BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/31/2006

ParetoLogic Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (250) 370-9229Fax: (250) 370-9266View Additional Phone Numbers1827 Fort Street, VictoriaBC V8R 1J6 Send email to ParetoLogic Inc.View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/31/2006

BBB has determined that ParetoLogic Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised ParetoLogic Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 78 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

78 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues20
Billing / Collection Issues7
Delivery Issues5
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service44
Total Closed Complaints 78

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

10 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on ParetoLogic Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 9
Total Customer Reviews 10 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (78)
03/02/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Two Computers licensed;both paid up to 10-1-16;one said to update-now won't work;second one ck'd for update-now says to register-won't do it.nosupport
I have two computer/regcur pro.; paid to 10-1-16. I opened program,RegCurPro and it said update avail.so I did;found 355 problems to fix; now icon in taskbar I don't want;and won't open. Now second computer regcurpro won't even open and says need to register in a fast window that doesn't allow to even put into window. Doesn't open program to run now at all.

Desired Settlement
Immediate correction by repair and extension on program for problem this is causing with this trouble.

Final Consumer Response
I was able to finally contact Paratologic who responded with attentive attitudes and over a process of a few hours, responded very well and congenially by completely correcting the problems I related in my complaint.

07/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased RegCur Pro and ParetoLogic Privacy Controls PC/laptop cleanup software from ParetoLogic Inc.- their Order Rf. No. - PTLC-GXXXXXXXXXX-XXFZE on 23 June 2014 paying £**. Almost immediately realised their terms & conditions placed me on an unspecified auto renewal payment basis. The Safecart website does not allow me to contact them to cancel this auto-renewal. Found that ParetLogic had auto downloaded their software onto my laptop. I was triggered to this by the immediate slowing down of my laptop. I immediately deleted all their software & emailed the one & only email address I could find '***@ParetoLogic.com' requesting a refund as their product was not suitable for my needs. As expected I have heard nothing & no refund, despite their terms stating refund within 30 days of purchase if not satisfied, which I certainly am not.

Desired Settlement
An immediate refund to my PayPal account of £** -

Business Response
I do regret to hear that you were initially unable to contact our support department and that you were unsatisfied with our product.

Through searching our records, I see that you were able to contact our support team and have opened case ID XXXXXX. I will reply to your request and refund your order of RegCure Pro and ParetoLogic Privacy Controls for £**.

I do hope this resolves the matter to your satisfaction. I understand that you did not have a chance to use the software you purchased, so if you decided to give RegCure Pro another chance, please let us know.

07/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought a program. Paid with a Credit Card. Just want **.94 back
Now, I have been shut off from contact with them : Code ********* ( not allowed ) I received the same code when I try to contact them. All I want is my **.94 back.

Desired Settlement
Just want my money back.

Business Response
I do sincerely apologize for the frustration you have encountered with our products and our support.

As confirmed by you on June 26th, 2014, the funds did not reach us or SafeCart. There was an unexpected error which left an 'authorization' or 'pending charge' on your account. No funds are transferred but instead a hold for the funds is placed on your account. The hold will drop off in a few business days.

I would like to reassure you that this was not your fault at all. I do think my team could have done a better job of responding to your request and going the extra mile. I will speak with my representatives to ensure each customer concern is treated fairly and extra care is given.



06/23/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I did an on line search to fix "why my computer was running slow" and this ad for 'RegCure Pro' popped up stating they were associated with ********* for fixing such problems. All I need do is purchase a download program that would run a diagnostic & would fix most all the problems that could cause the slow response on my computer.
I put in my credit card info and did the download, when if finished I review & selected the "FIX" button and then a pop-up stating I needed to call (XXX)XXX-XXXX to activate the software. I called & they asked for access to my computer & I allowed. **** took me through a tour of folder & admin type files on my computer and then said the problem was so bad that I needed immediate repairs. he offered a couple of options that would be very costly and not longer term. Then his sales pitch began by offering another one time payment of $***.00 and some monthly fee for regular maintenance. I declined and asked for the software activation and be done.
He continued to pressure but after 10 minutes more he realized I was not spending another dime. At this time I did not know that the monthly fee was already applied. (The ad also stated the cost would $** dollars but the charge for the first one time was $** dollars.)
I disconnected my internet access after I finished talking with **** and returned to the RegCure Pro software I downloaded and the "FIX" button worked but there was not improvement to my computer so I uninstalled the software.

Desired Settlement
Credit my credit card with the $**.94 and any other charges they have made.

Business Response
We regret any difficulties you have experienced and would like to do everything we can to clarify a few of your concerns.

From your email, we understand that you have been in contact with our advanced tech support vendor. We contract out this company to provide our clients with 24/7 support for product registration issues. You are not obligated to purchase anything from this advanced tech support vendor.

Your subscription includes complimentary support for a variety of issues and should you have been in contact with us directly we would have been happy to provide you with technical support at no additional cost. We do offer a 30 day money-back guarantee on all of our purchases.

It appears that you have also been in contact with our e-commerce company, SafeCart, and they have processed your refund request for Order PTLC-UXXXXXXXXXX-XXUFL on June 2, 2014. Your refund will come from our credit processor, SafeCart, and will be credited to the source from which you were initially charged.

Please be advised that it may take up to 15 business days for your refund to be credited to your account.


05/26/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased RegCure Pro, and when I called to activate the product, the person, level1 technician, tried to sell me more products.
Without my consent he removed my protection spyware, and left all error messages opened, and also stopped other programs.
I am very dissqapointed, all he told me, is that the computer had problems. Which I already Knew.

Desired Settlement
I want my money back, I already uninstalled the product

Business Response
From your email, we understand that you have been in contact with our advanced tech support vendor. We contract out this company to provide our clients with 24/7 support for product registration issues. You are not obligated to purchase anything from this advanced tech support vendor.

We regret the poor experience you encountered with the advanced tech support company and we would be happy to assist you with your refund request.

We have received your request for a refund and have started the refund process for order PTLC-UXXXXXXXXXX-XXNMG.

Your refund will come from our credit processor, SafeCart, and will be credited to the source from which you were initially charged.

Please be advised that it may take up to 15 business days for your refund to be credited to your account.


Page 1 of 4
02/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I signed up, paid by credit card, which has been honored. The scan showed I had over 1000 finds, I clicked to fix, they asked for a key#, I reviewed, found no key#. This stopped the registration process. On their site I didn't find any way to contact them.

Desired Settlement
I would like my $**.00 back.

Business Response
We regret any difficulties you have experienced and would like to do everything we can to resolve the issues you are encountering.

Your subscription includes complimentary support for a variety of issues. If you are experiencing a technical issue with your computer please let us know as much as possible about your operating system, any error codes, and details about when the problem happens. We do offer a 30 day money-back guarantee on all of our purchases so there is no risk in taking advantage of our support while you are within this time frame.


To Install or Reinstall RegCure Pro, please follow the instructions below:

1. Go to: http://www.paretologic.com/download/regcurepro/index.php and download RegCure Pro.
2. Click Run to begin installation.
3. Follow the Prompts, clicking Next to proceed and I Agree to the license agreement.
4. Select a Default or a Custom installation, then click the Next button.
5. Select the location to install RegCure Pro. We recommend using the default: C:\Program Files\ParetoLogic\RegCure Pro
6. Click Install.
7. Select Run RegCure Pro and click Finish. Now you must register your purchased key.
8. Open RegCure Pro and click the "About" link at the top right.
9. Enter your license key in the text field provided: 2**********************
10. Now click OK.

To contact our support site, please send an email to ***************@paretologic.com and someone will get back to you promptly. If you would prefer, you are also able to give us a call on our toll free line of X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Monday to Friday between the hours of 6:30 a.m. and 4 p.m. Pacific Standard Time and from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Pacific Standard Time on Saturdays and Sundays.

Please reply to let us know how you wish to proceed, or if you require further assistance or clarification.



09/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I'm having problems with the registration key.
I paid for the regcure program in August of this year-2014. I downloaded and installed the program without problems. I've be3en trying to activate the product-Regcure,but every time I enter the registration program key, a window pops up stating that the key number is invalid!! I have tried to enter and un lock the program numerous times.

Desired Settlement
Help to activate key.

Business Response
We apologize for the delay in sending you your registration information for RegCure Pro & ParetoLogic Privacy Controls. We would like to suggest that you please check the junk/spam folder for your email account to check to see if the confirmation email was sent there by mistake.

Your RegCure Pro license key is: XXXXX-DXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX
Your Privacy Controls license key is: XXXXX-DXXXX-XAXXX-XXXXA

To Install or Reinstall RegCure Pro, please follow the instructions below:

1. Go to: http://www.paretologic.com/download/regcurepro/index.php and download RegCure Pro.
2. Click Run to begin installation.
3. Follow the Prompts, clicking Next to proceed and I Agree to the license agreement.
4. Select a Default or a Custom installation, then click the Next button.
5. Select the location to install RegCure Pro. We recommend using the default: C:\Program Files\ParetoLogic\RegCure Pro
6. Click Install.
7. Select Run RegCure Pro and click Finish. Now you must register your purchased key.
8. Open RegCure Pro and click the "About" link at the top right.
9. Enter your license key in the text field provided: XXXXX-DXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX
10. Now click OK.

You can find a video tutorial here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-82v9bnA33Q


To Install or Reinstall Privacy Controls, please follow the instructions below:

1. Go to: http://www.paretologic.com/download/paretologicpc/revenuewire/ and download Privacy Controls.
2. Click Run to begin installation.
3. Follow the Prompts, clicking Next to proceed and I Agree to the license agreement.
4. Select a Default or a Custom installation, then click the Next button.
5. Select the location to install Privacy Controls. We recommend using the default: C:\Program Files\ParetoLogic\Privacy Controls
6. Click Install.
7. Select Run ParetoLogic Privacy Controls and click Finish. Now you must register your purchased key.
8. Open Privacy Controls and click the "About" tab on the lower left.
9. Enter your license key in the text field provided: XXXXX-DXXXX-XAXXX-XXXXA
10. Now click OK.



01/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint


*********************
Site offers help in downloading files. Paid initial $29.97, tech ran diagnostics; concluded computer needed tuneup. Explained expense and time involved in going to a "*******" type store. Offered price of $200 and few hours if done thru Pareto. ************************ HOWEVER, basic problem (being able to download programs) could only be solved after having the tuneup! Would like my money refunded.

Desired Settlement
$29.97

Business Response

************

From your email, we understand that you have been in contact with our advanced tech support vendor. We contract out this company to provide our clients with 24/7 support for product registration issues. You are not obligated to purchase anything from this advanced tech support vendor.



**************

We regret any difficulties you may have experienced by trying out our software.

We have received your request for a refund and have started the refund process for order PTLC-UXXXXXX-XXVTN.

Your refund will come from our credit processor, SafeCart, and will be credited to the source from which you were initially charged.

Please be advised that it may take up to 15 business days for your refund to be credited to your account.



********

01/17/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
PURCHASED ONLINE REGCURE PRO 12/20/2013. CREDIT CARD CHARGER, PRODUCT NOT DELIVERED AND OVERCHARGED
ORDERED ON LINE PROGRAN TO DETECT AND FIX ERRORS AND PROBLEMS ON MY COMPUTER. FILLED OUT REGISTRATION AND SUPPLIED CREDIT CARD INFORMATION. ADVERTISED PRICE OF 29.95. CHARGED MY CREDIT CARD 39.95 AND PRODUCT COULD NOT BE DOWNLOADED.

Desired Settlement
CREDIT MY CREDIT CARD 39.95 FOR UNDELIVERED AND OVERCHARGED SERVICE.

Business Response




We would be pleased to clarify the details of your recent purchase. Our records indicate that your order was made as a bundle offer which included RegCure Pro at the price of $29.97 (regularly $39.97), and Privacy Controls at the discounted price of $9.97. This brings the total price of your purchase up to $39.94.














*

If you did not intend to purchase Privacy Controls, we would be happy to exchange this service for an additional 6 month extension on your license key. Alternatively, we can offer you a partial full refund of $9.97 for Privacy Controls.

We ask that you let us know if you would like us to proceed with the refund as we wish to provide you the opportunity to evaluate the effectiveness of the ParetoLogic Privacy Controls.

Your Privacy Controls license key is: 5E803-BXXXX-XB42B-3D7DC

To install Privacy Controls, please follow the instructions below:














***

Please let us know how you would like to proceed.



********

01/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have spent hours trying to get youre virus out of my computer so I thought by trying youre product I would relive the erros. the virusyou are when you will leave my machine alone it will run betterTAKE YOURE VIRUS OFF

Desired Settlement
you also over charged my acct. and when I called for help you were dis connected

Business Response
We would be pleased to clarify the details of your recent purchase. Our records indicate that your order was made as a bundle offer which included RegCure Pro at the price of $**.97 (regularly $**.97), and Privacy Controls at the discounted price of $*.97. This brings the total price of your purchase up to $**.94.

If you did not intend to purchase Privacy Controls, we would be happy to exchange this service for an additional 6 month extension on your license key. Alternatively, we can offer you a partial full refund of $*.97 for Privacy Controls.

We ask that you let us know if you would like us to proceed with the refund as we wish to provide you the opportunity to evaluate the effectiveness of the ParetoLogic Privacy Controls.

Your Privacy Controls license key is:
********

To install Privacy Controls, please follow the instructions below:
*******

Please let us know how you would like to proceed.



Page 1 of 12

Industry Comparison| Chart

Computers Software & Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/20/2005Business started: 03/01/2004
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 2004, BC

Business Management
Adrian Pereira
Contact Information
Principal: Jessica Jefferson (Operations Manager) Barry Dodd (General Manager) Alanna Gammage Julian Pereira Elton Pereira Davina Sing (Customer Support Office Adminstrator)
Business Category

Computers Software & Services

Products & Services

Paretologic is an international software development company headquartered in Victoria, British Columbia. The company specializes in providing advanced security applications for enterprise, business, and personal computer users. These include custom software solutions for business & government.

ParetoLogic offers a free version of all of its products to allow potential customers the ability to evaluate whether a program is right for them. The features included in the free version of a given program vary from product to product, but can be used without any obligation. In general, some of the product's features are made available for unlimited free use, while others are available only to subscribers.

ParetoLogic also offers a Continuous Protection Plan to its subscribers to ensure that they do not experience a lapse in service as the result of their subscription expiring. For customers who would prefer to manage their own service they offer an opt-out at the time of purchase, and consumers can cancel at any point during their subscription by calling 1-877-420-7340 or submitting an email via their Contact page: http://www.paretologic.com/eGain/en/contact.php. Continuous Protection customers receive a reminder 1 month prior to their service being renewed and another at 7 days to provide them with the opportunity to cancel should their needs have changed. ParetoLogic offers a 30 day money-back guarantee on all orders.

Alternate Business Names
SpeedyPC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

ParetoLogic Inc. has received 3.5 out of 5 stars based on 10 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for ParetoLogic Inc.

1827 Fort Street

Victoria, BC V8R 1J6

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1827 Fort Street 

    Victoria, BC V8R 1J6(250) 370-9229
    (250) 220-7373
    (877) 420-7340
    Fax: (250) 370-9266

  • 1837 Fort Street 

    Victoria, BC V8R 1J6

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Vancouver Island. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*ParetoLogic Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (250) 220-7373 - Jessica's direct number
  • (877) 420-7340 - Toll Free support
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Computers Software & Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.