BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Utah

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/02/2010

X-Treme Motors L.L.C.

(801) 732-90382496 S 1900 W, West HavenUT 84401-3218 Send email to X-Treme Motors L.L.C.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/02/2010

BBB has determined that X-Treme Motors L.L.C. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating at this time.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on X-Treme Motors L.L.C.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
09/09/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised written warranty or guarantee

Complaint: X-Treme Motors LLC told me that they would fix an existing oil leak prior to my purchase and failed to do so. They refused to pay for repair costs.
On June 9th, 2013, I traveled to West Haven, Utah to purchase a 2000 Dodge Ram 2500. I advised ****** ****** the owner operator of X-Treme Motors LLC that I was traveling out of state and requested all information regarding damages to the vehicle. Mr. ***** failed to disclose damage to the dash, overhead light console, poor condition of the tires and a large collection of oil around the motor area. Mr. ***** did state that the vehicle had an oil leak which he was having repaired. On the telephone, I confirmed with Mr. ***** that the oil leak would be repaired prior to my purchase and he stated that it would. As a follow up to this conversation I sent Mr. ***** an e-mail regarding the oil leak. Mr. ***** replied and acknowledged this e-mail.

After purchasing the vehicle, I traveled back to Tucson, Arizona where I reside. The next day I noticed an oil leak on the vehicle and contacted Mr. ***** advising him that he in-fact had not fixed the oil leak. Mr. ***** told me to take it to a shop and have it looked at. I did this and called Mr. ***** back advising him of their findings and the total costs of the repair. The total costs of the repair were $____ and Mr. ***** stated that he would pay half. I had a witness to this telephone conversation and told Mr. ***** that this was not acceptable, he had told me that he would have the oil leak fixed prior to purchase and had failed to do so. Mr. ***** stated that he had another company do the repair and it was their fault not his. I told Mr. ***** that it was his responsibility to ensure that he followed through with his guarantee to repair the vehicle and if there was an issue with the repairman he needed to take care of that himself. Mr. ***** failed to call me back and I finally got ahold of him a week later, he then stated that the repair company wasn't going to do anything and I had "turned my nose up at his offer to pay half" so there was nothing he could do.

I told Mr. ***** that I would be filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau because he had given me a guarantee to fix the oil leak prior to purchasing the vehicle and had failed to do so. Mr. ***** became heated and argumentative and the conversation ended. I followed this up with an e-mail to Mr. ***** on June 25, 2013 again advising him that if he did not honor his guarantee I would have to file with the BBB. I have not received any follow up correspondence from Mr. ****** I have e-mail and text messages as proof of my correspondences with Mr. ****** The repair company representatives that fixed the oil leak stated that it was impossible for a repairman to believe that the oil leak originated from the oil pan because oil had traveled all the way up the side and front of the motor, hitting the radiator fan and caking the engine compartment with oil. If the oil leak originated from the oil pan, it would drip downwards away from the motor compartment. I believe Mr. ***** knowingly avoided fixing the oil leak due to the costs involved and lied regarding its successful repair.

Business' Initial Response
To whom it may concern,
Mr. **** ****** did purchase 2000 Dodge Ram 2500 in question in the second week oflune. The truck did in fact leak oil before he came to get it. We paid to have it fixed and have attached an invoice showing evidence was fixed. He was given a suggestion from us to take the truck to a shop before purchase. He inspected the vehicle himself after we picked him op at the airport and purchased it for the price we agreed on, not mentioning the items in question. He also informed us he was heading up North of Utah to-vsit family and was not going directly home. The truck was sold as-is (attached is copi,r of the as- agreement.)He notified us of the leak several clays after the purchase. lf he was local it would be covered under waranty from the shop that dld the work on it. Unfortuantly he is not local. We offered to payr half of the repair bili he inquired about and he felt that not fair. At that time he raised his voice and hung up the phone. We are very sorry that the truck started to leak oil after his several hundred mile drive and wish we could have carne to a fair agreement like suggested and it didn't have to come to this. We hope that his next vehicle purchase will be somewhere else and that it will go
much better for him.
****** *****
Sales Manager
________________
________________

Invoice
Date Invoice
6/4/XXXX XXXXX
**** s. **** w. ** Ogden, UT XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX
Sold To
xtreme motors Y Y Y Y Y Y Y Y Y Y Y Y Y
Description
2000 BLACK DODGE
Quantity Description Rate Amount
4 DEXRON/MERCON ATF 6.96 27.84 4 Chrysler synchromesh trans fluid $3.25 39.00 9 GEAR OIL 5.00 45.00 3 15w40 delo engine oi! 15.81 47.43 1 CUMMINS 5.9/6.7 FLEETGUARD OIL FILTER 12.72 12.72 2 R134A FREON 15.26 30.52 4 REPAIR ENGINE OIL LEAKS, AT FRONT COVER , AND AT DRAIN 50.00 200.00
PLUG, SERVICE ENGINE CHARGE AC SYSTEM, TEST DRIVE TRUCK AND CHECK FOR OIL LEAKS, NONE FOUND AT THIS TIME CUSTOMER CALLED
Thank you for your business.
Total $0.00
________________
________________

BUYERS GUIDE
IMPORTANT: Spoken promises are difficult to ejlorce. Ask the dealer to put all promises in writing. Keep
DEALER STOCK NUMBER (Optlonn
WARRANTIES FOR THIS VEHICLE.:
ASIS -NO WARANTY
YOU WILL PAY ALL COSTS FOR- ANY REPAIRS
The dealer assumes no responsibility for any repairs regardless of any oral statements about the vehicle.
WARRANTY
El FULL El Lmnrreo WARRANTY. The dealer wsu pay M % of the labor and _M_ of the parte. for the covered systems that feit Yoluring the warranty period. .Ask the dealer for a copy of the warranty document for a full explanation of warranty coverage, exclusions, and the dealers repair obligations. Under state law, implied warranties may give you even more rights.
SYSTEMS COVEREDt DURATION:
l) SERVlGE GONTRAGT: A service contract is available at an extra charge on this vehicle. Ask for details as to coverage, deductible, price, and exclusions. if you buy a service contract within 90 days of the time of sale, state law implied warranties may give you additional rights.
PRE PURCHASE lNSPECTIGN: ASK THE DEALER IF YOU MAY HAVE THIS VEHIC-LE iNSPECTED BY YOUR MECHANIC EITHER ON 0R OFF THE LOT.
SEE THE BAGK QF THiS FQRM klar impornadditional information, inciuding a list of some major deiects
________________
________________

________________
________________

PURCHASE PRICE AND OTHER SUMS DUE
E ONLY PERTAINING TO TRADE-IN
1. CASH PRICE orI vEHscLE
E. Aocassonlesfopnoms
s.
9, SUBTOTAL
NQTIGE NLY T0 BUYERS 0F USED VEHICLE The information you ses on the window form Guide) for mis vehicle is parl of cwtrao Inormatondn the window form ovewidos any conirary provisions in tho oomraci o solo.
THE FTC GAFI BUYERS GUIDE.
(lines 6 through B)
TRADEHIN ANlR THER CREDITS
YEAWMAKE oDoMErEH
esmas aow TYPE
mm. M"
*BALANCE OWED ON TRADEJN: nu
O . a BAQN WED TO u im ADDRESS:
PAYOFF GOOD
VEHIFHED BY: UNTIL: -
DATE OF
VEHFlCATION AGCA?
Purchaser wari'ants that h any vehicle traded in, and
elshe has
PURCHASR marinas To
TH "OF THE MOTOR VEHTOLE OESORTBED iN THIS CONTRA AOKNOWLEOOES THAT THE Samia Os: THE MOTOR VEHICLE HAS MATTE NO PHOMTS WAHOANTTES, OTT REPRTSENTATTONS REGARDING SETTOTTOETATTTTY TO OBTAIN FTNANOT FOH THE PURCHASE OF THE MOTOR VEHICLE. FUFITHERMOHE, PURGHASR UNDERSTAN THAT IF FINANCING IS NECESSARY IN OFIDEFI FOR THE PURCHASEH TO COMPLETE T PAYMENT TERMS OFRIS CONTRACT ALL 'THE FINANCING ARRANGEMENTS AHI-I THE SC RESPONSIBILITY PUFICHASEFI.
SELLERKGREES TOBEK ARHANGMENTS Fon FlNANcm TI'IE PURCHASFI OF THE MOTOR VEHICLE DESCRIBED IN TI'IIS CONTRACT I EXECUTED THE CONTRACT IN RELIANGE UPON TI'IE. SELLEFI'S REPRESENTATION TI SELLER CAN PROVIDE FINANCING AHRPINGEMNTS FOR THE PURCHASE OF THE MOT VEHICLE. THE PRIMARY TERMS OF THE FINANCING AFI ASQOWSI
IN SEILEH SHALL @IVE BACK TO THE PUHCHASEH ALL PAYMENTS OFI OTHER CONSIDERATION PAID B? PURCHASEH. INCLUDING ANY DOWN PAYMENT AND ANY MOTOR VEHICLE TRABED IN. IF THE TRADE-IN HAS BEEN SOI. OTHEHWISE DISPOSED 0F BEFORE THE PUFICHASER HESCINDS THE TRANSACTION. THEN THE SELLER SHALI.. RETUFI THE PUHCHABER A SUM EGUIVALENT THE ALLWANCE TOWI'IFIU THE PURCHASE PFIICE GIVEN BY THE SELLER THE TRADE-IN. AS NOTED IN THE DOCUMENT OF SALE.
SIGNING THIS'IJISCLGSURE DOES NOT PHOHIBIT THE PUHQHPSER FFIOM BEEKING HIS OWN FINANCING. THE DEAE-EF
Purchaser has arranged Insurance on vehicle through
Insurance company. Policy #4 .
Purchaser has arranged Insurance on vehicle tnrougn Y Y Y As ls stated nn lne reversed slde ol document, unless Seller has given to Purchaser an Express Warranty in writing. sellar makes no Warranty, express nr Implied, respenl to tha merchanlab my. fltre partlcular purpose, or otherwlse concerning the vehicle, parls or accessories descrlbecl hereln. Unless oiherwlse Indicated in wrlllng, any warranty le. to that pruvlded by the manufacturer, l1 any. as am and conclllonecl by Paragraph 4 on the reveme sld@ hereof.
Purchaser agrees thai this contrast inclu reference Into this agreemen. and canes

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It is ridiculous to expect a customer to drive back to a state he doesn't live in for a business to honor their word. I was told I would receive a truck that had a repaired oil leak by X-Treme Motors LLC and I did not. I'm requesting arbitration.

Business' Final Response
Once again the truck was dropped off and I paid to have the leak fixed. I sent the invoice to bbb. I am not the mechanic that fixed the truck, I am only the sales person that paid to have it fixed. It was under warranty from the shop I used. I did what I said I would do. It is unfortunate the 14 year old truck started to leak again, and if it was the shop I used that miss diagnosed the leak we would be happy to set a time up for it to go back in the shop and get repaired under the warranty they offer.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Truck Dealers, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/18/2010Business started: 02/05/2008
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Toby Green (Owner)
Business Category

Truck Dealers, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Purchasing a Car Online
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for X-Treme Motors L.L.C.

2496 S 1900 W

West Haven, UT 84401-3218

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2496 S 1900 W 

    West Haven, UT 84401-3218(801) 732-9038

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Utah. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*X-Treme Motors L.L.C. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2012 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.