Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

You Burnem We Buildem Transmissions

Phone: (801) 699-1378 Fax: (801) 973-7010 2660 W 2590 S, West Valley City, UT 84119 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that You Burnem We Buildem Transmissions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for You Burnem We Buildem Transmissions include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on You Burnem We Buildem Transmissions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 14, 2007 Business started: 09/23/2004 in UT Business started locally: 09/23/2004
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Shane K Dyches, Advertising Manager Mr. Myron McCallister III, Owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Shane K Dyches, Advertising Manager
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Clutches Auto Diagnostic Service Auto - Fleet Service Towing - Automotive

Additional Locations

  • 2660 W 2590 S

    West Valley City, UT 84119


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/25/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took my Trailblazer in to have the transmission rebuilt. Got it back & the check engine light was on. They said it was an electrical problem & to take it to another shop. They recommended a place. We took it there fixed a problem then that shop said still have problems with transmission take it back to the transmission shop. This went on back & forth for months. The transmission shop took the car to the same shop that they told us to take it and they told them the same thing that it is the transmission. They then took it to another shop to do more testing. They would never tell us what place they took it to. They still got no answers. Finally after almost a year I paid another transmission shop to do some testing & they said the transmission needs to be rebuilt. Took it back to U burn them & they did some work but still needs to be rebuilt. Plus we had to go buy the transmission fluid & take it back to there shop to get my car back. Every time we took it back to the shop we could never get *** to call us back. They always had the car twice as long as they said they would. The only time we could get it back each time after getting the run around & excuse after excuse is buy just saying we are coming to pick it up. They always complained that they didn't have time for this. I had to deal with this for over a year & can't license my car cause of this.

Desired Settlement: A refund or to have them pay a company of my choice to do the repairs.

Business Response: As a company, we are baffled as to Mr. & Mrs. ****** complaint that was submitted to the BBB. Unfortunately, their transmission did indeed fail after we built it in February of 2014. However, we just rebuilt their transmission again on February 13th at no cost to them. We reported to Mr. & Mrs. ****** that, their vehicle has electrical issues which are causing the check engine light to illuminate. This was also the cause of our extra time spent with the vehicle. Mr. & Mrs. ******' transmission works fine, and this was reaffirmed by them upon delivery. Our work is not the cause of their vehicle not being licensed. We have warrantied our work, and we are not responsible for getting their vehicle to pass inspection.

Thank You,

U Burn 'em We Build 'em Transmissions

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 10526240

I am rejecting this response because:

Yes they did a little work on it, but they didn't go far enough to fix the problem. I still have to have my transmission rebuilt. He first said the ignition switch was bad we replaced it 3 times. He also said it was a short. He has had shops do test & we have to & they all say it's the transmission. He gives us different reasons & we played his games & jumped through hoops to try to fix it but after paying all this money out on things it wasn't & paying for test that all say it's the transmission. I even had another transmission place do a very expensive test & they say it needs to be rebuilt. It comes down to I need my transmission rebuilt.


****** ******

4/12/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues