BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/13/2010

All Out Contracting Ltd.

(250) 883-7477449 Meredith Road, Mill BayBC V0R 2P3 Send email to All Out Contracting Ltd.View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

At All Out Contracting, we have a reputation that the words "It can't be done" or "This job is too difficult" will never be spoken. We are known to find solutions that will satisfy our customers.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/13/2010

BBB has determined that All Out Contracting Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised All Out Contracting Ltd.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on All Out Contracting Ltd.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
12/05/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The contractor presented an approximation of expenses for work to be done. Our costs rose 10% by completion. Materials discussed for the project were substituted with lesser products, there was no explanation given, and no invoices provided.

When discovered, repairs were agreed upon, but the cost and extent of the repair was ultimately questioned. Time delays were prevalent, and despite the contracted work being behind schedule, several new projects were proposed for our consideration.

Electrical estimate included the cost of ** hydro, electrician, and materials, combined factors known not be included, as ** hydro doesn't charge for the service, but when discovered I was denied access to the final invoice. At final invoicing, entire sum owing was demanded, and no accounting provided for the project.


Desired Settlement
I claim damages of $***, the portion of the electrician's charge attributed to ** Hydro.







Business Response
I have a signed contract between the consumer and All Out Contracting Ltd listing all charges for work done on the property and to the house including Electrical work, I did not charge even 1 penny more then the signed contract stated, I never used alternate material, I pulled a permit and have a final inspection from ** inspector saying all my work is done to building code, there is no variation in the warranty given, I have emails from the consumer stating he put the holdback amount in trust with his lawyer, and that he wanted to subtract $**.32 for the chip in the door frame,$**.00 for the tree, and 20 for some drywall and screws, I never argued that and agreed to those terms, it also states his lawyer will pay out the remainder= $****.96 on Nov 20th, there is no mentioning of the electrical at all, I gave him a set price contract not a cost plus contract

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I'm also not asking for a complete accounting, only verification of specific charges.

During the renovation, an electrical disconnect and reconnect of power to our house became necessary, so repairs could be completed at the electrical meter box. Our contractor consulted an electrician, and presented us with an estimate of $***.00, which consisted of the electrician's time and materials, electrical permit fee, and ** Hydro costs for performing this work. The ** Hydro portion was undetermined, but believed to be approximately $***.00, all else depended on the time to effect the house repairs. It was agreed, then itemized on the contract at our contractor's request before he would proceed. The house repair was less involved than expected, and the entire job was completed in about 5 hours, from initial power disconnect through to reconnect.

The ** Hydro representative stated their work charges were always billed directly to the customer ($***.00), but in this case there was no charge to me as the electrician listed the job as an emergency disconnect/reconnect.

When presented with the final invoice, the $***.00 charge was listed for the electrician only, missing the itemized points (** Hydro cost) in our contract. I again requested proof, the electrician's invoice, to substantiate the charge. He stated that I had contractually agreed to pay $***.00, and ******** would begin with litigation and a lien on my property.

If a valid invoice from the electrical company is produced, and the true cost of the electrical work billed for is legitimate, then the matter can be closed and the issue resolved. If not, then I retain my claim of $***.00, payment of which would settle the issue.

Final Business Response

I have a signed set rate contract with the customer, the electrical was done by permit and passed *** contract clearly states $*** for the electrical works,the customers lawyer paid the final holdback payment, and I stand by my previous statement that the project was completed on time and within the signed contract prices.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors-General, Contractors - Retaining Wall, Lawn Installation Service, Stone Setting - Interlocking Pavers, Stone Setting, Snow Removal Service, Irrigation Systems - Maintenance/Repair, Irrigation Systems - Install/Design, Irrigation Consultants, Garden & Lawn Outdoor Lighting, Garden & Lawn Sprinkler Systems, Water Gardens Fountains & Ponds, Fence, Paving Stones, Exterior Structures - Gazebos, Arbors, Pergolas, Exterior Buildings-Barn Construction, Construction & Remodeling Services, Deck - Repair, Patio & Deck Builders, Mason Contractors, Land Clearing & Leveling, Gazebos, Excavating Contractors, Drainage Contractors, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Contractors - Renovations and Alterations, Tree Service - Transplant, Tree Service - Pruning, Landscape Designers, Landscape Contractors - Commercial, Landscape Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/27/2009Business started: 01/01/2001
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Worksafe # 842672
No licensing required for Mill Bay, but they do have an intermunicipal licence through the city of Victoria, which includes Oak Bay to Sidney and Sooke to Malahat.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 2010, BC

Business Management
Principal: Joe Winkler (Director)
Business Category

Contractors-General, Contractors - Retaining Wall, Lawn Installation Service, Stone Setting - Interlocking Pavers, Stone Setting, Snow Removal Service, Irrigation Systems - Maintenance/Repair, Irrigation Systems - Install/Design, Irrigation Consultants, Garden & Lawn Outdoor Lighting, Garden & Lawn Sprinkler Systems, Water Gardens Fountains & Ponds, Fence, Paving Stones, Exterior Structures - Gazebos, Arbors, Pergolas, Exterior Buildings-Barn Construction, Construction & Remodeling Services, Deck - Repair, Patio & Deck Builders, Mason Contractors, Land Clearing & Leveling, Gazebos, Excavating Contractors, Drainage Contractors, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Contractors - Renovations and Alterations, Tree Service - Transplant, Tree Service - Pruning, Landscape Designers, Landscape Contractors - Commercial, Landscape Contractors

Products & Services

We offer services in Landscaping, Excavating, Land Clearing, Rock Walls, Retaining Walls, Drainage Systems, Fencing, Horse Paddocks, Riding Rings and so much more. Our professional staff will answer any questions you may have. Customer satisfaction is our #1 priority!

Refund and Exchange Policy

We are committed to excellence in the design, execution, warranty and maintenance of your project.
We guarantee all of our craftsmanship and work.

Service Area

Serving Victoria, Saanich, Esquimalt, Oak Bay, Sidney, Langford, Sooke, Mill Bay, Cobble Hill, Duncan, Nanaimo, Shawnigan, and Chemainus.

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

6 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for All Out Contracting Ltd.

449 Meredith Road

Mill Bay, BC V0R 2P3

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 449 Meredith Road 

    Mill Bay, BC V0R 2P3(250) 883-7477

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Vancouver Island. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*All Out Contracting Ltd. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Contractors-General

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.