BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/1989

Tires Unlimited

Phone: (250) 386-6367Fax: (778) 433-3308616 Gorge Road East, VictoriaBC V8T 2W6 Send email to Tires Unlimited



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/1989

BBB has determined that Tires Unlimited meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Tires Unlimited's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Tires Unlimited

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
01/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In July 2013 i took my motorhome in to their shop to have the rear tires replaced i requested they do a brake inspection while the wheels were removed they called me and reported that the rear brake drums and shoes needed replacing i stopped by there to discuss what they had found after explaining the extent of the wear and the cost i agreed to go ahead with the job a couple of days later they called and told me the repairs were complete.I paid the bill and left as i was approaching a set of traffic light they turned red as i applied the brakes i discovered that the front brakes were not working and skidded i went back to Tires Unlimited the next day and they later called and told me that the master cylinder had failed and that they would install one the next day.

I took the vehicle for a drive on the highway about 10 mins driving down the highway i noticed smke billowing from the rear wheels and the smell of burning brakes i pulled over to the side of the road and called Tires Unlimited they told me to bring it back as soon as i could i waited for the wheels to cool down and i drove back to Tires Unlimited they then "backed the rear brakes off"I left and the next day left ******** for a vacation in my motorhome i wasn't happy with brakes the entire time that i was using the motorhome when i got back i returned once again to Tires Ulimited to complain about the brakes and that the emergency brake didn't work at all they told me to bring it back i told them i would bring it back when i could i went in to talk to the manager last week Dec 11 he asked me to take the motorhome to their ****** location the next day because he said that they were having issues at the ******** location Thusday Dec12 i took the motorhome to the shop they called later that day saying that the rear brakes had been backed off so far that i was driving with only the front brakes working and that now i had damaged the front brakes and it needed $*** of front brake repair i went to the ******** location and spoke with the manager.

I picked up the motorhome and took it to another repair shop for an inspection he removed the front brakes he inspected all the parts and found that all it needed was both left and right calypers were showing signs of wear we replaced them for less than $*** also when we attempted to remove the hub caps the mechanic doing the job had to chisel one of the covers off because someone had put the wrong nut on and overtightened it

Desired Settlement
I would like to be reimbursed for the master cylinder replacement and for the correct nut and cover

Business Response
The customer is requesting a refund for the master cylinder. The installation was necessary and we are therefore unsure why a refund is required. If the master cylinder failed, we are prepared to replace this under warranty. The front pads and rotors were in need of replacement, Hence our quote for this ($ ***.00) - Replacing only the calipers for $ ***.00 is not recommended. Pads and rotors are still in need of replacement. We do sympathize with the customer and are prepared to offer a cash settlement of $ ***.00 for the inconvenience. In addition we sincerely apologize.

The offer for payment in the above said amount is no way our acceptance of the claim as we still stand behind our workman ship. If and when faulty parts are installed, we will replace them under warranty. However, we do realize that a lack of communication and or proper explanation of repairs required is sometimes the reason of frustration for our customers. We will do everything possible to improve in this area and are we are therefore prepared to settle this complaint for a cash payment of $****.00

Industry Comparison| Chart

Tire Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/20/2005Business started: 01/01/1972New Owner Date: 09/01/2012
Business Management
Paul Rimmer (Co-owner)
Contact Information
Principal: Nick Lansdorp (Manager)
Business Category

Tire Dealers

Products & Services

Tires Unlimited

Alternate Business Names
Division of Sidney Tire Ltd., Primrose Holdings Ltd., Sidney Tire

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Tires Unlimited

616 Gorge Road East

Victoria, BC V8T 2W6

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 616 Gorge Road East 

    Victoria, BC V8T 2W6(250) 386-6367
    Fax: (250) 386-4143
    Fax: (778) 433-3308

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Vancouver Island. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Tires Unlimited is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Tire Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.