Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Neerings Plumbing & Heating, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Neerings Plumbing & Heating, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Neerings Plumbing & Heating, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 05, 1996 Business started: 03/01/1935 Business started locally: 03/01/1935 Business incorporated 07/01/1991 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DOPL - Professional Licensing
160 E 300 S 4th Fl, Salt Lake City UT 84111
www.dopl.utah.gov
Phone Number: (801) 530-6628

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Troy Neerings, President Mr. Mike Dixon, Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Troy Neerings, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Heating & Air Conditioning Heating Contractors


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Neerings Plumbing & Heating, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3495 S 300 W

    Salt Lake City, UT 84115 (801) 295-3828 (801) 235-0888 (877) 349-8428 (801) 319-3390 (801) 506-7857 (801) 590-7358 (801) 203-3210 (801) 467-3951

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Incorrect diagnosis caused damage to my AC unit; they refused to refund me despite a 2nd party testimony. In early July, I asked for the company to come out and inspect my A/C unit at my condo. My wife was 8 months pregnant at the time and I need quick service to get my A/C running properly. Upon arrival, the repairman informed me that I might have a potential Freon leak in my system and I needed to charge it. After agreeing to charge it ($400) and inject a dye to detect the leak ($275), the technician informed me that the condenser would not start up and suggested that I purchase an entirely brand new one. He couldn't explain why the condenser broke but only had assumptions. I requested to get a second opinion. After calling another company to come out, their technician informed me that the previous technician overcharged the system, causing my condenser to fail and the mishaps could have been avoided if properly diagnosed. The actual issue was with the TKV unit inside the house. The second technician wrote up a statement with his findings and I forwarded it onto Neerings service manager who denied everything. Neerings promised to send another technician out to assess the damage but never did. After 6 weeks of broken promises to return phone calls and lying about having the owner call me directly, they finally decided that the second technician's testimony was unsubstantiated and refused to refund me any of my payment. I was bullied on the phone and, literally, laughed at when I referenced to the second technician's testimony. I asked to speak with the owner because the service technician continued to force me off the phone and referred to the second technician's testimony as a "scam". The owner never called me but the service manager called on Aug 14 and informed me that they would not refund anything or cover, even a portion of my repairs. I finally had to purchase an entirely new condenser ($1960) and a new TKV unit (the original problem - $800).

Desired Settlement: I would like for Neerings to refund me the visit their technician charged me ($675) and a portion of the condenser I had to replace. I am being kind enough to see them halfway and also cover some of the costs for the condenser.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/22) */ Dear BBB of Utah Case #XXXXXXXX A proper diagnosis was performed by Neerings; the damage had already occurred before we got there. Please read the letter in the attachment we sent to the customer explaining our position. Subsequent to our service call, the (TXV) was an issue. But only after the new unit was installed, not before.( In other words, the other company, not Neerings, was to blame, if anyone. Proper flow of nitrogen inhibits carbon build up, which can clog a TXV.) Moreover, we did refund to the customer $160 on 7/9/13 because he choose to not have us perform the prepaid leak test. On invoice ******* (see 2nd attachment) he paid $274 to inject dye and to have us return and do an ultraviolet scan,( the test should be preformed after 24 hours of injection and operation) but he choose to replace the unit as we originally suggested. He chose another company to replace it. Our refund of $160 was more than fair. The customer was treated fairly, and kindly through the process. The other company, not knowing what we know about the original state of the system, was simply wrong in their assumptions. If we can answer any questions, please let us know. **** ******** Neerings Plumbing & Heating Inc. Air Conditioning - Electric - Solar **** ******** Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 9, 2013/08/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Fairly and kindly would not be the words I would use in describing my experience with Neerings. This is another excuse I've heard from Neerings. The service manager told me that "the heatwave really was the problem", and on another phone call, I have a "leak". Now I'm being told it's the other companies fault. If their responses through this process were consistent, then I'd be more inclined to believe them.

4/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service