BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Utah

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Global Travel Network (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (801) 287-9999Fax: (801) 261-7488View Additional Phone Numbers512 E 4500 S Ste 100, Salt Lake CityUT 84107-2942 Send email to Global Travel Networkhttp://www.mygtn.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Global Travel Network is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Global Travel Network's rating include:

  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints.

Factors that raised Global Travel Network's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 47 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

47 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues30
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service16
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 47

Additional Complaint Information

This company has a pattern of complaints alleging misrepresentation during initial contact with the representative as consumers allege being offered several different incentives for attending a presentation such as gas cards, cruises, round-trip airfare, free vacations, etc. with promise that nothing will be required out of pocket and there are no black-out dates or restrictions. Once consumers receive said incentives or attempt to book their vacation they find that what was initially promised to them is not what has been received. There are additional fees required or difficulty booking the vacation.

While the business has responded to the BBB's concerns and stated all terms and conditions of the offers are disclosed and that additional training has been set in place to ensure that this no longer occurs, BBB has continued to receive complaints with the same underlying issue.

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (47)BBB Closure Definitions
01/06/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the service

Complaint: We were offered membership under the assumption they had an A+ BBB rating and that they offered $199 weekly deals. Neither is true.
We purchased our membership on 10/19/2013. During the presentation, the agent kept saying how they had an A+ with the BBB - which after signing later came to find out their rating has been revoked. Not only did they get us to sign under those false pretenses, but the whole reason we got the vacation package was because they said that they have $199 weekly deals every week. The representative said we would receive an email every week with the $199 deals. It has been exactly a month later and every week, there are absolutely no $199 deals. Both circumstance were false representations.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** Director of Member Services
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ****@globaltravelnetwork.net
In response to ******'s complaint, we have focused on three points of their complaint:

1. BBB rating: Company did not represent itself as having an A+ rating with the BBB. That would be difficult to do as the company's BBB accreditation was revoked which the company still has not been given an opportunity to appeal.
It is possible that the ******'s were told that the service that GTN is authorized to sell is owned and operated by a company that has an A+ rating with the BBB which is true.

2. $199 Weekly deals: We have never had nor advertised anything as "weekly deals". However there are "special buys" that are offered when available, and as a convenience to members. Those special buys are advertised on the members only website, and can be as low as $99 per week.
One of the member benefits the ******'s have access to are Expressway Weeks that requires a $199 fee.

3. Emails: There are two Newsletters that are delivered via email. Buying Service Newsletter, and Travel Service Newsletter. ****** is registered to receive both via ******************@gmail.com. The details of those newsletters can be controlled on the members only website under "My Account- Change Contact Info" The members can opt in or out, and update email addresses. It is possible emails are going into a spam folder or company was given incorrect email address during initial visit with the ******'s

Company believes that the ******'s may have mixed up some of the details outlined above.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Of 60, 16 were closed? 16 out of 60 is not a good track record. I am concerned primarily that I was lied to and manipulated into signing up for a program. By having the representatives and sales agents feed me false information in order to sign is disturbing. Furthermore, the fact that your company is offering zero resolution for my issues or concerns and basically telling me that I am a liar or 'misinformed' is further disturbing. Your company is not concerned at all with the fact that you have a concerned customer, rather your company is more concerned with the fact that a BBB claim has been brought up. The fact that your company is simply just brushing off the issue with saying the customer must have been misinformed instead of taking responsibility for your sales agents and sales pitches.


Final Business Response
1. BBB Rating: Up until recently Global Travel Network has Maintained an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, it was recently that our status with the BBB was lowered was due to the actions of a Marketing Company that invited prospective members to visit GTN for presentations. With the Thousands of tours that we see each year, within the last three years we have received a total of 60 complaints. Of that amount 16 were received and closed within the last year. That is not the track record of a company where "something is wrong." Global has since refused the services of the before mentioned Marketing Company, and is dedicated to assisting our members with the highest quality of service possible.

2. Special Deals: These deals as before mentioned are not a Contracted part of the membership, however are offered when available, and as a convenience to members. Currently there are 299 of these "Special Buy" weeks available online that ****** can take advantage of. Also all of these weeks are currently $99 each. (See Attached "Special Buy 12-20-13.pdf")

3. Emails: In mentioning that the emails sent by Global Connections might be filtered, is just one of many reason's why ****** might not be receiving emails as this happens quite often. This is why Global Connections provides tools to all its members to assist with this issue. As mentioned before ****** has had full control of these options from the day that they purchased their membership. They could have received additional assistance by contacting Global Connections directly. (See Attached "My Account.pdf")

4. The information that was provided in the sales presentation was correct, and the services discussed are offered by Global, however they are not contractual parts of your membership. They are supplemental added portions, which have been and are available for your usage.

07/30/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Advertisement misrepresented a product

Complaint: Falsly advertised free airline tickets
The company advertised that I would receive two free airline tickest and a 3 day/2 night stay at a hotel. What I received was an application for a voucher ($4.95 to process) for airline tickets. In addition when/if I apply for the tickets, there will be a $50 per ticket application fee, and I will be required to pay the taxes and fees on any airline ticket I choose.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@globaltravelnetwork.net
Upon receipt of ******'s complaint Global contacted the Marketing Company that contacted and offered ****** the Certificate mentioned. I reviewed the recorded phone call and the marketing representative informed ****** of their responsibility of the taxes and fees involved with the certificate.

Also upon arrival to our office we required ****** to fill out the attached paperwork. This outlines that the taxes are ******'s responsibility and requires them to sign in understanding. Also before leaving our office, our representatives went over the certificate and ****** signed stating that the gift was explained and that they were satisfied. I am locating the copies ****** filled out, and will provide them once they have been secured.

As for the Certificate, the $50 per person application fee is applied towards the final cost of the trip taxes and fees.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not remember the phone call in that way and I would like the company to provide the recorded phone call as proof because, frankly, I don't beiieve them. Anything I signed at arrival was unspecific about what taxes were involved, and if I signed them, I believed they were related to income taxes to be paid for receipt of a gift. If I had not signed the papers at the end of the presentation I would have received nothing for the two hours I spent listening to their presentation.

Business' Final Response
In Global's first response, we provided copies of the paperwork that ****** signed upon arriving to the presentation. Attached are scanned copies of the actual documents that ****** signed upon arrival at our office before the presentation(page1). Which states that they, "agree to pay for all applicable taxes, if any, on gifts, prizes, promotions, or incentives."

Once the gift was explained ****** had the opportunity to ask any questions before signing that they were satisfied with the promotion(Page 2). If they believed that the promotions was not what was promised, and explained this, the representative would have had ****** fill out the bottom of page 1 of the attached documents. This would have begun an internal investigation as to what was explained when ****** was invited to our office.

We have asked the Customer Service Manager of the Marketing Company who invited ****** to visit our office to contact ****** to listen to the recording. If ****** desires she may also reach out their phone number is: XXX-XXX-XXXX.

07/19/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Advertising Complaint Issue

Complaint: This company continues to call me though I have requested that I am put on the do not call list. My calls were recorded though I was not told.
I am repeatedly called though I have asked to not be called and put on the do not call list. Today one person said I was called 4 times and then the manager said I was called 7 times. They would not give me the name of a person to take complaints or anybody in their legal department. I was told today that my calls were recorded though I was never provided notice that the calls were recorded. The manager I was speaking to would not tell me the name or number of the person she reports to -- she told it was none of my business and my complaints were moot.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** Director of Member Services
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@globaltravelnetwork.net
Upon receipt of this complaint, Global contacted the Marketing Company that contacted *****. They received written permission to call ***** at the California Home Expo.

***** was contacted by phone 7 times, and although we could not connect each time, upon connection we accepted her request, and in compliance with the law, we put her on the DNC list.

As allowed by law it can take up to 30 days for this request to penetrate to all departments. However *****' request has penetrated all departments and calls to ***** have ceased. She **** not receive any additional calls.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In the conversation this week, ***** informed me that the telephone conversations to me before were all recorded. She said it was "natural". I was never informed they were being recorded. I want confirmation whether they were in fact recorded.

Business' Final Response
) When we record, we only record our half of the conversation, which is permitted in all states, so we have no record of this ladys voice, only digital log notes.
2) The calls originate out of Arizona, which is a 1 party consent State, meaning Arizona call centers do not have to notify the recipient they are being recorded, as long as one party to the conversation consents.
3) We have no confirmation to provide to this customer. Her calls have terminated, and her request was honored immediatly. There is no further contact, and we ask the BBB to adminsitratively close this case.

http://www.dmlp.org/legal-guide/arizona-recording-law

07/16/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Contract Complaint Issue

Complaint: We were roped into a contract without a chance to think about whether or not this was right for our family. now my family and I are out $60.00 a month
My wife and I were called into a travel agents office and told we won a free vacation as long as we could sit through a presentation. After the salesman told us how great the deal was, we asked if we could think about it overnight. He said we could not and had to make a decision then and there.
Then after we had all of five minutes to think about it, they asked us what our decision was. Understandably we said no because we didn't have $8,000.00 dollars, we just wanted a free vacation. Then they said that because they liked us they would knock the price down to $5,000.00, again we could not afford it. Then they began to play on our emotions and tell us we owed it to our children to take them on more vacations. I am a Police Officer and do t make much, I do the best I can with the money I have. I have bills and debt just like a lot of people. I do want to provide a good life for my family but am also struggling. So when they said they had the best deal of $1,500.00, I thought I was doing the right thing. Now because of unforeseen debt, the $60.00 per month is literally taking food out of my kids mouth's.
The sales tactics they used were effective but underhanded, then they had us sign a bunch of papers that we didn't have a chance to read through until afterwards. One paper stated that we accept that this program is not a financial burden, how can they have somebody sign this? In my line of work the tactics they used would be called coercion, and that is illegal.
I just want my contract canceled and my $100.00 deposit back. Then I want to forget about the nightmare that was global travel.
Thank you.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** Director of Member Services
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@globaltravelnetwork.net
Below is Global's response to *****'s complaint:

***** was contacted by a Marketing Company that offered them a travel promotion for visiting our Murray office for a presentation.

Once there, ***** visited with a Travel Consultant that explained the benefits of a Global Membership. ***** was then introduced to a Travel Director who outlined all of the options available.

Before leaving ***** made the decision to purchase a trial membership. Consequentially ***** filled out and signed the needed paperwork/contract in connection to their decision. Global's contract gave ***** 3 business day's to cancel their membership.

We regret that ***** is experiencing difficulties involved with their unforeseen debt. However *****'s debt seems to be the major issue, which was in no way caused by us.

That being said we understand ***** is in a hard situation, and the relief it would bring to be released from their Global Membership. Therefore with the understanding that Global did nothing wrong, we will agree to release ***** from their membership, without a refund.

Once we receive notice that ***** accepts our offer to release them from their contract, they will be sent the Mutual Release paperwork from our corporate office. ***** will need to sign and return the paperwork to our corporate office to complete the release.

06/13/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the service

Complaint: The company was misleading and deceptive with their travel services in order to get us to sign up. Things are not as they were presented to us.
We bought in to this company because we thought we would use it for two specific trips we had in mind in the future. We were under the impression and sold on the fact that all the condos would be like 4 and 5 star resorts and they had access to all the major timeshare companies condos. We tried to book a vacation condo for a trip that is 6.5 months away and they had no availability at first. Something finally came available and the place that they tried booking us at is pretty dumpy and not to the standards that we were sold upon. The agent said that this would be the only place that we would be able to stay at - there were no other options for other condos. What happened to all the other timeshare companies condos that they were able to access? We thought that booking a vacation condo wouldn't be so difficult and we bought it specifically to "save money" on this trip. The company headquarters say that they have someone working on trying to find us another place for our vacation, tell us that they will call us back the next day, and we have heard nothing.

In order to get us to their place of business, they offered a "free 4 day, 3 night vacation stay" through a company named Grand Incentives out of Florida. This has been a nightmare in and of itself. The vacation has so many rules and restrictions and black out dates that it almost makes it impossible to find a time to travel. Global Travel Network is highly misrepresented when they deal with a company such as Grand Incentives who fail to follow through with their offer. We have had a difficult time contacting this company, correspondance was missing and delayed, and it seems like they would respond to the people at Global Travel Network, but not the customers themselves. This should have been the first sign that we were dealing with a scam.

Business' Initial Response
In regards to the *******'s Membership Concerns I noticed two specific complaints:

1. "We thought that booking a vacation condo wouldn't be so difficult": When a member submits a request they are told that they **** be contacted within 7 to 10 business days by a condo agent. Here is an outline of the correspondence from when ******* contacted us
April 2 - Their request was processed for a Vacation to Oahu Hi. (Oahu is a location that Global does not currently own property, so we are limited as to what is available through our external vendors.)
April 2 - An Agent offered a One Bedroom unit at the Royal Kuhio for the closest check-in date that we had access to at the time.
April 3 - ******* spoke to their Agent displeased with the quality of the Royal Kuhio, their Agent let ******* know that condos don't have star ratings and that we do get VERY nice condos all over and offered to check a different Island for them ******* declined.
April 10 - ******* was contacted again and offered an unit checking in one day after their requested check-in date. They declined the offer, and were placed on a wait list for a different resort to open up.
April 15 - **** called and asked if the unit offered was still available, their Agent placed it back on hold.
April 16 - The member declined the offer and was placed on a Wait-List for any openings that might become available.
I am unaware of what the *******'s expectations were, however they were contacted quickly, and offered property as well as options in a timely manner. Please keep in mind that Global's Statement of Understanding states that, "request are fulfilled on a first come, first serve basis and all vacations are offered on a space available basis." I don't show any notes on their account regards a call back. If ******* can provide us with the date of that call I can research that claim.

2. "They were under the impression that all Condo's were 4 and 5 star Resorts": As previously mentioned Global strives to maintain, and offer high quality resorts most of which could be considered "4 or 5 star resorts". However we do access and offer units at resorts that are not owned or managed by Global Connections. This was the case with the Royal Kuhio, if units are not well kept we do not book our members there. When offering these units we rely on many things including member input. In reviewing a few Vacation Survey's submitted by member's, each gave the Royal Kuhio an overall 4 or 5 star rating(See attached). There is nothing in our contracts, or paperwork to suggest that we guarantee that every unit offered will be a "4 or 5 Star Resort".

In Regards to the *******'s Promotional Vacation Offer:

1. "Rules and Restrictions": While at our office ******* was presented with some different options in connection to the promotion. The certificate they chose was explained to them, and they indicated that they were satisfied with the certificate before leaving the office.

2. "Grand Incentives...fail(ed) to follow through with their offer": The member indicated that they had a hard time contacting Grand Incentives, and indicated that there was missing and delayed correspondence. Here is an outline of the correspondence:
Feb. 12 - Global's CSR assisted ******* in submitting their certificate adding some flexibility to the Certificate.
Feb. 18 - Grand Incentives received the Registration Form.
Feb. 21 - Grand Incentives mailed out a Planning Form.
March 18 - ******* contacted Global's CSR stating that they didn't receive their Planning Form. A copy was requested and then emailed to *******.
March 25 - *******'s Planning form was received, and placed in order it was received for processing.
April 16 - ******* contacted Global's CSR to get an update for their Dates.
April 17 - Grand Incentives indicated that they had not received it, or that it had not been processed yet (It takes 30 days for processing paperwork).
April 20 - ******* provided the Certified mailing code and Grand Incentives indicated that it was received and that it was in processing.
April 21 - ******* called Grand Incentives and was told that her paperwork was being processing.
April 22 - *******'s planning form was given to an Agent to research and travel quoted.
April 25 - ******* called Grand Incentives and was told that her paperwork was in processing. ******* then called again wanting her deposit refunded.
April 26 - Grand Incentives called ******* and apologized and told her that they are not outside their timeframe, and that she would have been given arrangements on April 25.
******* was assisted and supported through her request and promotion quickly and within the guidelines set forth.

Resolution:
******* was offered property within the given time frame, at a resort that member's gave a high rating to. ******* is on our wait-list, if another unit becomes available it will be offered.
Grand Incentives was and is willing to book them for their desired destination, and will upon request provide booking information to *******.

Sincerely,

******* ******
Member Service
Global Travel Network
****@mygtn.com
XXX-XXX-XXXX P.
XXX-XXX-XXXX F.

Consumer's Final Response
We have not yet had time to respond to this case.

In response to concern #1 - yes, we were contacted in a timely manner after we put in a request for a vacation condo in Hawaii. However, my complaint is that there was ONLY 1 option, only 1 place on the whole island to book at (according to your agent). During the sales pitch, the saleman showed us pictures and testimonials of people who have been to Hawaii specifically, and the places they stayed at was what we were hoping to stay at also (yes, good sales tactic). We were offered the option of being put on a wait list, which I agreed to. When something else came up, it was for the same place, different dates. GTN said that "we are limited as to what is available through our external vendors" yet, in our presentation we were told that GTN had access to all the condos of all the major condo/timeshare companies. If they didn't have something available, then these other companies would and GTN promised that they would do anything they could to find us a place. So far, we have been told that our only option was this one low-quality condo. I understand that all requests are filled on a first-come, first serve basis, but certainly, if what we were told during our presentation was true, then they should have access to several more options in Hawaii and certainly, not all the condos in Hawaii are booked 6 months in advance. We have never called back to place the condo unit on hold. I don't know where you got that information from.

In response to the second complaint: We were told in our presentation that all the condos were 4 and 5 star resorts. There may have not been anything written in the contracts about it, but your salesmen used that as a selling point with us which was very deceitful.

In regards to the complaint about the promotional vacation company, we are working them separately. When they were made aware of this complaint, they were quick to call me directly to discuss the complaint and do anything they could to resolve it. Unfortunately, we have not seen the same response from Global Travel network.

They had presented to us that there were several high quality options in Hawaii that we could stay at. We felt led on that there would be many options and our investigation of the company have shown others that have felt this same way. We will not feel satisfied until they fulfill our expectations, which were created upon the sales presentation and information that was given ther

Business' Final Response
Below is Globals Response to *******'s Rebuttal:

1. "That there was ONLY 1 option, only 1 place on the whole island to book at": Once again ******* initialed on Global's Statement of Understanding that they understood, "request are fulfilled on a first come, first serve basis and all vacations are offered on a space available basis." The Condo Agent who offered property to ******* searched our inventory as well as our external sources and offered what was available. Which was a "member rated 4-5 star" resort. *******'s Condo Agent also offered to look at other Islands but ******* Declined.

2. "We were told that GTN had access to all the condos of all the major condo/timeshare companies": Global does access inventory using the major exchange companies, however the inventory needs to be accessible through the other companies that we work with. We exchange all the time, when members ask for something and we cant get it, it is because there is either nothing there, it is not resort location with only hotels, or most of the resorts are privately owned.

3. "GTN promised that they would do anything they could to find us a place": Your Condo Agent used all of their resources to find an available unit for you.

4. "We were told in our presentation that all the condos were 4 and 5 star resorts.": We are not a Resort Specific company, and due to the fact that condo resorts are almost never rated by The Star Service, The Official Hotel Guide, OAG Travel Planner, or The Hotel and Travel Index. We simply search any given destination and give you a choice of what is available, if there is a resort that our members have told us is declining in their service, atmosphere, or other way we will discontinue offering that resort to our members until we see that things have changed.

5. "They had presented to us that there were several high quality options in Hawaii that we could stay at.": The resorts that were shown at the presentation, were ones from our website and are options for future vacations, granted that we have availability.
If ******* would like me to search for the next available unit at a resort listed on the website we would be happy to assist.

Once again *******'s request was fully assisted according to statement of understanding. We are happy to assist ******* in booking any future vacations that they have.

Page 1 of 9
10/12/2012Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the service

Complaint: This company misrepresented themselves - we "won" a travel deal but they wanted to sell us a vacation time share.
Somehow this company got our contact information and very aggressively called us to notify us that we "won" a vacation deal. The only catch was that we had to go to their location for a 90 minute "presentation." They called me twice a day for over two weeks to try to get us to come (from multiple different numbers). I suspect they bought our names from a contest entry because I never signed up for this harassment.

Business' Initial Response
Upon receipt of this complaint, we pulled all of the records and files that we had for Mr. and Mrs. ******. This proved that **** ****** and a ***** ****** submitted their information separately at a Kiosk that was setup at the Sonoma Indy Grand Prix. Attached is a screen shot from the opening page of the Kiosk. It reads, "By participating in this promotion your are giving your express written authorization to be contacted by phone, email, or text from third party sponsors of this event." As we were listed on that page as one of the event sponsors, they agreed to be contacted by GTN California LLC.

Below is a detailed list of the calls that were made and the purpose to each call. Please not that **** set up an appointment with our rep and many of the calls were associated with that appointment. Also once the ****** informed us that they did not want to receive any more contact from us all communication stopped and they have been placed on our Do Not Call list.

**** ****** received 25 calls between X-X-XXXX and X-XX-XXXX (The numbers in Parenthesis reference the call number on the attached call log) below is an explanation for each call:

1. 9-6-12 @12:12pm(Call25): The Call was never connected to a rep so there was no contact.

2. 9-6-12 @8:09pm(Call24): The Call was never connected to a rep so there was no contact.

3. 9-7-12 @12:10pm(Call23): The Call was never connected to a rep so there was no contact.

4. 9-7-12 @7:44pm(Call22): The call was connected to a rep who left a scripted message on ******'s voice mail.

5. 9-8-12 @11:59am(Call21): The Call was never connected to a rep so there was no contact.

6. 9-1-12 @1:35pm(Call20): The Call was never connected to a rep so there was no contact.

7. X-XX-XX @8:21pm(Call19) Our Rep made contact with ****** who was informed in the recorded call that he did not win the I-Pad and he had been selected to receive a complimentary vacation package. (He was never told he won anything.) ****** talked to Rep 217 for 743 seconds. During which ****** showed interest and set a date for an appointment. The rep needed to call him back to confirm the time and told ****** that he would call him back to confirm. ****** talked to Rep(217) for 733 seconds and their conversation is attached as REC1.

8. X-XX-XX @8:47pm(Call18): ***** calling back to confirm the appointment time as they had discussed in the REC1 attachment.

9. X-XX-XX @9:18pm(Call17): ***** calling back to confirm the appointment time as they had discussed in the REC1 attachment.

10. X-XX-XX @7:19pm(Call16): ***** calling back to confirm the appointment time as they had discussed in the REC1 attachment.

11. X-XX-XX @8:18pm(Call15): ***** calling back to confirm the appointment time as they had discussed in the REC1 attachment.

12. X-XX-XX @1:41pm(Call14): The Call was never connected to a rep so there was no contact.

13. X-XX-XX @3:18pm(Call13): The Call was never connected to a rep so there was no contact.

14. X-XX-XX @12:14pm(Call12): The Call was placed and our rep left a message for ****** to call us back.

15. X-XX-XX @5:19pm(Call11): The Call was placed and our rep left a message for ****** to call us back.

16. X-XX-XX @7:37pm(Call10): The Call was placed and our rep left a message for ****** to call us back.

17. X-XX-XX @2:48pm(Call9): The Call was placed and our rep left a message for ****** to call us back.

18. X-XX-XX @5:45pm(Call8): The Call was never connected to a rep so there was no contact.

19. X-XX-XX @2:34pm(Call7): The Call was never connected to a rep so there was no contact.

20. X-XX-XX @1:34pm(Call6): The Call was placed and our rep left a message for ****** to call us back.

21. 9/27/12 @10:08pm(Call5): The Call was never connected to a rep so there was no contact.

22. X-XX-XX @6:11pm(Call4): The Call was placed and our rep left a message for ****** to call us back.

23. X-XX-XX @6:23pm(Call3): The Call was placed and our rep left a message for ****** to call us back.

24. X-XX-XX 6:23pm(Call2) The Call was never connected to a rep so there was no contact.

25. X-XX-XXXX X:22pm(Call1) Our Rep(302) talks with ****** and he tells us that he is not interested and just does not want to sit through the 90 minute presentation to receive his vacation package. Per his request this was the last call that was made to ****. (This recording is available in REC2).



***** ****** received 11 calls, between 9-5-12 and 2012 (Numbers in Parenthesis reference the call number on the attached call log) below is an explanation for each call:



1. XX-XX-XX @8:54pm(Call11): The Call was never connected to a rep so there was no contact.

2. XX-XX-XX @12:17pm(Call10): The Call was never connected to a rep so there was no contact.

3. XX-XX-XX @12:10pm(Call9): The Call was never connected to a rep so there was no contact.

4. XX-XX-XX @7:41pm(Call8): The Call was never connected to a rep so there was no contact.

5. XX-XX-XX @11:59am(Call7): The Call was never connected to a rep so there was no contact.

6. XX-XX-XX @1:35pm(Call6): The Call was never connected to a rep so there was no contact.

7. XX-XX-XX @8:21pm(Call5): The Call was never connected to a rep so there was no contact.

8. XX-XX-XX @2:22pm(Call4): The Call was never connected to a rep so there was no contact.

9. XX-XX-XX @12:01pm(Call3): The call was connected to a rep who left a scripted message on *****'s voice mail.

10. XX-XX-XX @1:40pm(Call2): The Call was never connected to a rep so there was no contact.

11. XX-XX-XX @3:17pm(Call1): ***** answered her phone for Rep 327 ( this recording is attached and labeled REC#3). The call lasted for 95 seconds and ended when ***** told our rep that they were not interested. This was our last call to *****.



Sincerely,

****** ******

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Okay - they have a carefully parsed script to avoid using the term "win" but lead the the "selectee" to think that. In fact, I wish I had saved the number of voicemails to ensure that they had not...nevermind I have more important things to do.

Long story short, they wanted to sell vacation time shares and we didn't want to buy...don't think we needed 36 phone calls on our mobile phones.

Also, I am still not sure which kiosk they are referring to...but I strongly suspect the one which my wife couldn't enter without opting in.

Frankly, however, I choose not to accept because all I asked for was an apology that they bothered us so much and never got one. Do your business, call a couple times maybe but 36 calls from different numbers all over the area...no thanks.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

07/03/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Travel Agencies & Bureaus

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/21/2003Business started: 08/20/2002
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 2002, UT

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Nichols (President)
Business Category

Travel Agencies & Bureaus

Industry Tips
BBBTips On Airline Travel
BBB Warns of Deceptive Travel-Related Promotions
Business Travel Costs
Vacation and Travel
BBB Warns Vacationers: Travel-Related Fraud is on the Rise

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Global Travel Network

512 E 4500 S Ste 100

Salt Lake City, UT 84107-2942

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Utah. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Global Travel Network is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 975-2843
  • (801) 994-6741
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • www.globaltravelnetwork.net
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2012 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.