Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Questar Gas Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (801) 324-5111 Fax: (801) 324-3880 View Additional Phone Numbers 180 E 100 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84139 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.questar.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Questar Gas Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Questar Gas Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Questar Gas Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1984 Business started: 05/07/1935 in UT Business started locally: 05/07/1935 Business incorporated 05/07/1935 in UT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Alan K. Allred, President Mr. R Don Cash, Chairman & CEO Mr. David M Curtis, Vice President Mr. Mike Favero, Credit/Collections Manager C C Holbrook, Secretary Mr. Craig Wagstaff, Manager Customer Relation
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. R Don Cash, Chairman & CEO
Business Category

Natural Gas Companies

Alternate Business Names
Questar Corporation WexPro
Additional Information

The BBB urges consumers to contact the Questar Gas customer service phone number in order to resolve issues or obtain answers to questions associated with what has been called the "green sticker" program before filing a complaint with this BBB. Many concerns may be alleviated by accessing information provided by Questar about the program.

The BBB advises consumers that adjustments, or inspections should be conducted by competent licensed professionals in order to ensure that gas furnaces and water heaters meet the new "green sticker" standards. It is further advised that under most circumstances, the most cost effective means for accomplishing this inspection, adjustment or alteration would be during a routine annual maintenance rather than as a part of a service call resulting from a high pressure sales tactic by unscrupulous contractors or service people. Adjustments will be needed, but doing so immediately is not required.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Questar Gas Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 102 W Forest St

    Brigham City, UT 84302

  • 115 E 100 S

    Roosevelt, UT 84066

  • 167 W Center St

    Heber City, UT 84032

  • 180 E 100 S

    Salt Lake City, UT 84139 (800) 323-5517 (801) 324-5555 (801) 324-5955 (801) 324-3316 (801) 324-5313 (801) 324-3480 (801) 324-3902 (801) 373-7400 (801) 752-7751 (435) 673-7514 (801) 829-3456 (801) 544-3404 (435) 783-4332 (435) 649-0670 (435) 336-5968 (435) 336-2351 (435) 722-2521 (435) 637-0590 (435) 937-3662 (435) 381-2683 (801) 257-3696 (801) 621-3262 (801) 324-5111

  • 260 E 2015 N

    Cedar City, UT 84720

  • 2940 Washington Blvd

    Ogden, UT 84401

  • 322 W 1100 N

    Price, UT 84501

  • 45 E 200 N

    Logan, UT 84321 (435) 752-7751

  • 79 N Carbon Ave

    Price, UT 84501

  • PO Box 45360

    Salt Lake City, UT 84145

  • PO Box 45841

    Salt Lake City, UT 84139

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/26/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/16/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/27/2015 Delivery Issues
7/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
7/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Having an issue getting Questar to correct a bill from a failure to shut off my gas in 2012. I contacted Questar in Aug of 2012 when I was moving and told them to cut off my gas. I got a cut off date of Aug 16 or 19. I did not get gas service reconnected at my new location due to a bulk billing program my landlord provided. When I moved from that location in 2013, we called to get gas turned on at the third location. We discovered that we had an outstanding bill for over $67.00 (rounded to 70 for clarity). After fighting with them, my husband decided to pay the past due balance and a deposit for the bill to get our service. When I called customer service to get a refund (as my husband paid the bill without my knowledge), they said that there was NO shut off order and that they can't even find calls from our phone numbers. Additionally, they said that there was an outstanding balance from back in May 2012. I have faxed a copy of my old lease, I have email a copy of my bank's bill pay statements showing that we paid the amounts requested, and still they tell me "the bill stands." I was told the only other option is to get my previous landlord to pay the bill, and when they called him to ask, he said no. He's kind of spiteful so it did not surprise me. Let's consider for a moment that I had in fact NOT turned off my gas at my old location **** N **** *** 3 *********** Let's assume that it slipped my mind or something. Even then, I would still be owed a large refund exceeding $70 because of my over payment to my account. The problem is, I did turn it off, I did get a confirmation by calling 2 days before the scheduled cut off, and I was even told that they would be out in the morning or likely by noon (I was still moving that day and wanted to know if there was hot water for cleaning up). I have been fighting online with a rep named *** - Questar Gas - ****************, (or at least how she signs her emails to me), and she has demanded more and more information including personal banking details that I am NOT comfortable giving a faceless person on the end of an email. I just need to find a mutual resolution to this issue. I didn't want to take it to the BBB, but if that's what it takes... Finally, I am VERY worried that since I did go to the BBB, that they will cut off my gas at my current location, perhaps out of spite. I don't know if they will or not, but it does worry me. I am currently paid in full and I ask that no one turns off my gas without authorization from myself or my husband only. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: Consider the documents that have been emailed and faxed in. Consider the payments that have been made in 2012 and the payments we made in Sept 2013. Then, issue me a check (not a credit to my account) for the difference. I did cut off my gas and I'm not happy this is happening.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/09) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ***** / **************** Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **********@Questar.com Attached is a copy of the letter and information mailed to this customer. Any questions, please call me at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2013/10/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They say they got no calls. They say the phone system doesn't show me calling it. I remember making the call. They asked if I would need service at my new location and I declined. I do not know how the cannot find my call. I may have called from the work break room, but I would not have access to that number to verify. I left a forwarding address and everything so the could have gotten a hold of me. My bank bill pay screen says "PAID." My landlord and I were feuding so he would not have notified me of a termination notice. Basically what I'm hearing is "too bad, so sad." I already got that tired line from the first rep I contacted. If I wanted to hear that again, I would not have contacted the BBB.

8/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Attempted to open a gas account in my name and they claim that I owe them money. First they told me I owed 630.00, now they say I owe 960.00. Attempted to open a gas account in my name and they claim that I owe them money. First they told me I owed 630.00, now they say I owe 960.00. This is the first I have heard of this "debt" to them and I have repeatedly called and emailed requesting written information around this so we can get it resolved and they fail to do so. I am very concerned since I have a 4 year old daughter and we have neither heat nor hot water. They are now requiring a 960.00 payment telling me that they will not turn my gas on until I pay it. I have not received anything written from them and am willing to discuss alternatives to get my gas turned on, however they have continued to refuse to provide me detailed written information and are unwilling to discuss any alternate option. I am perplexed as to how this amount could have been allowed to grow so high without the company seeing a problem. They are unwilling to discuss any settlement terms.

Desired Settlement: I am happy to discuss a settlement based on a verifiable amount, not an arbitrary amount they have produced.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/06) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **********@Questar.com Attached is a copy of the letter and information I mailed to Mr. ******. Please call me if you have any questions.

7/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Questar Gas Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart