This business is not BBB accredited.

Global Travel Network

Find a Location

Phone: (888) 495-6074 Fax: (801) 261-7488 View Additional Phone Numbers 512 E 4500 S Ste 100, Salt Lake City, UT 84107 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.mygtn.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Global Travel Network include:

  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints

Factors that raised the rating for Global Travel Network include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 9
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 15

Additional Complaint Information

This company has a pattern of complaints alleging misrepresentation during initial contact with the representative as consumers allege being offered several different incentives for attending a presentation such as gas cards, cruises, round-trip airfare, free vacations, etc. with promise that nothing will be required out of pocket and there are no black-out dates or restrictions. Once consumers receive said incentives or attempt to book their vacation they find that what was initially promised to them is not what has been received. There are additional fees required or difficulty booking the vacation.

While the business has responded to the BBB's concerns and stated all terms and conditions of the offers are disclosed and that additional training has been set in place to ensure that this no longer occurs, BBB has continued to receive complaints with the same underlying issue.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Global Travel Network
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 21, 2003 Business started: 08/20/2002 Business started locally: 08/20/2002 Business incorporated 08/20/2002 in UT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott Nichols, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Nichols, President
Business Category

Travel Agencies & Bureaus


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Global Travel Network has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    512 E 4500 S Ste 100

    Salt Lake City, UT 84107 (801) 287-9999 (866) 975-2843 (801) 994-6741

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1720 S Bellaire St Ste 302

    Denver, CO 80222

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1720 S Bellaire St Ste 302

    Denver, CO 80222

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1720 S Bellaire St Ste 308

    Denver, CO 80222

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1720 S Bellaire St Ste 308

    Denver, CO 80222

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6343 W 120th Ave Ste 235

    Broomfield, CO 80020

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3090 E Gentry Way Ste 150

    Meridian, ID 83642

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1520 Eureka Rd Ste 102

    Roseville, CA 95661

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I attended a promotion on 4/26/15 and were told that even if we didn't purchase the vacation option we would receive a vacation certificate for the following, just for attending the promotion:"Nationwide airfare adventure for two: round trip air transportation for two and two night accommodations in your choice of Austin, Branson, Denver, Los Angeles, Las Vegas, Nashville, New Orleans, New York, Orlando, Phoenix, Salt Lake City, San Diego, or San Francisco. Promotion includes a $100 Restaurant.com Gift Card. (Taxes approx.. $30-$60 per person)"[The above text is directly from the form that we filled out and returned to them within the 14 day period.]The form we submitted says we will receive a vacation certificate within 4 weeks of receipt. We never heard anything. On 7/8/15 I emailed the company at the only contact info provided on the form (we made a copy prior to sending it off) at ******@mygtn.com asking where our vacation certificate was. We haven't heard anything back from them.

Desired Settlement: We would like the vacation certificate that we were promised, for round trip air travel for 2 people and 2 nights accommodations to Austin, TX.

Business Response: In looking at the notes for Miss W******, I noticed that a certificate was mailed to her back in June.  Our Customer Care has reached out to confirm the mailing address, with no success, or return call.  


A certificate has been mailed out certified with hopes that it will reach W******, however if W****** will contact our office, to confirm we would be happy to assist in any way.   ************

Consumer Response:  Better Business Bureau:

On 7/20/2015 I received a voicemail from a representative of GTA stating a certificate had been mailed out on May 30, 2015, that they cancelled it since we did not receive it and that a new one would be issued and sent via certified mail. He said he would follow up by email in a few days. His message didn't ask me to call back to verify my address or contact info. I received the travel certificate via certified mail on 8/4/2015. 
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 
Sincerely,

Amanda W******

5/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were promised a $200 gift card for SouthWest Airlines if we sat through a 90 minute presentation. We watched the entire presentation. We declined to purchase anything and were then told they had "just" run out of the SW gift cards. They had me write my address on an envelope and assured me I would have the gift card by the end of the week. It's been 2 weeks and still no gift cards. I have read online that this has happened to many people across the US by this company. I have tried calling but no one answers the phone.

Desired Settlement: I want to receive the $200 SouthWest gift card I was told (in writing) I would receive.

Business Response: Upon receiving this complaint, Global called the *******'s and mailed out the promotion as promised.  FedEx confirmed that the promotion was received (Fedex Tracking: ************.).

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** *******

5/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was contacted by Global Travel Network to come their presentation in Roseville, Ca. For coming, I would receive a free weeks stay at one of their beautiful resorts in Cancun. I mailed in the required paper work and a 200 refundable deposit. I received a letter giving me a Certification # ********, Autho# ** *****, and directions in picking out my destination. A Travel consultant was supposed to contact me in 10 days. If I did not hear anything I was to send an e-mail to them. I have sent an email 3 times now and my deposit has been cashed. I have still not heard anything from them. I spent a whole afternoon with them and was really impressed initially with what they had to offer but wanted to try their services first. I am so disappointed. I would like this offer to get back on track. Product_Or_Service: 1 week stay at a beautiful resort in Cancun Account_Number: Autho# ** *****

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I would like the offer they gave me to be withheld.

Business Response: Global Travel has contacted **** ********, and she has been assisted with her promotion.  The vacation promotion has been booked.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** ********

12/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During Sales Presentation we were told many untruthful statements. Purchased this vacation club last year in the summer. My member number is ********. My Representative was ******, and **** *. was the travel director. I am in contract for over 5k for this membership. It's been over a year and I still can't use it. We were promised that we would have abundance of locations and neighboring condos to stay at. they showed us maps of differnt places to go with different colors showing us condo's they owned as wel as there condos who they have contracts with as the neighboring units that would be own to us. Three times within this year, and the most resent being 10-27-14, I was trying to go to Miami. I get the run-around, we are all booked till April, "you should really book a year in advance like our regular members". I told the lady-***** The reason why I joined with this company was because you guys assured us we could book within mouths and even weeks before a trip. The lady hanged up on me. They absolutely tell you that it's subject to availability, but at the same time they show you hundreds of locations all over the states. you look at their map of places and are assured you will have somewhere to stay. But, now being a member and trying to reserve a place it's a complete lie. So, since this last failed attempt I decide to Google this company... at the presentation we were told the were approved by the BBB as they showed us their slideshow. Also they said this was the number one company with no complaints in it's history... All lies, Then we were promised the free trip with airfare to HI for going to the presentation and then another trip without airfare to Mexico that need to be used/booked within a year. Well, I sent in the form the gave me and then when I inquired about it... Nothing.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back. I signed up thinking the way they wanted me to feel comfortable to give them over 5k but after those three days to cancel passes, you are left with nothing in return!

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** Director of Member Services
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ****@globaltravelnetwork.net
Global Travel has been in contact with the Member and is assisting them with their membership.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No one has called me to, "assist me with my membership" My husband got a call by a sales man last week to upgrade our membership. The sale guy said, "if we where to upgrade, we would have the ability to use any destination desired". Again, this was not what I went into contract for or agreed to deal with!!!

Business Response: The ******'s were contacted by Global's Customer Care Director, not a sales representative. In the call Mr. ****** discussed their upcoming Miami trip and Global agreed to assist and book accomodation. He was also informed of some new benefits that have become available, and due to the situation was offered this $1500 upgrade no cost. From what Mrs. ****** reported, Mr. ****** misremembered what was involved with the upgrade which was completed on Nov. 13.

Follow up calls to as well as emails have been made with no response, the most recent today. We are here to help and are willing and able to assist if given the opportunity.

11/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This place will not stop calling and harassing us, constant calling, leaving voicemails, tell them to stop calling, take us off your calling list. Calling both my cell phone number and my husbands cell phone number. Entered contest at a concert for a Best Buy card, they call telling you to come in and listen to a travel presentation, told them several times we're not interested, they won't take no for an answer.

Desired Settlement: Stop calling

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** Customer Care Director
Contact Phone: ***** ********
Contact Email: ****@mygtn.com
Global has reached out to the ******, and ensured that both Mr. and Mrs. ***** were placed on the Marketing Companies Do Not Call list. The will not be receiving any further calls from them.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

10/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attended one of their sales presentations with my significant other on 5/22/14 in Roseville, CA and was impressed by their sales pitch and the benefits that membership provided. Unfortunately the information they provided was too good to be true. During the one on one sales consultation with our rep, we were mainly interested because of the ability to book all inclusive time share resorts. We asked our rep if the $249 for the week included the benefits of "All Inclusive" experience and was told that the cost was just for the room but for an additional $30 per person per day that would get us the "All Inclusive" experience we were looking for. $30/per day was a good deal and we agreed to purchase the 2 star plan for $4k+.After we made the purchase, their offices were closed for the next few days because of the Memorial day holiday. I emailed our rep at the end of the 3 day weekend to inquire about pricing for a resort that we found only to be surprised at his response that he wasn't sure and for us to contact member services.I called member services and learned the price was actually $114/person per day. This was an unacceptable price difference from what we were told during the sales process and I immediately filled out the form to cancel our membership within the grace period as it was apparent they were deceptive in their sales pitch (I'd like to point out that they neglected to inform us that we had the right to cancel, we only saw the form after going through the paperwork).I was fortunate that we did not have to finance this purchase and that there was a grace period otherwise we would have been stuck with a purchase that was not as advertised. Product_Or_Service: Travel Membership Account_Number: ********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) We were promised a 5 day 4 night Maui trip for attending this presentation and request that this be send to us.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/26) */ I wanted to let the BBB know that Mr. **** was contacted and assisted within the first day we received his complaint. He indicated that he would let the BBB know the status of his complaint. In looking on line, I noticed that he had not taken the time to submit a response yet. I contacted **** today to make sure that he things did not change from when we last spoke, he indicated that he had been swamped and would send the BBB an email tonight. Therefore I wanted to let you know that we contacted him right away, addressed his concerns, and that you should be hearing from him soon. Sincerely, ******* ****** Customer Care Specialist Global Travel Network *******@mygtn.com XXX-XXX-XXXX P. XXX-XXX-XXXX F. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2014/08/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) ******* from Global Travel Network reached out to me promptly after the complaint was filed and we have come to a satisfactory resolution.

6/16/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company will not stop sales calls after three requests I entered a drawing at a crafts show in Denver in December. GTN called me on January 17 to offer me a free vacation if my wife and I attended a presentation. Before committing to anything, I looked into the company (including their revoked BBB rating), decided I did not want to do business with them, and called back to have them remove my number from their list. They have called me back 4 times since then (most recently from Utah, XXX-XXX-XXXX, instead of Denver) even though I have asked them two more times to remove me. I only seek an end to the harassing calls. My phone is on the DoNotCall list and I do not believe my entry into the drawing or their initial contact with me constitutes a pre-existing business agreement.

Desired Settlement: Stop the unwanted telephone solicitation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/04) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@globaltravelnetwork.net We regret that ******* *****'s brief experience with Global Travel Network has been a negative one. We strive continually to create an welcoming atmosphere to all who come in contact with us. On behalf of both Global Travel Network and the Marketing Company who contacted ***** inviting them to our office, we are 100% committed to correcting this issue. We contacted the Marketing Company, and determined that ******* *****'s information was placed on our Do Not Call list previously. In most cases this will stop all future calls from us within 24-48 hours from when we receive a request to not be contacted again. As such ******* ***** will not receive any additional calls from the marketing company or from Global Travel Network on the phone number provided. In order to be thorough in our efforts that ******* ***** not be called again, Global searched for information similar to ******* *****'s in our databases. That search uncovered a ***** *****, who, separately on her own, also submitted information to the Marketing Company at the same event. Consequentially, on 02/03/14 we placed her on our Do Not Call list as well; to limit any additional calls that might possibly be made. That being said, please be aware that despite our best efforts, though unlikely, there may be a call made within the next 24 hours. Global has also reached out to the *****'s by mail apologizing for any excessive calls placed by the Marketing Company. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/02/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Company has agreed to stop calling.

1/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were offered membership under the assumption they had an A+ BBB rating and that they offered $199 weekly deals. Neither is true. We purchased our membership on 10/19/2013. During the presentation, the agent kept saying how they had an A+ with the BBB - which after signing later came to find out their rating has been revoked. Not only did they get us to sign under those false pretenses, but the whole reason we got the vacation package was because they said that they have $199 weekly deals every week. The representative said we would receive an email every week with the $199 deals. It has been exactly a month later and every week, there are absolutely no $199 deals. Both circumstance were false representations.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking the $2500 we paid for membership.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/27) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** Director of Member Services Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ****@globaltravelnetwork.net In response to ******'s complaint, we have focused on three points of their complaint: 1. BBB rating: Company did not represent itself as having an A+ rating with the BBB. That would be difficult to do as the company's BBB accreditation was revoked which the company still has not been given an opportunity to appeal. It is possible that the ******'s were told that the service that GTN is authorized to sell is owned and operated by a company that has an A+ rating with the BBB which is true. 2. $199 Weekly deals: We have never had nor advertised anything as "weekly deals". However there are "special buys" that are offered when available, and as a convenience to members. Those special buys are advertised on the members only website, and can be as low as $99 per week. One of the member benefits the ******'s have access to are Expressway Weeks that requires a $199 fee. 3. Emails: There are two Newsletters that are delivered via email. Buying Service Newsletter, and Travel Service Newsletter. ****** is registered to receive both via ******************@gmail.com. The details of those newsletters can be controlled on the members only website under "My Account- Change Contact Info" The members can opt in or out, and update email addresses. It is possible emails are going into a spam folder or company was given incorrect email address during initial visit with the ******'s Company believes that the ******'s may have mixed up some of the details outlined above. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2014/01/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Of 60, 16 were closed? 16 out of 60 is not a good track record. I am concerned primarily that I was lied to and manipulated into signing up for a program. By having the representatives and sales agents feed me false information in order to sign is disturbing. Furthermore, the fact that your company is offering zero resolution for my issues or concerns and basically telling me that I am a liar or 'misinformed' is further disturbing. Your company is not concerned at all with the fact that you have a concerned customer, rather your company is more concerned with the fact that a BBB claim has been brought up. The fact that your company is simply just brushing off the issue with saying the customer must have been misinformed instead of taking responsibility for your sales agents and sales pitches. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/12/26) */ 1. BBB Rating: Up until recently Global Travel Network has Maintained an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, it was recently that our status with the BBB was lowered was due to the actions of a Marketing Company that invited prospective members to visit GTN for presentations. With the Thousands of tours that we see each year, within the last three years we have received a total of 60 complaints. Of that amount 16 were received and closed within the last year. That is not the track record of a company where "something is wrong." Global has since refused the services of the before mentioned Marketing Company, and is dedicated to assisting our members with the highest quality of service possible. 2. Special Deals: These deals as before mentioned are not a Contracted part of the membership, however are offered when available, and as a convenience to members. Currently there are 299 of these "Special Buy" weeks available online that ****** can take advantage of. Also all of these weeks are currently $99 each. (See Attached "Special Buy 12-20-13.pdf") 3. Emails: In mentioning that the emails sent by Global Connections might be filtered, is just one of many reason's why ****** might not be receiving emails as this happens quite often. This is why Global Connections provides tools to all its members to assist with this issue. As mentioned before ****** has had full control of these options from the day that they purchased their membership. They could have received additional assistance by contacting Global Connections directly. (See Attached "My Account.pdf") 4. The information that was provided in the sales presentation was correct, and the services discussed are offered by Global, however they are not contractual parts of your membership. They are supplemental added portions, which have been and are available for your usage.

12/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

7 Customer Reviews on Global Travel Network
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart