BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1988

Nanaimo Minute Men

Find a Location

Phone: (250) 754-7557Fax: (250) 754-54751890 East Wellington Road, NanaimoBC V9S 5X7 Send email to Nanaimo Minute MenView Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1988

BBB has determined that Nanaimo Minute Men meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Nanaimo Minute Men's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues4
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Nanaimo Minute Men

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (11)
02/18/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Delivery not on time due to driver not being prepared for northern weather in December and the charge of another ****** for a different company

Your driver *****, nice fellow, was our driver with all our belongings from *******. We moved our small bit of stuff from our rental house to our new home in ******** BC. On my way back to the rental to get a second load from the rental house I notice your truck stopped part way up a small hill about .2 of a km away from the driveway to our house. I spoke with the driver and the 2 fellows that were with him. He was just putting chains on and would make his way up to our place as he was stuck.
He told ******** that he was pretty much jackknifed in the middle of the road, as he walked up to the house, and that nobody is making it up the hill until this snow is gone unless you have a 4 wheel drive. ******** walked back down with him to the truck to find it only stuck not jackknifed. A neighbor pulled him right round with his front end loader and off he went back to ************* with our stuff. But you had told me that he couldn't make it up our driveway. There was not attempt to even get in our driveway. This was told to me by the driver who I paid **** plus dollars for to not deliver and unload our belongings into another truck. The driver was not prepared as I was told by the fellows who were with him, one happened to bring our stuff Sunday, 2 days later, that the driver did not even have the right size tire chains for his truck. He had 22" chains for 24" tires. ***** told me he blew a chain trying to get up the hill. Well they didn't even fit. I would at least expect the driver to have his truck properly prepared to drive up in central BC in winter.
Now you had told me the truck was too big to get into our driveway. Well like I said earlier he didnt attempt to get into our driveway and second the truck that we had to pay *** bucks an hour to unload into another truck was the same size box just attached to the truck not a trailer.Which bring me to my next issue. We paid your company in full. That was for the loading, storage, distance and unloading of the truck. Why did I have to pay ***** and his Crew to unload our belongings on Dec 18th from your truck to his truck, when it should have been unloaded here at our home. Regardless of where it was unloaded we should not have had to pay *** bucks an hour to unload that day. This was also communicated to us by *****'s crew. If you would like a copy of their bill let me know, just to show you.
Now we get to the unloading part. Like you said to me on the phone *** an hour to for ************* to move our stuff here from *************. Sunday comes, great, here on time like they said. ******** and I busted our ***** helping the guys unload our stuff from the truck. Something that a person paying **** plus dollars should not have to do. But we had too because now we were paying another *** an hour to unload it. Money we dont have. ******* later the stuff is finally in the house.
So, If your driver had a little more patients and waited just a little while longer the road and our driveway would have been ploughed like they are now. It was not long after he left, that morning, that everything was cleared. Word got out in the community as we got an email from our realtor asking if it was our truck that got stuck as they had heard a moving truck was stuck on ********-************ Rd. Yes we live rural, but these roads are very well maintained and are ploughed often once the snow starts. Your driver just happened to beat the plough that day by arriving just after 9 am.
Last but very not least. Our ******* solid walnut bed frame is in pretty rough shape after the move as the corners of the bed frame are ruined, Michelle was and still is pretty upset.

Desired Settlement
WE are seeking at the very least the cost of unloading our belongings from one ****** moving into the moving company that actually delivered out belongings 2 days later. This cost was ******* The Total bill from ****** moving and storage was *******

Business Response
Mr. ******* was aware that his delivery was scheduled for the morning of Dec 18th, not at noon or afternoon, first thing in the morning. If I expecting the delivery of my furniture then I would ensure that my road and driveway was ploughed in advance of the arrival of the truck so that there would be no access issues. If this had been done then the truck would have been able to get down the road and into Mr. *******'s driveway and delivery to his home would have happened that day. I'm not sure how long Mr. ******* thought that our driver should sit around waiting for a plough? If people are so good about ploughing then why didn't he tell the driver that he could get the street ploughed right away. Mr. ******* was informed by our office of what was going to happen with the unloading of his goods at ****** and that delivery would happen on Sunday with additional cost to him. He agreed to this arrangement. If Mr. ******* would like to file a claim for the damage to his bedroom suite he can do so at www.********************.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Possession Date of the house was DEC 18th 2016. I did not have the ability to contact the road crews to plough the roads. The Driver did not even attempt to get into our driveway. After he got pulled out and turned around by our neighbor with his loader the truck had no problems making it back to ************* with un ploughed roads. Like I said originally it wasn't a half hour later or so that the road was cleared. Also when speaking to the driver he was staying over night in ************* that night so there would have been no difference if he waited a half hour or a little longer. He wasn't catching a ferry afterwards.Mr ****** was fully aware that we had been living without our belongings for the previous four months and that this had been an exceptionally stressful sale/move. He took advantage of the fact that we were in a situation over which we did not have any control and required me to drive back to ************* (45 minutes) to pay his driver in FULL so that we could get our things two days later. This caused us to have to live in our empty home with nothing but an air mattress. The neighbour that helped get Mr. ******'s truck out stated that if had only known they were only a couple of minutes from the house he would have ploughed the whole thing, but this was not requested by the driver. When the driver walked to the house and spoke with my wife, he stated to her that "you will not be getting your things today" and later said "you have to either get a truck and move it bit by bit or wait till spring". This was very upsetting to my wife as she didn't have a phone, cell service or internet. She was also alone out there without a vehicle as I had to make a trip to the place we had been renting. He was determined to leave and not even to try to get to the house.


I did NOT have a choice in the matter to accept the fact that the driver from ******* turned around and left. If my wife and I wanted our personal belongings we had no choice as I was given one choice, but to agree to have them delivered 2 days later. By another company. Why did my wife and I have to pay to unload the ******* Truck into the ************* truck ? We weren't going to have to pay extra to have it unloaded at our home and it was included in our quote. It was the same 3 fellows (driver and 2 workers ) doing the work when I arrived to pay the ******* company if FULL. No mention that I was going to get billed for the unloading of the truck into another truck. This so called response is unacceptable and we will be taking further action. Preparation for winter driving is also key In this situation. The driver did not even have the correct size winter tire chains for his truck for winter driving in Central BC. It is not the same as Driving on Vancouver Island. The Crew that finally delivered our belongings to our home even stated that they couldn't believe how it was handled and stated the truck itself was unsuitable for this area, it was suitable for city but not rural and Mr ****** was fully aware that we were purchasing property our of town and not a city lot. Up until that day I thought this moving company was professional and accommodating. Unfortunately Mr. ****** feels we should have to pay full price for a job that was not completed by his company for which they were unprepared and extra for another company to complete what they could not.

10/07/2015Problems with Product / Service
09/25/2015Billing / Collection Issues
09/22/2015Billing / Collection Issues
08/31/2015Delivery Issues
Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Storage - Container, Storage-Household & Commercial, Moving Brokers

Additional Information

top

As with any business transaction BBB suggests consumers review and understand all material that is provided and for additional assistance or education on this industry contact the following agency:
Canadian Association of Movers
http://www.mover.net/
1.866.860.0065

BBB file opened: 07/20/2005Business started: 06/17/1953
Business Management
Principal: Rebecca Han (Manager, Nanaimo)Customer Contact: Joyce Bennett (Manager - Duncan Location)
Contact Information
Roger Parker (President)
Business Category

Movers, Storage - Container, Storage-Household & Commercial, Moving Brokers

Products & Services

Nanaimo Minute Men 2006 Ltd. also does business as Metro Moving and Duncan Moving and Storage has been serving Vancouver Island since 1948. They are exclusive agents for United and Mayflower Moving providing residential and commercial moving and container storage Worldwide. Whether your move is down the street or across the country, Nanaimo Minute Men are available to provide a complimentary quote. They are fully bondable and insured.

Alternate Business Names
Metro Moving and Storage Ltd., Nanaimo Minute Men 2006 Ltd., Parker Relocation Group
Industry Tips
Moving

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Nanaimo Minute Men has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Nanaimo Minute Men

1890 East Wellington Road

Nanaimo, BC V9S 5X7

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • #2 - 2913 Allenby Road 

    Duncan, BC V9L 6W2(250) 746-5103
    (250) 754-7557
    Fax: (250) 746-5152
    Fax: (250) 754-5475

  • 1890 East Wellington Road 

    Nanaimo, BC V9S 5X7Fax: (250) 758-4022

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Vancouver Island. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Nanaimo Minute Men is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Movers

Moving
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.