BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Homestar Electric

(250) 882-3532981 Kenneth St, VictoriaBC V8X 3J3 Send email to Homestar Electrichttp://www.homestarelectric.ca

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Homestar Electric is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Homestar Electric's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Homestar Electric

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
03/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The Job began in March 2014 and we were told it would only take a week to 2 weeks. It got dragged into the summer. He had his Apprentice/Journeyman do the majority of the work unsupervised. He then gave me a final bill when I felt the work was not completed according to the original wish list we had given him.

We contacted the Safety Inspector after a few things had gone wrong with our electrical which had us concerned (ie: baseboard heaters were melting plugs that were plugged in to outlets above the heaters, brand new potlights had fallen out of the ceiling). The Safety Inspector re-did the entire inspection and he found many issues.

**** of Homestar then stalled again until the new year to come and complete. He gave us 2 dates he could come back with, I responded and said both work. When he showed up he was again over 2 hours later than he said. I told him to complete the work in the garage and he got in his car and left.

Desired Settlement
I would like the work on the failed Safety Inspection to be completed to industry standards as laid out by the safety Inspector by someone other than ******* of Homestar Electric.

Business Response
I have a responsibility to the safety authority to fulfill their request to make a couple changes. ****** and I have been communication indirectly via the inspector and I made arrangements to have another electrician finish the job. She was given a weeks notice, but when he got there she hadn't bought her new lights yet, and we needed some concrete removed in order to install a new grounding system. He did what he could and I informed the safety inspector. We have been waiting to hear when she is ready to have my electrician back.

She uses the term "Fail" when in fact it's just an inspection request to change or do something differently. Not uncommon for any trade of any skill set to go through something similar. We have many different ways to do the same job and things change between municipalities.

I've tried to reach the inspector a couple times since we were last, so all I can do right now is wait.


Industry Comparison| Chart

Electric Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/29/2007Business started: 09/29/2007Business started locally: 01/21/2013
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Contractor license 95871

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Business Management
Principal: Rich Gerhardt (Owner / Operator)

Business started September 29, 2007 as Hailey Electric. Same company owner changed name to Homestar Electric January 2013.

Business Category

Electric Contractors

Hours of Operation

7 days a week; 8-5

Service Area

Vancouver Island up to Nanaimo

Alternate Business Names
Hailey Electric Ltd.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Homestar Electric

981 Kenneth St

Victoria, BC V8X 3J3

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Vancouver Island. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Homestar Electric is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Electric Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.