This business is not BBB accredited.

REMS, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (801) 375-5595 Fax: (801) 228-2429 View Additional Phone Numbers 1 E Center St Ste 310, Provo, UT 84606 http://www.remsinc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for REMS, Inc. include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for REMS, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on REMS, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 02, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1980 Business started locally: 01/01/1980 Business incorporated 01/23/1995 in UT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brad Sears, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brad Sears, Owner
Business Category

Property Management

Alternate Business Names
Allpro Maintenance & Repair

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1 E Center St Ste 310

    Provo, UT 84606 (801) 375-5595 (801) 270-5595

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1684 Reunion Ave

    South Jordan, UT 84095

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 1741

    Provo, UT 84603

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: REMS Inc. are liars and cheaters I was supposed to move out on the last day of August they're trying to charge me rent through September I had the apartment in perfect condition I even have pictures of the entire apartment they said we left trash broken bolts they had to paint walls and clean carpet there was no work to be done in the apartment I have pictures of everything I required to be present at walk-through they never called now they want to charge me my deposit of 1100+ an additional 1400 for what I don't know but I have a letter from them trying to explain what you're trying to tell me

Desired Settlement: I expect to receive my deposit back in full I had carpets fully cleaned professionally I have a picture of the receipt they don't want to give me nothing back and they want an additional 1400 from me I want my deposit back these people cheat everyone they rent to

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2014/12/16) */ Ms. ******'s Rental Agreement was not renewed because she smoked in the unit and REMS served her with several default notices during her tenancy. This was in addition to numerous complaints from her neighbors. Even though our Rental Agreement specifically prohibits smoking on the premises she, her guest and her family smoked profusely on the premises. This unit was brand new (completed in February 2013 the month she moved in). Since Ms. ****** was the first tenant to occupy the unit it was easy to determine the damage she caused. She was charged for the cost of a full paint out to eliminate the smoke smell and fix the numerous patching and mismatch paint throughout the unit. All of these items were in addition to the normal wear and tear issues that she was not charged for. This tenant lived in the unit from 2/14/14 thru 8/31/14. During her short tenancy she received 5 default notices (almost one a month). I do not say this lightly but she and her family were some of the hardest tenants we have ever dealt with in 35 years of business - made more problematic by the fact it was a brand new unit when she moved in and significantly damaged when she moved out 6 months later. I apologize for the delay in responding. REMS has tried to stay current on these complaints, as I mentioned I have been gone most of the past few months. Our delay in no way however is an indication of REMS unwillingness to communicate on these types of complaints. My staff met personally with Ms. ****** after she moved and communicated with her via phone and email too. We do our best to serve the needs of our clients and tenants in a timely and professional manner and felt like we had in this case with the exception of our delayed response to the BBB. Regards, **** *****, CPM, CCIM cid:image003.png@01CE65EA.22FBC100 Knight Block Building One East Center Street, Suite 310 Post Office Box 1741 Provo, UT XXXXX O - XXX-XXX-XXXX F - XXX-XXX-XXXX www.remsinc.com

12/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Phone calls never returned by ANYONE. Application still yet to be reviewed. Took our $70 for background check and left us on the back burner. IRATE!!! Dear ****** ********** This letter is to complain about the service we recently received from a Rems Inc. customer service representative named ******* ******* My husband and I came into the PROVO building on 09/02/14 to submit an application on a condo/house we are highly interested in. It was about 4:50 pm when we arrived and about 5:05 when we left. ******* was wrapping up for the day as we could see and didn't want to take up any extra time as we knew that the office closes at 5 pm. We submitted the application and paid the $70 for our background checks and was told that you would contact us in 24-48 on the background checks and the application. We gave the full 48 hours before my husband ******* called Rems Inc. again on 09/04/14 at 4 pm to follow up on the application. ******* ****** came on the line and explained that she didn't know if the application had been looked at yet and that she would check on it and have you give us a call that day. We never received a call. My husband had attempted to call the following day on 09/05/14 at 2 pm with the same response from ******** At this point, we are frustrated because the promise of a phone call was not met. She then added that you had been in conference calls all day and that she would remind you to call us before you left the office and if we didn't receive a call, to call in the morning. Still no call. Understanding that you are very busy, we figured you would for sure call us in the morning. Still not one call from anyone in that office building. Today 09/08/14 around 2pm my husband called again in hopes that there would be some new information, but instead ******* had told us that you still have yet to look over our application and that she promised she would have you call by the end of the business day at 5pm. All those phone calls to your office and all the days being so kind and patient and we never got answers and never received calls or an apology from your assistant. The level of unprofessionalism in your company's customer service skills has left us both in utter shock. I expected a much higher level of service from your company, and I am quite disappointed because I do not want to spend any more time on this problem. My husband and I were excited in discussing our application with you and hoped to hear from you or ANYONE just once on a response. STILL no call!!! We are asking for your reply on our application immediately, and I expect answers as to why we were thrown on the back burner for so long. We will be informing our friends and family about this experience. Sincerely, irate ******* and ******** ******

Desired Settlement: We want our money back for the background check that has still yet to be run on us!!!! $70

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2014/12/15) */ We apologize again for the delays in responding to this via BBB. In this particular instance our Leasing Coordinator had received several applications on the same unit prior to the ******'s contacting REMS. Unfortunately, another member of our staff wasn't aware of the other applicants and took an application fee from the ******** When our staff realized the mistake REMS apologized to the Steeles and immediately refunded the $70. We have also reviewed our operating procedure and updated to avoid this from happening in the future. Once again we apologize for the oversight on REMS part.

10/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is taking deposits from tenants and saying they are having the carpets cleaned and in fact the carpets don't get cleaned. We have had numerous problems with this property management company. First, we turned in our check list for things wrong with the home. When I went into the office about a separate dispute I had with them I told them I turned my checklist in at the front desk. The receptionist, ********* looked right at me and told me I did not turn it in. She essentially called me a liar. Another employee walked out with my check list just a minute later. It had been scanned into the computer and was easily accessible when both ******* and ****** (property manager) told me that I never turned it in. It is my belief they do this on a regular basis so they can take tenants' deposits blaming the tenants for never turning in their checklist. While dealing with the same issue, ****** told us that the home had the carpets cleaned before we moved in. The carpets were not even vacuumed when we moved in and were absolutely filthy. Knowing the previous tenants, I asked them if a carpet cleaning fee came out of their deposit. They, of course answered in the affirmative. My husband asked ****** for a copy of the invoice. She could not produce it because the carpets were never cleaned. We saved this email as proof because we believe they will try to charge us for carpet cleaning and it will not get done. While dealing with the same scenario and many others, their property manager, ******* rarely answered her phone or returned voice messages. If she d, she will usually call a minute or two before closing so if you happen to miss her call, you can't reach her when you call her back. She tells her receptionist, ********* to tell people that she is not in, or that she is busy. This is the most unprofessional establishment I have ever dealt with. I believe they lie and swindle money from tenants hoping they will not be challenged. We intend to challenge them in every way we can so that we will not be screwed out of our money.

Desired Settlement: I want my deposit refunded in full which is the amount of $655.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/04) */ Contact Name and Title: Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@remsinc.com Attached is the move-in report completed by the *******'s. We have had this on file in our system since its receipt and not certain why someone would have communicated otherwise. Relative to the carpet cleaning, unfortunately, the maintenance company REMS uses did not schedule the carpet cleaning as per standard operating procedure. We informed the *******'s they would not be charged for carpet cleaning when they moved since it wasn't clean at the time they moved-in. This doesn't prevent us from charging the former tenant who sold their contract to the *******'s for carpet cleaning as the carpet was cleaned prior their move in earlier - see attached invoice. These funds would have normally been used to clean the carpet prior to *******'s move-in date but will now instead be used to clean the carpet after the *******'s move. REMS' has been in business for 30+ years and manages hundreds of units, completing an average of 10+ move-ins a month - usually without any problems. Unfortunately, in this situation it was overlooked but only relative to carpet cleaning. All other normal maintenance and general cleaning was performed prior to their move-in - see attached attached copies of cleaning and maintenance bills. As long as there are no repairs to the unit beyond normal wear and tear, the unit is left clean and there are no other outstanding monies owed the Worthlen's can expect a full refund.

9/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charging for repairs to a rental property for items that existed prior to my lease. When I moved in to **** **** ******** Dr, there were some minor dents/dings and a few small damages, nothing that I really cared about. The lease does reference a pre-inspection form to be filled out at move-in, so I called about it. I was told all damage in the house had been recorded, and there was no need to fill it out. Now, I've moved out and they are holding my $1,000 deposit, and sent me a bill for another $500 to fix the issues that were there before I moved in. I tried to resolve it with them and they are never available and don't return my calls. After nearly 2 months where I called them repeatedly and did not get a single return phone call, they just told me there is nothing they can do. I moved out of state, so if we take it to court, I'll have to spend more than the amount owed just to defend myself.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $1,300.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/08) */ Contact Name and Title: Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@remsinc.com The tenant in question leased a home from REMS in 2011 and renewed again in 2012. As per the Rental Agreement and our standard operating procedures the tenant is given three opportunities to report any deficiencies in the rental unit when they move-in. First, the lease itself (see yellow highlighted area of lease attached) states the unit is in good condition to which the tenant is given the opportunity to inspect prior to signing the Rental Agreement. Secondly, the tenant is further instructed to turn in a written report after they move in if they find something amiss with the unit - which the tenant failed to do. So even if we didn't provide a form at the time the signed their lease as they now claim, they were still encouraged to create their own written documentation and send it to our office within 7 days of moving in. Finally, the tenant is given, despite the tenant's claims to the contrary the attached Residential Move-in Inspection Report by the Leasing Coordinator (see example attached) at the time they sign the lease. They are encouraged to turn this report in immediately which they also failed to do. Also attached is the letter we sent the tenant once they had notified us of their intent to move. Included with this letter is the move-out cleaning list they can follow in order to get their refund returned. Failure to follow this list results in a cleaning company being hired to clean the unit. The lease is also very clear on this matter too. As to a lack of communication on REMS part, The record appears to contradict this claim too. The tenant vacated the unit the end of May. As per state statue the final statement of security deposit account was sent to the tenant within 30 days. Based on attached emails and phone records we started communicating with the tenant within a few days of them getting their refund statement. Failure to agree with the tenant is not the same as failure to communicate with the tenant. REMS' has no interest or reason to withhold deposit refunds. We derive no benefit and in fact would avoid these types of situations if we just refunded the entire amount like this tenant request and avoid these types of very subjective and negative BBB reports. REMS has a fiduciary responsibility, however, in this situation to make sure both parties to the contract are treated fairly. In doing so REMS took into account the tenant's claims, the owner's interest and weighs those against the terms of the contract and the documentation and facts in our possession. The facts indicate the opposite of what the tenant is now claiming. We regret when a former tenant feels they were treated unfairly. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 11, 2013/09/03) */ Mr ***** paid the amount that was due REMS. It has been resolved Sent from ****'s phone


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on REMS, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)