BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company manages, builds and acquires residential properties.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Wasatch Property Management, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Wasatch Property Management, Inc. include:

  • 9 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Wasatch Property Management, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Wasatch Property Management, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 17, 2001 Business started: 03/15/1991 Business started locally: 03/15/1991 Business incorporated: 03/15/1991 in UT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Cody Knowles, Controller Mr. Dell Loy Hansen, Owner/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Cody Knowles, Controller
Business Category

Real Estate Rental Service Property Maintenance

Alternate Business Names
Wasatch Acquisitions & Capital Wasatch Advantage Group Wasatch Commercial Management Wasatch Premier Communities

Additional Locations

  • 175 E 400 S Ste 150

    Salt Lake City, UT 84111 (435) 755-2000

  • 595 S Riverwoods Pkwy Ste 400

    Logan, UT 84321 (801) 441-4403

  • 966 W Powder Hill Rd

    Midvale, UT 84047

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (801) 441-4403(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
11/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company has sent to collections a bill of $117 to cover apartment cleaning after I finished my lease with them.This finally went to my credit rep Wasatch Property Management, Inc. has sent to collections a bill of $117 to cover apartment cleaning after I finished my lease with them in South Jordan, Utah (San MArino property Unit# ****).This finally went to my credit report. I left the apartment in flawless condition. I paid all the lease fees to break the lease (I only was there for 3 months due to relocation) in September 2011. I stopped by their main office to leave the keys and to make sure nothing was pending. ***** ***** told me that everything was ok. They checked the apartment a week ago. And I left. To my surprise on January 2014 a collections company called me explaining the situation. I think the said $50 for cleaning concept. I explained that this was a mistake. That I left the apartment in excellent terms. That I didn't have any pending payments what so ever. And they said that they would contact Wasatch to correct the issue. I haven't received any written notification or phone call or email after that. It was a real surprise to see the collection in my credit report. Which of course I'm disputing. This is really disrespectful and very annoying since I never had any problems of this kind before in my life. A serious company can not come 3 years later with a collections agency to ask for money to cover the apartment cleanup, which is totally false! I left the apartment in flawless condition. Even though I was only 3 months and most of the time out of the city on business trips. This is dishonest!

Desired Settlement: First of all I expect an apology from Wasatch for this issue. Second, to clean up the collection from my credit report.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/10/29) */ Contact Name and Title: ** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **********@netwasatch.com After reviewing the ledger, it appears that the cleaning and moving charges were indeed paid but given the amount of the balance it is most likely from the final utility bill from Conservice. Regarding the cleaning charges, which were indeed low, it confirms that the apartment was left in good condition. Regardless of the condition, between tenants there is always some cleaning that has to be done to ensure it meets the community's standards for the next tenant. The cleaning amounts are charged according to the condition in which the unit was left, again in this case the unit was left in good condition, so charges were minimal. I requested the notes from the collection agency, which confirms there was communication between them but that on 3/25/14 the collection agent was told "they would call back to schedule a payment". On 4/11/14 they note the number on file for this debt was changed so the collection agent could no longer reach them. After trying other means to reach the tenant unsuccessfully, the account was reported to credit bureaus on 7/10/14. The charges appear to be legitimate but having been written off by the apartment community to collections at this point it should be paid to them and not to Wasatch to satisfy the remaining balance which is legitimately owed.

9/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was submitted to collections despite our payment having cleared my bank account. My family and I were residents of Florentine Villas, Apt #****. We received a bill for $220.53 for cleaning and damages to the apartment. The payment was due on or before July 31, 2014. The letter stated that we would be turned over to collections if our payment was not made by that date. The amount itself was in dispute. I had tried to contact the staff at Florentine Villas several times to discuss a charge of $20 for stove drip pans that we did not use. In the meantime, so we did not get sent to collections, my husband sent a personal check #**** from our checking account at ******* ***** Credit Union for the full amount. The check was sent at least a week before the due date. We had moved from Utah to Boise, ID, and our mail was forwarded. The letter was dated July 17, but we did not receive it until later. We were anxious to get the matter taken care of quickly. I had been keeping track of my checking account to make sure the check had cleared. It finally cleared our account on August 4, 2014. On August 20 and August 21, we received two calls from the R2 collection agency stating we owed the full amount to Wasatch Property Management. Furthermore, trying to dispute the $20 for the stove drip pans was difficult. Calls were not returned in a timely manner. Once I was able to talk to someone in the office at Florentine Villas, the matter was taken care of quickly. However, we still paid the full amount because we had already sent the other check. Technically we are still owed $20.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that Florentine Villas and Wasatch Property Management rectify the situation by contacting the collection agency and any applicable credit agencies to make sure my credit is not negatively affected by this.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/08) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX On July 28th at 12:35 p.m., ******* called our office to speak with ********. I explained that ******** was not in the office and would not be back in until Wednesday. I asked her if I might be able to assist her? She stated that she had been trying to reach ******** for several days with no success and that she had some questions about her move out charges. She and I had a very pleasant conversation. She went through each concern and we discussed and concluded each of them, with one exception. She disputed the $20 charge for drip pans, stating that she had replaced them prior to moving from the home. I asked her if she would mind me taking time to verify her concerns with my Team Lead, ******. She said she would be fine with that and gave me the best number to contact her at. I assured her that one of us would follow up with her and she thanked me for my time. Within the hour, ****** came into the office and I discussed the issue with him. He was adamant that the drip pans were not new and that replacement was necessary; however, as a customer service issue, we agreed that it would be best to credit the amount to her. He offered to call her to inform her of this, as he also wanted to discuss one additional issue that she mentioned in our conversation. ****** immediately called her and discussed the issues with her. He let her know that we would waive the $20 drip pan charge and that she would need to mail Certified Funds in the full amount of *******. She said that would be fine and thanked him for his help. At 5:36 p.m. that same day, I called ******* with the hopes of following up and confirming that she had spoken with ******. She did not answer and I left a message. The following day, 7/29/14, we received a personal check, dated 7/26/14, in the mail for the amount of *******. We were somewhat confused, considering that we had agreed on a different amount the previous day and at no time during her conversation with me or with ******, did she mention that she had already mailed us a check. I had left the voice mail for ******* the evening before and hoped to discuss the check with her when she returned my call. She did not. On August 1, after no return call from ******* and no revised payment received from her, the check was deposited into our account. Apparently the payment was not coded as a 'bad debt' payment in the system so R2 began collection proceedings without notice to our office. On 8/28/14 when it came to my attention that collections had been initiated, I contacted **** at R2. He stated that the account had been zeroed out on 8/22/14 and that no adverse action had been initiated with her credit. She had only received the original notice of the account in their possession. I asked him to send ******* a Notice of Cancellation letter and he said that it would go out that day. He forwarded a copy to me for her on site file. Please let me know if there are any additional questions. *** ****** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/09/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I appreciate the matter being handled quickly. I did receive the cancellation notice from R2. I am satisfied with this response. Thank you.

8/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wasatch failed to follow notice requirements required by state law, thereby voiding a lease agreement clause that allows automatic monthly renewal. Wasatch Property is attempting to collect $1826.43 for June rent of a property that was vacated on May 24, 2014. Wasatch believes they are owed this additional rent because of a lease agreement clause that automatically renews contracts. While we, the tenants, agree that the renewal notice is state in the contract, we do not agree with the manner that Wasatch went about executing the lease agreement. Wasatch failed to comply with Utah State regulations that allow a landlord to automatically renew a lease. Specifically, Wasatch did not provide timely or proper notice (there was no notice given in-person, by certified mail, or by monthly statement). Wasatch also buried the clause in the lease (it was not within the 1st or 2nd page of the lease). When we noted these flaws to the local office (at Palladio apartments), their office manager, ********, stated "we go to court daily". This disrespectful reply made it clear that Wasatch was not only going to not respond to our requests, but also that they would front their size and resources as a scare tactic. We sent emails and did receive a reply from someone named ******. When we called and talked to ******** again we were promised a response from her manager, but none was sent. We did, however, receive a final statement of charges three weeks after (June 12) the move-out date (May 24) out along with a note that we'd be sent to collections within one week (June 19). We have also attempted to contact Wasatch through their "*************@netwasatch.com" email address.

Desired Settlement: We request that the following account charges be dropped: Rent from 5/25/2014-2/31/2014 $221.06 *We believe the date 2/31/2014 is a typo Improper notice fee 06/01/2014-06/24/2014 $783.20 Washer/Dryer rental 06/2014 $30 Monthly rent charges 06/2014 $979 Pet rent 06/2014 $50 Renter's insurance 06/2014 $14.08 Common garage 06/2014 $50 Total $2,127.34 *Note that there are additional credits to our account, thus making the final charge to our $1,836.43. We are willing to forfeit the credits to our account if Wasatch is willing to drop the $2,127.34.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/04) */ Contact Name and Title: ******** ******* Community Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **********@netwasatch.com On May 9, 2014, I called ******* ******* to speak with her regarding an upcoming lease expiration date and wanted to see if she would like to renew the lease agreement, she had not previously responded to the 3 letters that had been sent to her door. She then told me that she would be moving out on May 24, 2014 which is the last day of her current lease agreement because she had purchased a home. At that point in the conversation I reminded her that per her lease agreement "Resident agrees, at lease sixty (60) days prior to the expiration of the term hereof, to give written notice to Owner of his intention to vacate the subject premises. If no sixty day notice is received by notice is received by Owner AND resident vacates the property, a penalty fee equal to sixty days rent will be billed as liquidated damages for improper sixty day notice". I asked her if she would like me to put her apartment on a notice to vacate status and she said yes, so I did that and then I asked her when she could come in and sign the notice to vacate form and she sent me an email instead. I also reminded her that she would be responsible for the rent through those 60 days and she told me that she was not going to pay that. On Wednesday May 14, 2014, my Financial Manager ****** ********* received an email from ******* that had 2 different Utah State Legislature codes referenced, on regarding abandoned premises and the other regarding an Automatic Renewal policy. I then called ******* and spoke with her in regards to both of these items and explained to her that we would market her apartment in the same manner that we would market any of our other available apartment homes and revise any monies owed once it had been re-occupied. I also explained to her that we did not have a "Automatic Renewal" clause in our lease agreement and let her know that if what happens when the lease agreement has expired, if we have not received a 60 day notice or a signed renewal lease agreement, she changes from a term contract to a month-to-month agreement until either of those events occur. The lease still states that she is responsible for a 60 day notice in either case. After I explained all of this to Ms. *******, she seemed to understand and wanted to make sure that I would put her apartment on our availability list and she requested that I send her an email recapping our conversation which I did on May 14, 2014 at 4:36 PM. I never said anything regarding an attorney or "we go to court daily", all I did was explain the different options according to the lease agreement that she signed upon moving into Palladio. After May 14, 2014, I had no other dealings with Ms. ******* and they turned their keys in on May 24, 2014. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2014/08/01) */ Thanks for the reply, ********. You're correct that you called in early May. As far as the letters that were supposedly sent, what dates were they sent and do you have a certified receipt? As previously stated, we never received these letters, or any form of communication as stated in the legislation. To be more clear, the contract end date was determined in October, when we signed the contract. When ******** and I spoke on the phone and I informed her that our contract would end and we would vacate on May 24, this was not a random date but rather a previously determined date. I would like to see evidence that our unit has been fairly and equally advertised. In another conversation I asked ******** what the average turn around time is for units to be rented. She advised that units are rented "pretty quickly....within a day or so". She also advised that there were only a few units available. To say that this was never said is not correct and I do have documentation. To this day I have not been notified that our unit was rented. Additionally, while ******** did inform us that our unit would be rented fairly and equally, she did not address the fact that protocol was not followed per legislature to enforce the terms of the contract. I would like a logical explanation of how a month to month automatic rollover clause is different than an automatic renewal clause. As far as stating that "she ******* seemed to understand" what ******** outlined in the conversation, this is opinion and is clearly not correct. We attempted different forms of contact for more clarity and for civil resolve but to no avail.

7/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My lease agreement was wrong. Now they want me want me to pay for the difference, despite the signed contract. I am a resident of Trailside Apartments, an apartment complex owned by Wasatch Premier Rentals. Me and my wife signed a new lease at an apartment we've been in for 3 years. 5 months after signing the new lease we received a notice that we haven't been paying the correct amount of rent. We check our lease and we'd been paying the amount specified on our lease. After contacting the apartment complex, we were told that the lease was typed up improperly. They had left out the fact that we own pets and have renters insurance, despite those two facts on our previous leases. They are now demanding I pay the excess amount and are threatening me with eviction. They are choosing to ignore the contract signed.

Desired Settlement: I'm seeking to have the base rent lowered so that the base rent combined with the extra monthly fees they are seeking will equal the amount that was offered to me in the original lease.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/06) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******** Community Manager Trailside Apt. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **********@netwasatch.com Unfortunately, there was an error made on the renewal lease for this resident, and the additional services (pets, renter's insurance, etc.) were not shown on the new lease contract. Given our hand in the mistake, we have lowered the base rent to the amount the resident was inaccurately quoted. The lease contract has been amended to list correct additional services this resident has. The terms or rental rate are not changing. We have verified with our attorneys that this is proper procedure when errors are made. This matter has been resolved. We have also communicated this information to the resident who has agreed to the resolution. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/03/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

3/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
11/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Deceiving specials with long fine print and buried fees. The apartment complex failed to disclose information to us that if our credit was not approved that our initial deposit would become a non-refundable fee or that deposit is only refundable within 72 hours. They never provided us with a copy of our lease agreement until after we contacted them regarding our complaint and refused to refund us because the Fair Housing Act prevented them from doing so which is inaccurate. They are hiding behind their papers to displace blame onto us for their decision to omit these details from our conversation which I feel is a dishonest business practice.

Desired Settlement: I just want my $99.00 deposit back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/10/08) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******* - Community Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***********@netwasatch.com Please refer to the move in cost sheet and rental criteria that were signed by both ***** ****** and ****** ****** that clearly notates that the deposit is refundable up to 72 hours. Your application was cancelled 12 days after putting the $99 down to hold the apartment. The move in cost sheet along with notating that the sum deposited will be forfeited within 72 hours unless written cancellation is received by the office also notates that the $99 is a lease initiation fee not a deposit. There is no fine print or buried fees as everything is clearly written out on these two documents. All documents were provided to you when requested, the document's did not include a lease agreement as one was not entered into at the time of the application which is also documented on the move in cost sheet. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2013/10/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The copies of these forms were not given to us until after the 72 hour period had expired so how would we have known about that time frame beforehand? Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/10/16) */ By signing the above mentioned two documents you did know about the time frame. The documents/policies did not change when you received a copy of the signed documents.

7/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: filled out an application for shadow way, later were scammed to give another $200. They later said we did not qualify. 1 day before move in date! We gave shadow way apartments in ********* ca,over $200. managed by Wasatch corp. They said we were approved for an apartment. Later they called us 1 day before our move in date and said we don't qualify, leaving us scrambling to find another place to live. They will not give us our money back! I am contacting a lawyer, this is crazy. Women is leasing office are extremely rude and are running a scam.

Desired Settlement: I want the $100 they charged us for paperwork, back!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/20) */ Contact Name and Title: ******** ******* Community Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **********@netwasatch.com In response to Complaint Case ********* (ref # X-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX). In this response Consumer will be described as Applicant 2 and spouse will be described as Applicant 1. At no time was Applicant 2 or Applicant 1 told they were approved or that they did not qualify. They were in the qualifying process for Low Income Housing when Applicant 2 contacted us on Monday 6/17/13 to cancel their application. The following is a timeline summarizing conversations with our staff at ****** *** Apartments, Wasatch Property Management. 6/7/13 - Applicant 2 and Applicant 1 came in to complete their interview and paperwork for our Low Income Housing Program. They paid the non refundable application fees of $70 ($35 per person). At which time Applicant 1 was told that we would either need a payroll history for 3 months or 3 additional paystubs to complete his employment. At which time he told us he could not get them because they were damaged. 6/14/13 - Applicants 2 & 1 were contacted to let them know that in order to get them approved we still needed 3 more paystubs or a payroll history for 3 months so we could complete the corrections, that were received from our Tax Credit Compliance Department, and verify his income. It was explained in detail to Applicant 2 why we needed these paystubs. Reiterating that the program we have is Tax Credit and these requirements are mandated by the IRS. She asked if the apartment would still be held for them. She was told it would be but that we needed to get the requested paystubs. 6/15/13 - Applicant 1 came into our office and said that he did not work during the times for paystubs we were requesting. At which time he was given a list of possible paystub dates that could be used. He stated he would look in his car for them, left and never returned. 6/17/13 - Applicant 2 contacted the leasing office to cancel their application. At which time she acknowledged that pre-screening fees (paid 4/1/13) and application fees (paid 6/7/13), totaling $100, were not refundable. She was told that the $150 holding fee was refundable and was given the option of having it refunded back to her father's credit card (which takes approximately 10 days) or having it mailed in check form. She chose to have the refund mailed in check form to her father's address, which she supplied. A refund of $150 was overnighted via UPS on 6/18/13.