Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Utah Water Systems LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (801) 483-0934 Fax: (801) 474-0345 1726 E Hollywood Ave, Salt Lake City, UT 84108 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.utahwatersystems.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Utah Water Systems LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Utah Water Systems LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Utah Water Systems LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 12, 2001 Business started: 08/01/1999 Business started locally: 08/01/1999 Business incorporated 08/18/2000 in UT
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. DeAnna Agbor, President Ms. Nicole Curran, Office Manager Mr. Agbor T. Agbor, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Agbor T. Agbor, Vice President
Principal: Ms. DeAnna Agbor, President
Principal: Ms. Nicole Curran, Office Manager
Business Category

Water Softening & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies Water Treatment Equipment,Service & Supplies Water Analysis Water Filtration & Purification Equipment Home Improvements


Additional Locations

  • 1726 E Hollywood Ave

    Salt Lake City, UT 84108 (801) 483-0934

  • PO Box 520871

    Salt Lake City, UT 84152

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Utah Water has failed to provide the customer service that they promised. I purchased a soft water unit from Utah Water in September 2006 from a high pressure salesman that used dishonest and manipulative tactics. I was pressured and went against my better judgement when I purchased the softener after a 30 day trial. The salesman came before the 30 day trial was over. He told us the price of the unit, which was much more than we were comfortable spending. When we told him our concerns, he quickly dropped the price to more than half the original amount. He said that they had put a more expensive unit in the house than they usually do for a trial period. Like the other complaint, I was not happy with the softeness of the water. He reassured me that this was a very high end unit and I would not be able to get water that was any softer. He told me that Utah Water had a wonderful customer service department and that they would service my unit if there was ever a problem. He also stated that for our family size we wouldn't use more that 5-6 bags of salt in a 5 month period. We go through 8 bags every 4 months. After we had the unit for about a year, I could see that we were using much more salt than we were told and our water wasn't even noticeable soft. I decided to call for service and see if everything was running correctly with the unit. In my heart I knew that I had made a poor choice buying from this salesman and from Utah Water, but I thought I would give them the opportunity to prove me wrong through their service. My poor judgement and their deceitful business practices were confirmed when I tried to call 4 times over a month period and never received a response. I never had my call answered by a live person. I left messages and did not get one returned phone call. I knew then that this business was not legitimate. Now, 8 years later, after hundreds of bags of salt and water that I would consider border-line soft, my water softener is leaking. Again, both my husband and I have tried to call Utah Water to see if they can come and service our unit. Multiple phone calls, multiple messages and no response from Utah Water. I would like Utah Water to come see if my unit can be fixed.

Desired Settlement: I would like Utah Water to come to my home and service the soft water unit with the customer service that they promised.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ****** ******
Contact Phone: *********4
Contact Email: ****@utahwatersystems.org
I would like to know what number she is calling. There are 2 of us that answer the phone and neither one of us has a record of her calling. Our website also has a form to fill out and comes directly to us. We will contact her immediately, to resolve her issue.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The number that both my husband and I called, more than once each, is printed on the front of our soft water unit and is *** *** ****. We were contacted by a service manager last week. We appreciate this step that has been made. He came out and looked at our unit and says that we need a new tank which is under warranty but the labor is not. We are deciding how to procede. We approve of them coming out and assessing our unit up to this point, but because we haven't had them repair it yet, I don't believe that I can close this case and say it is resolved. When we procede and Utah Water follows through with quality customer care, then I will be satisfied. That shouldn't take long. Things are just busy with the holidays and should move forward shortly.

4/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My brine tank on my softener is filling up with too much water. Hired them to remedy. Said they fixed it. Brine tank still overfills. On 12th, 2014, I hired Utah Water Systems to diagnose and repair an issue with my water softener. My brine tank is overfilling with too much water. The tech agreed the tank was filling with too much water and claimed he'd made the necessary repairs. I paid their $90 service charge at the time of service. I went out of town that night and returned on 3/9/14 to the same issue with my brine tank. I've called and left several messages with the company. No one will answer or return my calls. I've also emailed them and they will not respond on that platform either.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund or someone to come out and do the job they said they did.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/04/14) */ We will be going to this customers home 4/11/14 to find out what's going on with the system. I have called and apologized for not receiving his messages. We will strive to get this issue resolved.

11/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a water softener from this company that doesn't work very well. I have tried to return it but they won't accept it nor refund me my money. I was under a 30 day trial when a salesperson came to sell me the unit. I felt a little pressured because he said that I was far away and he didn't want to come back. The salesperson deals with multiple sclerosis so I bought the unit more out of pity and a desire to help the guy out. I had mentioned to him that I wasn't happy of how the unit was performing and advised him of a softener I bought at home depot (for my home in Orem)and installed myself softened the water much more. He convinced me that Sandy's water was extremely hard (I'm new to the area)and that it was not going to get softer no matter what. I figured he's the expert and that I should trust him. After a few days I felt buyers remorse and didn't feel like I got what I paid for, nor did I entirely buy the salesperson's reasoning . I decided to try another company out but before I did I called Utah Water to express my desire to return the unit. They told me they would send someone over to see my case. The gentleman showed up and he noticed that I was not given what I had paid for. I was supposed to get an automatic timer and the one I paid for was not automatic. He said that he would bring me a better unit but that my water was not going to get any softer. I appreciated his sincerity and told him that we would be wasting our time if he brought me the other unit seeing that my chief complaint was that it didn't soften the water to my expectations. I called UWS and asked them to retrieve their unit and refund me my money (less than 2 weeks after paying for it). I was willing to give them a chance to redeem themselves but the tech that came gave me no hope that my complaint would be resolved. I then called another company and they uninstalled UWS's unit and installed theirs. Within a few days I noticed a huge difference and was upset that I fell for the lie that my water couldn't get any softer, not to mention this new unit cost me less. I called UWS several times and when they did return my calls it was to tell me that I was not going to get a refund and that my 3 days of being able to return my unit had passed. I told them that I was never advised of that policy nor had I signed anything stating I agreed with that policy. I asked them several times to come get their unit and demanded my refund to no avail. I know there is a law in Utah that allows you to return anything within 30 days to which they kept repeating that my 3 days passed and that I couldn't return the unit. I hope that they don't think since I have a hispanic name that I'm going to let them take advantage of me. The person who sold me the unit I now have guaranteed me that I wouldn't have any issues returning the unit nor getting a refund which is part of the reason I bought his. I have been asking for his help but nothing is happening. My credit card company was not able to help me with the dispute and now I'm coming to you in hopes that I can get this resolved. UWS unit has been in my garage since July 4th and I'm anxious to return it but more importantly get my money refunded..all of it. help!

Desired Settlement: I want them to come get their equipment and refund me my money.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/14) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@juno.com Mr ***** did a 30 day water softener trial with our company. Completed the 30 day trial and agreed to a purchase with our company. After 3 weeks he decided he didn't like the softener he purchased, although he did call and say he didn't think it was working so I sent out a service tech. Everything was working fine. I recommended that we put in a higher grade unit for him, to give him customer satisfaction. A week later he called again and said he wanted us to come dx the softener. I tried calling him back several times to resolve the issue. This is now a month later and I had found out that he was doing a trial with another company and had dx the unit he purchased from us. We had given him the 3 day right of recission to cancel the sale, but again it was 3 weeks later that he decided he didn't want the unit he had just purchased. We are happy to install a unit that he would be satisfied with. But, I do not agree with him deciding to return the unit a month after purchasing it. We have not heard from him since July 21, 2013 after stating that we would be happy to exchange the unit for a different one. On our sales paperwork we state that they purchased a automatic water softener. He has an automatic water softener. Its one that you set to regenerate on a certain day. However, we offered to put in a more expensive unit that regenerates as needed. We want him to be happy. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/10/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I believe I paid for the unit on June 18th and called July 1st or 2nd to complain. I have those phone records as well as a witness. The salesperson changed some settings the day I purchased the unit and I wanted to wait to see if I saw an improvement in the water. I waited a few days and realized it was not going to get better. I should have told him to wait on the purchase until I had time to see a change but he was pressuring me to buy it that day and reassured me I'd be happy. BIG MISTAKE I don't know where you are coming up with the 3 weeks but that's not really important. You can return anything in Utah within 30 days and unless you have a written statement or signature from me agreeing to your 3 day policy (which was never brought up until I wanted to return your product) you have no ground to stand on and it will not hold up in court. I'm a very unhappy costumer and am loosing my patience with this company. I DON'T WANT ANYTHING TO DO WITH YOUR COMPANY!!! Your unit is in tact in my garage and has been that way since July 4th only because you are too stubborn to come pick up your inferior softener. If you refuse to pick it up and return my money I will take you to court and you will pay for my attorney's fees. Please send me the disclosure about the 3 day rescission signed by me. thanks Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/10/31) */ We do not need to have you sign a right of recision because of the type of sale it is. We still stand by our right as a company as well to try to provide you with great service. I also have all the messages of your phone calls, stating that you would like us to come out and look at, exchange it and take care of it. Which we tried to do over and over. You decided before we even got out there to service it to go somewhere else. We also a have a message from you credit card company stating you are complaining, and to please work it out. They also know there is a right of recision on returning the product.