Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Scott R. Hale Plumbing and Heating, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Scott R. Hale Plumbing and Heating, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Scott R. Hale Plumbing and Heating, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Scott R. Hale Plumbing and Heating, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 11, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1985 Business started locally: 01/01/1985 Business incorporated: 02/06/1991 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DOPL - Professional Licensing
160 E 300 S 4th Fl, Salt Lake City UT 84111
www.dopl.utah.gov
Phone Number: (801) 530-6628

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott R. Hale, President Ms. Pam Hale, Company Contact Ms. Candace Kelly, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott R. Hale, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Candace Kelly, Office Manager
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Construction & Remodeling Services Heating & Air Conditioning Water Heaters - Dealers Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Heating Contractors Home Improvements

Alternate Business Names
Scott R. Hale Plumbing, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 5490 S Riley Ln

    Murray, UT 84107 (801) 942-5752 (801) 264-4253 (801) 264-4254 (801) 790-4658 (801) 335-5980 (435) 627-9000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought the service partner plan from this company when I had my bathroom remodeled in June2014. They contacted me for my annual HVAC service which should have included a cleaning. They didn't send our usual technician but rather a 'manager' named ****. He claimed our heating exchange was rusted out and might be cracked and leaking carbon monoxide although he did not have a monitor. He checked our in house monitor which had a high reading of 18ppm and claimed it was a problem. He said he was a CO advocate and our monitor was useless. He also said our HVAC unit was 16 years old and not fixable and the unit would have to be replaced. His estimate was $10,000 to $15,000. My condo is 565 square feet and worth $120,000. He did not do any work on it and told us to turn it off. I had a new HVAC unit installed in 2002 for $2500 so it is about 12 years old. This was the first red flag. I called a second company, Elemental heating and air, for a second opinion. The owner **** did another visual inspection and could not see any problems. He tested both the condo and the HVAC unit for carbon monoxide and found none. The 18ppm is amount you get when you burn a candle. He said the unit was fine but needed to be cleaned.

Desired Settlement: They should refund the amount I paid for their service plan. They did not fulfill their side of the contract since no tune up was done and they outright lied to me about the condition of my HVAC unit. Their manager **** should stop claiming to be a CO advocate since he is using scare tactics to make his company money. As for losing my trust, there is really nothing they can do to fix that.

Business Response: *****, 

We apologize for the issues from your appointment on February 5th with ****. We will refund your membership and issue a complementary membership for the inconvenience. I would like to send ******, the technician who has worked with you in the past. He will come out and resolve the concern you had with ****. 
We truly apologize for the ill experience you had with your last appointment.  
Please contact me by phone @ ************ 
Thank you, 
******* ***** 
Scott Hale Plumbing Heating and Air 
5490 S Riley Lane 
Murray, UT 84107

2/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/19/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a service tune up via groupon and they didn't show up. I bought a group on for a A/C tune up and scheduled the appt. close to 2 months in advance because they were so backed up with other groupons. On the day of service, they called and cancelled the appt because of "emergency" calls and they had no technicians available. They asked if I could reschedule which I couldn't. Thay did not honor their commitment of the appointment. When I said I couldn't reschedule they refused to send a technician over as promised. Their customer service was horrible and their scheduling employees incompetent. I was never offered any compensation. I took time out of my day to be there and honored my side of the bargain. I ultimately had to reschedule, scheduling multiple days because of their reasoning it was hot and they have emergencies. It is not going to get cooler so I had to schedule multiple days anticipating them canceling on me again. I then told them I had an emergency and to send a technician over and they said they had techs available but would charge me an "emergency" fee to send them out, so they obviously lied to me when they said no one was available, they were just trying to scam more money out of me.

Desired Settlement: I want the company to send the technician out and do the work they promised to do, on time. Also, I want an apology email from the company admitting their unethical business practice of not honoring an appointment and trying to scam more money from me by charging me an emergency fee. Also, I want the work performed including a groupon refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/09/10) */ On 7/16/14 ******* was scheduled for a maintenance to be completed on his AC, a promotion that was purchased through Groupon. Due to the extremely hot temperatures ******* was contacted to see if he could possibly reschedule his appointment, due to customers without any AC. ******* was upset and chose to use extremely offensive language with the women in the office. We made arrangements to have his tune up completed the same day and sent a tech his way, the tech did not have a ladder. ******* was informed how to receive a refund, by requesting the refund directly through Groupon and Scott Hale Plumbing Heating and Air will still complete the service. ******* can contact our office at XXX-XXX-XXXX and set a time that will work for his schedule. We apologize for any inconvenience.

6/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service