Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Champion Window & Enclosure Company?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Champion Window & Enclosure Company

Phone: (801) 975-0077 Fax: (801) 975-1785 View Additional Phone Numbers 3284 W 2100 S Ste A, Salt Lake City, UT 84119 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.championwindow.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Champion Window & Enclosure Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Champion Window & Enclosure Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Champion Window & Enclosure Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 06, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1953 Business started locally: 01/01/1953 Business incorporated: 05/31/2007 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DOPL - Professional Licensing
160 E 300 S 4th Fl, Salt Lake City UT 84111
www.dopl.utah.gov
Phone Number: (801) 530-6628

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Susan Patience, Office Manager Mr. Bernard Barbash, President Tony Gurney, Division Manger
Contact Information
Principal: Susan Patience, Office Manager
Business Category

Windows Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Doors

Alternate Business Names
Champion Home Exteriors Champion Siding Champion Window Company of Salt Lake City, LLC
Products & Services

This company offers windows, doors, enclosures, siding, spas & patio room furnishings.


Additional Locations

  • 3284 W 2100 S Ste A

    Salt Lake City, UT 84119 (801) 975-0077 (888) 904-4700 (801) 251-1677 (801) 308-8472 (877) 424-2674

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/20/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sliding glass door took 10 months to install, still no key. Broken window order lost by local office. I ordered windows in late 2012. They were installed in Feb 2013, except the sliding glass door which was a custom order. I called repeatedly for 8 months. Finally my daughter called and was told that it was a "manufacturing problem". Promised to resolve it ASAP. She had to call 3 additional times and again given the run around. It was finally installed on Dec 24 2013, after my daughter threatened legal action. It still doesn't open and close properly and they have not brought me a key despite my repeated requests for it. In March one of the new windows broke, a rep came out on April 1st and measured. I called yesterday (4/28/14) for a status update and they can't find a record of the rep ever coming to my house.

Desired Settlement: I want the key to my sliding glass door. I want my door fixed so that it opens and closes properly. And I want my broken window (which is covered under warranty) replaced ASAP. After so much frustration, I have left my daughters contact information (phone number and email address) for resolution.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/30) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@getchampion.com I called and talked to the homeowner yesterday and we are already taking care of all her concerns. We ordered the new sash for her broken window on April 1st and it should be delivered on our next truck. We did give her keys for the door but we will bring her another set. When we come out and install the new sash we will adjust the door so it operates more smoothly. We have apologized for the delay in the sliding glass door many times and do so again. It was a custom door with a special notch cut and it had to be tempered. It broke 7 times during the tempering process so we actually made the glass 7 times before we got one that made it through the tempering process and was usable. This is not normal but it did happen. We welcome any other concerns the homeowner may have and will do our best to take care of them. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The last time I spoke to anyone from Champion Windows I was told that they didn't have a record of my window being ordered and it would therefore not be on the truck. That is the reason I filed this complaint. It was the straw that broke the camels back, so to speak. I was NEVER given keys to the door. It was installed on Christmas Eve and the installer "forgot" the keys and said he would bring them to me after the holidays. Every time I ask about them, they say they will get them to me right away. As far as the sliding glass door opening and closing correctly, the last response I got from them was that the door was so heavy that it would always be hard to open and close. It is one of THEIR doors, it should work properly or should not have been installed. Every time I talk to someone at Champion I get a different story. I will not accept a response from them until all of my issues are actually resolved, not just empty promises. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/05/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It is now May 13, and we are STILL waiting for the window to come in. I spoke to **** today (took 4 tries to finally get him on the phone) and he informed me that he THINKS my replacement window is on the truck that is coming tomorrow (sound familiar?)....BUT, it is the WRONG COLOR. This has gone beyond ridiculous. BRING ME THE KEY TO MY DOOR AND PULL YOUR HEADS OUT AND GET MY WINDOW REPLACED before I resort to legal action. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/05/16) */ The window did come in on the truck and we installed it yesterday and gave the homeowner a 3rd set of keys.

1/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Total service has been horrible...It has been nearly six months since we ordered a total of three doors with Key to Key Locks, all one key. Weeks and months have passed in between them making limited attempts to fix the situation1.We spent thousands of dollars more than we would have at Lowe's or Home-Depot2.It started with the doors were weeks later than promised3.Then the main front entry door was the wrong size and had to be reordered4.At this time the Key to Key locks we ordered were also not installed on the doors that were installed5.After several weeks the Main Entry door gets installed, but not the finishing piece on the inside nor the Key to Key locks on all the doors and the button on handle locks twists opposite of what normal locks do6.After several weeks we get the Key to Key locks but have concerns that button thumb twists are still opposite of normal and still no finish piece. The installer indicates he is going to "run to Lowe's" (We should have bought the doors there) for a finishing piece and will call us to come back and complete7.Weeks go by and no one comes to put finishing piece on or change locks8.I call and set a date several weeks out....specifically 12/10/13 to have my items addressed / finished. I chose this date because I was to be home all day with appliance delivery9.No call, No show....on 12/10 10.So on 12/13 today I call in again. I ask to talk to The Manager, when I was asked my name I gave it the Receptionist is very familiar with my name because of the numerous prior calls and asks me how its going...I told her no call no show...surprised, she puts me through to the Manger11. He tells me he talked to the installer "YESTERDAY" to see "how fixing things went" and the installer tells him he forgot. Admittedly six months into this and THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS PAID I've been mad a few times12.Today I am told that it is the "Brand Locks" they use they can run to "Home-Depot" but I'd have different keys.13.I have no date as of today for completed finish work

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Work finished. Commitment as to when work will be finished. Their advertisement sign they require as part of the service promoting them from my yard removed. I will not post a positive on their web site as they require. This complaint posted on BBB siteI've missed days from work to get his far....I have sat for hours waiting for them...I have made numerous calls and have gotten a lot of excuses.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/18) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Division Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@getchampion.com We are sorry to see this complaint from the ******'s and feel bad that the project took longer than it should have. Work was finished on this project on 12/17/13 (the day after this complaint was recorded). We did have to reorder one of the doors due to the fact that when we went to remove the original door the framing was different than we thought it was when the door was originally measured. The project did take longer to install and complete than either us or the customer would have liked. Some of the delays were defiantly our fault and some were because of scheduling concerns with the ******'s. The knobs and Deadbolts are Schlage brand which is a high quality lock and unfortunately they don't have an option of changing the direction you turn the knob to lock it or unlock it. We offered to purchase locks of a different brand but they would not be the same quality or have the same warranty that we can provide with the Schlage Brand locks. Mrs. ****** didn't want to do that. We install hundreds of Doors Nationwide every year and the direction you turn the knob to lock it is not a complaint that we hear from consumers. I am sorry for the frustrations caused by the delay's. If there is anything else that needs to be done we would be glad to take care of it. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/01/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We have had to sit here way to many times to have work done. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/01/02) */ This is the first time we have heard that there is a concern with the bottom trim molding. We would be happy to come out and redo it. Please contact me and lets set up a time to redo it even if we have to come after hours.

5/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/31/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues