This Business is not BBB accredited

Elara Home Communications

Phone: (866) 200-4110  

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Elara Home Communications include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Elara Home Communications
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 17, 2011 Business started: 06/07/2006 Business started locally: 06/07/2006 Business incorporated: 06/07/2006 in UT
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Kipp Chambers, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kipp Chambers, Owner
Business Category

Television - Cable, CATV & Satellite Satellite Equipment & Supplies

Alternate Business Names
Chambers Sound and Satellite LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Boise, ID 83701

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Signed contract based on the company paying my cancellation fee with DirecTV and they have not. ******* ****** from Dish Network (Elara Home Communications X-XXX-XXX-XXXX) came to my home and sold me from DirecTV to Dish Network making all kinds of promises. One being that my cancellation fees would be paid in full by him. That is the only reason I agreed to the contract. Otherwise, I'd be out $200. Well, now DirecTV is contacting me non-stop because a $216.81 amount is owed for the cancellation of my contract. I tried calling ******* ****** (XXX-XXX-XXXX) and Elara Home Communications and they never answer my calls. I've worked with ******* before and I trusted him. But it turns out he was scamming me to make a sale. Dish Network and Elara should honor the promises made by the people that work for them.

Desired Settlement: The payoff of my cancellation with DirecTV of $216.81 as promised by a Dish representative who knew I would only sign a contract for Dish if my cancellation was paid.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/07/07) */ Hello, This was the result of a sales person that has since been fired from our company. He took advantage of our company as well as *****. We tried for weeks to contact ***** to help him resolve these issues but unfortunately we had a bad phone number. Although ***** had none of these promises in writing we came to an agreement to resolve his issue. We will be mailing hom **** to go towards a termination fee. He was happy, and in my opinion more then generous on our part. He said he would contact you and let you know it has been resolved. Thanks, ****

10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The installer was an hour late and when told we had changed our minds on getting there service he went and cut all our existing cables on 07\17\13 a rep from elara offered us a deal to change over from Direct TV to Dish Network. The installer was supposed to arrive between 8-11am on Friday morning 07/19/13. He didnt arrive until just past noon. My husband was on the phone to direct TV at the time he arrived seeing if we could down size our monthly bill with them. He dicided to stick with direct tv. When he informed the installer of this he went around to all the existing cables that Direct tv had initially installed and cut through every single one and pulling them out the wall, yanking my daughters tv almost off the wall. Dishes were pulled off the roof and thrown on the ground and all outside connections cut, leaving us with no direct tv service at all. We called elara up letting them know what there installer had done and they said they would send him back out the same day to replace the cables he had destroyed. The installer never returned and we still do not have service. We called elara head qtrs back and left a message to say he never returned to fix it and have not heard back from them as of yet. I consider that the installer elara had send out destroyed private property and his actions were uncalled for.

Desired Settlement: All im looking for is for installer to come out and replace all the cut cables he destroyed and place the dishes back up on the roof

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/09/19) */ Tech installed DISH for customer as requested. Spent 2 hours installing it and was about to activate when customer ran in and said not to because DIRECTV offered him a deal to keep their service. Tech removed all equipment he had put in. It was not our responsibility to reinstall customer's DIRECTV that he decided to keep. Tech spent 2 hours there (plus 1.5 hours drive time) and didn't make any money. I called customer and explained this to him once I found out. I told him that if DIRECTV offered him a deal then they needed to get his TV going for him. Customer said he understood and "we're good."

8/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: sales rep misrepresented services that we were going to get with another company We had spoken with a local company earlier in the day to come to our home and connect television services for us. We had set up a time to have a sales rep come to our home at 6 that evening. This was a company that we had used before in years pasted so we new who we were to exspect. Around 6 that same evening a salesman knocked on our door saling directv services. We said that we were waiting for the representative from the local company to come and set us up. He proceded to say that he was with the local company and that we could set up with him. We said the sales representatives name that was to come by and help us from before and he said that this person had sent him to set up the order and get them installed. Well we trusted him and filled out paperwork with him. We gave personal information, Credit card and Social.About 30 minutes after he left, along came the saleman that we were waiting for. He informed us that the previous sales man was not with his company and we showed him the paperwork and it didnt even have his companies name on it. We then knew that the saleman from elara home communications had lied to us about the order. We called the company to cancel the order out right then. We had to ask the elara for the salesmans phone number to talk with him about what he had done. When we spoke with him he denied having said that he was with this other company and that he had said that he was with directv. Please handle this promtly. This company is sending these salesman door to door and many people are being decieved because of this

Desired Settlement: They handle these practices with urgency. I