BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Utah

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Amen Paving

Phone: (801) 502-0845

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service9
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints9

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
10/16/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: Asphalt is thin and gravel showing through. Seems appear to be crumbling.
Asphalt laid on Nov 7, 2011. On Jan. XX XXXX contacted company they requested me e-mail pictures of damaged driveway.spoke with ****** onREDACT32 2011REDACT said he didn't get e-mail but to call back in April for solution and schedule repair of asphalt. Called back in April said he would repair in May. Called in June said he would look at damage. Nothing happened. Called in July he did come to house and viewed the damage said he would fix within a week. He has never came back to repair. Contract has a 2 yr guarantee and paid company in full on completion $9500.00. This company came to our house and solicited our business we did not seek them out. We were promised 3-4 inches of asphalt and they were to grade before laying. This was laid very thin, all the seems appear to be deteriorating and they will not honor their guarantee and fix these problems.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@yahoo.com

3-4 inches is not they agreed thickness of Job it was 2 inches
The job has light raveling. Job just needs a sealer applied. A sealer is noel maintenance no different that a oil/ change for a car that warranty is for broken areas and this is not the issue I have seen the job. Warranty is only good if you maintain the asphalt get is sealed.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Amen did come back on Sept. 27th and patch the areas we had problems with. They did seal the driveway also. We understood they would come back later that same day or the following day to pick up the letter. It was prepared the same day the repairs were completed.
This is not a new complaint. We are satisfied with the warranty work completed on September 27, 2012.
Thank you,
****** ******

Business' Final Response
We did the repairs for this man about 2 weeks ago before I even heard of this complaint we even sealed a area at no charge his wife was to send us a letter of recommendation


If this is a new complaint I don't know why he did not call me
We have been in contact he knows we made things right

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

08/31/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: The driveway they did for me is falling apart in less than 2 years.
They lied about doing a job in the neighborhood and having extra material, he lied about how thick the driveway would be. There are 3 large areas that are warped crumbling and falling apart. I had to apply a heavy seal coat 5 months after the paving because it was already crumbling so bad. When I called to have him come and look at it for repairs he said it was out of warranty and his equipment would be "tied up in payson on jobs till the end of the season", and I should find someone else to do the repairs. 2 days later I saw their whole rig driving north on I 15 in SLC. I have since looked at other reviews on DEX online and almost everyone says the same thing. They lie about having extra material, they lie about the thickness of the driveway they will install, They even tried to charge me a higher price than what was quoted. He has absolutely no interest in customer service after they leave. TOTAL RIPOFFS.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@yahoo.com

Sir I spoke with you for 30 minutes your warranty is up my father sealed the driveway last year for free. He also advised you to coate it this spring with a heavier sealer , you didn't .I do not appreciate the false allegations Im sure you have your original contact the warranty is up however you must maintain your driveway , no different than buying a car and not servicing it, you must maintain your driveway . I offered a number to a reputable seal coater and you rejected my number and cursed at me . I'm not replacing your driveway period . Your warranty is up and you need to maintain your driveway just like anyone who paves in the world.

04/18/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: The asphault was cold and didn't smooth out leaving a rough course finish. My neighbor's block wall was knocked over with their equipment.
Amen Paving phone number of XXX XXX XXXX listed on their contract has been disconnected. I am un able to contact them to rebuild my neighbor's fence or repair the very rough uneven finish of the asphault. They also dumped dirt from my lot into another neighor's lot without permission.

Business' Initial Response
I'm responding to case XXXXXXXX they are claiming the neighbors fence was damaged by our crew and material was dumped by our crew on a neighbors property neither of these claims are true or can be proven

They have a 1 year warranty on there job we stand behind that. Our contact number was often called by bill collectors for the person who owned number prior to us so we changed number. New numbers are always posted and updated on our website.

OUR WEB ADDRESS AMENPAVING.com is on all cards always we are always

A investigator from Nevada also came out and did not fine me and Said as well that how can they claim it was u with out proof

Please resolve this as there is still a valid warranty and no actual proof on there damage claims thanks

XXX-XXX-XXXX ****** ****** owner

Business' Final Response
I have contacted mr ****** he now has my number he is claiming fence was damaged at 350 dollars he had pictures of fence that I will have him email me I just don't think it was us and I'm not paying until its proven could have been anyone

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

12/24/2013Problems with Product / Service
09/05/2014Problems with Product / Service
08/05/2013Problems with Product / Service
08/01/2014Problems with Product / Service
10/12/2012Problems with Product / Service
10/12/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Paving Contractors, Asphalt

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.