BBB Accredited Business since

Charles P Myrick CPA

Phone: (202) 789-8898 805 15th St NW Ste 805, Washington, DC 20005 http://www.myrickcpa.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Charles P Myrick CPA meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Charles P Myrick CPA include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Charles P Myrick CPA
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 23, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1988 in DC Business started locally: 01/01/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (DLLR)-MD
500 N. Calvert Street, Room 308, Baltimore MD 21202
http://www.dllr.maryland.gov/license
Phone Number: 410-230-6231
op@dllr.state.md.us
The number is 12623.

Department of Consumer & Regulatory Affairs (DCRA)-DC
1100 4th Street SW, Washington DC 20024
http://www.pearsonvue.com/dc/accountancy/
Phone Number: (202) 442-4320
Fax Number: (202) 698-4329
Theresa.Ennis@dc.gov
The number is CPA5580.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Charles P Myrick, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charles P Myrick, Owner
Business Category

Accountants - Certified Public

Alternate Business Names
Myrick & Company, Certified Public Accountants Myrick and Company, PLLC

Additional Locations

  • 805 15th St NW Ste 805

    Washington, DC 20005 (202) 789-8898

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last year I signed a contract with him which was good for a year. He was supposed to work on my taxes and does some other work for the back taxes. H did filed my taxes for the 2012 which was not filed correctly and I had to pay a lot of penalties and fine. He promised me to work my back taxes which he did not do anything for that. This year one day before the April 15, he send me an email telling me that he has filed and extension. I asked him why he did consult with me and applied for extension? He said, you sent your tax information late. This is a lie, he is not a credible person and his intention was to charge me again. I had a contract with him till the July 22, 2014. But, he did not honor the contract and asked me to pay again in order to file my taxes. I did not want to delay any more so, I hired another accountant to file my taxes. I paid the other accountant and also, I paid lots of penalties for late filing. I need him to refund my money because he did honor the contract he signed with me

Desired Settlement: Since he did not honor the contract and did not do the work he promised me . Also, due to his lack of knoweldge or ignorance I paid a lot to IRS in the form of panalties and late payment. Therefore he is not entitle to get paid. I had a contract with him to work for a year on my account ing issues. he applied for an extesion for my 2013 tax and did not file. I had to pay some one else to do my taxes and paid a lot of panalties. I found him unethical and unprofessional.

Business Response:

Thank you for providing an opportunity to respond.  I will address each statement of the complaint:

  • "Last year I signed a contract with him which was good for a year.  He was supposed to work on my taxes and does some other work for the back taxes."  On July 5, 2013, I prepared a written engagement letter that specified the conditions of the work.  The work consisted of preparation of 2012 federal and state income tax returns and research relating to a 2000 tax issue.  A copy of the engagement letter is attached.  The fee was fixed at $500. 
  • "He did file my taxes for the 2012 which was not filed correctly and I had to pay a lot of penalties and fine."   *** ******** had a federal tax liablity of $16,182 and made no withholding or estimated tax payments.  The failure to make any tax payments for the 2012 tax year caused penalties and interest.  There was no error in the preparation of the tax returns.
  • "He promised me to work my back taxes which he did not do anything for that."  I contacted the IRS and obtained transcripts that indicated there was a personal assessment of corporate tax liabilities from a corporation that *** ******** owned in 2000.  Due to the fact that this tax issue was over 12 years old, the IRS no longer has any detailed records of the assessment.  In discussing this situation with *** ********,I found out that the corporation filed bankruptcy and I believe that the IRS assessed a penalty to *** ******** personally.  *** ******** indicated that she had hired another CPA in the past to deal with this issue without success.  I believe *** ******** knew the details of the 2000 tax issue.  My engagement was to research the issue which I have done.  I do believe resolution is possible at this time due to the age of the issue.  
  • "This year one day before the April 15, he send me an email telling me that he has filed an extension.  I asked him why he did (not) consult with me and applied for extension?  He said, you sent your tax information late.  This is a lie, he is not credible person and his intention was to charge me again.  I had a contract with him till July 22, 2014.  But he did not honor the contract and asked me to pay agin in order to file mt taxes."  Apparently, *** ******** is under the impresssion that I would prepare her 2012 and 2013 tax returns for $500.  This is not stated in the attached contract.  There is no basis for her position and she is attempting to slander my ethics and reputation.

Please contact me if you have any questions.  Thank you for your prompt attention to this matter.

Charles

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Charles P Myrick CPA
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)