BBB Accredited Business since

Wright Mechanical Services, LLC

Phone: (301) 390-7134 View Additional Phone Numbers 617 Commerce Dr, Upper Marlboro, MD 20774 http://www.wright-mechanical.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Wright Mechanical Services, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Wright Mechanical Services, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Wright Mechanical Services, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 29, 2008 Business started: 02/24/2004 in MD Business started locally: 02/24/2004 Business incorporated 02/18/2004 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR)-VA
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Henrico VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8500
The number is 2705085559 B.

Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (DLLR)-MD
500 N. Calvert Street, Room 308, Baltimore MD 21202
http://www.dllr.maryland.gov/license
Phone Number: 410-230-6231
op@dllr.state.md.us
The number is 9365.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Thomas P Wright, President Mr. Steve Eells, Sr. Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas P Wright, President
Business Category

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential


Additional Locations

  • 617 Commerce Dr

    Upper Marlboro, MD 20774 (301) 390-7134 (800) 477-9147

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is hired to do annual maintenance of the convector units in our building, and has had this contract for some time. Among the services they are required to provide is to "clean the coil with cleaner", "note any deficiencies", and "inspect operation". Last Tuesday, May 6, they visited my home for the inspection. Yesterday, Tuesday, May 13, my downstairs neighbor informed me that my unit was leaking into her ceiling. I called Wright Mechanical and asked them to come out and reinspect the unit. The technician (one of the ones originally sent out to do the "maintenance") was unable to resolve the issue, but admitted that clearly the issue had been occurring for some time. The coil is badly rusted, and the floor beneath the unit is black and warped. I moved into my unit last December and had not until now had cause to use the AC. If Wright Mechanical had a) cleaned the coil, b) noted the deficiencies and informed me of them and c) fully inspected the operation of the unit, I would have known there was an issue and would not have used the unit, causing additional damage to my floor and my neighbor's ceiling. The fact that this has occurred in the past (as is evidenced by the condition of the coil, the floor, and my neighbor's ceiling) leads me to believe that Wright Mechanical evidently did not inform previous occupants of the unit of possible issues when doing their "maintenance".

Desired Settlement: I would like Wright Mechanical to cover the costs of repair to the floor and my neighbor's ceiling incurred due to their failing to inform me of the issue with the convector.

Business Response:

*** ******,

Thank you for the notification regarding this matter.

Wright Mechanical Services (WMS) did provide service to unit *** convectors as agreed between WMS and the Association.  The agreed proposal is attached for your review.  We provide the service to unit *** on May 5 2014 and the previous year on June 20, 2013.  Our service records show there were no issues found with the convector when serviced in 2013 and this year, 2014.  WMS has no record of service calls placed by the previous owner regarding leaks or for any additional services nor do we have record of the unit owner below *** calling in for water damage to the ceiling. 

We received a call from the unit owner of *** on May 13, 2014 indicating the convector was leaking water.  WMS responded the same day with the same technician that performed the service on May 5th.   As stated, our technician noted to the customer there was rust on the coil housing and the floor showed signs of previous leak issues.  The rust was found on the coil housing and is a normal condition.  The warped damaged flooring was from water leakage that occurred over a number of years prior to WMS association with the property and is the case for a number of other units in the building. 

Due to the age of the building and the condition of the equipment, WMS included the following language in its agreement with the Association. 

Note:

1. Due to age and condition of the convectors, Customer agrees not to hold Wright Mechanical Services responsible for damage to unit during service that may occur due to broken water lines, valves, condensate overflow or failure of equipment such as motor failure or thermostat failure.

While our contract has the above language to protect WMS for such situations, again only due to the age of the equipment and property, WMS will repair the ceiling in unit below ***.  I have addressed this with the Associations Board President and we will work together to arrange and make the ceiling repairs.  As for the flooring in ***, the damage to the flooring was due mostly to previous leaks and therefore WMS is not responsible for repairs.


Thank you for your time in this matter.   


 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

*** *******