Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Country Hills Eye Center, Inc.

Phone: (801) 399-1149 Fax: (801) 394-4481 View Additional Phone Numbers 875 Country Hills Dr, Ogden, UT 84403 http://www.checdocs.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Country Hills Eye Center, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Country Hills Eye Center, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Country Hills Eye Center, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 12, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1987 Business started locally: 01/01/1987 Business incorporated 11/10/1997 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DOPL - Professional Licensing
160 E 300 S 4th Fl, Salt Lake City UT 84111
www.dopl.utah.gov
Phone Number: (801) 530-6628

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Susanne Standing, Adminstrator Dr. David Brodstein, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Susanne Standing, Adminstrator
Business Category

Physicians & Surgeons - Ophthalmology Physicians - Specialists

Products & Services

This company offers Comprehensive Eye Care Center


Additional Locations

  • 875 Country Hills Dr

    Ogden, UT 84403 +888-EYE-CNTR (888) 393-2687 (801) 399-1149

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told on the phone that my daughter's exam would be covered by our insurance, but am now being billed the entire amount of the visit. I called Country Hills Eye Center on May 3rd, 2013 to find out how much an exam for my 8-yr-old daughter would cost. My family does not have vision insurance. I was scheduling an exam for 2 reasons - 1) My daughter has had a habit of rocking her head from side to side, almost constantly, which she has done for her entire life. My pediatrician has recommended that we have her checked by an opthalmologist, because he said some people display similar behavior because of a problem with their eyes. 2) My daughter has complained lately of feeling dizzy and nauseated when she reads for long periods of time. I explained both of those reasons to the woman I talked to on the phone, and told her I just wanted to get an idea what a visit would cost us since we do not have vision insurance. She then asked for my health insurance information, and I told her that we have Blue Cross/Blue Shield Federal Basic Option. She then said that because of the nature of the problems my daughter was experiencing, the visit would be billed as a medical visit, not an eye exam, so it would be covered by our insurance. She said all we would be responsible for was the $35 copay we are required for seeing a specialist. So, I went ahead and made the appointment. I even called my insurance company after speaking to her, just to be sure. The insurance company told me that as long as it was billed as a medical exam, not a vision exam, it would be covered. Now, I have received a statement from my insurance company, saying that I owe $185 to the provider (the full cost of the visit) because the service is not covered by our insurance. I called Country Hills only to be informed that, since the doctor didn't end up finding any problem with my daughter's eyes, it was just billed as a routine eye exam, and they have no way to bill it any other way. So they are saying I am responsible for this bill, even though I was clearly told by their employee that it would be covered by my insurance. She made no mention of the condition that a medical problem had to be found or diagnosed in order for the visit to be covered by our medical insurance. She definitively reassured me that it would be billed medically and would thus be covered by our medical insurance. I would not have made the appointment otherwise. The reason I was calling around in the first place was because I could not afford to pay a high medical bill, and I would not have made the appointment had I not been told my only obligation would be a $35 copay. I explained all this to the billing department for Country Hills, and the only answer I received was that she is sorry the lady on the phone told me that, but the bill is still my responsibility. I explained that I see that as very poor business practice, that they would rather have a customer take the fall for their own employee giving out misinformation, rather than shouldering the responsibility themselves, but her response was, "well, it's still your responsibility, and we're not just going to eat this bill." Unfortunately, I did not write down the names of the women I spoke with; however, since my husband and I have both called trying to resolve the problem, the billing staff at Country Hills should be familiar with the circumstances. My daugther's name is **** *****, and her visit was on May 6, 2013. As a side note, when I was leaving the office and paying my $35 copay, they also tried to charge me a $60 refraction fee. I informed the woman at the desk that they did not do a refraction. She responded that they must have because they circled it on the bill. I told her I was certain they did not do it. After some argument, I finally convinced her to go back and ask if they did it. When she came back she said I was right, they hadn't done a refraction, so she changed my bill accordingly. Since this was resolved, I wouldn't even bring it up, except that considering the current circumstances, it just adds to my feeling of being taken advantage of.

Desired Settlement: The only settlement I am seeking is for the business to either bill the visit as a medical exam, as they told me it would be initially, so that it can be paid by my medical insurance, or to drop the remaining charges after the $35 I have already paid.

Business Response: Consumer's Final Response /* (-5, 8, 2013/06/11) */ The business did re-bill my insurance for a medical visit, and I have received the statement from my insurance showing that the bill is paid and I do not owe anything. I am satisfied with this settlement. Thank you.

12/17/2012 Billing/Collection Issues