This business is not BBB accredited.

DME Health Services

Additional Locations

Phone: (801) 785-5231 View Additional Phone Numbers 952 S Main St, Pleasant Grove, UT 84062 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.dmehealthservices.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for DME Health Services include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for DME Health Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on DME Health Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 26, 2001 Business started: 06/01/1996 Business started locally: 06/01/1996 Business incorporated 05/30/1996 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DOPL - Professional Licensing
160 E 300 S 4th Fl, Salt Lake City UT 84111
http://www.dopl.utah.gov
Phone Number: (801) 530-6628

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Kartchner, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Kartchner, President
Business Category

Pharmacies Health & Medical - General Hospital & Medical Equipment & Supplies

Alternate Business Names
D.M.E. Systems Consulting, Inc.
Products & Services

This company provides oxygen for patient use.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    952 S Main St

    Pleasant Grove, UT 84062 (801) 785-5231 (888) 785-5231

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 1109

    Pleasant Grove, UT 84062

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/3/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a message from DME Health services March 10, 2016 and March 14, 2016 asking me to contact them regarding delivery of an oxygen system. These messages were the first exposure I had to DME Health Services. I did not return the calls or engage in contact with DME Health Services in any way until May 5th. In April, 2016, I received a bill for a portable oxygen system ($25.00) and an oxygen tank ($10.00). Please note that the bill states the service date was March 10th, 2016. However, I have a recorded voicemail on March 14th, 2016, from Marylyn at DME, asking me to call them back to schedule a time for delivery. Clearly they were aware that I had not received any items. Thinking that this was a simple mix-up on their part, I called DME on May 5th. . I originally spoke with Marylyn, who after hearing my issue transferred me to Robin in billing. I proceeded to explain to Robin that I have never approved of or received a delivery of any kind from DME, and asked for these charges to be removed. He said he would check with his boss and get back to me. Later that same day Robin called back. He said he spoke with his boss and his boss said he would not remove the charges because they believed they had delivered the items. Once again I explained that I have not received items or services of any kind from DME and that prior to today, the only communication that was exchanged between DME and myself, were the two messages left on my phone by DME (again, I’d like to point out that these messages were not returned). Robin said he would “take care of it.” I had assumed that was the end of the issue. A few days later on May 7th, I received yet another bill from DME. This bill was charging me the $35.00 from the previous statement along with an additional $25.00 charge for a second portable oxygen system. The grand total of the bill was now $60.00. Immediately upon receiving this bill I called DME and Spoke with Jeff. I explained my frustration with continuing to receive bills for items that I have not received. Jeff was very unpleasant. He asked my name and when I responded, he said in a degrading tone, “Oh, you’re the BYU student. We gave you the oxygen.” I’m not sure if he is confusing me with someone else, but once again, I firmly explained that I have never received any items from them and asked for a written statement saying that I do not owe them any money. Jeff said, “I’ll take care of it even though I know you used the oxygen.” This was very infuriating as I have never received any items from DME. I have not even approved delivery of such items. I tried to explain this to Jeff because it is important to me that they know I am genuinely telling them the truth, but he refused to listen, cutting me off mid sentence. I am more then happy to go through any and every detail with DME, such as when they believe these items were delivered, who delivered them, why they don’t have a signed delivery form, etc. to show that besides these three phone calls, I have not had contact with them and I do not have any of their products, but they have not been interested in addresses these details. Jeff concluded that “He’d take care of it.” Once again, I thought the issue was resolved. A few days later I receive yet another invoice, printed and post marked May 10th, 2016 (after our last conversation), billing me $25.00 for a portable oxygen system. This has got to stop! I am fed up with being harassed by DME Health Services. DME has proven to be a very dishonest and disrespectful company.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that these fraudulent charges be removed. I would like written documentation from DME stating that I do not owe them money.

1/15/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Doctor requested that DME Health Services deliver a Oxygen Concentrator to my house for me to try out for a couple of weeks. She wanted to see if my oxygen levels would improve while I was sleeping. After a couple of weeks, I called into the DME Health Services office and spoke to a lady that identified herself as the office manager. I told her I could not afford this machine. She responded by telling me that I would not be billed for this machine but they would bill the doctor. The doctor would then bill my insurance. She assured me that I would not have to pay anything for the use of this machine.I told the lady that I did not think she was correct and that I had a very high deductible so my insurance would not pay for the use of the concentrator.This lady assured me that if they did not pay, I would still not be charged. I agreed to continue the trial as long as it would not cost me anything. A month or so went by and I received a bill for $350 for one month use of the concentrator. I called into the office and spoke with the accounts receivable person. I related all of this information to him and repeated that I did not want the machine if it was going to cost me anything.He told me that he would take care of it.When I didn't hear from them for another month, I called again and left a message for the AR person. No return call so I called again a couple of days later.He told me they had had some problems with the lady I had spoken with and indicated she was no longer there. He finally agreed to send someone to get the machine.Today I received another bill for $350 plus an additional $350.I did not want the machine. I did not sign any payment agreement. I was never told the cost of the machine. I was told my "out of pocket costs would be $0.00.Please help. These guys are crooked and do not deserve an a+ rating with your company.

Desired Settlement: I would like all charges removed from my account and a statement saying I do not owe them anything.

Business Response: First and foremost is please let Mr. ********* know I have adjusted off the balance on his account so it now shows  a zero balance owing to our company. 

There were misunderstandings as to how this order from his doctor was to be handled.  He initially had an overnight oximetry (oxygen test), without any oxygen machine being used.  In this initial case we bill his insurance, and there would be no out of pocket to him, whether the insurance paid or not.  Once we add an oxygen machine whehter for a test or ongoing use, we normally bill the patient's insurance and there would be a co-insurance amount due by the patient.  In his case we found out that he does have a very high deductible, and everything we billed was applied toward this deductible amount. The person posting the Explanation of Benefits received from the insurance company, did not know about any arrangements made with Mr. *********, and therefore crossed over the deductible amount to the patient, which is our normal process.  Once I discussed the issue with all persons involved I have adjusted all amounts showing owed by Mr. ********* off, so his balance now with our company is zero.  This I did today Wednesday January 14. 2015.

Please let Mr. ********* know we are not a crooked company.  There were many misunderstandings, First, we normally bill the patient's insurance company when an oxygen concentrator is provided and the patient would have a co-pay amount, we can make exceptions as to how much the patient may owe, which is what I have done in this case.  Second, we could never bill the doctor for anything we provide, they have no way to bill for the items we provide to our patients.   Third,   I am not sure whom he spoke with that indicated we have had problems with the lady he spoke with and that she was no longer with our company.  We have not had problems with anyone he had spoken with and all staff members are still with our company, and have been with our company for many years.

I apologize to Mr. *********, and again want him to know, I have adjusted all amounts which had showed owing to our company so that he does have a zero balance, and will not receive any future billings.  There was an amount showing billed to his insurance Aetna, which I have also written off.  If he receives any communication, in the future,  from Aetna as to billing from our company, after this date January 14, 2015,  it has been written off and no future billings will occur to Mr. *********'s insurance or himself. 

Sincerely,
**** *********
Manager

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Thank you for your timely response and I apologize for the "crooked company" comment. This has just been a frustrating experience for me.

Sincerely,

***** *********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on DME Health Services
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)