BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/11/1984

National Money Mart Company (Headquarters)

Phone: (250) 595-5211Fax: (250) 595-0410

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

50 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Billing / Collection Issues24
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service20
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints50

Additional Complaint Information

This review reflects national complaint activity.

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (50)BBB Closure Definitions
06/24/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: I went to Money Mart to discuss options for emergency funds. We discussed the contract and payback terms. Despite what was in the contract, I was assured that so long as I came back within 48 hours of the payment deadline, I would be able to payback the $*** borrowed with no interest. I questionned the 'no interest', yet he assured me that "as manager, it would be no problem sir." I questionned that "not even $** for a service fee/" as it seemed strange. Again, he emphatically stated that "there would be no charges". He could not write on the contract though as "he wasn't authorized to make changes", but "it wouldn't be a problem".

On May 14th, I returned as discussed. The story all changed at that point. I was told the contract stands. I am willing to pay a fee of up to $** to accommodate Money Mart for any "interest" they beleive they are entitled to. I am requesting a rebate of $** on the interest I paid as a result of the misinformation provided to me. I did allow the full $*** to Money Mart to process for May 15th, so as not to go to Collections.

Initial Business Response
I apologize for the delayed response. Unfortunately, we are having difficulty coordinating a time to settle this complaint with the customer.

Our District Manager has made numerous attempts to connect with the customer on several occasions. The following is a chronological history of what transpired.

May 26th, Afternoon - ***************************************************************** ******************


I will advise you when we have come to a resolution to this complaint.


Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/09/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: I came there wanting to take out a payday loan for *** dollars and the girl who was helping said it would be better if I take out a *** dollar loan, but I said no because I've already received my *** dollars off on my first loan and don't want to pay a high interest. So she says well if you fill out this survey and pay it in advance I can get a 10% discount plus another discount for paying it in advance. And I ask her how much it would be total as I didn't really need to take that big of a loan and she couldn't tell me so I told her the only way I'm gonna take that much of a loan is if I know how much I have to pay later. The math came out around ***(ish). I do the $*** loan. I complete the survey right away. Come in and pay it a day in advance and see my total owing and its ***!!! *** dollars more than what I was told. And the guy there said he would get his boss to call me. No one called.

Initial Business Response
Mr. ***** received a Payday Loan from National Money Mart at our ***** Street location in ********* on May 3, 2014. Mr. ***** believed that he was misquoted the interest charges on that loan. I have asked our store Manager to contact Mr. ***** with regards to his complaint and to clarify any misunderstanding with regards to how our Payday Loan works.

I have been notified by the store Manager that he had resolved the issue with Mr. ***** on May 21st, 2014. The store Manager explained the fees & discounts to him which were true. Due to the miscommunication and misunderstanding the Store Manager offered a $**.00 refund to Mr. *****.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

03/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying for several months now, to retain copies of my statements for my old credit card, which was discontinued by *************, as well as for my current one. I have been in contact with several different people at several different contact numbers and email addresses. every time there is another person I am being referred too, who always tell me they will send me paper copies of my **** statements, once they find them, but I have never received any as of yet and this has been going on for well over 4 or 5 months. I do not know who to contact for assistance in this matter so any help in expediting any form of resolve ending in me getting copies of my **** statements would be appreciated.

Initial Business Response
Our Customer Service Department has contacted Ms. ********* on February 18th, 2014 to assist her to obtain the statements that she requires. We have assured Ms. ********* that we will be sending her copies of her statements in question dated back to January 1st, 2013.

When our Customer Service Department spoke with her she found this to be satisfactory. On behalf of National Money Mart I apologize for any inconvenience that Ms. ********* has experienced.


Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

03/07/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: They have repeatedly called my house, multiple times per day, and at all hours of the day and night. Each time they call I inform them that the person they are asking for does NOT live here, and will NOT be returning. I have asked them to stop calling. These calls are disturbing, as they seem to keep occurring at naptime and/or bedtime, lunchtime, dinnertime, etc.

Initial Business Response
A person that was residing at Ms. *******'s residence received a ****** Loan from National Money Mart. The phone number on file that the person gave us belongs to Ms. *******. This was the reason for the calls to her house. After receiving clarification provided, we have instructed our collections department to place the phone number in question on our "Do Not Call" list. This number has been removed in the system and should not be receiving any further calls.

We apologize for Ms. ********* inconvenience.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/18/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After phone conversation, my written letter and my faxed letter to accept partial payment monthly and then to contact me in writing only they continue
my payday loan-advance date Nov.28, 2013
amount $1285.00
due date & Amt. 12/27/13 $1580.55
Was phoned by head office would not accept $100. monthly
I wrote letter Dec.20/13 requesting they contact me in writing only

**
I faxed to their head office & the local branch repeating the above.
I have both day & evening received phone calls & texts from them.

Initial Business Response









***********

Ms. ******* received a ****** Loan from National Money Mart on November 28th, 2013. Her loan repayment was due in December 2013. Ms. ******* sent a letter that was dated December 20th, 2013. Our office received this letter on January 23rd, 2014.

Before the receipt of the letter; our office attempted to contact Ms. *******, to make repayment arrangements. Once we received her letter we placed a note on her file to indicate that she would prefer to be contacted via in writing only.

We appreciate that Ms. ******* communicated her repayment arrangement details to us. We will accept the terms of her repayment and we request that she notify us once

********* she can repay the outstanding balance of her loan.



Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 9
04/28/2014Problems with Product / Service
03/25/2014Problems with Product / Service
01/08/2014Billing / Collection Issues
11/05/2013Billing / Collection Issues
05/23/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Financial Services, Payday Loans, Money Orders & Transfers, Check Cashing Service

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.