Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Advantage Management & Real Estate Services, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Advantage Management & Real Estate Services, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Advantage Management & Real Estate Services, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 19, 2001 Business started: 12/18/1998 Business started locally: 12/18/1998 Business incorporated 03/15/1999 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Utah Division of Real Estate
160 East 300 South FL 2, Salt Lake City UT 84111
www.realestate.utah.gov
Phone Number: (801) 530-6747
realestate@utah.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jason Sucher, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Sucher, Owner
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate Real Estate Agents

Products & Services

This business offers real estate sales, income property management and community HOA management.


Additional Locations

  • 883 S Orem Blvd

    Orem, UT 84058 (801) 235-7368 (866) 500-7368 (877) 423-8648 +(801) 235-RENT +(866) 500-RENT

  • PO Box 1006

    Orem, UT 84059

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Utilities were billed to us even though they weren't in our name, or contractually obligated to be in our name. Charged deposit when house not ready When we moved into **** ****** **** managed by Advantage Management, we never received a utility bill or were told we needed to put it in our name. 4 months later we were billed by Advantage saying we needed to pay those fees. They did not communicate with us what had happened, but rather just sent us a bill. This lack of communication is the constant standard in our relationship with them. We are also being billed for the balance of our deposit, which we told them before we signed our contract that we won't pay the deposit in full until they fixed the remaining issues with the house - no lock on the back door, and other minor repairs. We still owe $375 of an $800 deposit and are willing to pay once they complete the tasks. It's been 16 months. We were served an eviction notice this week without any prior communication. We are late on our rent this month, but have never not paid rent nor have been more than 30 days late on any rent payment. To treat a customer this way is completely unacceptable, but this is the way they have always interacted with us. No communication until a bill is served. No phone calls, no warnings, nothing.

Desired Settlement: We should not be charged the $1478.09 which is the sum of Utilities payments made by Advantage Management and the balance of our deposit. If we pay the amounts to prevent eviction, we expect to be reimbursed that total.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/18) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** - owner Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Mr ***** ***** signed lease on Oct 8, 2012 for that stated clearly he was to have the utilities put in his name. As stated in the lease he agreed to have the utilities put in his name prior to occupancy. He received several letters and notice to do this. Because Mr. ***** is a friend of the owner it was requested by the owner to work with him on this matter for a few months. They did finally put the bills in their name but there is still the bills that utimtatley the owner paid that needed to be reimbursed. The status of the account has also been discussed with them every time they have come into the office to pay rent. The notice was served because Mr ***** had not paid Feb rent as of Feb 15, 2014. As for the back door,all maintenance oost that would be over $300.00 must be approved by the owner of the property. The owner of this property asked to only provide a security bar on the back sliding door and not replace the lock or the door as it would be very expensive. The tenants did bring a check for the amount in this morning. His account is current. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/02/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

1/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Advntg Management in Orem Utah off of 800 North to market, show and represent an investment property i own.They have not met the agreement. Advantage Management agreed to advertise my unit on their website, KSL and Craig's list. On their website until yesterday there was no photo or accurate information. On KSL there was inaccurate information and it was missing (was one posted but must have expired) on Craig List. They had sent a carpet cleaning company into my unit when my renter moved out and they damaged the drywall, door jams and baseboards. I made them aware of this the next day and had provided at least 3 calls and 3 emails on the topic. Their rental manager was saying that Boss would be in contact with me and I kept communicating to her that I never heard from Boss (carpet cleaners). I reached out to ***** who is *****'s (Rental Managers boss) and was promised a call back last week either Wednesday or Thursday..never heard back from her. I reached out to the manager over the company on Monday and made him aware of all of the situations. There was both phone and email interaction that I can provide. *****'s staff is claiming they did the work which they have not and I provided it in email. ***** just communicated to me in email that I am no longer a client because they can't meet my expectations because his staff is telling him that they are doing the work and his response was that he can't take the time to double check their work as he doesn't have time to do this. This is poor management and leadership and I wanted to file a complaint so that others avoid hiring them thinking that they will work on their behalf. I have never had a situation where my unit went more than a week or two tops without being rented and it has been a month now. I've also had a number of people call me directly saying that Advantage Management hadn't been returning their calls when they wanted to walk through the unit. I have emails on all of the above to back up my side of the story.

Desired Settlement: It think it is so unprofessional for the manager over the company to say he is too busy to follow up and research the work of his employees. I further communicated to him today that these types of details are directly related to the reason that my unit has not been rented. Yesterday when I made him aware of these issues he said he couldn't speak to what had happened in the past but could work forward and guarantee me that it would be good in the future. I emailed him today that the posts weren't there or accurate and that the sign that his staff was supposed to fix had not been done and that is when he communicated he can't double check on people. I would like my unit fully repaired by Boss Carpet Cleaning Systems, I would like 2 weeks worth of rent since it hasn't been rented and I think it is attributed to their lack of follow through.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/09/20) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@advantagemanagement.com As much as we, or any business tries to make every customer happy, sometimes that is not possible. This is one of those circumstances. Ms. ************ did talk to me about her concerns, which we did immediately address for her. We sent her photographs of the signs in place, we sent her screen shots of the online ads that we placed for her, we sent her the url for the online ads and she is still convinced that we did not do what we promised her. It was clear through the exchange of numerous emails that nothing that we could do, or say or show her was going to be satisfactory to her. We informed her that we were not going to be able to meet her expectations and she may find better success with another management company. So in short, I did take her calls and emails, and did follow up with staff to make sure that the promised items were complete, and provided photos of the work that was completed. We did all that we could to resolve her concerns. Sometimes it is best for both parties, who cannot find amicable common ground, to part ways. We will be happy to show the photos and screen shots to anyone from the BBB who wishes to see them. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 15, 2013/10/08) */ To meet in the middle I'm willing to lower what I'm asking for to $400 as long as their company gets downgraded from their A plus rating Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/09/26) */ We entered into a management contract with the owner on July 30, 2013, to provide rental management services for her large twin home in Orem. She currently had renters in the home at that time. When the owner and I first met she was concerned about a criminal situation with one of the renters in the home that she found out about after they had moved in. The owner originally met with me seeking information on what her options may be to alter the lease she had with these renters; it worked out that the tenants she had moved out of the home mid-August. The owner and I met at the home on August 15, 2013, to perform an inspection and to take pictures of the home for advertising purposes. I mentioned to the owner that the home looked great and asked about its rental history. She had rented to three sets of renters in the home. Two sets had been friends or related somehow to her husband. The last set was the people that had just moved out. The owner did ask me about a carpet cleaner I could recommend. I gave her the name of Boss Systems. We set up the appointment for them to clean with her approval. The owner opted to send her own cleaner through that week also and said she would inspect all the work that was done, including the carpets. Boss systems cleaned the twin home on August 22, 2013. I then received and email from the owner on Aug 29, that she had inspected the cleaning and carpet on August 23. She sent pictures and concluded on her own that the damage to the walls and baseboards were due to the carpet cleaner (attached are the pictures she provided). I spoke with and sent the pictures to ***** the owner of Boss Systems. **** is very confident that there was no equipment that they would have used in her home that would have caused the damage shown in the 2 pictures she provided. I asked the owner and **** to settle this matter between them. When the owner contacted ***** at Advantage Management on Sept 16, she brought up the damage again. ***** then called Boss Systems who willingly went to the twin home to fix the damage even though there was no real conclusion that the damage was caused by Boss Systems. When Boss went to the twin home the owner had already fixed the pictured damage and couldn't tell what needed to be fixed, in order to appease the owner Boss Systems did what they could to rectify the issue as the person who did the original touch up used the wrong color of paint so they tried to match it. A for rent sign was placed in front of her home by August 23. There was sign placed at the entrance to the community by Sept 9. We were unclear if we could place a sign at the entrance of the community and did not want to violate the CC&R's of the HOA, even though the owner opted to place her own before we had the answer from the HOA. Ads were placed on our website, Craigslist and KSL by August 19, 2013 and updated weekly, other than KSL which renews every 30 days. On August 29 the owner and I discussed lowering the rent, as we had received very few calls of interest for the property. We lowered the rent from $1400 to $1350 and it was updated on KSL and Craigslist at that time. We had several tenant check outs going on at that time and unfortunately we did miscommunicate who would update the website page. We did make the changes to the website ad as soon as we were made aware of the oversight. We also adjusted the KSL ad with the changes the owner requested. I sent an email to the owner on Sept 16, to approve the ads on KSL, Craigslist and our website, she sent back a couple more changes she wanted that were made and they were than approved by the owner. I received one email from the owner of a person who was interested in the townhome on Aug. 29; she did not have a name for the person only a phone number. I called that person and they informed me that they were just checking around for a friend and she would give her friend the information I had provided. We showed the twin home 2 times in August and once in Sept. But we did not receive any applications. The rental market in Utah County in August is generally flooded with students looking for rentals but with the county ordinances in place it limits renters to 3 unrelated adults or less no matter the size of the unit, unless they are family, we do find that our larger properties of 4 bedrooms or more take longer to rent during that time. We did rent several other properties in August, 3 bedrooms or less, for under $1000.00 this seems to be typical for us and the market. Unfortunately we are not able to nor do we ever guarantee how long it may take to rent a property, or what the response of the rental market may be. We feel confident that we did provide professional service to this owner and worked hard to get the property rented. It was then decided by Advantage Management that the management contract between the owner and us would be terminated immediately, upon which the owner would be able to retain management of her property as she saw fit.We feel that terminating the management contract is best possible resolution for all parties.

7/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sold my condo and they are continuing to pull automatic payments They manage the HOA for the condo I use to own and after I sold it they are continuing to pull automatic payments from my bank account. When I called them they told me they are unable to cancel payments setup on their own website and I had to log in and do it myself. Their website won't accept my login or recognize my email address to reset the password. I told them this and they still insist that they are unable to help me other than to refund my most recent payment, but can't stop future payments.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to not only refund the most recent payment, but to stop all future payments from being made.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/08) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Office Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@advantagemanagement.com I am sorry for your frustrations. What is the property address you have sold? I can look into what needs to be done. Please understand that we do not have access to our third party payment processing center. There should be a phone number on the website to contact them. Please send me your information and I can see what I can do and refund your payments.