Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Superior Water and Air, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (801) 974-9090 View Additional Phone Numbers 3536 S 1950 W, Salt Lake City, UT 84119 http://www.superiorwaterandair.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Superior Water and Air, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Superior Water and Air, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Superior Water and Air, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1956 Business started locally: 01/01/1956 Business incorporated 01/26/1999 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DOPL - Professional Licensing
160 E 300 S 4th Fl, Salt Lake City UT 84111
http://www.dopl.utah.gov
Phone Number: (801) 530-6628

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rob Anderson, President Mr. Bret Christenson, Company Contact Mr. Todd Jameson, Plumbing Manager Mr. Mark Lambourne, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rob Anderson, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Todd Jameson, Plumbing Manager
Business Category

Water Softening & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies Water - Bottled & Bulk Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment Water Heaters - Parts & Supplies Plumbers Plumbers - Commercial Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Superior Water and Air, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1316 S 400 E Ste B2

    St George, UT 84790 (435) 213-1080

  • 3536 S 1950 W

    Salt Lake City, UT 84119 (801) 803-6945 (801) 312-8143 (801) 438-4798 (801) 438-4793 (801) 974-9090 (800) 974-7638 +800-974-SOFT

  • 769 23rd St

    Ogden, UT 84401 (801) 528-9104 (801) 285-6613

  • 87 Baer Creek Dr

    Kaysville, UT 84037 (801) 513-2086

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The water treatment system was installed incorrectly and it caused my basement to flood twice. Ruined carpet and padding. Cost of rental carpet dryers. I mitigated these issues myself. It was a mess. A second service tech came and realigned the drainage tube so there would "hopefully" no longer be an issue with flooding. He stated the first tech did not install correctly. Then when I called to discuss with Dean R****** (CO Superior Water and Air) he basically questioned my integrity and said the second tech never said it was installed incorrectly. *If that is the case then why did the second tech reconfigure the drainage tube?*

Desired Settlement: This unit has been unplugged and not in service as I am afraid of another flood. Third time would not be the charm. :( I would like the unit removed and a refund.

Business Response: Superior is willing to go to the home and get the equipment back up and running and completely go thru all its operations to ensure it is working properly, but we will not take the equipment back nor will we issue any refunds. 

Consumer Response:

 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Please have Superior contact me at *** *** ****.

Thank you for your assistance.

Sincerely,

********* ******

9/15/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
4/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our water softener was installed incorrectly and resulted in damage to our property. The company is denying responsibility siting that it was tested the afternoon it was installed for proper drainage. Since the water damage was found Superior came back out to our residence and corrected the leak (no water has leaked since they have corrected the drainage line) however they are saying that we now have to file a claim with our insurance since they are not at fault for the leak. Ironic that they came and "fixed" the issue resulting in no more leaks but then deny they have any responsibility to fix the water/mold damage to our walls/floors/doors. I am upset that this will result in an increase to my home owners policy just because they will not file the claim through their own insurance policy.

Desired Settlement: All we would like to see happen is to have Superior pay the bill for restoration work needed. If we file through our insurance we will be responsible for a claim charge, inspector fee, and increased home owners rates (for how many years!) The fact that they want us to claim it through our own policy indicates they don't see themselves at fault, also after my contacting of Costco, Superiors Manager told them he was not responsible. This is extremely inaccurate.

Business Response: We received a call from ***** ************ about water damage from the floor drain discharge three months after the installation, our service tech went out to the property and found the drain line had been twisted and shooting out toward the walls. the drain line was installed correct  the day we left the installation{we run the system through back wash to make sure no leaks are visible and the drain can handle the flow {which it did}. Our Manager Dean R****** went out after the drain was secured to inspect the damage. He found that there was a small amount of the walls on the bottom had been wet and had a dirty look to them, he told customer to wash the walls with bleach and water as a prevention, they said they would and we talked about our process is to run this through their home owners and their  insurance would get a hold of ours at superior Water and Air. ***** stated they were having problems getting there agent to call back and were very dissatisfied with their company,Dean R****** has tried to contact *****  many times to see if the claim has been filled but has had no response for over a month now.

9/16/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a $9000 furnace, humidifier and Ac unit which was installed in november of 2009. this should still be within their 10 year warranty. On June 27 when I called their company, because the blower has failed on the system, I was told they have no record of us purchasing from them and it would cost $90 to have them come out and look at the system. I explained that they did install it and I have the paperwork, they said it would still cost $90 to come out and look at the system, and to call the manufacturer to see if there was any warranty left on the system. I called the manufacturer ( day and night) and they explained that since the unit was not registered, the warranty of 5 years had expired. It would be ten years and still in effect IF the installer had registered the unit within 90 days of installation. I again called Superior on June 29th and I was told I should have read the installation manual that was left attached to the unit and determined I was supposed to call the manufacturer and register the system in order to get the full warranty that we were promised. We were never told this was a condition of the warranty and we would have no way of knowing we were supposed to read the installation manual on the system since we are not the installer. We are continuing to try and get this enforced with the installer Superior but their overall demeanor and attitude is unhelpful and condescending, and their current status is: " You didn't read the installation manual and register it" and we are out of warranty.

Desired Settlement: Since it was never expressed to us that additional action on our part was required in order to get the warranty we were promised, I would like the cost of getting the repairs done by a third party to be reimbursed or have Superior repair this unit and complete any future repairs during the warranty period we were promised.

Business Response: Superior did honor the warranty and repair the equipment, the work was completed on 7/10/2015. I was unaware of this complaint or would have responded sooner.

Todd J******
VP of Operations
Superior Water and Air

6/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My contract for purchase stated that I would receive a rebate of $450 from Rocky Mountain power. I only relieved $300, when checking into it, it was because the Superior agent processed my rebate late, which led to the reduced rebate. I've called the company several times, speaking to the original sales person who told me the company would cut me a check for the remaining $150. The contract was written in October 2014, the last time I spoke with the sales person was in March 2015 (when he told me I would receive a check). Calling this company is a complete nightmare, they only have a few people to answer phones but nobody to handle customer service issues. I called today to talk to someone for resolved, and was again told that they would call me back. I shouldn't have to wait more than 7 months for a $150 refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like my refund, apology and something to compensate my time. I paid this company (nearly) $10,000 dollars. In all, this has been nothing but problematic. I've had horrible customer service with all parties involved. The actual install of service was a complete nightmare on its own. Ruined carpet and the job took twice longer than originally quoted. I have been giving nothing to compensate my time and dealt with people who just pass me around. Very activating. I will tell every person I know to NEVER do business with this company.

Business Response:

We issued a check to the customer on May 22, 2015. I expressed my apologies that it was such a frustrating thing to get handled when it should have been very simple. The customer has my information and can deal with me directly moving forward.

 

Todd *******

VP of Operations

Superior Water and Air

4/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have called Superior Water and Air 7 times now. I am trying to get somebody to help me reprogram my software so I can have softer water. They keep taking my phone number and telling me that somebody will call me and they haven't done so. I can not believe the customer service of this company. They only want money. They will send somebody out to my house for $100.00, I have discovered this is apparently the only way to get a simple questioned answered. I also find it very ironic that this company sells, installs and services water softeners and nobody at the company knows how to work them. I just want soft water and apparently there product can't give me that. I personally would NEVER do business with this company. When I need to get a new softener DO NOT use them. I have had hard water since I moved in and none of my neighbors have hard water, there companies take care of them and there softeners actually work. Superior doesn't care who we are, they got the sale and if you have any questions, you have to pay again for assistance.

Desired Settlement: At this point I would ideally love a full refund of my product so I can go to a company who actually cares about their customers and will provide service that actually works. I know this is a far fetch request, they would never do this. I simply want soft water!

Business Response:

We are very sorry to hear of Mrs. ******' experience. It should only take one phone call to get a prompt respose. ****** ****, my service manager, has called and sent an email to this customer. He will take care of her personally. I will follow up and make sure we have addressed her concerns. I will also be looking into our internal procedures to see if we have a breakdown somewhere.

 

**** *******

VP of Operations

Superior Water and Air

************

6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Superior was unable to service our A/C unit, charged us for parts that were under warranty and told us our whole unit needed to be replaced. On or around June 29th, your tenants called and indicated they AC was not working. It was the hottest time of the year at that point...with temperatures in the high 90s. Superior Water and Air was called to go investigate and service the unit. I received a voicemail from the technician on or about June 30th about the situation. He indicated a new compressor and fan motor was needed and had to be ordered from Las Vegas. It was ordered on July 2nd, but said it would take several days to arrive. He quoted $1,038.00 for the compressor and $90.00 for shipping. On July 8th, the Superior technician installed the new compressor...and did additional testing. He indicated there was solder inside the coils and needed to be cleaned. He said he could go in and either clean the solder out or replace the coils. Then he would need to assess the rest of the unit for repair. He gave no estimated cost for that work. He suggested a new AC unit be installed and would give a discount on the unit to $3,795.00. He also indicated if we ordered a new AC unit, the service/labor costs would be reduced to $750.00. The estimated total was $4,545.00. I instructed him to do no more work on the unit. I updated you on the latest development. You told me to call the company that had installed the unit. You directed me to Bills Comfort Systems. Superior Water and Air submitted an invoice #XXXXXX totaling $1,528.00 for the work they performed. The invoice described the service, "Replaced Compressor, Dual Capacitor, Filter Dryer, Cleaned Metering Device." On July 9th, I called Bills and a service call was scheduled for July 10th. On July 10th, Bills Comfort Systems arrived and asked me what Superior had done...before he could estimate the remaining repairs. I repeated to him what they had done. He then determined that the AC unit was still under the 5 year parts warranty. Bill's records indicated the AC unit was installed July 18th, 2008, meaning all parts including compressor and fan motor would be warrantied at the time of this unit failure. ****** from Bill's indicated the parts should be covered without cost to the homeowner, despite the charge from Superior for those parts. On July 11th, Bill's returned the AC unit to service at a total cost of $479.50. That included, as the statement indicates a service call of $69.50 and labor of $410.00 On or around July 12th, I called Superior and instructed them that the parts were under warranty and the cost of those replacement parts should not be charged to the owner. There has been no adjustment to the invoice.

Desired Settlement: Account #XXXXXX needs to be closed and Invoice number #XXXXXX dismissed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/30) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@superiorwaterandair.com ON 6/27/2013 Superior Water & Air was called to diagnose a no cool at **** *********** ***** in ********* **** by the property manager. Upon arrival it was diagnosed as a mechanically failed compressor. Explained to property manager about the problem and would need to replace compressor in order to diagnose any further issues. The technician explained that the cost for the repair for compressor change out was a flat rate of $1038.00. We explained that the compressor was under manufacture warranty however does not include labor, disposal of contaminated refrigerant, new Freon etc. A breakdown of cost of compressor replacement was sent to the property manager's email on 8/15/2013. The cost of repairs was explained to the property manager before repairs could be done. (Labor, Freon, acid test etc.) Once compressor was replaced under part warranty only, we then were able to diagnose complete operation. We at this point diagnosed system not operational to manufacture's specification. Explained to property manager that opening the cooling system again was required to find the cause for improper operation. Approval was given by property manager to proceed, which at this point technician found solder debris inside metering device and excessive oil in evaporative coil. Which at this point property manager had instructed us to stop any further repair and would notify us of any further assistance. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Superior did disclose the probability of a bad compressor. That made sense. It was ordered on July 2nd. At no time did they disclose that the parts were under warranty. At no time did he disclose the "compressor change out" cost. He discussed ordering the compressor and that it had to come from Las Vegas and had no indication when the compressor would come in. He did indicate that he would need to install the new compressor to diagnose any additional problems....if there were any. When he installed the compressor...that is when he came up with all sorts of things that needed to be repaired including the solder debris inside the system and a few other things. He told me the bill would be over $1,500.00. He told me he could discount that amount if we purchased a brand new A/C unit. He said he would be able to give a great discounted rate on that as well. That is when I told him not to proceed. I alerted you both. You suggested I call Bills. I did. A technician from Bills went to the property on July 10th. I reviewed with him what Superior had done and diagnosed. I was then informed, for the first time, that the parts were under warranty and that you should not pay for them. Upon inspection, no oil was found in the evaporative coil...and no solder debris was found inside metering device. The system was repaired and recharged. That bill totaled just $470.00. One final interesting point...Superior's response indicates an email was sent to me on August 15th. That is correct. I did receive it. That was the first I had seen any kind of breakout of "potential" charges...and came more than a month after Bill's performed the service at a fraction of the Superior charge. The transparency by the service technician was completely inadequate and, I felt, took advantage of time when temperatures were in the high 90s and low 100s in order to sell a brand new A/C unit. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2014/05/28) */ Bottom line is Superior Air and Water Inc, invoiced the price of a compressor and shipping by which the compressor and installation was under warranty. Furthermore, once the compressor arrived and installed (warrantied), the Superior Air and Water Inc. technician FALSELY diagnosed a reommneded repair of "solder debris inside metering device and excessive oil in evaporative coil". At this point, Superior Air and Water was taking advantage of the situation due to the hottest time of the year. Immediately, we then proceeded to summon the original HVAC company (Bill Comfort Systems)which installed the HVAC unit from original build date of the property. Upon their evaluation, Bill Comfort Systems emphatically assessed there was NO solder debris in the metering device OR excessive oil in the coil. Thereby further highlighting Superior's inadequacy of diagnosing and falsely charging unsuspecting homeowners for unneeded services and repairs. To resolve this situation, Superior Air & Water Inc. needs to take ownership and ABOLISH the invoice due to their professional inadequacies of properly identifying a warrantied compressor (by Serial Number) and falsely identifying an issue for sole purpose of further gaining profit by charging for unneeded repairs. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/06/02) */ As to the response to Mr. ***, we did disclose that the compressor would be changed out under manufacture warranty. Per manufacture warranty only covers compressor part ONLY and not labor and other material such as refrigerant. The price that was quoted to the property manager was for warranty change out of compressor that included labor, reclaim and disposal of contaminated refrigerant, new refrigerant, etc. Our compressor change out for the same unit non warranty is higher flat rate charge. Again we dealt with **** ***** the property manager only so not sure how Mr. *** is under the impression we did not discuss "Pricing" before repair. As far as the break down on compressor change out that was done under request after the repair from the property manager John Sears. I am disappointed to see that Mr. *** is accusing Superior Water & Air of gaining profit by charging for unneeded repairs. Superior Water & Air has always been upfront with all repairs as company policy. I would be more than willing to work with Mr. *** professionally to move forward and put this issue behind us. *** ******* HVAC Service Manager Superior Water & Air

6/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales representative came to our home, told us that we would pay for a water heater ($695) and a plumbing upgrade package of $500. Upgrade not needed The salesman told me our plumbing was not to code. He said that it was $500 to bring the plumbing to code. But when the plumber came to install the water heater, he told us that the plumbing was to code and nothing needed to be changed. Salesman did not tell me that they had to install a new expansion tank, that the haul away and permit fees were so much. The salesman did not fully disclose everything that we were paying for and was deceptive in tactic of getting the customer to accept the very overpriced bid by saying things were necessary that were not necessary.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to come and take back their product and all their supplies and refund me the total cost of the service and product. I will then purchase the product on my own at a local hardware store and install myself.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 5, 2014/06/03) */ I have been in contact with the company and they have agreed to a satisfactory resolution. Will you please close the case as satisfied and resolved, and let them know?

12/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Incorrect information about our water softner along with unnecessary work done on it. Superior fixed the paddle valve, paddle seat, and brass gear on our softner. Four months later it was not working again. They fixed the float on it. Five months later it was not working again. The sales rep then told us it was because it had not been plumbed correctly. Why didn't the first two reps provide this information instead of continuing to fix other problems. When we contacted a manager by the name of ******, he told us he would get back to us. We never heard form him.

Desired Settlement: We are only asking for Superior to give us back the money we spent to fix the two previous repairs and service calls. $49 Paddle Valve $23.00 seat $25 brass gear $80 service $56 float $80 service

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@superiorwaterandair.com Our record indicate that we did not do the intitial install of the softener. Being hooked up to hot only had nothing to do with the repairs that needed to be done on the softener The softener was installed on the hot side only. Leaving the cold water in the house untreated. 11/25/2011 the softener was not operating correctly. There were parts that were bad and would have made it so the hot water wouldn't have been soft either. Returned to customers house 3/12/2012 which is 15 days out of warranty and did not charge a service call we replaced another worn out part on a different section of the equipment. Scheduled a call on 10/26/2012 and charged a service call at that time the tech tested the water and it tested perfectly soft so the repairs made were successful. We did find that the hot side was perfect and the cold side still tested as regular untreated water. We informed them that it was plumbed to hot side only. It is our case that we performed nessasary repairs to make the piece of equipment work as verified by the water test. It was not our responsibility that the water was plumbed the way it was since we didn't do the first installation.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Superior Water and Air, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart