BBB Accredited Business since

TaxHawk Inc

Phone: (801) 812-1040 Fax: (801) 377-1840 PO Box 51048, Provo, UT 84605 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.taxhawk.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that TaxHawk Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for TaxHawk Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 40 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

40 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 13 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 12
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 20
Total Closed Complaints 40

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on TaxHawk Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 14, 2005 Business started: 02/01/2001 Business started locally: 02/01/2001 Business incorporated: 01/27/2001 in UT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rick Graham, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Graham, Vice President
Business Category

Tax Return Preparation Taxes - Consultants & Representatives

Alternate Business Names
Express1040® Free Tax USA FreeTaxUSA® my1040A.com® my1040EZ.com® TaxHawk®

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 51048

    Provo, UT 84605

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I filed a complain with BBB concerning FreeTaxUsa which is a TaxHawk company. They have charged me twice for e-filing taxes I have been charged 12.95 twice on 8/5/2014when I e-filed with them. But their webpage kept saying error and payment should not have gone through, but I have confirmation that they charged my account. Also, they have collected tax information without collecting information of where to send my refund. This is a scam and I want to be refunded and my account deleted. I have contacted the IRS and the Virginia State Taxation to report possible fraud in case they are filing on my behalf to have the refund owed to me in an account that I have not authorized.

Desired Settlement: Refund of total payments charged &25.90 and delete my account effective immediately

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/12) */ Contact Name and Title: Customer Support Contact Phone: n/a Contact Email: *******@freetaxusa.com We have been communicating with Ms. ******* through our usual customer support channel. We responded to this issue with the following: I show that you have not successfully paid for your state return yet. This is why you are not able to continue and finish the filing process. I also show that the credit card used to try and make payment was declined twice. When this happens, a pending charge may appear on your account for each declined payment attempt, but since the transactions were not completed, the pending charges will disappear from the account within 3 to 5 business days. The reason your card is being declined is that your address and zip code you are entering on the Payment screen do not match what is on file with your bank. Please double check the correct address and zip code and try your payment again. If you can't get this to work, you may need to pay with a different credit card. Only after payment is accepted do we collect direct deposit information for customers to receive their refunds. If Ms. ******* has further questions, we encourage her to respond directly to our customer support. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/08/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

6/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid for my 2012 taxes to be efiled. Services paid for but never sent my return to state for processing. I have emailed TaxHawk on many occasions to find out why my 2012 tax return was never emfiled. They sent me an email back stating that I never paid. I then sent them a copy of my payment receipt and I have heard nothing back from them. They have no telephone number where a person will answer. Customer No. - XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXX Order No. - XXXXXXX Order Date - 08/05/2013

Desired Settlement: I want my $9.95 refunded to me as well asinterest for TaxHawk NOT filing my taxes in a timely manner. I want this resolved NOW. I need to file my returns and I am not even able to get into my account. I have requested for my password to be reset and I have yet to get that via email. It seems that TaxHawk is not invested in its clients but what is in their wallets.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/22) */ Contact Name and Title: Customer Support Contact Phone: n/a Contact Email: *******@freetaxusa.com We have been communicating with Mr. ********* about this matter through our regular customer service avenue. We have explained to him that the IRS does not allow prior year returns to be e-filed and, as such, will only accept mailed copies. Mr. ********* did in fact pay for and complete his 2012 tax return but in order to submit it he will need to print it out and mail it to the IRS. There is no addition fee for e-filing, the minimal fee is for the use of our software in preparing the tax return whether it is e-filed or mailed. If he has further questions, we would encourage him to continue responding to the customer support email that we have been using to communicate with him up to this point.

4/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: You are told that the tax filing is free, and then they say that filing Federal taxes are free, but the state taxes are the ones that cost you money. I went on the site to file income tax. They tell you are given the impression that it is part of the irs and that for older people the service is free. and then after you fill out the document they ask for money and explain that it's not for Federal but for State taxes. I never ask to file any State Taxes

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back and stop telling people that you are connected to IRS

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/11) */ Contact Name and Title: Customer Support Contact Phone: n/a Contact Email: *******@freetaxusa.com Mr. **** is correct that our federal tax preparation is free. As stated clearly on our homepage, the federal is free but there is a minimal fee for the use of our software to prepare state taxes. It is possible that he came to us through the IRS website's list of free filing websites which could account for the confusion. That list will include sites that prepare the federal for free, but not necessarily the state. Once our customers have completed filling in their information there is an order screen in which they select the items they would like to purchase.The prices of each are clearly displayed. Mr. **** was free to choose only the free Federal from our list of products and leave the state fee untouched if he so desired. Both his federal and state tax returns have been submitted and accepted, however, we have refunded the state fee as requested. We hope this will show our desire to maintain a positive relationship with Mr. ****.

4/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I filed tax return electronically with this company and the answers that I put on my tax returns did not reflect the same answers when actually filed. After I thought I filed my taxes correctly, I received a message saying it was completed and to complete it but there wasn't anything showing that anything was even started so then I figured it didn't go through and I would just pay someone else in person to prepare my taxes but they said my taxes did go through and I did receive my tax returns in my account within days of trying to figure this all out. So I log back in to my account with them and try to amend but the place they say it is within the website to start the amendment is nowhere to be found and it's only showing 2012 tax return nothing on 2013? This is so frusterating because I have emailed their "customer support" within their website which states they will get back to me within 24-48 hours and I haven't heard anything back about the amendment question and it's been days. So after finding this business on BBB with 43 complaints and a phone number (FINALLY) I called the number only to get a recording to a mailbox to leave a message? REALLY!!! So I now need to go through the IRS directly to try and get this fixed. This has been one of the worst experiences ever!

Desired Settlement: Now because the answers from my taxes were overwritten with something different I may now owe the IRS $?

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/20) */ Contact Name and Title: Customer Support Contact Phone: n/a Contact Email: *******@freetaxusa.com We are sorry to hear that Ms. ****** had difficulties with her taxes. She started two separate issue threads with our online customer support that were answered within two hours of being delivered. After she clarified her problem in each response, we indicated the possibility that Ms. ****** created more than one account in our system, which is exactly what happened. She submitted her 2013 taxes from one account and after realizing the mistake she had made, signed back into another account she had created previously, thus showing her 2012 return and an incomplete 2013 return. In order to file her an amendment with corrected 2013 information, she will need to sign in to her account that has the return that was accepted by the IRS. Our online support is more than willing to help her figure out which one that is. Sincerely, Customer Support Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) So is this business saying that I filed a 2012 regular tax year instead of a 2013? That would make since except the IRS has a copy of a 2013 tax return that does not reflect 2012 information. My 2012 taxes are totally different from my 2013 return and the IRS has copies of both. The "pending" 2013 tax form on this company's site is the only one in there besides the copy of 2012 which is on file from last year. So I ask you this how did I get my tax returns and a copy of a submitted 2013 tax form if it's still supposedly in a "pending" status? There's all kinds of things wrong with that! And not to mention the submitted IRS copy stated numbers that I didn't even enter (example-I did not claim myself because I knew my mother was claiming me but Whatever was submitted in the copy sent to IRS shows I did claim mysel). That's scary. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/04/01) */ We apologize if our initial response was unclear. Ms. ****** did not file her 2012 tax return again. Last year when she filed her 2012 return she created an account in our system. This year when she filed her 2013 return she created a whole new account. After completing and submitting her 2013 return she realized she had made a mistake and needed to amend it. Instead of signing into the new account created for 2013, she signed back into her old account which had a completed 2012 return and a blank 2013 return. That is the "pending" 2013 return she is seeing. There is a completed, submitted, and accepted 2013 return in a different account. In order to amend her submitted tax return, she will need to log into the second account created and amend from there. Again, our online customer support would be happy to help if she needs additional assistance.

3/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Free Tax USA is the site I attempted to use to file my taxes. In which, they charge $9.71 to process my state taxes. I attempted to use my card and for some reason I was getting a decline pop up, but the funds were in my account. To my surprise they deducted 9.71 not only once, but twice from my account. I have been in contact with their customer support via email which is the only way to contact them. Two weeks later the funds are still debited from my account and my state processing fee is still not paid for. At this point I just want the $9.71 not once but twice credited back to me. Which I have advised them. Product_Or_Service: State processing fee Account_Number: **********@msn.com

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund At this point I want the 9.71 not once, but twice credited back to my account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/20) */ Contact Name and Title: Customer Support Contact Phone: n/a Contact Email: *******@freetaxusa.com Payment was attempted on our site using the credit card issued to ***** ***** but was declined due to a mismatch of billing information that was entered by the customer and what the bank has on record. A second attempt at payment was attempted, but the information was still not congruent. Each time payment is attempted, the bank will remove those funds and place them in a "pending" state. The two attempts that are showing have been declined in our system and will be dropped by the bank within a few days of the date of attempted payment. We predict that by the time the customer receives this response, the pending charges will have already been dropped. If they are not, we suggest that the card holder contact his or her bank to see if they are aware of anything that may be delaying the process any further.

3/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: FreeTaxUSA/TaxHawk took my money for my state return prior to finishing the return. Now I am unable to file my state return I already paid for. On 1/15/14 I contacted customer support and asked them how I enter my W2 information since I received two W2s, being that I work in De and live in MD. I was instructed to enter a $1 in the Federal information for the W2, un which I had no Federal information on and only my MD state information on. On 2/13/14 I proceeded to file my state returns. I was prompted to pay in full the $12.95 for each state (Md and De) prior to finishing the return. When I attempted to file the returns it gave me an alert about having too much state income tax in relation to my wages. I contacted customer support about this issue and they instructed me that I would have to correct my W2 and in fact that the previous information I was given on 1/15/14 from THEIR customer support was incorrect. Now my W2s are locked because my federal return was already submitted and I cannot fix the W2. Now because of the bad information I was given by customer support I cannot file my state returns with them, despite them having charged me prior to scanning the return for errors

Desired Settlement: I want my $25.90 refunded to me immediately. I paid for a service prior to the service being completed. This is an error in their system they must fix. The reason I cannot get the service I paid for was because of incorrect information given to me by their customer support. All this is documented in the customer support log.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/19) */ Contact Name and Title: Customer Support Contact Phone: n/a Contact Email: *******@freetaxusa.com We apologize for any contradictory information that has been given by our support staff to Mr. ******. We have our Customer Support Manager researching this particular case and making sure that any additional training that needs to be done is seen to. Because of the confusion this has caused, we have refunded the fee that Mr. ****** paid for our services. His federal and Deleware state returns have been submitted and accepted and his Maryland return is still open to editing if he'd like to print it or try e-filing.

3/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used Taxhawk for my taxes and I was billed 12.95 for the state tax. The state wasnt filed I want a refund. I used Taxhawk for my taxes. the state tax was never recieved by the state and told me the software from taxhawk was having issues . Taxhawk blamed the state. I was advised by the state to refile my taxes I an looking for a refund. Taxhawk doesnt give me straight answers.

Desired Settlement: a refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/19) */ Contact Name and Title: Customer Support Contact Phone: n/a Contact Email: *******@freetaxusa.com There were complications with the state of Massachusetts regarding the e-filing of returns this year. The situation has been sorted out and Ms. ********'s state tax return has been accepted. For the inconvenience that the mixed messages from the state has caused, we have refunded the $12.95 fee.

3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I did my taxes on Freetaxusa.com and I was charged twice for one transaction.

Desired Settlement: i would like one of the charges dropped please. there were 2 charges to my account for $12.95.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/12) */ Contact Name and Title: Customer Support Contact Phone: n/a Contact Email: *******@freetaxusa.com Ms. ********** attempted to pay for the preparation of her tax return twice. The first attempt was declined but will still show on her bank account as a pending charge for a few days before her bank drops the charge. The second attempt was successful and will permanently post to her account. The pending charge should disappear within a week of the attempted payment.

3/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i need the freetaxusa company to charge my one fee of 12.95 not two and pay my -16.95 fee in my account do to there transaction hi i did my taxes on freetaxuse.com and i was charged two fees of 12.95 when is should of only been one 12.95 for my state refunds. now my account is -16.95 do to this transaction and im very upset about. i need for the company to only charged me one fee for my state refund not two. and i need them to pay that fee or any other fee that they may have cause me to pay cause it wasnt there before until they did that cause i call my bank and ask them and im not happy at all with this company trying to take advantage of me

Desired Settlement: i want them to take out one of those 12.95in my account and pay my over draft fee of -16.95

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/12) */ Contact Name and Title: Customer Support Contact Phone: n/a Contact Email: *******@freetaxusa.com Mr. **** attempted to pay the $12.95 fee with a credit card but was declined two times due to a mismatch of billing information. Declined charges still appear on an credit/debit account as pending charges but they will be dropped by the bank in an average of 1-2 days after the attempted payment. When his credit card would not work, he chose to pay directly from his checking account using an eCheck. As stated on the payment screen, to process an eCheck there is a convenience fee of $3.50. We do feel for Mr. **** and have refunded the $3.50 convenience fee in order to help where we can. Because it has been a few days since Mr. **** wrote in, the pending charges should be gone leaving only the successful charge.

3/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Yesterday Feb,13,2013. I submitted two state taxes, however on the second one I received a message stating that the card could not be charged due to billing information. I corrected the billing address and continue the process thinking that my card was not charged the first time. Then this morning I look at my bank account and my card has been charged three times by the company, the bank has refuse to issue a credit back for the charge and there no one is available for me to speak to at the company about the charge. Order_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want to have my funds return back to my account since I was told that the charge was not authorized due to the billing address incorrect.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/20) */ Contact Name and Title: Customer Support Contact Phone: n/a Contact Email: *******@freetaxusa.com Although the third charge was declined, the bank still removes the funds on a pending basis. After a few days, the declined charge will be dropped from Ms. *********'s bank account and the money will be accessible to her again. If the charges are not dropped in more than a week, we suggest that she contact her bank in order to get that pending charge removed more quickly. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/02/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I soke to the bank and they are not dropping the charges because it shows that it was done with my card.Which is true but it states that it was declined. The states that I have to filed a claim against the company and a dispute charge claim form. All I want is for my 12.95 to be refunded back to my account.

2/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Did not receive services promised after payment. Date: 1/26/2014. Order No. - XXXXXXX I filed a 2010 State return with this company, and after many emails with customer support, after following the directions given me, I am still unable to print off the tax return. I asked for a refund, and they denied it. I just want my 2010 tax return and it is unavailable to me on their website. There is nothing to click on to in order for me to get my return.

Desired Settlement: I either would a refund or be able to print my return. It has all my information in it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/03) */ Contact Name and Title: Customer Support Contact Phone: n/a Contact Email: *******@taxhawk.com Ms. ******** did send several emails to our support staff expressing her concern and each email was answered with instructions on how to print but contained a warning that she would be unable to print until she finalized her state return. As of now her state return for 2010 is still in an unfinished state. She can finalize her state return by signing into her 2010 account, selecting "Filing" from the top menu and "Review Tax Return" from the drop down menu. After following the prompts on the screen she will see the link to download or print her state return on the same page as her federal return. She did not request a refund in any of her correspondences with our support agents, but if she would rather not finalize her state return, we would be happy to offer her a refund, at which point she would no longer have the option to print her state return. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/02/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Who is running this company??? Never at any time during the many emails did they instruct me on how to finalize my return with the result I wanted which was being able to print the return! Never at any time was there an OPTION to even do so. Hence the whole problem. I have saved every email and yes I did request a refund which was denied. I tried finalizing the return and still there was nothing to click on to print my return. They held it... until today. Today I am finally able to print it, only because of my contacting the BBB. Why do that to people?? to get more money if they think that it did not go through the first time??. Although I was finally able to get a printed copy after getting the BBB involved I am unhappy with the deceit and lies by this company and will never use them again.

1/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Having problems in making payment for services rendered by the company. disallows payment due to status of a divorce, for credit not good. no options Was trying to use a company for my taxes after a divorce in which I used my credit to make things work in the marriage. I was forced into a divorce that I did not wish. I will be filing bankruptcy, and could have used the help from tax free usa concerning my taxes. I have tried to pay for services numerous times using a prepaid debit card, for I have no credit, only to be turned down, and seeing charges to my card from Western Union. I have contacted them and was told to use the billing info from the prepaid card to process. Nothing available on their form to do that. They also said I had an option to use to use someone else, using their card for services rendered. I have used my fathers credit card today, which was valid, only to be turned down, by yet another excuse. I am bothered by the fact that I have given them my private info and am not even able to complete a transaction with them for $12.95. Now they also have my father's credit info. What might they do with that?

Desired Settlement: Just wish to complete the transaction of $12.95 to finish my taxes and send to bankruptcy attorney. I can not even believe how difficult this is for such a small amount. Would send them a money order, but they chose not to accept that either

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/18) */ Contact Name and Title: Support Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@freetaxusa.com We apologize for the frustration that Mr. ****** has experienced. We have been communicating with him through our normal support channel and we believe this issue has now been resolved. Sincerely, Support

12/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This involves taxhawk's 'subsidiary' freetaxusa - All I want them to do, is delete my account/information, and they keep saying it can't be done. Again, this pertains to freetaxusa.com - After seeing complaints regarding their service, and the fact that the '1-800 customer service' phone numbers they provided, send customers TO THE IRS instead of to them, I became very suspicious since they listed in of their complaints that they only respond to e-mail (having a previous background in military law enforcement, this sent up a 'red flag' that they may be hiding something) - I have repeatedly on two attempts, requested that they delete my account and my personal information, from their site and servers - they have responded by saying that they don't have that capability, that it is up to individuals to 'overwrite' this info and create 'dummy' information - Also having a background in IT Technology, I know from experience that this IS NOT A GUARANTEED WAY TO SAFEGUARD SOMEONE'S INFO - THE ORIGINAL INFO CAN STILL BE RECOVERED! - All I basically want, is for the account I created on FreeTaxUSA, to be deleted, and all my personal information "SCRUBBED" from their website/servers. (having been on the 'receiving end' of complaints like this in my career in IT Technology/Electronics, I KNOW FROM EXPERIENCE THAT THERE IS ALWAYS A WAY TO DO THIS!) - As of the date of this request, I have also registered a complaint with the IRS (I was directed to FreeTaxUSA originally by the IRS website) - The IRS has issued a 'trouble ticket' ID to me, and I have provided this info to them so they too can conduct an investigation. I don't think I am asking for very much, yet according to the customer service department of freetaxusa, it seems like this is something BEYOND THEIR UNDERSTANDING OR CAPABILITY! (Which I find hard to believe!)..... Please Help! Thank you! Respectfully, *********** ***** *** ********

Desired Settlement: Settlement? I just want this issue resolved as described above - I don't want any money from these people (although, I definitely WILL NEVER USE THEIR SERVICE AGAIN AFTER THIS!).....

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/18) */ Contact Name and Title: Support Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@freetaxusa.com We apologize for Mr. *****'s frustration over this issue. We have been in communication with him through our normal support channel and we provided instruction on how he could clear his information from our database. Since this didn't meet his needs we have deleted his information, it no longer exists in our database. We believe this should fulfill his request. Sincerely, Customer Support Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/12/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Yes! This satisfies my concerns - I have just 'confirmed' their actions, by attempting to login to the freetaxusa account that I had - My username and password NO LONGER WORK, WHICH MEANS THE ACCOUNT HAS BEEN DELETED AS THEY HAVE STATED! Now then, one last request: It is clear to me now, that freetaxusa HAD THE CAPABILITY ALL ALONG TO PERFORM THIS ACTION! - My question now, is WHY DIDN'T THEY DO THIS IN THE FIRST PLACE WHEN I ORIGINALLY ASKED FOR IT?...... Why did I have to go through you folks at the BBB to get this done? (thanks for your intervention by the way!).....If you could just forward this last question to them, it would really be appreciated!!! THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR HELP AND ASSISTANCE! Very Respectfully, *********** ***** *** ********

11/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I filed my state tax return in April of 2012, and they charged me for it, just under 9$, they never sent it, the state tax office STILL hasn't gotten I filed my state tax return though tax hawk in April of 2012. Now in Sept, tax hawk has still not filed my return. 8.95 was taken from my account on 4.16.2013, after a email saying my filing had been pushed though to the state tax office. However it's Sept 2012 and the State tax offices still haven't received my refund paperwork, and I STILL haven't gotten my refund that was owed to me. I have the bank statement saying that it had indeed gone though... but why hasn't the state offices received it yet? I could not find a phone number to anyone at tax hawk... and find this seriously upsetting

Desired Settlement: I want them to send my paper work in, cover any fees that have occurred and I would like my 8.95 back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/30) */ Contact Name and Title: Customer Support Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@taxhawk.com The state has not received Ms. *******'s return because it was not completed. She paid for a few "add-ons" but not for the actual preparation of her state taxes. After paying for the preparation of taxes, customers still have a few more steps in order to complete the submission and filing of their taxes - including reviewing, finalizing, and officially submitting. In order to receive her refund, Ms. ******* will need to log back into her TaxHawk account and follow the instructions under "filing" in order to complete and pay for her tax return. She did email our support staff who responded with the same instructions. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/10/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Because I have a smudged print out of a confirmation code. I can no longer log in to the account to re-submit.

9/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unauthorized use of my credit card. I have no prior knowledge or contact from this company or any of its agents. Discovered unauthorized credit card use March 20, 2013. Filing complaintntoday, March 21, 2013

Desired Settlement: Full refund and payment to me.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/26) */ Contact Name and Title: Customer Support Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@taxhawk.com We believe this issue has already been resolved. Three charges were declined by our system and a fourth was caught before being processed. Although pending charges may still appear on Mr. *******' account, the payment was stopped before ever going through. Any pending charges should disappear from Mr. *******' account within a few days. These attempted charges may indicate that Mr. *******' card information has been compromised. He should contact his credit card company to take further action if he believes that to be the case.

8/8/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: THIS BUSSINESS OPERATING ONLINE IS A COMPLETE SCAM. THEY DONT EFILE TAXES, AND PRINTABLE ONES COME WITH PREVIEW COPIES WROTE ACCROSS EM BUT CHARGE YU 7/3/13 CHRAGES 9.95 BUT COPIES TO PRINT HAVE DO NOT FILE WROTE ACROSS THEM, THEY WONT DELETE YOUR PERSONAL, PRIVATE INFORMATION OR FILE TAXES. THIS IS A ONLINE SCAM IN EVERY WAY. BUT HOME PAGE SAYS 100% GUARANTEE.

Desired Settlement: REFUND OF 9.95, DELETE ALL OR ANY MY PERSONAL TAX INFORMATION, SHUT DOWN THIS WEBSITE AND THIER AFFILIATE TAXHAWK,OPERATING UNDER THE NAME FREETAX USA, AND ERASE THIER BBB RATING AS ITS FALSE INFO AND SHOULD NOT BE RECOMENDED.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/22) */ Contact Name and Title: Customer Support Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@taxhawk.com Each customer has the option to e-file or print and mail their tax return through our website. Mr. ********* hasn't actually paid for the preparation or filing of his taxes yet. To complete the filing process Mr. ********* will need to sign in to his account and complete the last few steps. At that point he will be able to efile or mail his return. If he wishes to remove his information from our database he can sign in to his account and overwrite any personal information with something different. We can provide additional guidance through our online support tool. Sincerely, Customer Support

7/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: THEY OFFER FREE TAX PREPERATION FEDERAL AND STATE WITH AGI LESS THAN 20,000 BUT THEY DO NOT HONOR IT THEY OFFERED ME A FREE TAX PREPARATION AND E-FILE FOR FEDERAL AND STATE RETURN. AFTER I SUBMITTED MY RETURN IT REJECTED I HAD TO CAHNGE A NUMBER AFTER I DID I WENT BACK TO RESUBMIT THE RETURN THEY CHARGED ME $12.95 FOR THE STATE, WHICH WAS FREE BECAUSE MY AGI WAS LESS THAN $20,000. I LOOKED THROUGH THEY CUSTOMER SUPPPORT QUESTIONS FOUND THIS What happens if the IRS rejects my tax return? You'll receive an email giving the reason why the tax return was rejected. Usually it's something easy to fix such as a misspelled name or a mistyped Social Security number. Sign in to your account and fix any incorrect or missing information, then e-file your tax return again with the IRS. TaxHawk does not charge additional fees to re-transmit your tax return to the IRS after the original e-filing was rejected. AND I EMAILED THEM WITH MY PROBLEM I HAVE YET TO RECIEVE A RESPONSE. ITS CRAZY

Desired Settlement: I WANT THEM TO HONOR THEY SERVICE THAT IS A SCAM!!!!!AND MY $12.95 REFUNDED TO ME

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/07/18) */ Contact Name and Title: Customer Support Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@taxhawk.com Although in the past we have offered free preparation of state taxes for those customers earning less than a certain amount in a year, our pricing has recently changed. Our support staff did respond to ** **** with this information. It appears that the customer was unfamiliar with the change and because of the confusion that caused we have refunded the charge. We apologize for the concern this caused our customer and we hope this will help to repair the damage done to our relationship. Sincerely, Customer Support Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 8, 2013/07/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) THANK YOU, NEXT TIME JUST LET YOUR CUSTOMERS KNOW AHEAD OF TIME OF YOUR CHANGES IN SERVICE IF ANY. I BRING YOUR BUSINESS ALOT OF CLIENTS I MEAN ALOT!!!! FROM MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY AND THEY FRIENDS AND FAMILY AND SO FORTH WE ALL DO OUR TAXES WITH YOUR SERVICE WE LOVE YOUR SERVICE WE WILL CONTINUE TO USE YOUR SERVICE ITS NO PROBLEM. I DONT WANT A REFUND JUST A HEADS UP WHEN CHANGES IN PRICING ARE GOIN TO OCCURE ESPECIALLY WHEN U ALREADY START A PROJECT AT ONE PRICE THEN THE PRICE CHANGE IN THE MIDDLE OF TRANSACTION.

7/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Taxhawk is in violation of their contract which states that even if you decide not to file your federal return you may efile the state return. I used taxhawk to file both federal and state tax returns. My federal was rejected thus taxhawk did not efile my state return. when i login to their website it gives me this message "Your e-filed North Carolina tax return has been REJECTED. Federal Tax Return Rejected: North Carolina Tax Return Also Rejected Since the IRS is rejecting your federal tax return, your North Carolina return is also being rejected. You can e-file your federal and North Carolina returns again, or if you decide to not e-file your federal return, you can e-file your North Carolina return separately at no additional charge." This clearly states that i may still file my state return through efile separately even if i choose not to file my federal return. They told me on several instances through customer service that i may not file the state return through efile but can only mail it. I have asked for a refund several times and they have refused saying that since i can mail the return they dont owe me a refund. I told them that was not what the fee was for, it was for efileing my state return as the federal efile is free.

Desired Settlement: I need a refund and they need to properly state the conditions in which you may efile your state returns.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/26) */ Contact Name and Title: Customer Support Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@taxhawk.com We do not typically refund an order once a customer has completed their return. The charge paid in this case was for preparation of the state return, not for e-filing. However, we have refunded Mr. *****' payment out of good will and to thank him for bringing the confusing explanation to our attention. The wording on our site has been adjusted and now clearly reflects our policies. We apologize for any confusion this may have caused.

7/12/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This website guarantees their soft where 100%. I did my taxes with them for both 2009 and 2010. After I did my 2010 with them, my taxes came back good. I did not owe anything. 6 months later I get a letter from the IRS telling me I owe the IRS 900.00 dollars. Something is wrong with their soft where because after I was done doing my taxes for 2010 if should have told me I owed money, not that I was good for that year. I asked for a phone call to resolve this issue but they will not call me.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund They back their soft where 100%. That to me means that if their soft where does not calculate the right amount owed, they should pay the IRS all the amount they are asking!!!!

Business Response: Consumer's Final Response /* (-5, 4, 2013/07/05) */ I want them to pay the amount owed to the IRS. Its not my fault their software does not calculate correctly. After I was done with my taxes for 2010 it should have told me I owed something instead of getting something back from the IRS.

5/1/2013 Delivery Issues
3/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
3/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/26/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/21/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
4/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/14/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
2/24/2012 Billing/Collection Issues