This business is not BBB accredited.

Elara Home Communications

Phone: (866) 200-4110  


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Elara Home Communications include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Elara Home Communications
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 17, 2011 Business started: 06/07/2006 Business started locally: 06/07/2006 Business incorporated 06/07/2006 in UT
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Kipp Chambers, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kipp Chambers, Owner
Business Category

Television - Cable, CATV & Satellite Satellite Equipment & Supplies

Alternate Business Names
Chambers Sound and Satellite LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Boise, ID 83701

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Signed contract based on the company paying my cancellation fee with DirecTV and they have not. ******* ****** from Dish Network (Elara Home Communications X-XXX-XXX-XXXX) came to my home and sold me from DirecTV to Dish Network making all kinds of promises. One being that my cancellation fees would be paid in full by him. That is the only reason I agreed to the contract. Otherwise, I'd be out $200. Well, now DirecTV is contacting me non-stop because a $216.81 amount is owed for the cancellation of my contract. I tried calling ******* ****** (XXX-XXX-XXXX) and Elara Home Communications and they never answer my calls. I've worked with ******* before and I trusted him. But it turns out he was scamming me to make a sale. Dish Network and Elara should honor the promises made by the people that work for them.

Desired Settlement: The payoff of my cancellation with DirecTV of $216.81 as promised by a Dish representative who knew I would only sign a contract for Dish if my cancellation was paid.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/07/07) */ Hello, This was the result of a sales person that has since been fired from our company. He took advantage of our company as well as *****. We tried for weeks to contact ***** to help him resolve these issues but unfortunately we had a bad phone number. Although ***** had none of these promises in writing we came to an agreement to resolve his issue. We will be mailing hom **** to go towards a termination fee. He was happy, and in my opinion more then generous on our part. He said he would contact you and let you know it has been resolved. Thanks, ****

10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The installer was an hour late and when told we had changed our minds on getting there service he went and cut all our existing cables on 07\17\13 a rep from elara offered us a deal to change over from Direct TV to Dish Network. The installer was supposed to arrive between 8-11am on Friday morning 07/19/13. He didnt arrive until just past noon. My husband was on the phone to direct TV at the time he arrived seeing if we could down size our monthly bill with them. He dicided to stick with direct tv. When he informed the installer of this he went around to all the existing cables that Direct tv had initially installed and cut through every single one and pulling them out the wall, yanking my daughters tv almost off the wall. Dishes were pulled off the roof and thrown on the ground and all outside connections cut, leaving us with no direct tv service at all. We called elara up letting them know what there installer had done and they said they would send him back out the same day to replace the cables he had destroyed. The installer never returned and we still do not have service. We called elara head qtrs back and left a message to say he never returned to fix it and have not heard back from them as of yet. I consider that the installer elara had send out destroyed private property and his actions were uncalled for.

Desired Settlement: All im looking for is for installer to come out and replace all the cut cables he destroyed and place the dishes back up on the roof

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/09/19) */ Tech installed DISH for customer as requested. Spent 2 hours installing it and was about to activate when customer ran in and said not to because DIRECTV offered him a deal to keep their service. Tech removed all equipment he had put in. It was not our responsibility to reinstall customer's DIRECTV that he decided to keep. Tech spent 2 hours there (plus 1.5 hours drive time) and didn't make any money. I called customer and explained this to him once I found out. I told him that if DIRECTV offered him a deal then they needed to get his TV going for him. Customer said he understood and "we're good."

8/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: sales rep misrepresented services that we were going to get with another company We had spoken with a local company earlier in the day to come to our home and connect television services for us. We had set up a time to have a sales rep come to our home at 6 that evening. This was a company that we had used before in years pasted so we new who we were to exspect. Around 6 that same evening a salesman knocked on our door saling directv services. We said that we were waiting for the representative from the local company to come and set us up. He proceded to say that he was with the local company and that we could set up with him. We said the sales representatives name that was to come by and help us from before and he said that this person had sent him to set up the order and get them installed. Well we trusted him and filled out paperwork with him. We gave personal information, Credit card and Social.About 30 minutes after he left, along came the saleman that we were waiting for. He informed us that the previous sales man was not with his company and we showed him the paperwork and it didnt even have his companies name on it. We then knew that the saleman from elara home communications had lied to us about the order. We called the company to cancel the order out right then. We had to ask the elara for the salesmans phone number to talk with him about what he had done. When we spoke with him he denied having said that he was with this other company and that he had said that he was with directv. Please handle this promtly. This company is sending these salesman door to door and many people are being decieved because of this

Desired Settlement: They handle these practices with urgency. I