This business is not BBB accredited.

Intermountain Plumbing and HVAC Specialists

Phone: (801) 948-3255 View Additional Phone Numbers 49 Columbia Ave, Murray, UT 84107 http://www.intermountainplumbing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Intermountain Plumbing and HVAC Specialists include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on Intermountain Plumbing and HVAC Specialists
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 7
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 21, 2005 Business started: 03/28/2005 Business started locally: 03/28/2005 Business incorporated 07/12/2011 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DOPL - Professional Licensing
160 E 300 S 4th Fl, Salt Lake City UT 84111
http://www.dopl.utah.gov
Phone Number: (801) 530-6628

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Megan Mahajan, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Megan Mahajan, Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Ventilating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Drainage Contractors Heating Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Mahajan Holding, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Intermountain Plumbing and HVAC Specialists has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of F.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    49 Columbia Ave

    Murray, UT 84107 (801) 886-3111

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Intermountain Plumbing to fix a clogged drain. I paid them $432 to jet a line. They told me the work was guaranteed for 90 days. The problem continued and so they came out the next day to jet the line again. I was told if this did not fix the problem the next step would be to put a camara down the line and it would cost another almost $800. So, I would be into this almost $1200 to maybe know what the problem was. There was not any problems for 4-5 days but then my tenant went out of town for 2 weeks. When he returned there was raw sewage throughout the bathroom and seeping into the walls and adjoining room.

Desired Settlement: Since this company says they guarantee their work, let's see it! The work they performed did not fix any problems and may have in fact made the problem worse. I would like a refund of my money and ideally I would like to pay for the cost of the disaster cleanup. While I am sure they will not pay for the cost of the disaster clean up without legal action I will start with a refund of my money.

7/11/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charged $285 to look at a possible burst pipe in an 863 sq ft home. Was told multiple breaks and all pipes needed to be replaced. To re-pipe whole entire home would cost me minimum $12,000 to fix. Plumber insisted on $5100 down and then pay the other half when he finished. Told him no and to go home I would pay him for his visit for showing up and making the estimate. Call a different company they came in fixed the small problem within 15 min and charged $200 to look at and fix also told me none of the pipes were needing to be replaced. Called intermountain to ask why it cost so much to have him come out and look to assess the problem and gave me the run around. Bussiness owner called me to see what the issue was and would not listen to what I was trying to ask and procceded to try and get me to pay the $12,000 for the house. Extremly dissipointed in the company.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of the $285

3/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bid was for a water main break and repair-work done was not in the bid. Water main was not broken-company did repairs that were not authorized. 11-9-2013 **** **** was watching our home and heard water running. ***** contacted Intermountain Plumbing and HVAC Specialist, INC. XXX-XXX-XXXX. 11-11-13 ***** came late-and stated that the main line and stop waste were damaged. ***** stated that he would dig up the main line and replace it to the retaining wall with poly pipe-and fix the stop waste. The bid was $2438.82. I was contacted by **** and told that I could pay half up front if I paid cash-if not the entire amount would be due at the time of service. Since I thought it was a water main and we were on our way back home-we paid $1200.00 cash to get the work started. I contacted the office 3 times prior to the work being completed requesting the old stop waste valve be saved and returned to me as it was replaced 2 years ago and under warranty. Upon arriving home we reviewed the invoice-it was unreadable. I spoke with ******* and ***** several times requesting a clear copy of the work that had been done and requested the old stop waste valve, and requested that they hold the check until I had the invoice. I was told that the repair man would have to give me that information-and she would pass along the information. Arrived home 11-12-13- the yard was not dug up-the water main was not broke, our "KEY" was left in the water shut off valve at the curbside. The work that was to be done reflected in the $2400.00 bid was not done-I called several times and no calls were returned. I attempted to stop the check and asked the company to not cash the check until I had a legible copy of the work done "OK" was the response ***** gave me. I decided to put a stop check with my bank only to find out the check had cleared and they had not held it as requested. I called again and stated I wanted a legible copy of the work done and that they had no business cashing the check. ***** came out and I requested a legible copy of the invoice, he went on to offer us HVAC service and tell us what a great job they did putting the flowerbed back together-and offered us swamp cooler service. I asked him for a copy of the invoice and for the valves-he escalated and left the property yelling at us in front of my children using profanity about "Getting the Lawyers involved." We asked him to calm down and wait, asked again for a legible copy of the work that was done-he left aggressively yelling and muttering. I called the company number and spoke with ***** the owner who attempted to tell me I did not know what I was talking about. At this time we decided to let my husband handle the issue-he spoke with ***** and requested a legible copy of the invoice and stated that "*****" was having personal problems. ***** requested we meet-we declined until we had a legible copy of the work done. I had **** at my house during repairs the hours stated by ***** and ****** did not represent the hours billed, also had a neighbor watching the property that concurred the time spent at our property. We emailed ****** sent a certified Letter on 12-16-13 requesting an invoice of work done, no response. This company took advantage of the fact that we were out of town and did not do the work that was bid, obviously because the yard was not dug up. Fraud-They also requested **** make payment in full before we arrived home-several times she refused. Upon inspection we noticed that our sprinkler box was rebuilt in the front yard-at the time of repair it was shut off-repairs were not authorized for this repair-we would have declined as it was in working orwe are planning on landscaping. We have been unable to test the system due to the season-why did they fix something that was not broken and without out permission. We have kept a timeline and detailed records of all calls, letters, witnesses and neighbor accounts. This information was included in the certified letter sent on 12-16-2013. We have made every attempt to resolve this issue verbally, with email and a certified letter-no response from the company.

Desired Settlement: -Legible invoice of all work done on our property. -Refund to be determined based on a legible copy of the original invoice-and a copy of the actual work that was done on the property. -Refund of all work done that was not authorized. -Refund of the stop waste repair that was under warranty from another company-2 years old. Due to IM Plumbing not returning the valve or giving me a legible copy I am unable to use the warranty. -Full 1200.00 refund if no response from company. I have to dig up stop waste and check if work was done.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/03/06) */ I have typed up an invoice that is completely legible and will be mailing it to the ********'s home.

3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: supposed to be free estimate, did work with out contacting me. I called this company whos adddress has changed to *** * **** * ******* ** XXXXX. they were going to come out to give me a free estimate because i had frozen pipes. there was a misunderdstanding i thought th eunthawing of the pipes was includced in the estimate, well the plummer called to get directions i told him i was at work but my daughter was there. and i would be home soon. he did not call me back to let me know that he just needed to put a heater to thaw the pipes and this charge would be $300.00 he just did the work without my verbal or written permission. i called him on my way home and he said he thawed the pipes and it was $300.00 i said what ill talk to you when i get home. He came in my house (my duaghter heard it all) and said my bad i did not call you i just assumed you wanted it done and i said no not for that amount he ended up reducing it to $170.00, I paid i did not know what else to do. Imade the comment im in the wrong business, the plumer replied with well i went to college. He then gave me a bid saying my pipe was bad and the electric tape was bad for $950.00. I called the company the next day to let lthem know i was not happy with this i did not give permission for this service to be done. I also had another plummer come to check my pipes he said there was nothing wrong with the pies or the electric tape. I just moved my mobile home to the community 3 years ago everything was replaced new. the opnly prob was the pipe got knocked of the brick stacks and jsut needed to be picked up. I called the companty back and explained this. I was told they were going to refund my money back to me. Then i received a call from the owner * *** he was very rude to me he aske dwhat happened i told him he said the plummer said i told him to get started. I never said that i was never given the estimate. He said his plummers do not lie and his is not sending me anymoney he said he did not care i was the customer and never to call his business again. I can get an attorney then hung up with me. I was treated very poorly by the remark from the plummer, also not giving me the estimate and just doing the work, and then from the owner. I want all my money back

Desired Settlement: I want all my money back $170.00 i wont charge for my electricity they used to do the job

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/03/06) */ I apologize for the delay in my response to this matter. I have looked over all of the notes regarding Ms. ******'s appointment and work performed at her home. I honestly feel that for her to assume that thawing her pipes is part of a free estimate is a bit of a stretch. A free estimate entails looking over a jobsite and providing an estimate. If work is required in order to provide an accurate estimate, we do charge- but obtain a full approval before doing so. As far as I can tell, my technician did not get approval from Ms. ****** before completing the pipe thawing process, and that is an error on our part. I still feel that Ms. ******'s expectations were a little out of sorts, as well as her complaint that we "used her electricity." NO plumber provides a portable electricity source, and no customer has ever complained about us plugging into an outlet. However- Since we were in the wrong by not obtaining approval, we are willing to credit back ******* to Ms. ******. Thank You Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 14, 2014/03/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I would be willing to settle with them giving me the ******* back on my account. I would like this done with in a reasonable time matter. I feel two weeks is sufficient to refund this money. thank you very much. if I need to have a check mailed to me that will be fine also. I just need to be contacted to let me know how and when this will take place


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

8 Customer Reviews on Intermountain Plumbing and HVAC Specialists
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart