BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/04/2012

Ambis Contracting

(250) 507-7230#260 - 800 Kelly Road, VictoriaBC V9B 5T6 Send email to Ambis Contracting

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/04/2012

BBB has determined that Ambis Contracting meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Ambis Contracting's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Ambis Contracting

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
09/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In June, July and August of 2013, Ambis contracting removed an existing deck railing built and installed a new cedar stair way and landing complete with spindles and railings. They also built and installed a small fence and custom gate. Ambis also contracted to paint all of the above stating he had an experienced painter to do the work. As time was getting on throughout the summer I became anxious to have the painting started and completed as it was not good for the wood to be in either the hot sun or the rain. ****** sent his wife to do the painting it was taking forever as she was only able to work a few hours a day so after I complained several times another worker who also stated "he was not a painter" came to help her finish up. By this time some of the stair steps were cracking and had to be replaced which Ambis construction did.I contacted Ambis in May to let them know the paint was peeling and the stairs and rails were cracking. he said he would send someone by to look, i contacted them 2 or 3 more times to get a date on repairs a woman came by said she was a painter and would start the repairs the following Tuesday this was in July 2014. I have heard nothing. Repairs have not been started and my last two e-mails have gone unanswered. Ambis was fully paid for all his work.

Desired Settlement
I would appreciate having the work that is substandard redone.

Business Response
This issue has been resolved. In addition to sanding and repainting the peeling areas we replaced many of the stair treads with new cedar.

The issue in question was confounded by the fact that the painter I initially hired to do the work left the province with no notice. My full time painter was on Maternity leave.

In the Spring the client contacted me regarding some paint peeling issues. My painter met with her, while she was still on Maternity leave; I bought her the paint she needed and supplies. I had assumed improperly that my painter had completed the work. When I was emailed by the client and I did not respond right away as I was on holiday and had poor reception.

As soon as I found out that the issue had not been taken care of, I contacted the client and sent my painter and carpentry crew out there to fix the problem. I went above and beyond because I felt terrible about the delay and had my carpenters replace any of the stair treads that the client was not happy with, even though it was just surface cracks.

I apologized to the client. I warranty all my work; I just sorry it took so long.

03/02/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Construction & Remodeling Services, Contractors - Retaining Wall, Stone Setting - Interlocking Pavers, Driveway Installation, Paving & Repair, Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Fence, Doors - Installation, Stair Builders, Railings, Paving Stones, Windows - Installation/Service, Remodeling Services, Exterior Structures - Gazebos, Arbors, Pergolas, Decks, Roof Decks, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Deck Builder, Deck - Repair, Patio & Deck Builders, Home Improvements- Additions, Home Improvements, Gazebos, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Contractors - Renovations and Alterations, Contractors-General, Concrete Contractors, Carpenters, Landscape Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/27/2009Business started: 04/01/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Industry Training Authority-BC
800-8100 Granville Avenue
Richmond, BCV6Y 3T6
http://www.itabc.ca

BC Safety Authority
505 - 6th Street, Suite 200
New Westminster, BCV3L 0E1
http://www.safetyauthority.ca

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Business Management
Principal: Robert Ambis (Owner)
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services, Contractors - Retaining Wall, Stone Setting - Interlocking Pavers, Driveway Installation, Paving & Repair, Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Fence, Doors - Installation, Stair Builders, Railings, Paving Stones, Windows - Installation/Service, Remodeling Services, Exterior Structures - Gazebos, Arbors, Pergolas, Decks, Roof Decks, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Deck Builder, Deck - Repair, Patio & Deck Builders, Home Improvements- Additions, Home Improvements, Gazebos, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Contractors - Renovations and Alterations, Contractors-General, Concrete Contractors, Carpenters, Landscape Contractors

Service Area

Serving Victoria, Sidney to Sooke to Shawnigan

Alternate Business Names
Robert Ambis

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Ambis Contracting

#260 - 800 Kelly Road

Victoria, BC V9B 5T6

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • #260 - 800 Kelly Road 

    Victoria, BC V9B 5T6(250) 507-7230

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Vancouver Island. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Ambis Contracting is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Construction & Remodeling Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.