This business is not BBB accredited.

Shabby Apple, LLC

Phone: (801) 590-9799 4060 S 500 W Ste 6, Murray, UT 84123 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.shabbyapple.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Shabby Apple, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Shabby Apple, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 15, 2011 Business started: 01/01/2007 Business started locally: 01/01/2007 Business incorporated 12/15/2006 in UT
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Carl LeSueur, Owner Athelia K. Woolley, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Carl LeSueur, Owner
Business Category

Womens Apparel - Retail Clothing - Retail


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4060 S 500 W Ste 6

    Murray, UT 84123 (801) 590-9799

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/3/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an online order and processed it with my debit card in the amount of 163.10. Upon checking my bank account I saw that Shabby Apple had processed a total of 4 payments totaling $652.40. I have tried to call them twice and left messages with not call back from them. It is urgent to get this matter resolved.

Desired Settlement: I need an immediate reversal of these over charges since they are holding $489.30 of my money that they have no right to hold.

Business Response: We have responded to this customer.  We received only one payment of $163.10.  If those additional charges had come through to us as payments, we could reverse them. and would do so  Unfortunately they did not and are showing only on the customer side.  We believe the repeated charges are a credit card company error -- perhaps due to communications and security settings between the processor and issuing bank, and the customer should contact the credit card company to have those charges reversed.  If the credit card company has questions, we would be happy to join in customer's call to credit card company to confirm the customer only placed one order and we received only one payment.


Best regards.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I have had no contact from the business and in fact when you dial their number 
It says the voice mail is full. There are 4 charges of 163.10 and I can print it 
Out and show you. 

They are certainly not very honest with telling you they have
Contacted me




Sincerely,

******* ****

Business Response: I am sorry that the customer feels we are not honest.  At 11:46 this morning we sent the customer an email to the address provided -- ***********@yahoo.com as follows below.  As indicated, we are not disputing the customer's report that his credit card company has charged the customer multiple times.  We only received one payment, so this needs to be resolved with the credit card company.  We can only refund the one payment we received and we are more than willing to do so if the customer wants to cancel the order.


*******:

I understand that you have multiple charges showing on your credit card bill from Shabby Apple.  Unfortunately, we only received one payment and the remaining charges I believe are a credit card company error.  I believe sometimes what happens is the credit card processor sends the charge to the credit card company and due to the credit card company’s fraud or security settings there is  sometimes an initial rejection so the processor resends the request, and then they both clear on the customer’s side, but only one payment is sent to the merchant (ie Shabby Apple).  I believe this usually clears up in a couple of business days.  But if not, or if you need it taken care of ASAP, please contact your credit card  company and have them reverse all but one of the charges.  If you would like to have your order cancelled and the last charge refunded, we can handle that one on our side.  Just let me know.

Apologies for not calling back.  The person who normally handles customer service calls on Monday came down with strep throat.

Best,

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I want a phone call from the company
*** *** **** regarding my order.  Their 
Phone will not take any messages and
They do not answer the phone. 

Sincerely,

******* ****

Business Response: We have called the customer and left a voicemail.  she called back and confirmed the extra charges had cleared out of her account.  

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* ****

1/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a gift card for hundred dollars and a promo code... When I try to enter them both online to purchase a dress and a skirt it will only take one. I have called Shabby Apple every day for two weeks and have left numerous messages asking for help. No one has returned my call. Many times I have called and their voicemail is full and can't accept messages. This is the worst customer service ...there is no one there when u call. I have sent two emails. The first one was ignored, the second one they replied saying they call me that night and take my order and I would have my dress by Christmas… They never called. If I did not have a gift card that expired at the end of December I would never ever use this company. I cannot believe how difficult it is to place an order with the company. You think they would want your business. But I guess they don't. I don't know what to do, I don't know who to contact, I'm hoping this can be resolved and I can use my gift card and my promo code for 30% off and free shipping. If not they can just refund the $100 card and I'll purchase my christmas dress from mod-cloth. I am still in shock on how difficult it is to place an order S this company.

Desired Settlement: Contacted by business to place my order with the promo code or refund the gift card money and I will shop elsewhere

Business Response: We have attempted to call this customer several times before and after her complaint and received no answer.  Her gift code does not expire.  She has placed an order and we will refund the 40% she was unable to use with the gift certificate.  It actually works but a coding error is preventing the application of both from showing until after purchase.  We have a developer working on correcting the error.  

10/13/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am trying to find out the status of an overnight order from Sunday afternoon. I called on Monday and was told it would be here Tuesday. The order status still shows awaiting shipment, my wife and I have a dinner party tomorrow night and I have been on hold for 66 mins as of now. I also emailed yesterday and have not heard back from that avenue either. I have to say that this is not the best way to do business. Please respond so I can make other plans if need be.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of my overnight delivery fee, about $ 30.00. More importantly I have read many complaints on the web about this same issue happening with others. I call and I am told it has been shipped but in reality it has not. The issue int with the employees( although they told wrong info) the issue is with the overnight delivery and it cant even be done. That should not be an option is they cannot fulfill it.

Business Response: After a perfect storm of issues: our phones went out for a couple days, our customer service associate had a family emergency (she is guardian for someone who experienced serious injury during an accident), and unexpected complications in changing fulfillment services through the weekend and early this week, we were a bit behind on customer service issue resolution.   Notwithstanding that, two different sales associates spoke to this customer both on 9/15 and on 9/16.   Customer was apprised of the problems we were experiencing and that the customer's expedited shipping costs had been refunded.  Item is going out UPS overnight tonight without charge to customer and is expected to arrive early in the morning within the expedited shipping time frame.  UPS confirmation number has been sent to customer.  We apologize for the delay.  We appreciate the customer's patience and understanding.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
 it is not the issue of the Perfect Storm, it is the issue of how they handled the issue. While I understand things happen, it was not communicated until after I had to call in several times and then I was given  the reason why. Refunding the expedited shipping  costs was a great gesture and I appreciate that. That does not change the way things are with this company. I have to return one of the items and noon answers the phone ( as of the past two days) and you cant leave a message because the mailbox is full.  The number I am calling is ###-###-#### just so we know there was no mistake there. I emailed them yesterday and still waiting for a response on the correct way to return an item. It says on their website 

If you choose to return your purchase, please fill out the Return/Exchange Form enclosed in your package and make sure to mark the reason and items being returned. This form must be included inside your return package. To mail your return, simply attach the enclosed USPS return shipping label included on the outside of the package. You will then need to have your USPS mail carrier pick up the package or drop it off at your local USPS office. Once your return arrives at our warehouse, you will receive a refund back to the original form of payment, minus the original shipping cost and a flat-rate return shipping charge of $7.95.

The return label was included in my package but the return form was not, hence me trying to get a hold of someone to find out how to get a new form or how to proceed. So yes I understand that the perfect storm happened over the weekend,but their issues with customer service, handling issues, and lack of service has nothing to do with that.  

***** *******

Business Response: As previously noted, our customer service representative who handled email and phone inquiries had to suddenly quit due to a family emergency.  Unfortunately, we could not instantly replace her: we had to place an ad for a replacement, schedule and conduct interviews, and hire someone new  All the while, as previously noted, we were transitioning to a new fulfillment service, who apparently failed to include the return form in this customer's order.  In the meantime, although we reallocated people from other roles to try to help us get caught up on customer service and try to answer calls when possible, we were unable to keep up or get caught up until our new hire started.  I believe she has gone through the voicemail and emails., and we believe we are caught up.  I believe our new employee sent the form this customer requested some time last week.

Again , we apologize for any inconvenience in the delay in response and appreciate this customer's patience and understanding.
Best,
Shabby Apple

5/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The website failed to tell me dress was Pre-Order and won't even be shipped until May 9. Ordered March 12. I ordered a dress on March 12. By March 24 I was concerned that the website still said the order was "processing", especially since I had been told it would arrive before March 18. I emailed them. They say it was a pre-order item and will not even ship until May 9. No indication of "pre-order" status was ever made aware to me from the website. The email said a warning should have popped up - but if it did a pop-up blocker probably stopped it - and they should expect everyone in 2014 should have a pop-up blocker.

Desired Settlement: Just all my money back and for them to change the website so people know that if they order a dress in March and it tells them they will get it in March they are being lied to. Most things on a domestic site like that are expected to ship in 5-10 business days right? Why would you even offer things for sale 2 months before they can even be shipped?

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/26) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@shabbyapple.com We certainly appreciate this customer's concern and try to be transparent about ship dates. We welcome all customer feedback and are open to suggestions. We have no problem whatsoever cancelling a customer's order and issuing a refund upon request. This customer requested a refund on March 24, 2014 and was issued a full refund on that date. As for messaging on ship dates for back-ordered items, the website clearly indicates the ship dates in at least five places. The ship date for items appears when the mouse cursor hovers over a back-ordered size or selects a back-ordered size on the catalog page. It also appears when the mouse cursor hovers over a back-ordered size or selects a back-ordered size on the product page. The ship date for back-ordered items also appears in the product description in the basket when the item is added to the basket. The checkout page also provides the ship date for back-ordered items in both the product description and the order summary. In addition to providing the ship date in these five places, we are working on adding a feature to our shipping calculator to provide estimated arrival times for back-ordered items. This is a more complex feature, particularly because most orders are in-stock and customers that order back-ordered items also often order in-stock items at the same time. The use of "pop-up" in the customer service email was not a reference to a "pop-up" window, but a built in feature when a size of a dress is selected on the catalog page. A message appears indicating the date the item will ship. It is not affected by pop-up blockers. Many customers want the option to order a back-ordered item in advance because our items are unique and in limited supply. In fact, prior to providing this option, we would get phone calls from customers asking when a back-ordered item will be available and asking us to hold items for them. We have found our customers generally to prefer the online solution. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When I ordered there were no "pop-ups". I went to the website and saw they are there now but the website needs to make sure those things go into effect right when the dress goes up. Also, when I emailed back about the dress, I was told it wouldn't ship until April 3, but then another email came telling me May 9. I don't think they even have their dates straight there. Taking care of things after the fact still created an unreasonable reliance on that part.

4/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service