Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?
Download Download

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that S & S Roofing, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for S & S Roofing, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on S & S Roofing, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 16, 2002 Business started: 02/01/1999 Business started locally: 02/01/1999 Business incorporated 01/29/2003 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DOPL - Professional Licensing
160 E 300 S 4th Fl, Salt Lake City UT 84111
www.dopl.utah.gov
Phone Number: (801) 530-6628

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Josh Swensen, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Josh Swensen, Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Gutters & Downspouts

Alternate Business Names
S & S Roofing Company

Additional Locations

  • 2331 S Redwood Rd

    Salt Lake City, UT 84119

  • 869 E 4500 S PMB 321

    Salt Lake City, UT 84107

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They did work on our roof in March/April, 2015. There were problems with the roof work including damaged siding/flashing, crooked placement of flashing, excess globs of silicone in several places and a 2 ft by 2 ft off-white area on the black/gray roof. When we complained about the work, their salesman, Blake, came and told us that we were being unreasonable for the repairs we were asking for and told us that the work was done to "industry standard." We then sent a letter directly to the owner of the company detailing the 12 specific items that needed to be fixed. Blake continued to harass us, but then the owner, Josh S******, came out and agreed to fix the issues. Weeks went by and they sent a guy who fixed some of the items and on June 27 they sent a guy who fixed some of the remaining items. Blake continued to harass us about paying the balance. We said we would pay it after the work was completed. We have attempted to contact Josh directly about the outstanding issues, however their secretary, Amy, seems to always have a reason why we can't talk to him. On June 30, we hand-delivered a second letter (which was addressed specifically to Josh) and also sent an email directly to Josh. Amy intercepted the letter and email and we do not know if Josh ever received it. Amy then sent me an e-mail saying "We have gone above and beyond for you. I will look over the letter, however I am going to have to send this to collections." In my second letter I state that we are willing to immediately pay the balance owing when the job is completed (three items remain unfinished). We just want to have our roof finished.

Desired Settlement: Finish the job. If the repairs cannot be made to the chimney brick (as detailed in my letter), give a credit for the amount it will take to have a professional restorer restore the brick.

Business Response:

In 2012 we went out to give them an estimate for their roof.    The estimator Blake lives in the neighborhood and noticed the customer had tarps on their roof for the past several years.  When doing the estimate he felt he should provide a low margin estimate to help them to be able to afford the new roof system.    In March of 2015 the customer called the estimator direct and asked if the bid was still good considering it had been a few years since we gave the bid.   They said they had all the money for the roof and asked when we could start the project.  The estimator met with *** ******* the first of April endorsed the work order and the estimator said he needed a 50% deposit.  He said no problem my wife has the check book and she will write you a check.  We proceeded to start the job and Blake asked if they had paid the deposit?  *** said no the deposit will be in the screen of the front door.  Our quality control was at the job site during the tear off process and there was no deposit left for us in the screen door.  The estimator Blake met with them 2 days later to get the deposit.  As Mrs. ******* was writing the check she said that we have 1 year no interest no payments correct? And Blake responded no balance is due upon completion.  She was stunned!  That’s when the problems began.

The owners had a few reasonable concerns for example the crooked counter-flashing on the chimney and it was corrected.  All other items were corrected, not all of them were related to the quality of labor & material. 

                We had a meeting to address the issues with the manufactures rep (Rob,), estimator (Blake), owner (Josh), Quality Control Manager (John) and owner Mrs. *******.  All parties present agreed that the job met manufactures specifications.

As a good faith Company Josh and Blake agreed to re-install all the gutters at no charge to the customer. All the issues have been corrected to their satisfaction and final payment was made.

Sincerely,

S & S Roofing Inc.