BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2003

Comox Valley Dodge Chrysler Jeep

Phone: (250) 338-5451Fax: (250) 338-14424847 North Island Highway, CourtenayBC V9N 5Y8 Send email to Comox Valley Dodge Chrysler Jeep



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2003

BBB has determined that Comox Valley Dodge Chrysler Jeep meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Comox Valley Dodge Chrysler Jeep's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Comox Valley Dodge Chrysler Jeep

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
05/06/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The salesperson from this dealership did not properly disclose the warranty limitations when they sold me the extended warranty on my vehicle.
I purchased a used truck from the dodge dealership in Courtenay. The truck is a ***8 and we purchased it in 2014, so the truck was already 6 years old at the time of purchase. The salesperson told us that purchasing the extended warranty would cover any break downs, all parts and labour. He even went on to say that they would come and get us where ever we broke down and take it to the nearest dealer and all repairs would be done. He never disclosed the *** dollar deductible or the fact that the warranty company does not cover corrosion or rust on any part.

All used vehicles have some corrosion on them.

This clause should have been disclosed to us, as we would never have purchased the warranty at all if we knew about it. I am a licenced mechanic, I only purchased the warranty because we were told everything would be taken care of. The contract is very lengthy and would have taken a very long time to read over and try and decipher. A lawyer would have to take quite some time to read over this contract it is 5 pages long, and printed in extremely small print, and full of provisions.

We just had our power steering pump go on us, and we took it to the dealer for repair, that is the first time we had heard about the ***.00 deductible, and they said that the pump is covered under our warranty, because it is not corroded, however, if when they remove the pump they break the lines, we would have to go good for the cost of replacing them because there is some corrosion on them. They also said, that because the pump leaked, it leaked fluid onto the belt and that should be replaced, and we would need to cover the cost of that as well. The bill to us would be ******. We have priced out the cost of the pump in town and it is *****.I do not feel that I should have to go good for any repair, that is all cause and effect of a break down that is covered by the warranty. None of this, would have to be replaced, had the pump not failed. All salespeople should disclose the cost of deductibles and the limitations of warranties on used vehicles!

Desired Settlement
I believe I was sold a useless warranty and am seeking a refund of the cost of the warranty, I would never have spent the money on this warranty if the limitations within it had been disclosed to me at the time of sale.

Business Response
As a registered motor dealer in the province of British Columbia, it is incumbent upon us to provide each and every client all relevant and pertinent information pertaining to buying a new or pre-owned vehicle. In terms of this complaint, we followed our process and line by line disclosed the terms set out in each contract which resulted in the clients eventual signature.

This client purchased a pre-owned vehicle nearly two years ago that had approximately 122000 km's on it and due to its vintage and mileage, elected to purchase a mechanical service contract that was offered. Since then, he has put 26000km's on the vehicle, was experiencing some problems and brought it into our dealership to diagnose them. We diagnosed that the vehicle had a faulty Power Steering Pump, Power Steering Rack, Belt, and that in addition to these items, the Power Steering lines were corroded. Because the client had purchased an extended service contract, we contacted the insurance company and they had agreed to cover the pump, rack, diagnosis of the issue, and a required belt, but not the corroded lines. The client believed that the lines should have been covered but unfortunately the insurance companies in general do not include corrosion largely due to the fact that they cannot control where someone lives, the environment the vehicle is in, and for this reason, did not make this part of their insured portion. The client was not only incredibly dissatisfied with this response they actually swore obscenities to the owner, the service manager, and the service writer. All of whom were/are trying to rectify their concerns. In addition to this, the clients categorically refused to pay a deductible that is clearly written on their contract and claimed that they may have signed but they were told there was not a deductible. We do not deviate from our process and most assuredly explained the coverage and the deductible. I appreciate that buying a vehicle is stressful and there is a lot of paperwork with multiple contracts but this is what we do for a living and we are professionals, and disclose each and every item carefully.

I do sympathize with the sheer volume of information that a client has to contemplate while purchasing a vehicle and appreciate that some items may have been forgotten or misunderstood but that does not mean that it was not disclosed and that the contracts were not signed. I can't recall the detail of each and every conversation I have had from two year ago nor can I remember the content of each thing I have subsequently signed however, I do read each and every contract I sign and if I don't understand I ask questions before I sign. I can only assume that if there was confusion during the day of signing, questions would have been asked and answered at that time.

In terms of resolve, the client actually refused to have us do the work on their vehicle even though upwards of $******* WAS covered as a result of them having mechanical breakdown insurance. The client can contact the insurance company and ask for a refund and we always provide each and every client with all the appropriate documentation required to make such a request. If the client has misplaced their original documentation, I am happy to provide them with copies.

I am sincerely apologetic to these clients who have suffered a mechanical breakdown and were hoping that there was not a deductible and that the rusted power steering lines would be covered. Unfortunately neither of these wants can be covered. I was willing to reduce labour and parts costs as well and we certainly feel that the lines pose a safety concern and that they should have been replaced. The clients wanted no part of this discussion. Our store and our people did nothing nefarious and acted professionally throughout this entire transaction from nearly two years ago till today.

If the clients require anything from my dealership they can certainly contact me and I will be pleased to assist them.


Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - Rebuilt, Auto Parts & Supplies - Used, Auto Parts & Supplies-Used & Rebuilt, Consultants - Auto Repair, Auto Repair - Power Steering, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension, Auto Repair - Suspension, Auto Repair & Service - Diesel, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Inspection Stations, Auto Electric Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Parts & Supplies-New, Auto Dealers-Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/20/2005Business started: 04/01/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. The Better Business Bureau encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met. This company's motor vehicle license is 5682

Contact Information
Principal: Michael Marchi (General Manager) Kevin Kozlowski (Sales Manager) Jacquie Mikalishen (Accounts Payable)
Business Category

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - Rebuilt, Auto Parts & Supplies - Used, Auto Parts & Supplies-Used & Rebuilt, Consultants - Auto Repair, Auto Repair - Power Steering, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension, Auto Repair - Suspension, Auto Repair & Service - Diesel, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Inspection Stations, Auto Electric Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Parts & Supplies-New, Auto Dealers-Used Cars

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Comox Valley Dodge Chrysler Jeep

4847 North Island Highway

Courtenay, BC V9N 5Y8

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4847 North Island Highway 

    Courtenay, BC V9N 5Y8(250) 338-5451
    Fax: (250) 338-1442

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Vancouver Island. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Comox Valley Dodge Chrysler Jeep is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers-New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.