BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Utah

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/13/1999

Neerings Plumbing & Heating, Inc.

Phone: (801) 467-3951Fax: (801) 486-3493

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints11

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (11)BBB Closure Definitions
04/26/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: I called Neerings Plumbing & Heating on Sunday 4/14/13 in desperate need of help to unclog a sewer pipe drain that was flooding my basement.
My father talked to Neerings plumber **** ** over the telephone and described our exact problem and **** quoted my Father ****** $564 over the telephone to snake a sewer drain. **** ** however is not a man of his word as we found out because he took my credit card information and had me sign a false contract agreement chraging us exactally $1064 which was exactally $500 above the quoted price he gave us over the telephone to snake a sewer drain. He totally took advatage of the setuation and charged an extra $500 for himself very dishonest business practice. I have called ****** ******** and ******* and they quoted me exactally $69 to snake 100 Feet of sewer line I didn't know the originall $564 was a rip off at the time because it was an emergency and I did not have time to price shop their estimate so reluctantally we went with them and had them come out immediatally only to be false cheated out of an extra $500 dollars. I would be fine paying the original quoted amount of $564 to snake the sewer drain even though that was still to high I am still willing to accept the originall agreement I am very unpleased with being lied to and decieved though.

Business' Initial Response
Dear BBB

This matter was resolved with the customer's father the same day he called our office. I'm sure the son writing this letter did not think to retract this complaint.

I would like to mention this was not a case of deception, but lack of communication.

If you would like the details I would be glad to bring them to full light. There is nothing to be ashamed of on our part nor on the part of the customer.

All the best,



Neerings Plumbing & Heating Inc.

Air Conditioning - Electric - Solar



**** ********



Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept your response thanks for the resolution and sorry for the misunderstanding.

09/20/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Disputed warranty coverage and/or terms

Complaint: 1 year warranty = 1 year. Furnace motor replaced 1 year ago Saturday 08/04/12. I called to get service, they came 08/06 and say no warranty.
I had my furance serviced by co on 08/04/11. My motor was replaced due to failure. We called exactly on year later on 08/04/12. They said they would look for the part and if they couldn't find it, they would have a service appointment for Monday 08/06 at 8:00 AM. They quoted us a price of over $520.00. We called the main office and questioned the warranty. The resptionist transfered us to a service manager. He kept saying some date a year and four days ago. After repeadidly asking him what date he was talking about, he admitted he didn't have the paperwork in front of him. We did and explained that the date of service was 08/04/11 and we called on 08/04/12. He kept asking "How do you know it's the motor?" Well, that is what the technition told us was wrong and that is what he was offering to replace. He then said that a year from 08/04/11 is 08/03/12. He offered to not do the service but wouldn't do anything else. The technitian said that they shouldn't have put in the motor that they put in. Our original motor lasted us over seven years and we bought it used. It doesn't make sens the motor died in one years time.

Business' Initial Response
The motor we replaced for the customer was no longer under the manufacturer's warranty.

We explained this to the customer before the job.

Wanting to be sensitive to their feelings, we subtracted $493 from $1021 (the previous 2011 invoice) at our own expense.

The customer approved this agreement in writing before we preformed the service.

01/26/2012Problems with Product / Service
01/02/2012Problems with Product / Service
10/07/2011Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
08/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: Incorrect diagnosis caused damage to my AC unit; they refused to refund me despite a 2nd party testimony.
In early July, I asked for the company to come out and inspect my A/C unit at my condo. My wife was 8 months pregnant at the time and I need quick service to get my A/C running properly. Upon arrival, the repairman informed me that I might have a potential Freon leak in my system and I needed to charge it. After agreeing to charge it ($400) and inject a dye to detect the leak ($275), the technician informed me that the condenser would not start up and suggested that I purchase an entirely brand new one. He couldn't explain why the condenser broke but only had assumptions. I requested to get a second opinion. After calling another company to come out, their technician informed me that the previous technician overcharged the system, causing my condenser to fail and the mishaps could have been avoided if properly diagnosed. The actual issue was with the TKV unit inside the house. The second technician wrote up a statement with his findings and I forwarded it onto Neerings service manager who denied everything. Neerings promised to send another technician out to assess the damage but never did. After 6 weeks of broken promises to return phone calls and lying about having the owner call me directly, they finally decided that the second technician's testimony was unsubstantiated and refused to refund me any of my payment. I was bullied on the phone and, literally, laughed at when I referenced to the second technician's testimony. I asked to speak with the owner because the service technician continued to force me off the phone and referred to the second technician's testimony as a "scam". The owner never called me but the service manager called on Aug 14 and informed me that they would not refund anything or cover, even a portion of my repairs. I finally had to purchase an entirely new condenser ($1960) and a new TKV unit (the original problem - $800).

Business' Initial Response
Dear BBB of Utah
Case #XXXXXXXX

A proper diagnosis was performed by Neerings; the damage had already occurred before we got there.
Please read the letter in the attachment we sent to the customer explaining our position.
Subsequent to our service call, the (TXV) was an issue. But only after the new unit was installed, not before.( In other words, the other company, not Neerings, was to blame, if anyone. Proper flow of nitrogen inhibits carbon build up, which can clog a TXV.) Moreover, we did refund to the customer $160 on 7/9/13 because he choose to not have us perform the prepaid leak test. On invoice ******* (see 2nd
attachment) he paid $274 to inject dye and to have us return and do an ultraviolet scan,( the test should be preformed after 24 hours of injection and operation) but he choose to replace the unit as we originally suggested. He chose another company to replace it.

Our refund of $160 was more than fair. The customer was treated fairly, and kindly through the process. The other company, not knowing what we know about the original state of the system, was simply wrong in their assumptions.
If we can answer any questions, please let us know.

**** ********

Neerings Plumbing & Heating Inc.
Air Conditioning - Electric - Solar

**** ********

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Fairly and kindly would not be the words I would use in describing my experience with Neerings. This is another excuse I've heard from Neerings. The service manager told me that "the heatwave really was the problem", and on another phone call, I have a "leak". Now I'm being told it's the other companies fault. If their responses through this process were consistent, then I'd be more inclined to believe them.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

10/23/2012Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation did not disclose complete pricing information

Complaint: Technician misrepresented the total amount of the job. Company does not respond to telephone calls.
On September 14th, 2012 we contacted ****** to fix a leak on the main water line coming into the house. The technician quoted us $1464 to repair. We okay'd that work and asked them to look at a couple of other issues we had. A valve for the refrigerator and a new valve in for the shower in the upstairs bathroom. He came back and told my fiance that the total for the entire job would be $1786. He also stated that since we were going to be out of town that afternoon, they would bill us the amount. I happened to be at the house when they finished the job and the tech demanded payment at that time. I gave him my credit card and he billed it for $3320. I said that's not what you quoted and he said yes it was. We've called and tried to talk to the supervisor and he wont call back. His name is ****** ******. He did send us a letter telling trying to break down the costs involved with the job, but it doesn't add up. Basically they had two technicians there for 4 hours and charged us at least $300 per hour per technician. The invoice is #XXXXXX. I paid with a Visa Credit Card.

Business' Initial Response
Please refer to the attachment which has a copy of our invoice XXXXXX and a cost breakdown letter we sent to the customer on the services we provided.

Our Technician gave the customer 3 written proposals prior to us doing any work. (see the left side of the invoice). The customer choose to have us do all 3 tasks. The customer then authorized the work to be done; please see the total amount $3,320 written on the right side of the invoice with the customer's authorizing signature near the bottom of the invoice. Upon completion the customer signed their satisfaction of the services rendered.

We strongly prefer to not bill our customers. We ask our techs to collect upon completion. It is plainly stated on our invoice "PAYMENT TO BE MADE UPON COMPLETION".

Our Service Manager has spoke with the customer at least three times on the phone. The last we heard from them was when we sent her a letter with a complete breakdown. See attachment.( I apologize for the difficulty of understanding how it adds up. I drew in some arrows showing how the breakeven is one total added to the net profit for the selling price).

Please let the customer know to help heal any bad feelings we will offer a free one time service on their furnace and safety inspection; the list price is $187. This is to cleared prior to the service with our Service Manager ****** by having the customer call.

Any further questions please ask.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The total wasn't written in until the end. The only total that was written was the amount for over 1700 dollars. I had to sign for the invoice as the technician told me was for my credit card payment. I'm not satisfied and have told the company as such. We have tried to call them many times and have not recieved three calls from them only one. The letter also states that they would call after sending that, but they have failed to do so. I would never do business with them again and sure wouldn't want them to touch my furnace, as I have a service contract with a different company for that and have it routinely serviced. We contacted the BBB because they do not return phone calls.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

10/18/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor refund, exchange or credit policies

Complaint: They said they would not charge to come to my house.They charged $142.50 and did nothing. They promised they would. Asking for refund.
I contacted Neerings on a Tue or Wed. (approx. 9/25-26) and asked if they charged a fee to come out and look at an electrical problem that I had. They said they do NOT charge to come out. Their website even says they DO NOT charge to come out. I made an appointment for that Friday, 9/28/12. They came to my home. I told them what electrical problems I had. The electrician then said there is a diagnostic charge of $142.50 to look at the two problems I had. I asked what the "diagnostic charge" was and if it would fix my problem. He said yes. I asked him again if I paid the $142.50 would it fix the problem and he said YES again. So I agreed to the $142.50 diagnostic charge. He looked at my electrical box and said I needed a new transformer, but then he went on to state that "the transformer" was not included in the diagnostic charge. Then he looked at the electrical outlet and said that wasn't covered in the "diagnostic charge." He gave me a quote to fix the two items of approximately $700. I told him I could not afford to do that and I wrote him a check for $142.50. I am just hoping to somehow get my money back.

I fixed the two problems myself later that day for under $30.00. I bought the parts at Home Depot.

Business' Initial Response
Please find invoice #****** in the attachment.
On that invoice you will find, starting from left to right, two proposals to make repairs; one proposal for $418, and another for $266.
Further to the right you will find a price of $142 to perform an electrical diagnosis. Below you will find an authorization signature that was signed prior to us doing any work, and the very bottom of the page a second signature showing the satisfactory completion of our service for $142.

Also on the invoice you will see that we did not charge the customer a dispatch fee to come to her home.

Many times in the course of performing a diagnostic, a minor problem could be found, like a loose wire nut, or a reset switch, etc. those minor fixes are included in a diagnostic. Perhaps this is where the customer wrongly supposed that any and all repairs are included in a diagnostic. I do not know.
When we replace material to make a repair, or if the work is out of the scope of a diagnostic,( as was this case) we will give the customer a proposal to make any needed repairs, as we did. Many times repairs run in the hundreds or even thousands of dollars. Surely one would not expect all of that out of a diagnostic, nor do we agree to that.

We plainly told the customer what the electrical problems were for $142, which she pre-approved. She greatly benefited from our diagnosis by her being able to make her own repairs! I am shocked that she states that we "did nothing". Moreover, we did not promise her a refund.

If I can answer any further questions, please ask.

Sincerely,

**** ********

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I would NOT have agreed to pay the $142.50 if I knew they would not be fixing the problems. They told me not to do anything and that everything would be fine. They would not return my phone calls. Their business practices are extremely deceptive and wrong.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company provided proper verification that indicated there was no obligation to resolve the issues of the complaint.

11/02/2011Advertising / Sales Issues
08/30/2011Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Heating Contractors, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Heating & Air Conditioning

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.