time, as they alleged the weather got cool right after May 28th. This is not reasonably accurate. National weather data shows that for zip code ***** (their address), May 29th was 84 degrees, May 30th was 87 degrees, May 31st was 89 degrees, June 1st was 87 degrees, etc.

As stated before we provided the customer with a refund of $59.00 as they requested the first time so they cannot claim they've paid us for a service. We will not ever service this customer again.

If you have any questions or concerns about our response, please feel free to contact Tiffany T****** on her cell at ###-###-####, or on the office line at ###-###-####.

Thank you, 

Tiffany T.

President


Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The service provider has been repeatedly untruthful about what conversations did happen, what services were performed and the mistakes they made all along.

Agreed that in the initial review with ******* **** regarding this issue, I had mentioned about refrigerant leak as a possible cause but I am not an expert. The core of the complaint was always that the system was not cooling. The service provider goes on to claim that the system was not working prior to them performing the service which is totally incorrect and made up. As mentioned in their service ticket, the technician wanted to sell me additional refrigerant that I did not want to buy and we left it at that. The fact that the service provider has been avoiding is that I already added 1lb to whatever the existing refrigerant was and that should not have reduced the cooling from what it was before.

I had been in contact with ******* **** complaint resolution department, and all I had asked for is for the service provider to fix the issue. As evident from attached communication, the service provider did not make an attempt to contact me after the conversation on June 9th. They continued to claim that they had recommended that I add refrigerant and since I denied they are not liable for any other issues that they caused. When I hired another reputed company to look at the issue, they were able to tell me in 5 mins that it was not an issue with Refrigerant but the wire on another capacitor on the outside unit was left loose that eventually caused it to burn out. When I asked them about refrigerant, they said the system could take more but I was in green area and did not need more. Again as evident from the ticket, additional refrigerant was not added and the system is functioning fine. The service provider’s claim of not being liable for blowing up the capacitor because I denied the purchase of refrigerant is totally outrageous. As a part of service, the technician did take out the capacitor and was supposed to secure the wires and put it back which he obviously failed to. The service provider already agrees that the technician had been careless and left the wires loose on inner unit and had to come back and fix it same day. I was immediately able to realize this because the unit would not start. Unfortunately for this problem to surface and for me to realize it took me few days, but I did report it as soon as I realized it.

All in all, the service provider introduced the problem while performing the service and I had given them fair chance to fix the issue both by calling them directly and through ******* **** complain resolution before I went ahead and hired another company to diagnose and fix the problem. They are simply trying to blame the customer for their mistakes which is unacceptable.

Regards,

******* ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Creators of Total Comfort Mechanical, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart