Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A. K. & R. Whipple Plumbing, Heating, & A/C Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for A. K. & R. Whipple Plumbing, Heating, & A/C Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 21 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

21 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 15
Total Closed Complaints 21

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

142 Customer Reviews on A. K. & R. Whipple Plumbing, Heating, & A/C Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 129
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 12
Total Customer Reviews 142

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 22, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1947 Business started locally: 01/01/1947 Business incorporated 02/28/2000 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DOPL - Professional Licensing
160 E 300 S 4th Fl, Salt Lake City UT 84111
http://www.dopl.utah.gov
Phone Number: (801) 530-6628

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kent Whipple, President Mr. Markus Anderson, General Manager Ms. Susan Dixon, Client Care Coordinator Ms. Jackie Judd, Marketing Director Mr. David Saltsman, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kent Whipple, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Sewer Contractors Water Heaters - Repairing Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Connectors - Electric Converters - Electric Switches - Electric Water Heaters - Dealers Water Heater - Tankless Water Softening & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies Contractor - Water Conditioning Air Conditioning Repair Septic Tanks & Systems Cleaning Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment Furnace Sales & Service Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Electricians Heating Contractors

Alternate Business Names
A - Aaabracadabra Lightning Rooter Sewer Rooter Water Heater King Service Whipple Service Champions

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

A. K. & R. Whipple Plumbing, Heating, & A/C Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 963 W Folsom Ave

    Salt Lake City, UT 84104 (801) 679-4425 (801) 203-3136 (801) 355-4433 (801) 444-3278

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Over 3 years ago, I called this co. to clear a drain. Their add said "customer satisfaction guaranteed." The drain ran great for almost 2 weeks then backed up. They refused to come back. I have repeatedly called. On one occasion early on, I was told by the receptionist "that the guarantee is up to the individual technicion." I have requested several times to talk to the owner. He has yet to contact me Also I called on their $49.00 special. The tech before looking at the cleanout spot in the basement jumped the price to $176.00.. My drain has been slow ever since. Would I recomend this company? Absolutely not. In fact my recomendation would be to stay away from them. They are dishonest.

Desired Settlement: To refund the money paid for their faulty/sloppy/incomplete work.

Business Response: Thank you for bringing this concern to our attention. We appreciate having the opportunity to resolve the drain issue our client is still experiencing and apologize that it was not resolved in the timely manner when the issue 1st occurred. We have attempted to reach our client by phone to schedule a time for our Drain Dept. Field Manager to go out and meet with him and clear the problem drain. This service will be complimentary. Up to this point we have been unsuccessful in reaching our client.   

8/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After 7 days and 4 failed appointment to get our air conditioner fixed. They again tell us they don't have the right part like they said they would and we must wait another hot night. It is the hottest part of summer, and impossible to sleep in these conditions. Wild fires are also raging in the area which greatly effects the multiple people in the house that have asthma when we have to open the windows. I doubt tomorrow, which they have told us yet again will be they day they finally do their job, will be the day they actually have the right part finally and actually fix the air conditioning. This is beyond unprofessional, at this point they owe us a discount for the pain and discomfort they have put us through. If you aren't able to do your job, you shouldn't cause pain and suffering to others because you don't want to lose a sale.

Desired Settlement: We should be refunded for the initial service call, and significantly discounted on the work to fix the air conditioning.

Business Response: Thank you for alerting us to our clients concern. We had been in close contact with our client ***** **** on Tuesday July 26, 2016 and had the issue resolved before we received your notification. After receiving your notification we called our client to review the concern. We were informed by Ms. **** that she had not filed a concern with the BBB and she knew nothing about it. Apparently one of her roommates had submitted the complaint. Ms. **** was still satisfied with the resolution that had been agreed upon on July 26. On Saturday July 23, 2016 we received a call from client requesting service for their air conditioning unit. Unit was not blowing out cold air and was icing up. Our technician went out that afternoon and found that the blower motor had failed. Client decided not to go with replacement of a new motor at that time. Client called back on Monday July 25th requesting to have the motor replaced. Due to Monday being a holiday the suppliers were closed and technician could not pick up the part until the next day. Client had decided to go with having a Universal motor installed instead of the OEM Manufacture replacement motor since it would be less expensive. The universal motor was not compatible with their system so our General Manager approved installing the OEM Motor for the same Price of the Universal which was a substantial savings for our client. We also gave her an additional $100 discount to compensate for their inconvenience and made arrangements for motor to be installed July 27th. The new motor was installed as promised on July 27, 2016.          

4/15/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had no heat, and called on 2/25/16. Repairman said the high temp. limit was out and blower motor was likely to fail soon. To replace motor and sensor would cost minimum of $990. Repairman said furnace was only designed to last 10-12 years, and recommended replacing it with a more efficient, new furnace. Charged me $69 for the diagnosis. I checked with another HVAC firm, and they said my furnace should last (and was designed to last) a minimum of 20 years. They replaced the high temp limit ($89) and cleaned the unit for $96. (No other charge for these repairs, which got the furnace working again.) He recommended a 4th cold air return be installed because the motor was "huffing." Builder had installed only 3 returns for a 4-ton unit. The motor is working just fine, and should last many more years.

Desired Settlement: Whipple should instruct their repairmen to be honest and fair. I was misled when told to expect only 10 - 12 years of service from my furnace. Moreover, I find it outrageous being charged $69 for someone to attempt to sell me something I did not and do not need!

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing this concern to our attention. When our client called on 2/25/2016 to schedule an appointment for his furnace that wasn't working, he was advised that there would be a $69.50 diagnostic fee. On arrival at the home our technician preformed a Complete Furnace Diagnostic. His findings indicated that 1. High temperature limit had failed 2. Blower motor had leak in bearing seal. Our technician outlined several options for restoring heat to the home. He provided Two Repair Options. Option  A: Replace high temp limit & blower motor. Option B: Replace high temp limit.  As a Permanent Solution the technician gave the option of Replacing the Furnace with a more efficient model.  In our experience we have found that the Average typical life of a furnace's peak performance to  be 10-12 years.             

2/11/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Nov 20, 2015 we had Damen from whipple come out to clean our drains. to which we were informed that he he hit a root (he thinks) and their suggested solution would be, to use a camera and see if it is in fact a root or if it is a collapsed pipe, then we can go from there as far as finding the right solution. We were told that Damen and his boss were both going to show up on the morning of Nov 23, 2015 and were not going to leave until the problem was fixed. To which ,Only one guy Roger showed up with the camera. We signed up for your Diamond membership as we were told it comes with a free camera as well as discounts if we needed any more work done it also puts you at the front of the line which we thougt seemed great to establish a good relationship with a company that we could use when needed. Well, Roger Tried the camera only to find out that he could not see anything because the drains were clogged, which is something they as well as we were already aware of, so he shouldnt have used the camera if he knew he wasnt going to see anything so he informed us the camera did not work because he could not see anything. He suggested that we do the jetter, if it is a root problem "it will blast through the root 'NO PROBLEM!!" and clear our pipes and we'll be as good as new" cause that is what the jetter does it cuts through any root and clears your pipes if infact it IS a root problem Which is was, so the jetter should have been our saving grace right?. Well, in tracking down Damen who was supposed to show up as well, Roger was informed that he was helping another guy on another job and that they had gotten the Jetter Stuck in the pipes, some words were exchanged and he informed him that he better get here as soon as possible, this was at 10 am. So, we were informed that it would only take a couple hours and they would be back to fix our problem. At 1:30 Roger called and said that they would be to our house at 4 pm would that still work? we said yes and then waited. it wasnt until 6:30 that they finally showed up. Then, they started the Jetter and 10 min later got it stuck in our pipes (opperator error?? 2nd time they got it stuck in 1 day) so they stayed awhile and tried to get it out but with no luck. They then informed us, that if they can't get their hose out that they would need to dig into our yard and cut the pipe to get their hose out and then they can put a clean out in and that would cost us $4,000 for them to do that. We told them that was not in our budget at this time and so they need to just try and get their hose out. They ended up wrapping things up and leaving their hose in our pipes all night long and said they would return in morning. They showed up in the morning and tried again to get the hose unstuck to then they informed us that our "ONLY" options are to either pay $1,000 for a cleanout they can put in ouor muddroom which is something Roger (dreamt up) would work the night before. or $4,000 to put one outside cause "right now we have a hose stuck in your pipes that we need to get out!" How is your hose stuck in our pipes OUR financial responsibility?? we do not feel that should have been our financial obligation to get your hose unstuck. I told them that we could still not pay that and so they continued to try and eventually got the hose unstuck. Before they left they said that they can put the cleanout in for $1,000 and that it would help our problem but not completely fix our problem that we need to pay $15,000-$20,000 to have them reline the pipes?!?!?!?!? We talked with Roger as we feel we paid for NOTHING all we paid for was inconvience. We have a 1 1/2 yr old that we were having to take to our parents house to bathe and wash clothes and wash his bottles, the jetter did not work as we were told and then the camera did not work as we were also told, they took all day to get here, they left a hose in our pipes all night long and informed us to (not use ANY water) and then when all was said and done they still didnt fix the problem because we still had a "root" stuck in our pipes that the Jetter appaerently did not cut through but got stuck on, so that makes no sense why we were told that the jetter would work on a root problem when it so clearly did NOTHING. So, I told Roger that we did not want to pay until we talked to corporate to which he arrgued with me until he agreed to cut the price in half because he could not "inspect fully" is what he wrote on the invoice. When , In fact its because we were misinformed and lied to and the jetter nor the camera worked nor anything they did for us. When they left we were told that the problem was NOT fixed and that our drains would clog up again but that if they came back they would charge us the other half of the jetter price and also the $1,000 to put the cleanout in our muddroom. We only signed up for the Diamond Membership because we were planning on being repeat customers and establishing a good relationship with your company. We, no longer feel that way and we feel we should be issued a full refund as 4 days later our basement was flooded yet again due to the clogged pipes that your company did nothing to fix. We still are not sure of exactly WHAT we paid fo??. We ended up calling another Plumber who came out and FIXED the problem all in a couple hours and we have had no problems since. He explained everything he needed to do and everything he did worked as he said he was very very personable and treated us very well. We do not feel the same about Whipple. If a full refund for the amount we paid will not be reimbursed we would at least ask that you take us out of your Diamond Membership contract without any Further Charges be charged to u,s as far as Monthly, camera or Jetter costs. I hope that we can resolve this issue as I have already emailed you with no response. Thank you ******* and ******* ******

Desired Settlement: We would really like a full refund of what we paid as it was a huge inconvience for our family. But, at the very least we would like out of the Diamond Membership Club without any further costs with the company.

Business Response:

 We regret having not given our clients the type of service that we are committed to and that they deserve.  Please accept our apology for the inconvenience and stress caused during the jetting procedure.  We feel that it is only fair to refund our clients the $546.00 they paid for a drain service that did not resolve the issue they were experiencing. The paperwork for the refund has been submitted to our Accounting Dept. and will be mailed out to our client. They should receive the check in the next 3-5 business days. The  Diamond Club Membership will be canceled per our clients request, they will receive no further charges in regards to the membership.  Effective 12/28/15.

  

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* ******

12/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased Diamond Club membership from Whipple. On October 21 I scheduled Whipple to come perform basic inspection on furnace. When the tech from Whipple arrived he turned on the furnace, saw it was working, then proceed with inspection. After inspection he said that there was cracks in the heat exchanger and had my wife sign a paper stating that the tech left the furnace inoperable due to cracks. The tech then had a supervisor/salesman come over and verify cracks. Later that night i met with the same supervisor/salesman to talk about the inspection and the solutions. The supervisor/salesman reiterated that there were cracks in the heat exchanger and the solution was to buy a new furnace and air conditioner from them. I let the supervisor/salesman know that i had to think overnight about spending $8000. On October 22 I tried starting our furnace and was unsuccessful. I ensured that the furnace was getting gas and electricity but it would not start. II used a multimeter and noticed that the ignition control was not getting any power. The ignition control box was replaced last year. It was only used for one session. Because we purchased the diamond membership one of the guaranties is "front of line service". So i called Whipple and told them that after the inspection my furnace would not start. I then told that a tech would be sent out that night to look at the furnace. No tech was ever dispatched. Two days later, on October 24, I called Whipple again to request that a tech be sent to fix my furnace. About 5 hours later a tech arrived at my house. That tech said that it is company policy to leave a furnace inoperable when cracks in the heat exchanger have been noticed. He also said that the original tech who disabled the furnace is known to go overboard when disabling a furnace. After about 45 minutes he was not able to fix the problem and agreed with my opinion in that the ignition box was bad. He couldn't explain how it was working when the first Whipple tech was there and not now. On October 26 I went down to the main Whipple office in salt lake to try and talk to a manager. At this point I was irate. I felt not only is the diamond membership a fraud but Whipple should be held liable for the ignition control box. My furnace was working fine before Whipple inspected it. The manager/salesman at the main office first brought me the wrong part. And then when I showed him a picture of the correct part he didn't know what it was and had to go find out. When he returned he then knew enough about the ignition control box to state that it most likely broke because my furnace is 19 years old. When I told the manager/salesman that the ignition control box was about a year old because I replaced it last year he said that he thinks it shorted out and we should check if i have a warranty on it. Whipple would not replace the ignition control box. Not once in the inspection report did Whipple mention anything about a bad ignition control switch. The furnace was working while the first tech was there. The first tech turned on the furnace when he first arrived and it worked. The second tech said that the first tech is known for "going a little overboard" when disabling a furnace. It looks like this is how they generate sales. Even if Whipple did not intentionally break the ignition control box they should be held liable.

Desired Settlement: Whipple should have to refund me the cost of the ignition control box.

Business Response: We are aware of this clients dissatisfaction with the service he received. Besides coming into our office and meeting personally with our manager, he has harassed  our technician with  messages containing foul, abusive and inappropriate language. 

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Whipple is still refusing to admit that they engaged in fraudulent business activities. I have a two year old with an upper respiratory infection and they knowingly disabled the furnace in a way that made it seem like it needed to be replaced. They claim they did it for safety reasons. But when the second tech couldn't get the furnace working again he called the tech who disabled the furnace. I was standing in the room at the time of the phone call. The original tech said that he only stopped the supply of gas and electricity. He did not mention that he also did something to the furnace damper which would stop electricity from reaching the ignition control box. The techs at Whipple are paid commission, and he was fraudulently trying to gain more commission. And I did send a text to the initial sales rep who stood downstairs and watched this whole thing go down. And it was not a nice or clean one. 

Sincerely,

*** *******

Business Response:

On 10/20/15 our technician went and preformed a club furnace tune up on clients 19 year old furnace. A furnace tune up is a complete 21-point inspection, adjusting, cleaning and maintenance of furnace, flu and gas piping making sure your equipment is running efficiently and safely. A copy of inspection results are attached. Our technician found multiple concerns. The Motor was excessively dirty and failing and Multiple Breaches found in the Heat Exchanger. Technician verified visible breeches with client, had client sign Safety Waiver and left furnace in the OFF position. He recommended that clients replace the furnace for safety, efficiency & peace of mind.

Our client called in upset saying that he had been unable to start furnace since his furnace had been tuned up and that the igniter had no access to electricity. He requested that we schedule a technician to come out and check the furnace.  On 10/24/15  a second technician went out for a Warranty call his notes say, "Furnace not operational, they had signed Safety Waiver when last tech was out.  Client had taken Furnace apart to try to get it working." Nothing done today. Left Furnace Non Operational.

Clients Diamond Club Membership has been terminated and any dues paid refunded. 

10/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I feel I was way overcharged for repair of a leaking hot water line. Whipple touts themselves as being fair and honest but with the arbitrary and capricious pricing schedule they use they are far from providing a good customer service/value for the services provided. The range and list of services provided on their “checklist” which they can choose from for pricing ranges so much that they can see how long the job actually takes before billing you and then if the business goal is to charge over $200 per hour for the service, they then select the appropriate pricing or as many of the boxes as they need to check from the work sheet before they present you with the bill. Oh yeah, did I mention that no price was discussed nor was a bid presented to me prior to them commencing with the work. What happened to the up front pricing? There were over four boxes bracketed on the invoice but only one check box and the extended cost for the bill was double the amount of the box that was checked and indicated a reduced price. So here is the story – I called near the COB on a Thursday to have the leak fixed. All the pleasantries of the phone schedule went fine and I agreed to the “Diamond” service to avoid the service call fee. The technician arrived and went straight to work on the repair which was in the basement furnace area with exposed duct work and by the floor joists. The technician worked for two hours and was unable to successfully repair the leak because of the tight spot it was in or something. So we had cold showers the next morning and waited for the technician to return and complete the job. After removing duct work to make the pipe more accessible and another two hours the job was complete and my wife was presented with the bill for $750. Gasp, I was at work so she approved and was “satisfied” with the job. Upon inspection when I returned home, I found that the duct work had major problems and was reinstalled incorrectly and allowed the AC to fill our already cool storage area. So I called them and voiced my concerns of the incorrect duct reinstallation and high pricing. Whipple indicated they would send out their HVAC folks to repair the duct the next day. I have since had several discussions with Whipple Customer Service over the unfair pricing but they are more intent on explaining/justifying on how they arrived at such high prices and are giving you the 1 yr. guarantee on their work rather than seeing any of their errors and omissions and providing valued customer service. To sum it up the plumbing repair work was not completed the first visit, I appear to be charged for the second visit as well and the cost for the mistakes made on an incorrect reinstallation of the duct work. I could have had my neighbor plumber friend come and help with repair and replacement of four fittings for $150 or less. And forget about the “Diamond” service for a 15% savings, it is just another way to get Whipple through your door and find something they can do to way overcharge you again. Since when did a plumbing contractor become like the proverbial tire store where they charge you for everything from the tire to the air they put in it. I am very dissatisfied with Whipple Service Champions and hope others reading this and any of the complaints on the BBB site can see that Whipple is more interested in the bottom line of their business than providing fair and honest service and pricing to their customers. It is amazing that the BBB still gives them an A+ rating; all of the customer reviews/ratings show negative experiences. I will never use Whipple Service Champions again.

Desired Settlement: Refund approx. $400 to the amount of the only box checked on the invoice and not the extended price for shoddy original work, falsifying invoice, failing to itemize invoice and provide up front pricing and questionable sales practices.

Business Response:

Our clients called with a plumbing issue on the afternoon of  8/19/2015. They reported that there was a copper fitting or some type of copper line leaking somewhere in the basement. Our technician went out that evening and diagnosed the source of the leak. He found a section of pipe in the mechanical  room leaking. The technician explained and  notated the work to be done  and quoted pricing from our straight forward pricing guide. Each item that would be included in the repair was circled on the invoice. The price of the repair was quoted as $744.50 which was reduced from the price indicated from our pricing invoice. Our client signed the invoice giving authorization for our technician to proceed with the work at the Straight Forward Price of $744.50. Our technician replaced 3/4 and 1/2 inch section of hot water piping in the mechanical room with duct removal and reset. All or our work is guaranteed.  When it was brought to our attention that there were issues with the way that duct work had been reinstalled our HVAC installer was dispatched to reset and repair the duct.  At the request of our client the Diamond Club membership they had purchased prior to their services has been canceled. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ******** I am rejecting this response because: The response from Whipple is just as I expected it would be after reading the other numerous complaints/responese on the BBB page. But let me set the story straight. • Nothing was presented to the customer nor was anything signed indicating the Straight Forward Pricing prior to any of the work being done. We did not see anything from the technician until he was walking out the door after the job was done. • $744.50 charged for less than two hours of less than competent work is outrageous regardless of pricing guides which may be used. • I recommend for anyone needing plumbing services, to get someone Gephardt approved. Whipple is a big organization and willing to out “weight” the customer on many fronts. They will go back and forth answering their position with numerous iterations of “he said she said” until the customer gets discouraged and just gives in to the loss of their money and lack of good professional services. The “Straight Forward” fact is that Whipple employs resources and invest as much time and effort in avoiding any repayment or negotiated settlement to the mutual satisfaction of their customers claims than it would take to dealing honestly with customers and just be “Straight Forward” and work out a settlement in order to keep valued customers, build a better reputation of customer service and get good reviews and referrals. It may be necessary to explore other venues including social media sites to continue to get the word out of the business practices of Whipple and reaching out to other dissatisfied customers to see if Whipple is willing to modify their current business practices. Sincerely, ***** ******

8/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am filing this for my 88 year old grandmother who was not provided with the service/job as discussed and agreed to as well as being charged additional costs for work that was said to be required but was over charged and not done correctly. I am the person that met with the representative that did the work as my grandmother has cancer and her health is not able to deal with the problems created. I have full documentation including pictures to prove the work was not done as agreed as well as the company ripping her off for additional work at a greatly inflated price. They are taking advantage of the elderly and doing horrible work that had to be redone. Please let me know who to send the documentation of the claim to and I will forward the emails already sent to the company and totally ignored. They were to have fixed a plumbing leak repaired the shower controls, removed the tile on the bottom and sides up 16 inches, installed a shower liner and had it ready to do the tile work. The cement board that was used was so thin that it was wavy and had gaps of 1 inch or more to the bottom of the existing tile leaving gaps that could not be tiled over. The rubble liner installed was not secured and hung loose from 3 screws at the top of the cement board which would not hold tile in any way shape of form. The seams in the rubber liner were glued and lumped up so that tile could not go over it. There was nothing that was done that was waterproof or ready for tile at all. The threshold was bare wood and not water proofed or ready for tile. The floor was damaged in the processes of taking out the old tile. The hot and cold was reversed causing my grandmother to think it was still broken. In addition they have lied that they called and talked to the daughter of my grandmother - she does not have a daughter. The final straw was that they plumbing work is done wrong too. I have been promised 4 different times to be contacted by a manager that same day with NO contact at all.

Desired Settlement: Acknowledgement from the company that they did the job wrong and a return of $1,800 of what has been paid - which is over $6,000. Part of that amount is the additional $800 that they charge to remove and replace a piece of plywood that is 4' x 3' which was not done correctly and had to be redone since it did not go to the edge of the old piece and still had damaged wood showing. The shower liner had to be completely removed and redone as it was done incorrectly, would not be tiled as promised. I have called and emailed them 4 times with NO return call or response other than an office worker telling me in an email that her manager talked to my grandmothers daughter the day before (which is a lie since she does not have a daughter and no on has called at all) and that I would be contacted later that day. The company is horrible and rips off old people who do not know how to handle people taking advantage of them.

Business Response:

On 6/19/2015 we were contacted by our client because she was experiencing a leak under shower that was leaking through kitchen ceiling. Our technician went out and diagnosed the problem. He then proposed a repair plan with our client and her granddaughter detailing work to be done and the cost for the job. The original price quoted was $3579.22 with an additional $765 added to remove and install new sub flooring. Our client and her granddaughter signed the Straight Forward Pricing Invoice before work was done authorizing our technician to proceed with work at the Straight Forward Price. The Total Price quoted and paid for by our client was $4,344.22 not $6,000 as our client indicated. See Attached Invoice   

We want to apologize to our client for the lack of response in getting her concerns addressed and resolved in a timely manner. Our manager Devin who was responsible for communicating with and resolving these service issues with our client dropped the ball and did not follow through. His employment with our company has since been terminated for this very reason. We want to work with our client to come to an acceptable and satisfactory resolution.  We have contacted Terry to schedule our Service Manager to come out and meet with her to evaluate the work done and validate her concerns. The appointment will be scheduled at her earliest convenience.   

Consumer Response:

 
Better Business Bureau:

I was finally contact by the business who has agreed to make a final fix and refund the amount requested.  I do feel that they have done what should have been done from the start.  I was satisfied that they were not aware of the lies and lack of response from their former employee.    

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

Terry R*****

8/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My central Air system recently went out and I called Whipple to come provide a repair estimate for the existing unit. After an hour of inspection and attempted repairs they came to the conclusion there was a leak in my freon piping they could not access to repair nor guarantee if it was repaired that the unit would work or last much longer. We then proceeding to look into replacing the entire unit. At the time we received great service from the technicians and were made to believe we were getting a great deal on a new unit for $8k. We were not explained a break down of each line item on our invoice when we requested the detailed invoice it took multiple attempts for Whipple to respond to my wife and I to finally have an invoice sent to us, which was still not a line by line item price invoice. When we attempted to address the issues we were informed that they do not provide a detailed invoice and refused to provide us one. We were then provided a name of a supervisor to speak to, we spoke to him once and were told he would call us back. Two days went by and we did not hear from him even after calling Whipple to follow up. On the third day we called and requested to speak with Marcus the general manager. He informed us that the supervisor was recently terminated and that he was not made aware of our situation. We then began to fill Marcus in on our issue and after a lot of back and forth. It came down to us wanted them to remove the unit from our home and give us a full refund. Marcus refused to meet that request whatsoever. He began to work with us and requested that if we were to get quotes from another company for the same service they provided he would refund us the difference in price and give us an additional $50. The same day he made this statement we had a company come out to our residence and provide us a quote with the same equipment and service guarantee Whipple promised at $4k less than what Whipple charged us. As soon as we received a copy of the quote we sent it to Marcus via email called him to verify that he received it. He stated to us that he will begin to review it on late Friday and we would hear from him on Monday. Since that time we have not heard from him and have called him and the office directly every day with no response. My wife and interact with people from around Utah daily and we share our story with them and they tell us that Whipple is known for doing things like this to people. They say the guarantee 100% customer satisfactions yet i have not seen a single bit of that except from their technicians. This is not how a company should handle a customer dispute and at this point I rather have them remove the unit from my home and give me full refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like to either have the difference of the quote provided to Marcus refunded on my account, or I would like the entire unit removed from my home and the entire amount refunded.

Business Response:

Thank you for alerting us to the concern submitted by our clients in regards to the HVAC Equipment installed in their home recently.  Our CEO  has been corresponding with our client in an effort to come to an acceptable resolution to their dispute.. Attached please find a copy of their correspondence. 


From: David S*******
Sent: Tuesday, July 28, 2015 4:26 PM
To: '***************@yahoo.com' <
***************@yahoo.com>
Subject: AC install

 

Mr. Z*****,

 

I understand you weren’t able to reach a resolution with our GM concerning the AC you purchased.  I have attached your full contract and the applicable warranties for your review.  I understand that you have a much lower bid from another company.  We fully agree that other companies will often install identical equipment for less.  Sometimes much less than we will.   From my experience companies that price that low just to get business, do not stay in business long enough to honor their warranties.   For this reason we ask that price comparison’s be true “apples to apples” comparisons.   This means that the competing bid needs to be identical in terms of equipment and add-ons, warranties, financing  and level of service provided.  The bid you sent us from ****** does not match any of these criteria.  I have outlined these below.

Us

Them

Parts warranty

10 years

10 years

Labor warranty

10 Years

1 Year

Filter

Electrostatic

Merv 16

Financing

Yes

?

Service Level

Background Checked /Drug tested / Same day service during peak season

?

 

The only category they match us in is the parts warranty and that is offered by the manufacturer.  You have a warranty from Whipple for 10 years.  That means if anything goes wrong you are our priority call and you don’t have to deal with a manufacturer. You only have to deal with us.  Usually the labor to replace a faulty part is at least as much as the part itself.   That’s what a 10 year labor warranty means for you.

 

If you want to find a bid from a company that can match these items ( I suggest ********* ) even though you are outside the 14 day window we normally allow for these, we may consider it.    In the end I want you to be a satisfied customer, not just with the operation of the equipment but with your entire experience with our company.   Please review these documents and let me know when a good time to talk would be.

 

 

Thank you,

 

David S*******

 

 

CEO

From: David S*******
Sent: Wednesday, July 29, 2015 3:44 PM
To: 'B. Z*****' <
***************@yahoo.com>
Cc: Markus A******* <
*********@whippleplumbing.com>
Subject: RE: AC install

 

Mr. & Mrs. Z*****,

 

I will do my best to address your concerns.  We have been in business since 1947.  We are a longstanding company with a reputation for taking care of our clients.   We aren’t planning on going out of business anytime soon.    If Markus told you we would honor a quote outside of 14 days then that is what we will do however the sooner you get that to us the better.  Let’s say by  Wednesday August 5th.   I apologize for your experience with Devin.  He was let go specifically because of this type of issue ( not getting back to customers).

 

As far as ****** warranty being only one year, that is explicitly stated on the actual bid you provided to us.  Under proposal agreement, Item 2 states: “All equipment, material, and labor furnished by us will bear our one year warranty from the date of installation against defects in workmanship and material.”  We can only except formal bids from another company.  If he will update his bid on his company letter head to include the 10 years of Labor  warranty I can accept it but not a forwarded email.

 

In our experience most brands of HVAC equipment are very similar.  Everyone will have bad things to say about  one brand while touting their brand of choice.  We have found that the installation of equipment is more important to the long term life of it that the actual equipment itself.  The most important day in life of your HVAC equipment is the day it’s installed.  That being said, there was a time in the late 2000’s where Goodman had some issues with some of their products.   I believe those issues to be fully rectified and am excited about the future of Goodman.  Especially since they were acquired by Daikin ( the world’s largest HVAC manufacturer) in 2012.  If I didn’t believe that Goodman/Amana wasn’t a solid product we would not sell it.  Especially with the labor warranty we offer matching the equipment warranty it wouldn’t make financial sense to install something I think is going to break.

 

              Here is a website detailing information on the filter we installed for you.  http://www.micropowerguard.com/  This is a premium electrostatic air cleaner. I use one in my home.  I’m sorry that Markus forgot to mention that your bid needed to include financing.  This is necessary because in the world of unsecured lending (i.e. there is no collateral on the loan, your furnace can’t be repossessed like a car would) credit is expensive and we pay those costs.  The fees we incur to provide you financing options range from 2.5% to 20% of the total ticket depending on what rates and terms we offer.  That’s why the invoice you saw had an “adjustment” to it.  The finance company took their fee before they funded us.  Your loan package from Synchrony cost us 6% of your invoiced amount.   That is a significant part of the profit margin of a job and is factored in to pricing.  That is why we ask for it on a competing quote.

 

The service level you received included the time and effort of 4 drug tested, background checked HVAC professionals.  They got you up and running again that night.  You weren’t booked out two weeks for an install that took 2 days to finish.  Our techs, comfort advisors and installers are highly compensated. We have to pay the best to keep the best. Part of our equipment cost was an afterhours fee from our distributor.  Furthermore this happened for you in the middle of peak demand season.    All of these things demand a premium and effect the prices that we charge.  The seasonality of this business is why we generally don’t look competing bids after 14 days.  We offer better discounts during slow times.  Most companies do the same. 

 

Besides what I sent you in your last email I cannot provide you a more detailed invoice. We do not break out parts versus labor in this company.  We provide an upfront inclusive price before work begins.  Taking out the system for a full refund is not an option at this time.  Our 100% satisfaction guarantee states that you will be satisfied with the  operation of your equipment.  Specifically. As long as your equipment is operating to spec and cooling your home which you have stated it has, then this guarantee has no bearing on this situation.  Furthermore,  the signed contract states that “ Owner further acknowledges that he/she has been informed that there may be  other service providers willing to perform this work at a lower price than Whipple Service Champion’s price, therefore Whipple Service Champions price may be more expensive and Owner understands that he/she has the option of seeking other bids before authorizing this work.  I’m not trying to play hard ball here, I just want you to be aware of the agreement that you signed and what your remedies are.  That being said, I’m prepared to offer you 10% off of what you already paid.   I will refund $*** to synchrony bank as a gesture of good will to put this to bed.  If you find this acceptable   please let me know by the end of the week.  Otherwise please have an apples to apples comparison available by August 5th.

 

Thank you,

 

David S*******

 

 

From: B. Z***** [mailto:***************@yahoo.com]
Sent: Tuesday, July 28, 2015 6:24 PM
To: David S******* <
*********@whippleplumbing.com>
Subject: Re: AC install

 

David,

 

          You stated that often companies do not stay in business long enough to honor warranties. How do we know that you will still be in business in 10 years to offer that kind of warranty as well, what kind of insurance do you offer that you will not go out of business? What guarantee can you provide us along with your response? Also Markus your GM stated that even though it has been past the 14 days that if I could get a quote that met the criteria that you guys would still honor it, now your saying you’ll consider it how does taking back what your GM promised make you guys a reputable company. How does your statement guarantee Whipple’s 100% satisfaction?

 

I already had this problem with Devin your client care supervisor that ended up being fired and never getting back to me and passing on my concerns. I’m not sure where you got the information that ***** was only offering a 1 year labor warranty an email was forwarded to Markus from the technician that gave me the quote stating that it was a 10 year labor as well. I am also inquiring about the service level as well as the filtration system, so once I have that information I will pass it along.

 

The documents you attached to the previous email, why weren’t they provided to us during our initial purchase and interaction with your technicians? Also after researching the unit you installed in our home we have increased concerns about its functionality.  Goodman has not made a good name for over the years for their units and has received poor consumer reviews.  If we had of known the unit a Goodman you were installing in our home we would have never went with Whipple. There was not much detail provided to us overall in the products being installed in our home.  On top of that the service that we supposedly paid for was vaguely explained and the cost for the service was never mentioned during the payment process. How is this 100% satisfaction guarantee when there are so many flaws in your system? Yes we may have been satisfied during the initial process, but didn’t realize how much information was not being shared with us.  I am afraid if we would have not called with questions, we would have never found out how much information was not released to us. Please help us understand without telling us the same thing over and over again that does not answer the questions we are asking.

 

In regards to the filter how do I know that the one provided to me is electrostatic and what does that mean? I don’t have any paper work stating the type of filter nor is it stated on the box of filters provided to us. Where are you getting your information? This is the first I am hearing that they need to offer financing as well that was not listed as criteria from Markus and I’m not sure why that should affect my pricing.

I have also inquired to a few more companies for quotes so I am waiting on that to pass along as well. In addition from the first call I made to Whipple I requested a detailed line by line item break down of the charges we incurred for the Whipple service and Air Conditioner installed.  After speaking to Markus today my husband informed me that Markus would be providing the invoice to us.  Why are we having such difficulty with a simple request of a detailed invoice? Why is it when we get a quote that you ask us to do and you come back with discrepancies that were not initially mentioned when you asked us to request quotes. All of this back and forth could have been avoided if we were just provided a detailed invoice. Then a copy could have been provided to other companies for quotes that would be comparable in price to Whipple’s.   We are in the process of getting a more apples to apples quotes to compare to your cost that we paid, but in the meantime we would greatly appreciate it if you could provide us a line by line item price invoice. If you cannot provide that to us we will need to take steps towards removing the unit from out home entirely and a refund issued.

 

Thank you,

Jeff and Brittany Z*****

**********

**********

 


 

Jeff at the *** Number is available to talk anytime, and Brittany at the 801 number is available anytime between 12:30-1:30 or after 4.

 

 

Whipple Service Champions

*********@whippleplumbing.com

Whipple Logo 2014

| O | 801.355.4433 Ext 102 |   963 W Folsom Ave.  |  SLC, UT 84104

 

7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I tried to replace the hose bib on the outside of my house and unscrewed it from the main line. I couldn't get to it myself right away because I had to go to work. I called Whipple out because it had a good rating from the BBB so I trusted it. The only problem is that when the guy called me up he told me he would waive the 69 dollar service call and the price would be $450. I told him that was too expensive and then he said the best he could do was $370. The price of the parts were not displayed on the bill because if they did they would show that the parts he replaced were only $40 bucks. I don't understand how they can charge someone 942.86 and hour and he was only there for 35 minutes. Plus he broke a part of my foundation on my house and then he had the audacity to tell me that I need to get that fixed before the winter. What am I paying for? I don't get it.

Desired Settlement: Pay for services that are quality work

Business Response:

Thank you for alerting us to our clients concern.  Our Service Manager went out to Mr. C*****'s home. They were able reach a resolution that our client was satisfied with. This resolution included:

1. Refunding $170 off of the invoice price

2. Making adjustments to Frost Free Faucet that was installed 

3. Repairing damaged concrete outside of wall and in the crawl space  

7/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is Jared W****** and I am filing a complaint against Whipple Plumbing. Our kitchen sink would not drain, and my wife heard a radio advertisement from Whipple. They claimed to unclog one drain for a flat fee of $49. We had been without our kitchen sink for several days, so we were very excited to have the problem fixed at a good price. The plumber from Whipple took a look and said that since our pipes were “old” and had “sludge in them,” the drain unclog would not cost $49 but would instead be $350, over seven times more than the advertised price. At that point they kind had us “over a barrel,” because if we sent them away before they did any work, we would still have to pay the $49, and still not be able to use our kitchen sink. Accordingly my wife and I agreed to the $350, but they said if we agreed to sign up for their “Preferred Plan,” which cost $19.95 per month, they would knock the price down to $265. We could pay the Preferred Plan fees for 6 months and then cancel if we chose. So they knocked the outrageous price of seven times their advertised price down $85 if we would pay them $119.70 over the next six months - great for them and worse for us – but again, we were in an untenable situation. In the process of cleaning the kitchen drain, they told us that the kitchen would not drain until the main drain was fixed, and the water jets to clean the main line would be $1,000. The plumber assured us that Whipple would apply the $265 to the $1,000 main drain fee, in essence making that charge for the main line $735. He also said that Whipple had a couple of companies that financed these kinds of repairs and that we would only have to pay $18 per month for the first year. The problem was they could not complete the work that day. So overnight we could not use our kitchen or bathroom sinks, shower, or flush the toilet. The next morning when the technicians came to clean the main line, the plumber told us that not only would Whipple not honor the $1,000 price quoted the day before, the full price would be $1,358. Even if the plumber got it wrong, and the company does not apply the $265 to the $1,000, the charge would be $1,265. I don’t know where the additional $93 came from, and there was no explanation. They demanded a check for $358, and then two more post-dated checks for $500 each. I am thoroughly disgusted by one lie after another from Whipple Plumbing. Their advertising is deceptive – it does not say that they will unclog a drain for $49 unless you live in a home that was built before the year 2000, and then it will be $350. The oral contract that the plumber made with us to charge only $1,000 was not honored. The promise that we could get financing did not pan out. The expectation that the repairs would be finished the first day they came was disregarded, causing a lot of inconvenience and discomfort to my family. They expect us to pay $1,358 plus another $119.70 for their “Preferred Plan” for a service that we have since learned costs $500 from other plumbers. As if all of that wasn’t enough, they left an enormous mess of sewage that went into many areas of our basement, including a carpeted guest bedroom. The mess was so extensive that we had to call our home owner’s insurance company to send professionals to clean it up. That cost us another $500 (our deductible). Public beware: Whipple Plumbing is a predatory company, preying on the misfortune and vulnerability of their customers. I don’t think that they even see their customers as human beings – they see only a revenue source. This is by far the most violated we have ever felt doing business with a local business.

Desired Settlement: We want this company to honor the oral contact the plumber made to us for $1,000, which means we want them to take off $358 from the total bill. We also want them to release us from the “Preferred Plan” will cost us another $120.

Business Response: In response to the complaint from Jared W******:

On 06/06/2015 Charie W****** called into Whipple Service Champions stating that she had a clogged drain in her kitchen sink. We scheduled her for a drain technician to come out unclog the drain on 06/08/2015.  The technician diagnosed the issue and provided the customer with not only the diagnosis, but also the solution to their problem. He also enrolled them in Whipple Service Champions Diamond Club Program which entitles the customer to a free drain clean with a snake. However, the issue was much bigger than what a standard auger snake can handle. The technician explained to Mrs. W****** that he will need to perform a Mini Jet on the kitchen drain to unclog it completely but that there is a possibility that they problem possibly exists in their main line drain. He advised the customer that the price for the Mini Jet would cost the customer $265.05 with their $35 off coupon as well as their 5% discount he was giving them. The technician also scheduled the customer for a free camera inspection on the main line for the following day. The technician also found there was a clog in the main line that would need to be jetted out. He advised them that the permanent solution would be to re-pipe the main line. He advised the customer that if they decided to go with the re-pipe solution that all money paid would be applied to the permanent solution. Our senior technician went out to their home on 06/09/2015 to do the camera inspection and jet out the main line. He advised the customer that the charge for all of the work that was done on 06/08/2015 and the work to be done on 06/09/2015 would be a total of $1358. The customer informed the senior technician that they could not afford that, to which the technician offered them a possible financing option. The customer agreed to try and finance the amount of $1358. When the customer could not qualify for financing, the technician offered to accept post dated checks. The customer wrote out a total of three checks, one for $358 and two for $500 each. The customer signed the straight forward pricing invoice authorizing the technicians to perform the work. With the technician accepting the post dated checks, the customer had all of the work completed before payment was remitted. Client signed our Satisfied form stating Yes, I am 100% Satisfied with the comment I appreciated finding a way to work it out.  The customer then put a stop payment on the check for the amount of $358. 
The customer was provided a temporary fix and a permanent solution to their drain issues. They opted to go with the temporary fix. They were given the up front pricing prior to the work being performed and signed the invoice authorizing the technician to do the work. If they did not  agree with the pricing, they did have the option to turn the technician away and find another company to do the work for them.
The Client Care Manager has attempted several times to reach out to the client in an attempt to resolve the matter in a timely fashion. However, the client has not answered nor have they returned any phone calls. We would still like to speak with the client as we would like to work this out to where both the client and Whipple Service Champions are satisfied.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:My wife and I are rejecting the business response from Whipple on Complaint ********.  Per your instructions,

 
The response from Whipple is disappointing.  Yes, it’s true we could have spent the day trying to get another plumber, but it very likely would have taken days to do that.  In fact, it took Whipple a few days to come after our initial contact.  We had already been without kitchen sinks for many days, and because Whipple could not complete the work on the day they first came, we spent the night with no sinks (kitchen or bathroom), no shower or bath, and no possibility of flushing any toilets.  So when they came the next morning and said “agree to $1,358 or we’re out of here,” we signed that agreement to get the work done.  The company had us over a barrel, and they knew it and took advantage of our situation.  
The fact is, they promised to fix everything for $1,000 on 6/8.  On the morning of 6/9, the figure had gone up by $358 with no explanation.  That’s not to mention the fact that their advertised price to clear a drain was $49, and when they arrived and looked at the pipes, that figure was multiplied by seven because we had “old pipes” which had “sludge” in them.  Granted, I am not a plumber, but isn’t that the definition of a clogged drain?
I mentioned in the complaint that Whipple left an enormous mess in our basement – residue of raw sewage on the cement floor around the drain, and sewer water soaked into the carpet of a nearby bedroom.  Our homeowner’s insurance agent was called, and we got a clean-up company to come clean and sanitize our basement on 6/10, including ripping up carpet and tearing out affected wall paneling.  Whipple’s response mentions nothing about this, not even an apology.
It’s true that we have stopped payment on the $358 check, as well as the second $500 check.  To date, we have paid Whipple Plumbing $661 – the first post-dated check for $500 and another for $161.  We are willing to pay the remaining $339, because we were promised that the entire bill would be $1,000.
As far as Whipple trying to contact us, I don’t know what they’re talking about.  I have not received any calls, and after speaking with my wife, she tells me she hasn’t either.
 
 
Would you please send me a quick response to this email and let me know that our response to Whipple’s response has been uploaded onto your website and sent to the business?
 
Thanks,
Jared W******
Senior Financial Reporting Accountant
Hospital Cashier and Accounts Payable Supervisor
***** ******** PH
***** ********   FX
 

Sincerely,

Jared W******

Business Response:

Complaint: ********

We will accept $1,000 as payment in full on this account. We will consider the account satisfied and closed upon receipt of the remaining $339.

In response to the sewer back up we offer our sincere apology.  Had we been afforded the opportunity to address this issue immediately  we would have moved swiftly to get this matter resolved. The 1st knowledge we had of this mess  was the mention of it in the initial complaint  filed with the BBB on  6/17/2015.

   

 

4/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were charged over $250 for a plumbing diagnostic.They said it was a $3100 shower pan. We got a second bid for $725 and a no charge diagnostic. They charged for a diagnostic when no one else we called does. They where completely unethical in their bid for services. Come to find out they commission only plumbers. We will go to the media. They are fleecing Utah!!!!!

Desired Settlement: I want my $250 back. They are on commission only and unethical.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/20) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Client Satisfaction Coordinator Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@whippleplumbing.com Our client called on September 18, 2014 to schedule an appointment. She stated that there was a leak in the wall coming from outside bathroom wall. She stated that the wall and floor in the office were getting wet. Our Client Care Rep. scheduled an appointment for the morning of September 19, 2014. The CCR quoted a $69.50 dispatch fee which is the standard dispatch fee charged on all of the calls our technicians run. Our clients are made aware of this charge at the time they schedule their appointment. Our plumber arrived on sight and preformed an extensive leak search to determine the exact origin of the leak. He spent two hours trouble shooting and identifying the water problem. In the process he called in Flood Pros to come out with their infrared lights to aid in the diagnostic process. This was done at no additional cost to our client. Our plumber identified that the source of the leak was a faulty shower pan. Our charge for this service is $185 which is the price set forth on our Straight Forward Pricing Invoice for a difficult/trouble shooting diagnosis. All of our prices are taken from a National Pricing Guide that is set up for our area. The estimate given to our clients for the repair included installing new shower pan, demolition, and reinstalling necessary tile and door.

9/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/26/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Whipple installed a furnace and a/c, but the units do not perform up to guaranteed standards. Whipple has failed to solve the problems. We purchased a new furnace and a/c unit in March, 2014. The first time we turned on the a/c unit (likely near the end of May, 2014), it worked for two days before it broke. Whipple came out and said it needed a new compressor. It took them almost a week to replace the compressor, but they did it. A few weeks later the unit stopped working. A tech came out and said it was a fuse. When they installed the units, they guaranteed in writing that the a/c unit would keep our home at 72 degrees in 100 degree weather. As temperatures went above 80 degrees, the unit could not keep our home below 77 degrees. We had a tech come out, and he said the installation was bad and there was coolant leaking into the a/c unit. He made several repairs, and said it should work fine. It didn't change anything. That same tech came out again (*****, the service manager), and he looked at a few more things and said he didn't think the unit was big enough to cool our house. I asked about the furnace (or the blower), because it didn't seem to be blowing air out of the vents. He said that may be a problem but he wanted to replace the a/c unit first. So we scheduled an appointment for them to come replace the unit. That appointment is supposed to be tomorrow, but when I called to confirm, they said it was another service call to take a look at the unit. We have had 4 service calls now over the course of several months, and the unit does not cool our house. I don't know if they are purposefully putting this off, but they are refusing to honor their warranty. When we first started having problems, they were really good at coming out right away. Now, it takes longer and longer to get them out, and every time we have to call to find out what is going on they start the whole process over. They need to fix this problem.

Desired Settlement: I want one of two things: (1) replace BOTH the furnace (blower) AND a/c unit. I do not believe either is appropriate for our house. (2) refund our money and take back our equipment. The salesman convinced us to spend much more than we wanted to. He said that with the configuration of our house (windows facing west) we would need a bigger unit to keep things cool. He said that with the units they were selling us, we would not only be able to keep our house at 72 in 100 degree weather, but we would see a reduction in our power bills. Our power bills have gone up significantly, because it runs constantly to try and keep our house below 80 degrees. I paid much more than I wanted to. So either they replace the units (both units) with something that will work in our house and keep our power bills down, or they need to take their equipment and give us a refund. We owe about $10,300 to greensky credit. Not only do I want this done, but I want it done now. We have been living in crazy heat this summer, paying exorbitant power bills, and their response time is getting worse and worse. This needs to be fixed right away.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/14) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *****/Client Satisfaction Coordinator Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@whippleplumbing.com Our Install/Service Manager has worked closely with our clients to trouble shoot and identify the cause of the issues they have been experiencing with the A/C system. During his visit on July 30, 2014 it was determined that the condenser is the correct size. The issue was that the house needed a bigger return drop and one more return. On July 31, 2014 our installers installed New Return Air Drop and cut in New Return 8x24 Base Board Return Air. We commit to continue working with our client to make sure that their system is working effectively and that the Warranties and Guarantees included with their system are met.

5/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had work done from them before and signed up for their diamond club ,then when they come out to do the work say their policy has changed when they had just done the exact same thing in August 2013. We have the a/c tune up coming and they put us off til June and when I called today April 8,2014 surprise they have ac tune ups available this week. The technician called the manager ***** and he says their policy has changed well ***** is the one who came out before just to auger our main line for preventative maintenance . Last year we had a appt. scheduled they never called or anything and I had taken the day off. So I contacted them and they tried to make it right but I lost a days wages. So we give them another chance and now what it boils down to is paying 300 dollars for a furnace an ac tune up

Desired Settlement: Would like the work done and done right or request refund of our so called diamond membership

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/04/22) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *****/Client Care Coordinator Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@whippleplumbing.com We have been in contact with our client and been able to resolve their concerns. Since they were dissatisfied with the Diamond Club membership and we were unable to preform the drain clean in the manner they requested due to safety regulations that went into effect for our company January 1, 2014. We have agreed to Cancel their club membership and give them a Refund for the 1 year Diamond Club membership fee they have paid in advance. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/04/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They had promised to refund one amount then say they messed up and now it's less I would like the amount refunded that we had agreed upon. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2014/05/02) */ I had spoken with ***** on the matter we agreed on a refund of ******* then I get a email saying she messed up and it would be ****** this is not what we agreed on she states the part they did on our furnace was more than she previously said and I cannot verify this since the technician did not specify on the invoice just that I paid a total of ******** I would like the whole amount of ******* which is what we had agreed. Sent from ****** Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/05/06) */ Our client was charged ******* for a One Year Pre Paid Diamond Club Membership and they were refunded ******* On Sept 13,2013 our technician went out to our clients home to preform a tune up on their furnace. At this time they purchased a One Year Pre Paid Diamond Club Membership. We were running a promotion that when you pay for a years membership in full you receive 2 months Free. You pay only ******* instead of the usual ******** A blower capacitor for the furance was also replaced at this visit. The issue was not that the price of the part was more than we thought it was that membership was less due to the 2 months Free Promotion.

4/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******* technician charged $779.15 for approximately 2 hours of work to repair leaking pipe & may have unnecessarily replaced a turnoff valve. I'm a 74-year-old widow on fixed Social Security & disability income. Because of my age & physical health I pay Whipple monthly to be on a list to have help as fast as possible when faced with emergencies like water spraying out of a pipe. Whipple had someone here within 3-4 hours from my call, he said he had just come from doing a job in Park City. The morning of 12/5/13, I discovered a fairly large puddle of frozen water on my front porch. Upon opening my utility closet door containing the water heater and pipe, I found water spraying from a hole in a horizontal section of copper pipe. The pipe had apparently frozen & sprung a leak (the utility closet door opens outside to my front porch). Not remembering where the turn-off valve was I called my son-in-law for help & then immediately contacted Whipple. My son-in-law responded quickly & turned off the turnoff valve on the pipe which stopped the leak. When Whipple technician ***** ****** responded, he seemed more anxious to sell me a new water heater than to fix my current problem. He indicated that I really needed a new water heater (there was no obvious indication to me that I needed a new one) & I'd get a better deal on the repair if I'd get them both done at the same time. He quoted me a price for a new water heater & how it could be part of the price for my repair. I felt very conflicted & worried about whether I was making a big mistake. But I was stunned at the quoted cost for both a new water heater & the repair. As I knew the repair obviously had to be done, & I knew my finances didn't stretch to the bigger cost, I chose the necessary repair rather than replacing the water heater. Even though the almost $800 quote he gave seemed amazingly high for the small hole, it was spewing a lot of water. I don't recall ***** mentioning a new turn-off valve at any time. I actually thought I was looking at a bill more in the $200-$300 range when I called Whipple. ***** replaced the piping, put a new turnoff valve in a totally different place (didn't mention it to me upon completion) & insulated the replaced piping & existing copper piping with foam insulation. His description of work on the invoice: "replace section of copper piping on water heater & hose bibb & insulate copper piping." He charged me $779.15. There was no itemization of parts or labor on the invoice. ***** worked about 2 hours. I have now found that Whipple technicians work on commission. Perhaps that is the underlying story to my saga. I protest the amount of the bill & that there was no itemization of parts or labor, simply a total of $779.15. I don't believe replacing the turnoff valve was necessary-there was nothing wrong with it when my son-in-law turned it off. ***** gave me no explanation about why it needed to be replaced. I am willing to pay a fair price for the repair, but believe I was overcharged. I wasn't 100% satisfied (I checked neither box on the form provided with the invoice), but stated simply, "I appreciate being able to have someone come (unexpectedly) to fix my calamity. Thank you for your help." It seems that this is the existing scenario: Whipple originally installed the piping that subsequently froze & leaked, & they failed to insulate it at that time (despite the fact that the other pipe in the utility closet was insulated & that the utility closet opens to the outside). & perhaps some unnecessary repairs &/or work was done & certainly there was some questionable sales pitch involved. Indeed, since Whipple failed to insulate the pipe it previously installed, perhaps I should be saying "I don't understand why I should have to pay for the repair". Instead let's juggle this down to something that includes some integrity. My son-in-law, ****** ******* mailed a letter directly to Whipple on 1/8/14 but no response has been received as of 2/28/14. I would appreciate your attention to this matter by written correspondencesooner rather than later.

Desired Settlement: Between $500-600 refund for unnecessary valve replacement, shoddy original work, falsifying invoice, failing to itemize invoice and questionnable sales practices.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/14) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *****/Client Care Coordinator Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@whippleplumbing.com We had attempted to contact our client to follow up on the letter we received form her son-in-law dated January 8, 2014. We were unable to reach her. She is a valued client, we appreciate her business and her satisfaction is very important to us. On the morning of December 5, 2013 we responded to our client immediately. Our technician was dispatched to her home within 30 minutes of the time she made her service request. On his arrival our technician evaluated the situation and gave our client options for resolving her issue, one option included replacing water heater with a more energy efficient model. Our client made the decision to go with the leaky pipe repair. She was given a written description of the work to be done and an excat price to complete work. She signed the work order giving authorization for our technician to proceed with the work at the Straight Forward Price of $779.15. The turnoff valve replacement was necessary due to the fact that the valve was not holding when the water line was tested. Our technician did not falsify invoice nor fail to itemize invoice. We do not chargae using the time and materials method of pricing. Our pricing is done on a standard straight forward pricing system, prepared by a national service based on national standard flat rate labor, parts and warranty. We find our clients appreciate knowing the exact price up front rather than being surprised at the end with unexpected charges. Our client states that Whipple originally installed the piping that subsequesntly froze and leaked, she says they failed to insulate pipe at that time. We have reviewed our records. The job history for our client indicates that we have done many jobs at her home, however none of the work we have preformed included installing any water piping or repair to the water heater. If she will provide us with a copy of the paper work showing we installed this pipe we will gladly stand behind our work. We provided our client with the quality service we promise at a fair up front price. As a gesture of good faith we will refund our client *****

3/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Simple fix turns into a whole home nightmare I had Whipple out to do a tune up and asked the Plumber how much it would cost to replace a fixture on the Bath Tub. He damaged and cracked my tub as well as cut into the drain pipe causing a hole to leak in to my ceiling. It caused damage and another slick sales man came over to look at it. He was a nice guy saying ever 10 seconds we will make sure you your taking care of. I showed him around my house and asked what other services they offer. He told me that the could do my drywall and bathrooms as well as a tank less water heater. *** said they had a special on a Tankless and it was 4,200 installed and with taxes. I thought that was a good deal. When they came out they didn't even read the instruction and kept making mistakes Drilling holes in the wrong place, not installing it with Manufacturers specifications. By calling and glancing at the manual I saw and asked them about the many mistakes. And they kept saying sorry I have all of this on video and recordings. This is sad that they put my families lives at risk on Christmas. The fumes pumped into my house and had to call gas company and they told me that they installed it wrong.

Desired Settlement: They offered a 10% off. That is a slap in the face. Showed no care about my families safety. I ask for 20% and a 10 year Service plan. Because they installers did in my eyes damaging things to. The VP said that he would not replace the Tank less with a new one. I think my request is not unreasonable. Since they have damage my home several ways. I want a new tankless one that is not wrenched on or damage to be installed correctly. I think they should sell it at cost and wave the install.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/31) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *****/Client Care Coordinator Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@whippleplumbing.com We at Whipple take our clients satisfaction very seriously. We feel we have taken every oppoutunity to resolve our clients concerns. Many members of our company have been working with Mr. ***** to resolve his issues. Our client scheduled an appointment for 11/26/2013 to have his complimentary Club Drain Clean preformed. He reported that his Bath Tub was draining slowly. Our technician cleared the drain and also did a tub repair that was requested by our client. IN the process of installing the tub insert with stopper errors were made. The tub was cracked and drain pipe was damaged causing some water damage to the sheetrock. When this issue was brought to our attention on 12/17/13 we scheduled our plumber *** to go out and access the damage. He assured our client that Whipple would be more than happy to correct issue and that we would take complete responsibility for replacing the tub and repairing damage to drain pipe and sheet rock. The repair to the waste and overflow on the bath tub was completed on 12/19/13. While our technician *** was at the home our client scheduled an appointment to have him come back and install a tankless water heater. *** and ***** the plumbers who were on site to install the water heater are Master Plumbers and have a combined total of over 50 years experience in the plumbing industry. They have installed numerous tankless water heaters. There are many variables in installing these units and each install is unique. Our client did not give the technicians an opportunity to complete the install. He ordered them out of his home before they were finished connecting the flue. He stated he could not deal with them anymore. The technicians cautioned Mr. ***** before they left that the water heater was unsafe to run and should not be used. He called into the office and made us aware of his concerns regarding the install. Our General Manager Markus went out to meet with him. He inspected the equipment and found no damage to the water heater unit and that the install just needed to be completed. He set up an appointment to have the installation finished the following day and again cautioned the client not to use the water heater because it was not finished and would be unsafe. Our client cancelead this appointment and refused to let teachnicians come and finish. Because Mr. ***** disregarded the warning not to use water heater until the flue was finished it is possible that particles of combustion were emitted into his home. It is our understanding that Questar Gas came out and found unit unsafe to run and red tagged it. Our Client is requesting a 20% discount on a unit that has already been discounted 40% off of the book price due to our year end promotion and he is also asking we replace the water heater with a new unit. WE are unwilling to do this due to the fact that there is nothing wrong with the water heater. It is in perfect running condition. The issue is that we have never been allowed to complete the install. We will stand by our offer to refund him an additional 10% off of the $4,200 that he paid for his tanikless water heater install. We will finish original water heater install to code, replace damaged bath tub and repair water damagead sheet rock. A ten year parts and labor Warranty is included with the tankless water heater. We find it curious that our client is requesting a 10 year service plan when he has taken every opportunity to state that the service he has received is unsatisfactory. We will not be offering him a complimentary Club Membership (Service Plan). Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I had a membership that was expiring and I wanted to have all of the services preventive service that were include preformed. There was no Clogged drain but they said that they will check it with a camera. So I had them out. I asked the Tech to look at my the Drain fixture. I asked him if he could replace it with out causing any damage to the tub. Because that was the only working. Shower in the home. Are you shore you have the right tools to remove it and replace it with out causing any problems. He said he could. I asked him again because there is nothing wrong with my shower fixture other than to me it wasn't appealing to look at. Which I could live with till I get the rest of my house down. He reassured me and gave me a very reasonable price 91 dollars. I was like great raving to my wife that what a good deal I feel that was parts and labor 91 dollars. He remover the panel and did some checking. Then we heard hammering and him hit his head. He was having trouble and he put a crack in the tub. I asked him about it and he said that the fixture and plumbers puddy will cover it. As he was removing the broken pieces he used a tool that I own that moves side to side very fast about 1/8 of an inch. I asked him wont you cut the treads of the pipe. He reasured me that it would not cut the treads or the pipe that it was being guide only on the metal. He replaced the fixture and it didn't cover the crack and when he was treading it in to the pipe it looked loose he told me that the puddy would make sure that it didn't leak.he want to seal the tub with silicon on the part he crack and damaged. as well as put the side panel back on. I'm glad I didn't because over the next several week I saw puddy seeping out from the loose tightened drain as well as I starting seeing small thing and bubble on the ceiling and walls. So I watched the as they were far from the tub I thought to keep an eye on it. I then when up stairs and reach my hand down and felt a big leak. I immediately called Whipple upset letting them know what happened on 12/17/13 They Sent out a Master Plumber *** who was very nice at the time and assured us that he would take good car of me and make us happy. He made several calls and said he need to have a drain guy come over and not to send the same Tech who messed up. I showed him the crack and the leak and he said he would give us a new bath tub to replace it due to the damage that was done. We were very please with how professional this guy sound and it truly felt like he was going to take care of us. So I asked him what other thing Whipple does because I want to Tile both showers and fix up the master bath room. Over the next little while I took him around and he gave me some rough quotes about 8 k to fix to bathroom and up stairs sheet rock. He later gave me some pitch about there pricing and used a tankless hot water heater as an example of there straight forward pricing. I told him that I looked in to getting one before but it was to much. he told me that the had a year end deal on the top of the line tankless for 4200 out the door taxes,labor, and install. That seemed reasonable to me so I told him that I would like to get one. He told me that he would work up an whole home estimate and bring it by on the install on the 19th 12/19/2013 He told me that he would have the drain guy there, the furnace tune up guy there, and get everything take care of in that one day. It sounded great. *** went over the quote with me and then told me that he had been authorized to give me a free show tile job in place of a new tub if I could live with the cracked tub and there repair. I said I would talk it over with my wife. The Furnace guy and the two Plummer *** and ***** with over 50 years experience in the plumbing industry. Went to work the Furnace guy was very good working and check and cleaning. Best Tune up I ever had. But he was working with the two other plumber and you could see that they were getting irritated with *** the furnace guy. With out being direct they were making joking comments on how thorough he was asking him if he does it this way on every job. They were trying to make him hurry up and cut corners because they felt he was in the way. This was starting to upset me because I want the best work done not a cut rate job and the way they were treating him and pressuring him to due that was not good. The plummers took out the water heater and then for no reason took out the back up water pan. The Tech accidentally hit the gas valve and gas poured in the home for 5 seconds. Due to the air vent not being sealed off Fumes from the gas cause my wife to get light head, and have a headache and not feel well on the second floor. The Tech kept making mistakes and I called whiple to let them know how unhappy I was. I have phone records and much more to back what I am saying. My wife and I may not have over 50 years Plumbing experience, we do have over 50 years reading experience. If the tech's would have read the instructions they would have avoid most of there mistakes. I hired a professional company not a mom and pop. Techs were never order out. They were already out side placing the cap on the excust pipe. which I was told that it would be safe to use sense the excoust was vented out and the intake had pleanty of air. That was what I was told by ***. Why would I knowing put my family in harms way. I talk to the CFO of Whipple and was told that his Tech's don't lie. Well I didn't order a tankless water heater to kill my family. If I was interested in harming my family I wouldn't have cared or noticed all of the mistakes that were made I would have just gone to work. I comuncated with Whipple a ton of times letting them know of the mistakes. The bottom line is this company is looking out to cover there own hide and couldn't careless on the fact that there Techs could have killed us. I also have the inspectors report that states this. I want to revise my request to include a life time membership and a no charge tankless water heater. In exchange for copies of all audio and video evdance that will prove all of Whipple's negligence.

11/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was way overcharged for replacement of tub faucet cartrige. $448.00 for one hour of labor with a crecesnt wrench and a pair of channel locks. I scheduled an appt to have Whipple replace my tub faucet cartrige.I was told there was a $69.95 service call charge and any additional parts. I already had the cartriges so there should be no parts charge. I drained the lines and then assisted the plummer ****** *****) in replacing the cartriges. This work took on hour to complete. At no time did he attempt to tell me that this would not be covered under the service call charge. When finished he presented me with a bill for $498.00. When I complained he offered a coupon and took $50 off. I had guests at my house by this time and felt like this was a management issue and not an employee issue. I called the office and was told all the managers had gone home. I left a message and was told a manager would call me first thing Monday morning. I waited until 09:00 Monday morning and had not received a call. I called 2 more times and left messages for a manager to call me. I finally talked to a manager named ****** at 12:45 on my 4th attempt. ****** told me should would look into this and see what she could do to make an adjustment. I have not heard back from her yet.

Desired Settlement: $448.00 per hour for basic labor rate is rediculous. According to the charge sheet, which I was not provided until after the job was completed the charge for this should be $91.00. This is the reasonable charge for this service. I have since put a stop payment on the check and will negotiate with Whipple management when they conact me in the future.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/14) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *****/Client Care Coordinator Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@whippleplumbing.com Thank You for bringing our clients concern to our attention. Our Client Care Manager has been in contact with Mr. **** and together they were able to resolve his pricing dispute. Whipple will send Mr **** a revised invoice and he will send in a new check in the amount of ***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2013/10/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The agreement was that the charge would be $91.00 and not add the service call as I provided the parts for this. I did not agree to pay ******** Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/10/31) */ After receiving our clients last response in our office on 10/23/13 indicating that he only agreed to pay **** our client care manager called him to discuss the the issue. He stated at this time that no way did he agree to pay the ****** dispatch fee on top of the *** repair fee. Our manager pointed out that all of our phone calls are recorded and we could verify the conversation. He said she should go back and listen to call because no way did he agree to pay the ****** dispatch fee. We went back and listened to said phone call in which our manager clearly stated we will honor the *** that you felt you should have been charged plus the ****** dispatch fee that was quoted to our client at time appointment was scheduled for a total of ******** She asked if this price was agreeable and he stated "yes" that it was. They agreed that she would send back voided check and a new invoice reflecting the new charge of *** plus the ****** dispatch fee.Client was to send back a new check as form of payment. After verifying the phone conversation our client care manager ****** called Mr **** to give him the opportunity to listen to the phone call. She has been unable to reach him and has left several messages requesting that he return her call. To this point we have not heard back from him. So far has paid nothing for the service preformed 10/4/2013.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

142 Customer Reviews on A. K. & R. Whipple Plumbing, Heating, & A/C Inc.
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart