This business is not BBB accredited.

Global Travel Network

Find a Location

Phone: (888) 495-6074 Fax: (801) 261-7488 View Additional Phone Numbers 512 E 4500 S Ste 100, Salt Lake City, UT 84107 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.mygtn.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Global Travel Network include:

  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints

Factors that raised the rating for Global Travel Network include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 33 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

33 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 23
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 33

Additional Complaint Information

This company has a pattern of complaints alleging misrepresentation during initial contact with the representative as consumers allege being offered several different incentives for attending a presentation such as gas cards, cruises, round-trip airfare, free vacations, etc. with promise that nothing will be required out of pocket and there are no black-out dates or restrictions. Once consumers receive said incentives or attempt to book their vacation they find that what was initially promised to them is not what has been received. There are additional fees required or difficulty booking the vacation.

While the business has responded to the BBB's concerns and stated all terms and conditions of the offers are disclosed and that additional training has been set in place to ensure that this no longer occurs, BBB has continued to receive complaints with the same underlying issue.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Global Travel Network
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 21, 2003 Business started: 08/20/2002 Business started locally: 08/20/2002 Business incorporated 08/20/2002 in UT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott Nichols, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Nichols, President
Business Category

Travel Agencies & Bureaus


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Global Travel Network has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    512 E 4500 S Ste 100

    Salt Lake City, UT 84107 (801) 287-9999 (801) 994-6741 (866) 975-2843

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1720 S Bellaire St Ste 302

    Denver, CO 80222

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1720 S Bellaire St Ste 308

    Denver, CO 80222

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6343 W 120th Ave Ste 235

    Broomfield, CO 80020

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3090 E Gentry Way Ste 150

    Meridian, ID 83642

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1520 Eureka Rd Ste 102

    Roseville, CA 95661

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I attended a promotion on 4/26/15 and were told that even if we didn't purchase the vacation option we would receive a vacation certificate for the following, just for attending the promotion:"Nationwide airfare adventure for two: round trip air transportation for two and two night accommodations in your choice of Austin, Branson, Denver, Los Angeles, Las Vegas, Nashville, New Orleans, New York, Orlando, Phoenix, Salt Lake City, San Diego, or San Francisco. Promotion includes a $100 Restaurant.com Gift Card. (Taxes approx.. $30-$60 per person)"[The above text is directly from the form that we filled out and returned to them within the 14 day period.]The form we submitted says we will receive a vacation certificate within 4 weeks of receipt. We never heard anything. On 7/8/15 I emailed the company at the only contact info provided on the form (we made a copy prior to sending it off) at ******@mygtn.com asking where our vacation certificate was. We haven't heard anything back from them.

Desired Settlement: We would like the vacation certificate that we were promised, for round trip air travel for 2 people and 2 nights accommodations to Austin, TX.

Business Response: In looking at the notes for Miss W******, I noticed that a certificate was mailed to her back in June.  Our Customer Care has reached out to confirm the mailing address, with no success, or return call.  


A certificate has been mailed out certified with hopes that it will reach W******, however if W****** will contact our office, to confirm we would be happy to assist in any way.   ************

Consumer Response:  Better Business Bureau:

On 7/20/2015 I received a voicemail from a representative of GTA stating a certificate had been mailed out on May 30, 2015, that they cancelled it since we did not receive it and that a new one would be issued and sent via certified mail. He said he would follow up by email in a few days. His message didn't ask me to call back to verify my address or contact info. I received the travel certificate via certified mail on 8/4/2015. 
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 
Sincerely,

Amanda W******

5/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were promised a $200 gift card for SouthWest Airlines if we sat through a 90 minute presentation. We watched the entire presentation. We declined to purchase anything and were then told they had "just" run out of the SW gift cards. They had me write my address on an envelope and assured me I would have the gift card by the end of the week. It's been 2 weeks and still no gift cards. I have read online that this has happened to many people across the US by this company. I have tried calling but no one answers the phone.

Desired Settlement: I want to receive the $200 SouthWest gift card I was told (in writing) I would receive.

Business Response: Upon receiving this complaint, Global called the *******'s and mailed out the promotion as promised.  FedEx confirmed that the promotion was received (Fedex Tracking: ************.).

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** *******

5/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Global Travel Network cancelled my automatic payment without authorization and then tried to bill us later. I called Global Travel Network to discuss canceling vacation rental that I was making payments for while I was stuck in New Jersey during Hurricane Sandy at the end of October 2012. The lady manager told me that I was unable to cancel due to I was past the cancellation period and I was using the program wrong and we started arguing about the process and how it didn't work and she began to become very rude with me and I started yelling back, telling her if this is how they run things, I will just cancel my bank account if they would not release me form my contract. She then snapped at me, telling me that I was under contract and they would ruin my credit. I got even more upset and hung up the phone. Due to the storm evacuating us out of the state for me to find a flight home and this crazy lady, I was infuriated but let it go because I was more concerned on getting home to my family. A few months later, I received a letter stating that we have not paid our payments in two months which confused me since the payments were set up for automatic withdraw from my account and even though it was a threat to have my bank stop payments, I never followed through so I was puzzled why this happened. I called and asked what happened and I was told that I was removed from the automatic payment and they were not sure why. They then put me back on the automatic payment and told me that I needed to pay them $204.00 for the last two months I missed as well as the month now due. I paid the month due, but asked since this was not my error if they can just add back to my amount due and we will continue with regular payments. I assumed that we were fine and they corrected the problem due to the only way this could have happened is when the lady manager I spoke with was so mad at me, she took matters into her own hands. Because of this, they have now damaged mine and my wives credit, not just reporting that we were late for two months, but for six. This is just out of control.

Desired Settlement: We want Global Travel to correct the and remove the six month late payment they reported to our credit bureau. We do not mind finishing our payments as per our contract, but this was not our doing.

Business Response: ********,

Global contacted ***** ******* the day we received this complaint, and we are working on resolving this as soon as possible.
That being said, we feel that the complaint was misdirected as the financing of his membership, as well as the calls he placed were all made to ****** *********** ***.

Sincerely,

******* ******
Customer Care Specialist
Global Travel Network
*******@mygtn.com
************ P.
************ F.

2/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was contacted by Global Travel Network to come their presentation in Roseville, Ca. For coming, I would receive a free weeks stay at one of their beautiful resorts in Cancun. I mailed in the required paper work and a 200 refundable deposit. I received a letter giving me a Certification # ********, Autho# ** *****, and directions in picking out my destination. A Travel consultant was supposed to contact me in 10 days. If I did not hear anything I was to send an e-mail to them. I have sent an email 3 times now and my deposit has been cashed. I have still not heard anything from them. I spent a whole afternoon with them and was really impressed initially with what they had to offer but wanted to try their services first. I am so disappointed. I would like this offer to get back on track. Product_Or_Service: 1 week stay at a beautiful resort in Cancun Account_Number: Autho# ** *****

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I would like the offer they gave me to be withheld.

Business Response: Global Travel has contacted **** ********, and she has been assisted with her promotion.  The vacation promotion has been booked.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** ********

12/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During Sales Presentation we were told many untruthful statements. Purchased this vacation club last year in the summer. My member number is ********. My Representative was ******, and **** *. was the travel director. I am in contract for over 5k for this membership. It's been over a year and I still can't use it. We were promised that we would have abundance of locations and neighboring condos to stay at. they showed us maps of differnt places to go with different colors showing us condo's they owned as wel as there condos who they have contracts with as the neighboring units that would be own to us. Three times within this year, and the most resent being 10-27-14, I was trying to go to Miami. I get the run-around, we are all booked till April, "you should really book a year in advance like our regular members". I told the lady-***** The reason why I joined with this company was because you guys assured us we could book within mouths and even weeks before a trip. The lady hanged up on me. They absolutely tell you that it's subject to availability, but at the same time they show you hundreds of locations all over the states. you look at their map of places and are assured you will have somewhere to stay. But, now being a member and trying to reserve a place it's a complete lie. So, since this last failed attempt I decide to Google this company... at the presentation we were told the were approved by the BBB as they showed us their slideshow. Also they said this was the number one company with no complaints in it's history... All lies, Then we were promised the free trip with airfare to HI for going to the presentation and then another trip without airfare to Mexico that need to be used/booked within a year. Well, I sent in the form the gave me and then when I inquired about it... Nothing.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back. I signed up thinking the way they wanted me to feel comfortable to give them over 5k but after those three days to cancel passes, you are left with nothing in return!

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** Director of Member Services
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ****@globaltravelnetwork.net
Global Travel has been in contact with the Member and is assisting them with their membership.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No one has called me to, "assist me with my membership" My husband got a call by a sales man last week to upgrade our membership. The sale guy said, "if we where to upgrade, we would have the ability to use any destination desired". Again, this was not what I went into contract for or agreed to deal with!!!

Business Response: The ******'s were contacted by Global's Customer Care Director, not a sales representative. In the call Mr. ****** discussed their upcoming Miami trip and Global agreed to assist and book accomodation. He was also informed of some new benefits that have become available, and due to the situation was offered this $1500 upgrade no cost. From what Mrs. ****** reported, Mr. ****** misremembered what was involved with the upgrade which was completed on Nov. 13.

Follow up calls to as well as emails have been made with no response, the most recent today. We are here to help and are willing and able to assist if given the opportunity.

11/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This place will not stop calling and harassing us, constant calling, leaving voicemails, tell them to stop calling, take us off your calling list. Calling both my cell phone number and my husbands cell phone number. Entered contest at a concert for a Best Buy card, they call telling you to come in and listen to a travel presentation, told them several times we're not interested, they won't take no for an answer.

Desired Settlement: Stop calling

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** Customer Care Director
Contact Phone: ***** ********
Contact Email: ****@mygtn.com
Global has reached out to the ******, and ensured that both Mr. and Mrs. ***** were placed on the Marketing Companies Do Not Call list. The will not be receiving any further calls from them.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

10/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attended one of their sales presentations with my significant other on 5/22/14 in Roseville, CA and was impressed by their sales pitch and the benefits that membership provided. Unfortunately the information they provided was too good to be true. During the one on one sales consultation with our rep, we were mainly interested because of the ability to book all inclusive time share resorts. We asked our rep if the $249 for the week included the benefits of "All Inclusive" experience and was told that the cost was just for the room but for an additional $30 per person per day that would get us the "All Inclusive" experience we were looking for. $30/per day was a good deal and we agreed to purchase the 2 star plan for $4k+.After we made the purchase, their offices were closed for the next few days because of the Memorial day holiday. I emailed our rep at the end of the 3 day weekend to inquire about pricing for a resort that we found only to be surprised at his response that he wasn't sure and for us to contact member services.I called member services and learned the price was actually $114/person per day. This was an unacceptable price difference from what we were told during the sales process and I immediately filled out the form to cancel our membership within the grace period as it was apparent they were deceptive in their sales pitch (I'd like to point out that they neglected to inform us that we had the right to cancel, we only saw the form after going through the paperwork).I was fortunate that we did not have to finance this purchase and that there was a grace period otherwise we would have been stuck with a purchase that was not as advertised. Product_Or_Service: Travel Membership Account_Number: ********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) We were promised a 5 day 4 night Maui trip for attending this presentation and request that this be send to us.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/26) */ I wanted to let the BBB know that Mr. **** was contacted and assisted within the first day we received his complaint. He indicated that he would let the BBB know the status of his complaint. In looking on line, I noticed that he had not taken the time to submit a response yet. I contacted **** today to make sure that he things did not change from when we last spoke, he indicated that he had been swamped and would send the BBB an email tonight. Therefore I wanted to let you know that we contacted him right away, addressed his concerns, and that you should be hearing from him soon. Sincerely, ******* ****** Customer Care Specialist Global Travel Network *******@mygtn.com XXX-XXX-XXXX P. XXX-XXX-XXXX F. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2014/08/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) ******* from Global Travel Network reached out to me promptly after the complaint was filed and we have come to a satisfactory resolution.

6/16/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company will not stop sales calls after three requests I entered a drawing at a crafts show in Denver in December. GTN called me on January 17 to offer me a free vacation if my wife and I attended a presentation. Before committing to anything, I looked into the company (including their revoked BBB rating), decided I did not want to do business with them, and called back to have them remove my number from their list. They have called me back 4 times since then (most recently from Utah, XXX-XXX-XXXX, instead of Denver) even though I have asked them two more times to remove me. I only seek an end to the harassing calls. My phone is on the DoNotCall list and I do not believe my entry into the drawing or their initial contact with me constitutes a pre-existing business agreement.

Desired Settlement: Stop the unwanted telephone solicitation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/04) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@globaltravelnetwork.net We regret that ******* *****'s brief experience with Global Travel Network has been a negative one. We strive continually to create an welcoming atmosphere to all who come in contact with us. On behalf of both Global Travel Network and the Marketing Company who contacted ***** inviting them to our office, we are 100% committed to correcting this issue. We contacted the Marketing Company, and determined that ******* *****'s information was placed on our Do Not Call list previously. In most cases this will stop all future calls from us within 24-48 hours from when we receive a request to not be contacted again. As such ******* ***** will not receive any additional calls from the marketing company or from Global Travel Network on the phone number provided. In order to be thorough in our efforts that ******* ***** not be called again, Global searched for information similar to ******* *****'s in our databases. That search uncovered a ***** *****, who, separately on her own, also submitted information to the Marketing Company at the same event. Consequentially, on 02/03/14 we placed her on our Do Not Call list as well; to limit any additional calls that might possibly be made. That being said, please be aware that despite our best efforts, though unlikely, there may be a call made within the next 24 hours. Global has also reached out to the *****'s by mail apologizing for any excessive calls placed by the Marketing Company. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/02/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Company has agreed to stop calling.

1/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were offered membership under the assumption they had an A+ BBB rating and that they offered $199 weekly deals. Neither is true. We purchased our membership on 10/19/2013. During the presentation, the agent kept saying how they had an A+ with the BBB - which after signing later came to find out their rating has been revoked. Not only did they get us to sign under those false pretenses, but the whole reason we got the vacation package was because they said that they have $199 weekly deals every week. The representative said we would receive an email every week with the $199 deals. It has been exactly a month later and every week, there are absolutely no $199 deals. Both circumstance were false representations.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking the $2500 we paid for membership.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/27) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** Director of Member Services Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ****@globaltravelnetwork.net In response to ******'s complaint, we have focused on three points of their complaint: 1. BBB rating: Company did not represent itself as having an A+ rating with the BBB. That would be difficult to do as the company's BBB accreditation was revoked which the company still has not been given an opportunity to appeal. It is possible that the ******'s were told that the service that GTN is authorized to sell is owned and operated by a company that has an A+ rating with the BBB which is true. 2. $199 Weekly deals: We have never had nor advertised anything as "weekly deals". However there are "special buys" that are offered when available, and as a convenience to members. Those special buys are advertised on the members only website, and can be as low as $99 per week. One of the member benefits the ******'s have access to are Expressway Weeks that requires a $199 fee. 3. Emails: There are two Newsletters that are delivered via email. Buying Service Newsletter, and Travel Service Newsletter. ****** is registered to receive both via ******************@gmail.com. The details of those newsletters can be controlled on the members only website under "My Account- Change Contact Info" The members can opt in or out, and update email addresses. It is possible emails are going into a spam folder or company was given incorrect email address during initial visit with the ******'s Company believes that the ******'s may have mixed up some of the details outlined above. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2014/01/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Of 60, 16 were closed? 16 out of 60 is not a good track record. I am concerned primarily that I was lied to and manipulated into signing up for a program. By having the representatives and sales agents feed me false information in order to sign is disturbing. Furthermore, the fact that your company is offering zero resolution for my issues or concerns and basically telling me that I am a liar or 'misinformed' is further disturbing. Your company is not concerned at all with the fact that you have a concerned customer, rather your company is more concerned with the fact that a BBB claim has been brought up. The fact that your company is simply just brushing off the issue with saying the customer must have been misinformed instead of taking responsibility for your sales agents and sales pitches. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/12/26) */ 1. BBB Rating: Up until recently Global Travel Network has Maintained an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, it was recently that our status with the BBB was lowered was due to the actions of a Marketing Company that invited prospective members to visit GTN for presentations. With the Thousands of tours that we see each year, within the last three years we have received a total of 60 complaints. Of that amount 16 were received and closed within the last year. That is not the track record of a company where "something is wrong." Global has since refused the services of the before mentioned Marketing Company, and is dedicated to assisting our members with the highest quality of service possible. 2. Special Deals: These deals as before mentioned are not a Contracted part of the membership, however are offered when available, and as a convenience to members. Currently there are 299 of these "Special Buy" weeks available online that ****** can take advantage of. Also all of these weeks are currently $99 each. (See Attached "Special Buy 12-20-13.pdf") 3. Emails: In mentioning that the emails sent by Global Connections might be filtered, is just one of many reason's why ****** might not be receiving emails as this happens quite often. This is why Global Connections provides tools to all its members to assist with this issue. As mentioned before ****** has had full control of these options from the day that they purchased their membership. They could have received additional assistance by contacting Global Connections directly. (See Attached "My Account.pdf") 4. The information that was provided in the sales presentation was correct, and the services discussed are offered by Global, however they are not contractual parts of your membership. They are supplemental added portions, which have been and are available for your usage.

12/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Falsly advertised free airline tickets The company advertised that I would receive two free airline tickest and a 3 day/2 night stay at a hotel. What I received was an application for a voucher ($4.95 to process) for airline tickets. In addition when/if I apply for the tickets, there will be a $50 per ticket application fee, and I will be required to pay the taxes and fees on any airline ticket I choose.

Desired Settlement: Please provide the free tickets and hotel stay I was promised.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/24) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@globaltravelnetwork.net Upon receipt of ******'s complaint Global contacted the Marketing Company that contacted and offered ****** the Certificate mentioned. I reviewed the recorded phone call and the marketing representative informed ****** of their responsibility of the taxes and fees involved with the certificate. Also upon arrival to our office we required ****** to fill out the attached paperwork. This outlines that the taxes are ******'s responsibility and requires them to sign in understanding. Also before leaving our office, our representatives went over the certificate and ****** signed stating that the gift was explained and that they were satisfied. I am locating the copies ****** filled out, and will provide them once they have been secured. As for the Certificate, the $50 per person application fee is applied towards the final cost of the trip taxes and fees. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/06/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not remember the phone call in that way and I would like the company to provide the recorded phone call as proof because, frankly, I don't beiieve them. Anything I signed at arrival was unspecific about what taxes were involved, and if I signed them, I believed they were related to income taxes to be paid for receipt of a gift. If I had not signed the papers at the end of the presentation I would have received nothing for the two hours I spent listening to their presentation. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/07/11) */ In Global's first response, we provided copies of the paperwork that ****** signed upon arriving to the presentation. Attached are scanned copies of the actual documents that ****** signed upon arrival at our office before the presentation(page1). Which states that they, "agree to pay for all applicable taxes, if any, on gifts, prizes, promotions, or incentives." Once the gift was explained ****** had the opportunity to ask any questions before signing that they were satisfied with the promotion(Page 2). If they believed that the promotions was not what was promised, and explained this, the representative would have had ****** fill out the bottom of page 1 of the attached documents. This would have begun an internal investigation as to what was explained when ****** was invited to our office. We have asked the Customer Service Manager of the Marketing Company who invited ****** to visit our office to contact ****** to listen to the recording. If ****** desires she may also reach out their phone number is: XXX-XXX-XXXX.

7/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company continues to call me though I have requested that I am put on the do not call list. My calls were recorded though I was not told. I am repeatedly called though I have asked to not be called and put on the do not call list. Today one person said I was called 4 times and then the manager said I was called 7 times. They would not give me the name of a person to take complaints or anybody in their legal department. I was told today that my calls were recorded though I was never provided notice that the calls were recorded. The manager I was speaking to would not tell me the name or number of the person she reports to -- she told it was none of my business and my complaints were moot.

Desired Settlement: I want them to never call me again. I want this in writing. And they need to stop recording phone conversations without notice/permission. They should probably fire or discipline ***** ****** as well. At a minimum she needs training on customer service complaint resolution.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/27) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** Director of Member Services Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@globaltravelnetwork.net Upon receipt of this complaint, Global contacted the Marketing Company that contacted *****. They received written permission to call ***** at the California Home Expo. ***** was contacted by phone 7 times, and although we could not connect each time, upon connection we accepted her request, and in compliance with the law, we put her on the DNC list. As allowed by law it can take up to 30 days for this request to penetrate to all departments. However *****' request has penetrated all departments and calls to ***** have ceased. She **** not receive any additional calls. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/06/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) In the conversation this week, ***** informed me that the telephone conversations to me before were all recorded. She said it was "natural". I was never informed they were being recorded. I want confirmation whether they were in fact recorded. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/07/02) */ ) When we record, we only record our half of the conversation, which is permitted in all states, so we have no record of this ladys voice, only digital log notes. 2) The calls originate out of Arizona, which is a 1 party consent State, meaning Arizona call centers do not have to notify the recipient they are being recorded, as long as one party to the conversation consents. 3) We have no confirmation to provide to this customer. Her calls have terminated, and her request was honored immediatly. There is no further contact, and we ask the BBB to adminsitratively close this case. http://www.dmlp.org/legal-guide/arizona-recording-law

7/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were roped into a contract without a chance to think about whether or not this was right for our family. now my family and I are out $60.00 a month My wife and I were called into a travel agents office and told we won a free vacation as long as we could sit through a presentation. After the salesman told us how great the deal was, we asked if we could think about it overnight. He said we could not and had to make a decision then and there. Then after we had all of five minutes to think about it, they asked us what our decision was. Understandably we said no because we didn't have $8,000.00 dollars, we just wanted a free vacation. Then they said that because they liked us they would knock the price down to $5,000.00, again we could not afford it. Then they began to play on our emotions and tell us we owed it to our children to take them on more vacations. I am a Police Officer and do t make much, I do the best I can with the money I have. I have bills and debt just like a lot of people. I do want to provide a good life for my family but am also struggling. So when they said they had the best deal of $1,500.00, I thought I was doing the right thing. Now because of unforeseen debt, the $60.00 per month is literally taking food out of my kids mouth's. The sales tactics they used were effective but underhanded, then they had us sign a bunch of papers that we didn't have a chance to read through until afterwards. One paper stated that we accept that this program is not a financial burden, how can they have somebody sign this? In my line of work the tactics they used would be called coercion, and that is illegal. I just want my contract canceled and my $100.00 deposit back. Then I want to forget about the nightmare that was global travel. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: Termination of contract plus refund of money paid.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/27) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** Director of Member Services Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@globaltravelnetwork.net Below is Global's response to *****'s complaint: ***** was contacted by a Marketing Company that offered them a travel promotion for visiting our Murray office for a presentation. Once there, ***** visited with a Travel Consultant that explained the benefits of a Global Membership. ***** was then introduced to a Travel Director who outlined all of the options available. Before leaving ***** made the decision to purchase a trial membership. Consequentially ***** filled out and signed the needed paperwork/contract in connection to their decision. Global's contract gave ***** 3 business day's to cancel their membership. We regret that ***** is experiencing difficulties involved with their unforeseen debt. However *****'s debt seems to be the major issue, which was in no way caused by us. That being said we understand ***** is in a hard situation, and the relief it would bring to be released from their Global Membership. Therefore with the understanding that Global did nothing wrong, we will agree to release ***** from their membership, without a refund. Once we receive notice that ***** accepts our offer to release them from their contract, they will be sent the Mutual Release paperwork from our corporate office. ***** will need to sign and return the paperwork to our corporate office to complete the release.

7/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/26/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/5/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/19/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/12/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/27/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues