Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Get Away Today, Inc.

Phone: (866) 386-8747 Fax: (801) 476-1309 View Additional Phone Numbers 1650 E 5700 S, South Ogden, UT 84403 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.getawaytoday.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Get Away Today, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Get Away Today, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Get Away Today, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 08, 1991 Business started: 12/01/1989 Business started locally: 12/01/1989 Business incorporated 05/03/1990 in UT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Charles Smith, President Mr. Bruce Stratford, Company Contact
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charles Smith, President
Business Category

Tours - Operators & Promoters Travel Agencies & Bureaus Vacation Rentals

Alternate Business Names
Get Away Today Travel Get Away Today Vacations Vacations Getaway

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Get Away Today, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1650 E 5700 S

    South Ogden, UT 84403 (800) 523-6116 (801) 479-1313 (866) 386-8747 +866-FUN-TRIP

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3/4/16, I purchased a vacation package from getawaytoday.com for our Disneyland trip for 7/16 to 7/22. I made payments via a layaway plan. I also purchased the Peace Of Mind Plan because I knew we would be making changes to our trip and this allows for changes without any penalties. Throughout the next few months I made payments and some changes. on 7/5 I finalized it all and made final payment. In speaking to the representative, we were trying to figure things out to lower my cost. It was a little bit frustrating because the representative would give me options and when I finally chose one, he would say its not available. He finally found a hotel that seemed ok and we booked it for what I thought was 4 nights at the Sheraton and 2 nights at the Disneyland hotel on the concierge level.. I ended up with a refund and thought it was complete. He also told me that I needed to hide one of my children while checking in since technically it was only a 4 person room. They record their conversations and so it is on a recording to hear. When I got my invoice, I noticed he only booked one night at the Sheraton. So I called back and got another representative and they added my other nights and took it out of the refund that I was getting. Again, I thought all was complete and ready to go. A couple of days later, I received my receipt and my Itinerary from them and I noticed another discrepancy. The itinerary said Disneyland Hotel standard room and the receipt said Disneyland Hotel concierge. It also had the original error with the only 1 night at the Sheraton. So I called, again, and asked what was going on and what did I actually have. The representative said she had to look into it and call me back. So about an hour or so later, she called me back and said they went back and listened to the conversation between me and the representative because there was in fact a mistake and they wanted to see if it was my mistake or their representatives mistake. She said it was in fact their representatives mistake and they were able to fix it but only with an additional 600+ dollars. I was in tears at this point and I stated we leave in less than a week and I dont have 600+ extra dollars. She then said since it was their fault they would pay for half. I was not happy with this either and I lost all confidence in the company. I declined and cancelled my trip with them and made reservations on my own. In doing so, I ended up having to pay an additional 407.34 to get the trip I had intended in the first place. The higher cost is due to the last minute reservations and getting the room I had requested in the beginning. I feel I deserve that difference because if it had been done right in the beginning, I wouldnt have had to come up with the money last minute and would have made other arrangements... On top of the stress and ending up having to book it myself anyways.

Desired Settlement: I want the difference in the trip cost.. The original cost was 2045. I had to pay 2452.34. The difference is 407.34 that I feel they should refund me or even travel credit for other things on their site, such as food vouchers, tickets etc.

Business Response: We contacted this customer and took care of her.  After reading what took place, we put corrective action steps into place as this is not how we normally operate.  We owned up to the mistakes and now have a very happy customer.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Thank you very much!

Sincerely,
******* **** 

5/13/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A few months ago I ordered a vacation package for this summer for me and my wife. It was quite some time from the vacation so I didn't think much about not receiving our tickets right away. Now we are 3 weeks away from out vacation and still no tickets. I called get away today and they said they were shipped 2 months ago and provided the tracking information. I looked everything up called USPS called Get Away Today to gather as much information as possible so I can begin rectifying the problem. After getting the information from USPS that they only know for sure that the package went to the neighborhood mailbox that there was no way they could tell where it went from there. I called Get Away Today back and they then persisted to tell me that the tickets are good as cash and that because they put it in the mail its no longer their responsibility. The customer service rep then proceed to tell me that I could purchase another set of tickets that can be handled electronically, and then said if the others are found I could pay to send them back for a refund. I purchased the Peace of Mind plan to make sure we didn't have any issues, but it does not cover anything except slight changes to the itinerary. I'm just trying to go on my honey moon and not have to take out a loan the size of a used car to do it. Its unacceptable that the company trying to sell you a service will not guarantee there service, if they truly cared they would have sent it to require a signature to ensure that it is delivered to the customers home.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have a set of 5 Day Park hopper tickets sent to Disneyland to be picked up at will call of the day of the trip. These are the same tickets I have already purchased and all i'm looking for is to be able to enjoy my honeymoon.

Business Response:

We are truly sorry this guest didn't receive his package.  We are issuing new tickets and requiring a signature so that there is no question as to where the package is.  We have every package tracked and it did show it delivered to his mailbox on March 14th.

As a measure of good will we have provided 2 Character Dining Tickets - since it is his Honeymoon.

5/21/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vacation package to the Disneyland Resort through Get Away Today on April 9, 2015. The package included hotel for April 14, 2015 through April 21, 2015 (I was also attending the Star Wars convention), 2 Adult 3 Day Park Hopper Tickets, and Anaheim Resort Transit Passes. Since the purchase of the package was close to my arrival date, I was informed by Get Away Today that the Disney Park Hopper Passes would be set up electronically at the ticket booth and would be ready for pick up on my arrival, and that the ART Passes would be shipped to the hotel. Upon check in, the hotel had not received the ART passes and advised me to check back. On April 15, 2015, I found out that Disney had no record of my ticket purchase! I called Get Away Today and the agent informed me that the tickets arrived in Phoenix on April 14, 2015; the same day I checked into the hotel. The agent was less than helpful, and offered to let me buy additional passes for over $500 and to ship the other tickets back when I got home. Since I had lunch reservations at the Blue Bayou on April 15, 2015, at 2:20 p.m., I ended up purchasing 2 Adult 1 Day Park Hopper tickets for $310 in order to use the reservation. I called my apartment manager, who had received the package in Phoenix, and she shipped it Overnight to the hotel. So, all was not lost. However, I'm never using Get Away Today again for tickets. The situation could have been avoided if Get Away Today had done what they advised me they would do by setting up the tickets electronically and shipping the ART tickets to the hotel. This inconvenience caused a great deal of embarrassment and expense on my part.

Desired Settlement: I request reimbursement for the 2 Adult 1 Day Park Hopper tickets I had purchased in order use my Disney Dining Reservation in the amount of $310. Further, I request reimbursement for the cost of the shipping of the tickets from my apartment in Phoenix to the hotel in Anaheim in the amount of $19.99. I would not have needed to purchase the additional passes or overnight the tickets if it weren't for the negligent oversight by Get Away Today regarding the ticket purchase. I do not request a refund for a portion of the unused park hopper, ART Tickets, or the Magic Hour that was not honored by Disney. I will be informing Disney about Get Away Today's lack of customer service while providing Disney products and services to the consumer.

Business Response: This complaint has been resolved.  We contacted ***** ***** and was able to resolve this issue and surprise and delight her with our award winning customer service. 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is more than satisfactory to me. They reimbursed me for more than I was seeking by including the shipping costs and giving me a $50 credit. They've been great.

Sincerely,

***** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Get Away Today, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart