Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Certified Transmissions, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Certified Transmissions, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Certified Transmissions, Inc. include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Certified Transmissions, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Certified Transmissions, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 29, 1992 Business started: 02/01/1992 Business started locally: 02/01/1992 Business incorporated: 01/03/2006 in UT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Larry Bloodworth, Manager Ms. Lorraine Myers, CEO/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Larry Bloodworth, Manager
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile

Alternate Business Names
Transmission Edutainment Systems, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 12541 Minuteman Dr

    Draper, UT 84020 (801) 523-1313 (801) 885-2227 (801) 572-3636

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (801) 523-1313(Phone)
  • (801) 885-2227(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *****(the owner)told me I needed a new transmission..I sent it to the dealer....The dealer said the car is perfect!Nothing Wrong with transmission! ***** got my car because of a small leak and said he could look at it immediately. Before checking the leak he drove the jag and claimed engine lights went off and it went into limp mode. My car has never done this. He told me he needed to remove the complete transmission. I asked why he drove the car without first checking the leak and he told me he didn't have a hoist available when he previously told me he could look at the car on a hoist immediately. My Jaguar dealer told me he never should have driven a car without checking underneath that came into his business with a leak! He told me that engine lights went on and it went into limp mode. I was afraid he ruined the car transmission on purpose since he repairs and replaces transmissions...there really is no other explanation for why he drove a car that reported leaked fluid. I immediately had the car transported by AAA to the Ken Graff Jag Dealership. The Service manager checked the car out and told me there is NOTHING wrong with the transmission and nothing needed to be fixed. ***** got our Jag transferred to Certified Transmission, drove the car without checking the fluids or looking at the leak and then told me I needed a new or rebuilt transmission and a dealer tells me the car is fine... ***** owns a transmission business, I can only conclude that ***** gets a car in from his AAA business and then feeds his transmission business with telling clients they need a new transmission. This is fraud and a felony and I hope he gets punished for his unscrupulous business practices.

Desired Settlement: 551.00 for the AAA Tow Jardin AAA Charged us, which is the AAA service ***** owns.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/09/25) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** **********, Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXX Contact Email: ****@certifiedtrans.com The complainant's boyfriend originally contacted Certified Transmissions on 8/19/2013. He said he had a Ford Excursion that needed the transmission repaired. An agreement was made to have the Excursion towed to Certified Transmissions. During the course of the conversation the customer stated his girlfriend also had a Jaguar that was leaking and 'why not tow them both at the same time'? The customer stated that we didn't need to worry about the Excursion right away since he didn't need it back immediately. We did not do any work on the Excursion. We contacted the towing service that we use, but do not own. Both vehicles were towed into our shop at a cost of over $500 to us because of the distance. When the vehicles arrived the fluid level in the Jaguar was verified it was at a safe level to drive by the standardized engagement test. The transmission had normal engagements with no delay. It is standard procedure to not add fluid to a transmission before a road test if it passes an engagement test because we are trying to duplicate any problems. A key starting point before working on or servicing any transmission is to make sure the transmission is sound and in good working order. If the customer has a concern, the concern must be duplicated. The vehicle was taken for a test drive to verify the operational condition. Since there was no large amount of fluid leaking from the vehicle at the time there was no danger of running out of fluid during the road test. Any good shop will test drive a vehicle before doing any work so damage or leaks can be verified and this practice can be verified by our trade association office listed below: Automatic Transmission Rebuilder's Association (ATRA) **** ****** Avenue Oxnard, CA XXXXX Toll Free (866) GO-4-ATRA (XXX) XXX-XXXX * Fax (XXX) XXX-XXXX ***** ******* is the technical director. Often times when a car is cold, a transmission malfunction won't manifest itself and only a thorough and complete road test with a Jaguar-compatible scanner tool and software is necessary. The first thing noticed while driving the vehicle was the driver information center in the dash had the words "GEARBOX FAULT" illuminated. I also noticed there was no 5th gear and the torque converter clutch (TCC) wouldn't apply. I immediately pulled off the side of the road and scanned the vehicle for codes and pulled up two codes: P1797 - Manufacturer specific code P050B - Cold Start Ignition Timing Performance As I pulled away from the side of the road to head back to the shop, I noticed the transmission was in failsafe mode (one gear only, no upshifts) It was taken into the shop and raised into the air on a lift. One of the cooler lines was leaking. We pulled the fill plug and burnt fluid drizzled out. At this point it was obvious to us that the transmission had internal damage and needed to be pulled out for further inspection. The only way fluid could have drizzled out of the fill plug is either somebody added fluid to the transmission before we got the vehicle, or the filter was partially restricted with internal transmission debris. The customer was called at which point he stated that he would get back to us. The next phone call was the customer's girlfriend (the complainant) accusing us of ruining her transmission just so we could get some work. Although the dealer may be very good at what they do, they are not an internal transmission specialist. Any internal transmission problem requires a complete transmission replacement because they don't have the skill or knowledge of the internal workings of a transmission. They certainly haven't rebuilt the hundreds of Jaguar transmissions we have. We are a very busy shop and do not need to falsify any reports or make up any problems just to get work. We run an honest shop and are offended by these accusations. Out of all the vehicles that come into our shop, only 40% need a rebuild. The vast majority are fixed with minor repairs or a simple service and we have the records to prove it. We honored the request and arranged for our tow company to transport the vehicle to the dealer. We are attaching 2 documents to this reply. The first shows ALL the AAA phone calls we have received in 2013. There are only 32 total phone calls (some of which called multiple times), if we are using AAA as a way to get business so we can cheat customers, why wouldn't there be a lot more? The second is a document from ATRA explaining fluid changes.

7/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Agreed over the phone to fix transmission of car for $1400.00, seller send email that I didn't check and ask for $4000.00 with bill as proof. After having transmission problems, on 05/17, I drop my car at Certified Transmission to fix, I sign a paper and give information to inspect the car. No news over the weekend. On Monday, I call and they tell me over the phone it would cost about $1400.00. I call them later and agree to pay $1400.00 to pay for the transmission. They tell me it will be fixed the next day which it wasn't. Wednesday 05/22/13, I go to the store and they ask for about $4000.00, they tell me they never do estimate over the phone and shove in my face the detail of the bill. They tell me everything was sent to my email, but I never checked my emails, and indeed, on my emails, on 5/20/13, I see the estimation for $4125.00 I could not check my emails before but I was never warned the price was 4000.00 when I agreed over the phone for 1400.00

Desired Settlement: At least agrees to make the sales for 1400 as initially agreed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/30) */ Contact Name and Title: ******** *****, President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@certifiedtrans.com The customer called our shop on May 20, 2013 at 2:36 pm to inquire about his car. ***** took the call. ***** asked the customer if he had received his video and estimate. The customer stated he had not received them. He was then told that the estimate and video were sent to his email and was asked to verify his email. The customer asked what the cost was. ***** told him that labor was $1444 and parts were $2296.39 which included a new battery because his battery tested bad. The customer stated that he had just put in a new battery so that was taken out of the estimate. ***** stated "Bottom line with sales tax is $3996.61 with a 5 year / 100,000 mile warranty". The customer stated that he would like to think about it and would call back if he decided to go with it. The customer called back at 3:16 pm and said to "just go ahead and fix it", he also said to put in a new battery (which he was not charged for). He asked about payment plans that we have available and then said to go ahead and "fix the battery also". We record most of our phone calls for training purposes and these two phone calls were recorded. We would be happy to share those recordings with the BBB and the customer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2013/06/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I agreed for 1400$ and not for the price of 4000$ They are lying and manipulating. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/06/21) */ We stand by our previous statement: "The customer called our shop on May 20, 2013 at 2:36 pm to inquire about his car. ***** took the call. ***** asked the customer if he had received his video and estimate. The customer stated he had not received them. He was then told that the estimate and video were sent to his email and was asked to verify his email. The customer asked what the cost was. ***** told him that labor was $1444 and parts were $2296.39 which included a new battery because his battery tested bad. The customer stated that he had just put in a new battery so that was taken out of the estimate. ***** stated "Bottom line with sales tax is $3996.61 with a 5 year / 100,000 mile warranty". The customer stated that he would like to think about it and would call back if he decided to go with it. The customer called back at 3:16 pm and said to "just go ahead and fix it", he also said to put in a new battery (which he was not charged for). He asked about payment plans that we have available and then said to go ahead and "fix the battery also". We record most of our phone calls for training purposes and these two phone calls were recorded. We would be happy to share those recordings with the BBB and the customer." The customer is welcome to come in and we will play the recording for him.

11/6/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues