Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Intermountain Wind and Solar, LLC

Phone: (801) 298-5255 1953 W 2425 S, Woods Cross, UT 84087 http://www.imwindandsolar.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Intermountain Wind and Solar, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Intermountain Wind and Solar, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Intermountain Wind and Solar, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 27, 2010 Business started: 12/11/2008 Business started locally: 12/11/2008 Business incorporated 12/11/2008 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DOPL - Professional Licensing
160 E 300 S 4th Fl, Salt Lake City UT 84111
http://www.dopl.utah.gov
Phone Number: (801) 530-6628

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Doug Shipley, CEO Mr. Richard Shipley, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Doug Shipley, CEO
Business Category

Solar Energy Products - Retail Wind Energy Systems Energy Management & Conservation Consultant Solar Energy System Design & Installation Solar Energy Products Service & Repair

Business Management

Brett Lewis is also listed as a principal of J. C. Electric, Inc. A separate report is available here: click here .


Additional Locations

  • 1953 W 2425 S

    Woods Cross, UT 84087 (801) 298-5255

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a bid from IWS to add solar - to get me off the power grid. I based this off a recommendation from a friend. My system was delivered and was incorrectly designed. After many discussions, a system was installed. After a few months of service on the new system, I raised a complaint that I wasn't off the grid. I had to push hard to get a response. Finally the company came out and advised me everything was working fine. I went back to them on several occasions to get my concerns addressed and was told to give the system more time. Finally after being provided a survey from a company, and dinging IWS for lack of response and follow through on my issues, the CEO advised me he would look into the system design. Based on his response back, I decided to do my own investigation and found that the system designed was severly underdesigned. I've received bids from another company for approximate additions in the tune of $22k. I've asked IWS to provide a design to get me off the grid as that was the initial request. I've got emails from IWS stating they will make the design right, but they are not following through.

Desired Settlement: I wish to keep my system and have IWS provide me a credit for $22,350, which is the bid from another company to get my system off the grid. I've asked IWS to provide a bid and assist with the work in getting a correctly designed system and they have declined because I have filled out responses on social media and survey's with my complaints. I'd be happy with a system - getting me off the grid, meeting 100% of my initial desires/requests of their company.

Business Response:


During the original conversation over the phone with the sales representative proposed a panel count of 54 SolarWorld panels was estimated prior to the site visit (2/17). After visiting with the customer at her home for the site survey (2/18) she expressed that her family members living with her at the time would move out in the near future and that usage would likely go down. From there the panel count was reduced to 42 SolarWorld panels to account for the estimated 400kWh usage drop when they moved out. The 42 panel system is what was contracted.

On the day of installation we discovered an issue with the original measurements requiring a new layout on the east facing roof. The customer had concerns with the new layout and asked us to stop work. We did. The customer, understandably, did not have much confidence in the sales representative and asked that I get involved. I agreed and we met at her home to discuss the options. I met with the customer and her son and we covered the redesigned layout of the 42 panels and a potential upgrade to a premium panel to reduce the footprint and still produce the 1400kWh average. I offered this at the cost difference of materials ($7,000). Though the 42 panels as originally purchased and contracted will fit on the roof, she vehemently insisted that we install the upgraded system, but at no additional charge. I said I would consider it and we left her home at her request. The customer emailed me the next day asking for a refund and stating she was getting competitive bids. I began processing the refund and responded to her email that I would agree to install the upgraded system at no additional cost to her. She immediately agreed and we proceeded with the work. I also had the install team add two additional panels than was bid on the south facing roof because there was the additional space.

The customer's power bills reflect that power has not dropped as assumed since family members moved out. She paid for a system (at a significant discount) that would produce 1,400kWh/month on average. This is a power usage issue, not a solar production problem. The customer is using more power than she thought she would. Covering that gap between the actual usage and the solar production could be remedied by energy efficiency measures or adding another solar system.

If we had installed the larger system and her usage had dropped, the customer would have overpaid us by thousands of dollars and would get nothing in return. Meaning, if we would have designed for 1800kWh average and her consumption were to have gone down to 1400kWh average that part of the system would never pay itself off.

We have offered to remove the system at a full refund and that has been declined.

Intermountain Wind and Solar has fulfilled the contract and gone above and beyond in an attempt to make the customer happy.

Attached are the designs for the 42 panel design and the higher efficiency panel design (the far right design was installed)

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I supplied IWS a copy of my power by on 2/17. In response to the email quote of 52 panels, I quickly responded the following: MessageP.S. I would like back-up power/batteries. I would like my fountain/pond to run 24x7 so I need batteries. Kyles reponse: Hi *****, Thank you for providing this info. Here is the attached estimate based on 1800 kWh/month average (21,600 kWh annually). Please allow me to highlight a few of the benefits in the attachment: (1) 54 panels (280 Watt) would offset 1799 kWh/month (100%) of your utility bill and protect you against the continuing utility increases (2) save you $118,000 over the next 25 years ($4720 annually and $393 monthly) (3) provide a ROI within the next 7 to 10 years (based on a 5% historical utility rate increase - assuming you were to contribute the same $ towards owning your power vs renting it from Rocky Mountain Power. (4) provide peace of mind with a 25 year warranty (5) increase the market value of your home dollar for dollar according to research (6) be installed by a premier company that has installed more than 36,000 panels in 6 years, and who does not sub-contract. Finally, you can still take advantage of our ICSI - Bulk Purchase Discount of $6480 (deadline Feb 27th) I will give you a call tomorrow to answer any questions and to possibly schedule a site visit for next week. Regards *****'s response to quote: Kyle, Thanks for the quote. Does this include battery/power back-up or just the panels? That's a big concern of mine. I'm working with my Credit Union to increase my HELOC loan. Waiting on some information and I've applied for the 46K. Let me know when we can get together to go over the details. ***** ***** I met with Kyle on 2/18 and he reviewed a down sized bit of 42 panels and stated "my calculations were right on the mark". I have that in an email. He responded the system would be about 10K for battery back up and that he did not include it in the bid. Hi *****, Thanks again for arranging your schedule for me to come out this afternoon. I have attached the bid for the 42 panels (see cover of bid for the recommended layout and placement of the panels). I was right on the mark regarding the cost of the panels, however, the installation of a generator would run about $10,000 more to tie in with the solar. Apparently this would be subcontracted out to *** ******** and this is about what they charge for the installation. So, I did not include this in the bid. Please let me know if you have any questions concerning the installation agreement. It is the last page of the bid. I will be available by phone most of tomorrow, since I will be on the road to Mesquite, NV for site measurements. Thank you Kyle J******* Intermountain Wind and Solar ###-###-#### ****@imwindandsolar.com www.imwindandsolar.com My response to kyle: Looks good to me. I have sent in paperwork to increase my HELOC. I'm waiting on some additional papers to be sent in the mail. If we can start slowly, but still get the bulk savings, that would be great. Thanks Kyle, I'm really excited about this! ***** ***** From that point everything was moving fine. On the date of installation, the IWS PM McClain, advised me there was no way the 42 panels would fit and IWS had a design that would not work on my roof. Due to complete lack of confidence with multiple people contacting me from IWS, I was offered several things for resolution. I had my son come and be a part of meetings due to the lack of confidence and terrible meetings and phone calls I had with IWS resources. I wanted a second person on my side in case of major issues and someone who would be available to assist with conflict resolutions. After an agreement was made to right the wrong design, I continued with the installation process. After several months of receiving a bill from my power company, I started to question the design and what was going on with my system. I complained several times and finally the CEO advised me that he would personally look into my installation. This after several complaints were placed on social media. It was truly the only way I could get their attention. He asked for a copy of the last 24 months of my power needs and it was the first time I was asked for this. I had to go to the power company to go back 24 months from the time of the original installation. After some time and continued persistence in resolution, the CEO informed me I had exactly what I had purchased by contract. What I have since found out is that the original system 52 panels, was undersized for my needs and the adjustment down to 42 panels made it worse. I advised the CEO I would be back in touch with IWS once I had done my homework. The offer to take out the system, did not match my request for "what do I need to make this work and be 100% off the grid". I have never - ever received from IWS on "what it would take to make my system right" which has been the request for the past several months. I feel I've been ignored and have had to be persistent to get my voice heard. The numbers were wrong from the get go and I have since found out that in order to make my system work for me to 100% off the grid, the fix is approximately $22,350.00. I have a quote from another vendor who took the same numbers I gave to the CEO. As for going up and beyond, well, if I hadn't been persistent, I would have been forced to go to some other company to find out what a large mistake IWS made in designing my system. Email from Doug S****** - to make the system right 9/28: *****, I respect that you are doing your part in helping understand the situation. I want to do the same. What I propose is me taking this back to the beginning. I will start from scratch on the entire analysis. Please provide me with the past 24 month’s usage (available online through Rocky Mtn Power) and I will see what is needed to do to meet the 100% offset and see where Kyle went wrong. I will then present what I find with a solution to fix the problem. Here is Doug S******'s email response to the final disposition: *****, In reviewing the situation IWS has fulfilled the design and installation to provide the 1,400kWh's/month average as was reflected in the original contract and proposal. There is no agreement or commitment to produce more than was specified. Should you prefer, IWS will remove the current system and refund you the total paid. from this email, I decided to do my homework and comeback to IWS to get a quote/design an I have never - ever received it. They know there has been a major mistake and they are not addressing it. The part about them installing a larger system is bunk, the original system they proposed would not have met my needs. ***** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Intermountain Wind and Solar, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)