Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are You the Business Owner of Johansen's Swim Pool Plastering, Inc.?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This Business is not BBB accredited

Johansen's Swim Pool Plastering, Inc.

Phone: (801) 562-2737 1386 W 8040 S Ste 2, West Jordan, UT 84088

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Johansen's Swim Pool Plastering, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Johansen's Swim Pool Plastering, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 05, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1964 Business started locally: 01/01/1964 Business incorporated: 06/18/2003 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DOPL - Professional Licensing
160 E 300 S 4th Fl, Salt Lake City UT 84111
www.dopl.utah.gov
Phone Number: (801) 530-6628

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Howard Johansen, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Howard Johansen, Owner
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Service & Repair Swimming Pools - Maintenance Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Plastering Contractors


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1386 W 8040 S Ste 2

    West Jordan, UT 84088 (801) 562-2737

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/27/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Johansen Swim Pool Plastering Company approx. 3 years ago to remodel my pool. The job was not done correctly and the results show today. I hired Johansen Swim Pool Plastering approximately 3 years ago to completely remodel my swimming pool. During the remodel, the brick coping was removed and replaced by this firm 3 times due to sloppy worksmanship. The Pool Tile was also removed and replaced two (2) times due to sloppy worksmanship. The initial tile setters were actually fired by Johansen due to the work they had done on my pool,(this according to ****** ******** himself). The plaster was also replaced but was done in an uneven and un-attractive fashion. Today, 3 three later, the tile on my pool is literally falling off in droves and the brick coping has numerous holes and gaps in the grout work allowing for water damage. The Plaster looks awful and my pool is basically not usable. I have repeatedly called ****** ********, the owner, over the past 3 years to complain about these issues. And, he has repeatedly said he would fix them but his company never shows up to do the work, even when times to do the work have been agreed upon. My efforts to contact the BBB is my last straw before filing suit.

Desired Settlement: I want Johansen Swim Pool Plastering Company to properly do the job they were hired to do, namely, replace my plaster so that it is applied properly, replace my tiles and the foundation of the tiles so they will actually stay in place and ensure the grout of the brick coping is sealed properly. I also want one of the Spa Jets fixed that was damaged during the initial pool remodel.

Business Response: Consumer's Final Response /* (-5, 5, 2013/05/08) */ Thank you for your email. Since I filed my BBB complaint yesterday the owner of Johansen Swim Pool Plastering, Mr. ****** ********, called me and has said he will work to fix the problems with my pool. I have heard this promise before but will see if it is true this time. I will follow up with the BBB as to the outcome. Thank you so much for your email to me. Sincerely, ***** ***** XXX-XXX-XXXX