BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Utah

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/28/2003

Utah Water Systems LLC

Find a Location

Phone: (801) 483-0934Fax: (801) 474-03453596 S 300 W Ste 13A, Salt Lake CityUT 84115-4316 Send email to Utah Water Systems LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/28/2003

BBB has determined that Utah Water Systems LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Utah Water Systems LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Utah Water Systems LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
04/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My brine tank on my softener is filling up with too much water. Hired them to remedy. Said they fixed it. Brine tank still overfills.
On 12th, 2014, I hired Utah Water Systems to diagnose and repair an issue with my water softener. My brine tank is overfilling with too much water. The tech agreed the tank was filling with too much water and claimed he'd made the necessary repairs. I paid their $90 service charge at the time of service.

I went out of town that night and returned on 3/9/14 to the same issue with my brine tank. I've called and left several messages with the company. No one will answer or return my calls. I've also emailed them and they will not respond on that platform either.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund or someone to come out and do the job they said they did.

Business Response
We will be going to this customers home 4/11/14 to find out what's going on with the system. I have called and apologized for not receiving his messages. We will strive to get this issue resolved.

11/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a water softener from this company that doesn't work very well. I have tried to return it but they won't accept it nor refund me my money.
I was under a 30 day trial when a salesperson came to sell me the unit. I felt a little pressured because he said that I was far away and he didn't want to come back. The salesperson deals with multiple sclerosis so I bought the unit more out of pity and a desire to help the guy out.
I had mentioned to him that I wasn't happy of how the unit was performing and advised him of a softener I bought at home depot (for my home in Orem)and installed myself softened the water much more. He convinced me that Sandy's water was extremely hard (I'm new to the area)and that it was not going to get softer no matter what. I figured he's the expert and that I should trust him.
After a few days I felt buyers remorse and didn't feel like I got what I paid for, nor did I entirely buy the salesperson's reasoning . I decided to try another company out but before I did I called Utah Water to express my desire to return the unit. They told me they would send someone over to see my case.
The gentleman showed up and he noticed that I was not given what I had paid for. I was supposed to get an automatic timer and the one I paid for was not automatic. He said that he would bring me a better unit but that my water was not going to get any softer. I appreciated his sincerity and told him that we would be wasting our time if he brought me the other unit seeing that my chief complaint was that it didn't soften the water to my expectations. I called UWS and asked them to retrieve their unit and refund me my money (less than 2 weeks after paying for it). I was willing to give them a chance to redeem themselves but the tech that came gave me no hope that my complaint would be resolved.
I then called another company and they uninstalled UWS's unit and installed theirs. Within a few days I noticed a huge difference and was upset that I fell for the lie that my water couldn't get any softer, not to mention this new unit cost me less.
I called UWS several times and when they did return my calls it was to tell me that I was not going to get a refund and that my 3 days of being able to return my unit had passed. I told them that I was never advised of that policy nor had I signed anything stating I agreed with that policy. I asked them several times to come get their unit and demanded my refund to no avail.
I know there is a law in Utah that allows you to return anything within 30 days to which they kept repeating that my 3 days passed and that I couldn't return the unit. I hope that they don't think since I have a hispanic name that I'm going to let them take advantage of me.
The person who sold me the unit I now have guaranteed me that I wouldn't have any issues returning the unit nor getting a refund which is part of the reason I bought his. I have been asking for his help but nothing is happening. My credit card company was not able to help me with the dispute and now I'm coming to you in hopes that I can get this resolved.
UWS unit has been in my garage since July 4th and I'm anxious to return it but more importantly get my money refunded..all of it. help!

Desired Settlement
I want them to come get their equipment and refund me my money.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@juno.com
Mr ***** did a 30 day water softener trial with our company. Completed the 30 day trial and agreed to a purchase with our company. After 3 weeks he decided he didn't like the softener he purchased, although he did call and say he didn't think it was working so I sent out a service tech. Everything was working fine. I recommended that we put in a higher grade unit for him, to give him customer satisfaction. A week later he called again and said he wanted us to come dx the softener. I tried calling him back several times to resolve the issue. This is now a month later and I had found out that he was doing a trial with another company and had dx the unit he purchased from us. We had given him the 3 day right of recission to cancel the sale, but again it was 3 weeks later that he decided he didn't want the unit he had just purchased. We are happy to install a unit that he would be satisfied with. But, I do not agree with him deciding to return the unit a month after purchasing it. We have not heard from him since July 21, 2013 after stating that we would be happy to exchange the unit for a different one. On our sales paperwork we state that they purchased a automatic water softener. He has an automatic water softener. Its one that you set to regenerate on a certain day. However, we offered to put in a more expensive unit that regenerates as needed. We want him to be happy.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I believe I paid for the unit on June 18th and called July 1st or 2nd to complain. I have those phone records as well as a witness. The salesperson changed some settings the day I purchased the unit and I wanted to wait to see if I saw an improvement in the water. I waited a few days and realized it was not going to get better. I should have told him to wait on the purchase until I had time to see a change but he was pressuring me to buy it that day and reassured me I'd be happy. BIG MISTAKE

I don't know where you are coming up with the 3 weeks but that's not really important.
You can return anything in Utah within 30 days and unless you have a written statement or signature from me agreeing to your 3 day policy (which was never brought up until I wanted to return your product) you have no ground to stand on and it will not hold up in court.

I'm a very unhappy costumer and am loosing my patience with this company. I DON'T WANT ANYTHING TO DO WITH YOUR COMPANY!!! Your unit is in tact in my garage and has been that way since July 4th only because you are too stubborn to come pick up your inferior softener. If you refuse to pick it up and return my money I will take you to court and you will pay for my attorney's fees.

Please send me the disclosure about the 3 day rescission signed by me.

thanks

Final Business Response
We do not need to have you sign a right of recision because of the type of sale it is. We still stand by our right as a company as well to try to provide you with great service. I also have all the messages of your phone calls, stating that you would like us to come out and look at, exchange it and take care of it. Which we tried to do over and over. You decided before we even got out there to service it to go somewhere else. We also a have a message from you credit card company stating you are complaining, and to please work it out. They also know there is a right of recision on returning the product.

12/15/2011Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Water Soft & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies, Home Improvements, Water Treatment Equipment,Service & Supplies, Water Analysis, Water Filtration & Purification Equipment

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/12/2001Business started: 08/01/1999
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Customer Contact: Mr. Agbor T. Agbor (Owner)
Business Category

Water Soft & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies, Home Improvements, Water Treatment Equipment,Service & Supplies, Water Analysis, Water Filtration & Purification Equipment

Industry Tips
BBB Warns Spring Time Brings Home Improvement Scams
Home Improvements
Safe & Sound: Securing Your Home
Winterizing Your Home

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Utah Water Systems LLC

3596 S 300 W Ste 13A

Salt Lake City, UT 84115-4316

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 3596 S 300 W Ste 13A 

    Salt Lake City, UT 84115-4316(801) 483-0934

  • PO Box 520871 

    Salt Lake City, UT 84152-0871

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Utah. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Utah Water Systems LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2012 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.