BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Utah

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/14/2005

Wine Racks America, Inc.

Phone: (888) 373-6057Fax: (801) 936-0534View Additional Phone Numbers360 N 700 W, North Salt LakeUT 84054-2710 Send email to Wine Racks America, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/14/2005

BBB has determined that Wine Racks America, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Wine Racks America, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
07/31/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: Door arrived with severe damage on right door frame. Photos sent to WRA with request for replacement frame only. No response,calls unanswered
Ordered Tuscan Wine Celler door using my VISA for the total price of $2,298.00 (knotty Alder-Early American) Product ID: WRADOORT-EAM with casings classic ID:WRADOORCAS711, Hinge color ID:WRADOORHNG, Door swing in to left ID:WRADOORSWG-IL on April 15 last. Door arrived well packaged with no visiable damage via freight ON 9 may last. On opening crate severe damage was noted on right side of frame that doors sits in when installed. The damage resulted when whom ever attached that side during mfg. torqued one of the screws so tight it caused the wood to split about 18 inches from the screw downward. I tried calling and talked to different people each time. One person stated her name was "*****" stated she was customer service and did receive my email and photdographic atachments showing the damage. I never heard back from her so began calling again and talked to a sales person that stated he was aware of my email but did not knnow what was going on. I called again and talked to a MS. **** whom I believe was the person that handled my sale. She put me on hold for a long time then stated somthing about the piece was being finished but did not no anything else. That is the last I heard and now no one will answer my calls. (I have over $30,000.00 worth of wine setting in my garage that I can not afford to loose because this business will not send the door part that will allow me to finish the wine room and turn on my cooling unit.)

Business' Initial Response
Please see attached for response & supporting documentation.
Thank you.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
WRA Exec. Admin. has given false information to BBB re: this case. 1. Neither broken/damaged parts were received as stated in memos from WRA or those they used to transport. They were days/weeks late in delivery. 2. The Mfg. that shipped a door that was damaged in the mfg. process had to know the damage existed the moment the jams were screwed into place. That mfg. went ahead and packaged and shipped the door knowing full well it was a damaged product. WRA seems to trust that mfg in another state to mfg., package and ship their product with no care in product condition or quality control. BBB has the photograph evidence showing the poor quality and damaged door. The only thing WRA has been willing to do is put this customer in a loosing position with a terrible damaged door that cannot be used as a wine door, and left with no one to repair,fix, or finish the installation. No one I have contacted to do any repairs on this door will touch it for fear of having some liability.
I suggest WRA send one of their own door people either from CA. or UT. to remove this door and refund our money so we can find a company to install a wine room door that will function as such. Either that or send an undamaged door with their own installer to get the job done. Either is a fair, just and honest solution. In light of the fact that as a result of all the delays caused by WRA it pretty much negates their so called warranty.
BBB now wants $75.00 to proceed?? OK, BBB lets proceed. Where do you want the $75.00 sent to?
You seem to be on a first name basis with some of the WRA people. Interesting!

Let me know what WRA is willing to do to make this right.
**** *****


Business' Final Response
July 15, 2013


RE: Case #XXXXXXXX, **** *****

Mr. ***** purchased a door from Wine Racks America on April 15, 2013 that was shipped to him and delivered via common carrier on or about May 9th. Upon uncrating the shipment, we understand that there was damage to the door jamb as reported to us on May 10th. Pursuant to this, we requested that replacement parts be sent as quickly as possible. Our records indicate that the replacement jamb leg was manufactured and shipped on May 20th with a confirmation of delivery under Fed Ex Tracking #XXXXXXXXXXXX on May 24th.

In a telephone discussion with Mr. ***** on June 10, 2013 he indicated that he had received the piece but that his installer had opted to glue and repair the old jamb rather than use the new part. However, he was still unable to have the door installed as the mechanical auto-bottom door seal did not appear to be working properly. A new door bottom was mailed to him the same day via USPS under tracking #XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX. This piece was confirmed to be delivered on June 21st.

We understand the frustration of noting damages to any item once unpacked and having to wait for replacement parts to arrive. However, we note that there have been no complaints in the condition or quality of the door itself as these problems have been limited to trim and hardware and we do feel that Wine Racks America has acted in good faith to resolve any and all concerns promptly and upon notification.

As a gesture of customer goodwill, Wine Racks America would be more than happy to extend a full refund (waiving the restocking fee) should Mr. ***** decide that he wishes to return the door rather than pursue remedies under his Limited Warranty. Alternately, we would be willing to extend a cash settlement of $799.60 to Mr. *****, which is the equivalent of 40% of the purchase price of the door (less shipping).

02/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: to return unwanted gift company requires me to pay shipping and for gift giver to incur 10% restocking fee

Received wine rack as a christmas gift. I do not want the gift and want to return it. I called today to get a return mailing label and was informed that no such lable will be provided; that I must pay for the return shipping, an dthe gift giver will be charged a 10% restocking fee. I have reviewed their website in detail and while ther eis reference to the restocking fee, I did not find any refernce regarding return shipping costs to be incurred by cistomer. In today's internet based economy such a position, especially when not clearly stated is at best not appropriate, and can be viewed as mis-representing the terms underwhich business is conducted.

Business' Initial Response
Our office called the customer and left a voicemail explaining that we would pay for the return shipping and waive the restocking fee as a courtesy. Our website does explain our return policy with regards to the restocking fee and shipping, but we would like the customer to be happy and are willing to make an exception.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Industry Comparison| Chart

Wine Storage Equipment

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/08/2005Business started: 12/19/2002
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 2002, UT

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Jeff Ogzewalla (Owner)
Contact Information
Ms. Jacquie Lipp (Customer Service Man)
Business Category

Wine Storage Equipment

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:30 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 07:30 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 07:30 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 07:30 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 07:30 AM to 05:00 PM

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Wine Racks America, Inc.

360 N 700 W

North Salt Lake, UT 84054-2710

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 360 N 700 W 

    North Salt Lake, UT 84054-2710(888) 373-6057
    (801) 936-5200

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Utah. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Wine Racks America, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (801) 936-5200
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2012 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Wine Storage Equipment

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.