BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Utah

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/2011

All My Sons Moving & Storage Of Salt Lake City, Inc.

Phone: (801) 364-9100Fax: (801) 270-0366

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues3
Problems with Product / Service8
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints12

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (12)BBB Closure Definitions
09/27/2012Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Delivery Complaint Issue

Complaint: 09/01/12 THE MOVERS DID NOT MOVE MY ITEMS AS I INSTUCTED PAID 275.00 I THEN HAD TO HIRE ANOTHER COMPANY.ALL MY SONS MOVER (****) HOUNDIND ME FOR MORE$
AS THE MOVERS DID NT DO AS I INSTRUCTED THEN **** BEGAN AN VERBAL AGUEMENT FOR MORE MORE MONEY HE WAS VERY DEMANDING AND DID NT DO AS I INSTRUCTED THEY MOVED MY WASHER AND DRYER AS I JUST BOUGHT MY H/E SET THE COST WAS 1398.63 AS MOVER PUT DENTS AND SCRACHS IN MY DRYER.I WAS VERY DISPLZED W/ THIS COMPANY AND ****S CONDUCT. I JUST WANT MY MONEY BACK

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******, President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@allmysons.com

All My Sons is willing to allow the customer to keep the $100 already charged back on her credit card she used for a deposit. If she does not accept this as a final resolution, we will need to provide the contract paperwork to the credit card issuer and reverse the credit card chargeback.

We already discounted the customer's move 2 times by reducing the rate from $109/hr to $99/hr and reduced the travel time from 1 hour to 1/2 hour. She also did not pay the total balance. In total, we have discounted the customer move total of $441.45 by $166.45 to $275. She charged back an additional $100 on her credit card and has only paid a net of $175.

She was instructed that the moving rate was by the hour at time of sale, in the confirmation call the day before the move (when she complained and we reduced the rate to $99/hr) and on the day of the move when our movers told her up front that we would not be able to move everything for the amount she was willing to pay.

We went to look at the dryer (and the washer which she claims we also damaged last week, but did not put in the bbb complaint). We offered to take the appliances for repair, but she refused.

She has also charged back the $100 deposit on her credit card, so we only have $175 of the $441.45 total charges.

Customer can use the balance of $266.45 owed to us to repair the appliances as needed.

If the customer prefers, she can pay the $266.45 remaining balance to us and then submit an damage claim for $.60 per lb per article per the contract and receive an estimate total claim for damages for 300 lbs $180.

04/10/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: All My Sons Moving & Storage verbally contracted to a prices to move a few items 300 yards. They breached that verbal agreement.
One March 17th, 2012 All My Sons Moving & Storage was contracted to move my husband and my belongs from our one bedroom apartment to our new town home 300 yards away. The previous week, as well as the day before the scheduled move date, we spoke with two different people at the company, A ******, and a ******, who assured us that the price would not be more than $362.00 total. They were informed the number of pieces that we wanted moved and assured us it wouldn't take longer than three hours. The movers were to show up at 9AM and start the job. They showed up at 8:30 am and did not actually begin until 9AM but had us sign the contract that they started at 8:30. We didn't think much of that considering there weren't that many items nor was the destination that far. They moved at a slower pace but once again we didn't think too much of it because we had a verbal agreement/contract. Once all of our belongs were in their moving truck we led them to the new destination 300 yards away literally a 1 minute drive. Once we arrived they want us to sign the contract and pay, we didn't think anything of it until i looked at the contract and somehow within that two minute drive the price had jumped from the agreed upon $362 to an astounding $635. I was shocked and said i wasn't going to sign that or pay that amount. That i would gladly pay the agreed $362. The movers then called their boss who said they need to pay the new amount. My husband got on the phone to discuss the previous arrangement that was made with the individuals we had spoke with the previous day/week. ******, the "boss" was extremely rude and condescending to us on the phone. He was not willing to work with us at all. We even said we would pay for an extra hour making but not 3 extra hours. He proceed to yell at us on the phone and said we were out of our minds for thinking it would be done in that amount of time. He then hung up the phone on us and called his workers back and told them to close up the truck and bring it back to the warehouse, with all of our belongings in it. I was baffled because i didn't know that it worked that way. We then called the cities police department because i was considering this to be a theft if they left the premises with our belongings. When the police officer arrived he noted that in the contract it does say that if we refuse payment that they can seize possession until a payment is received. We weighed our pros and cons and once again reached out to ****** to see if there was something we could do. ******, rudely jumped the price up to another $100 saying we delayed them even more by calling the police department. We then decided it was just in our best interest to pay the full $635 because our belongings were worth more than that. ****** wasn't willing to budge to so to keep it from jumping another $100 we had to help the movers un wrap the rest of our items was they moved them into the house. Unfortunately there was not a signed contract to the $362 but there were multiple verbally contract made with ******, ****** and a gal my husband spoke with. So this is in essence a breach of contract. While moving the items in the movers banged up the walls and well as some of our belongings. We have reached out to the company for restitution on the items damaged and unfortunately they are not very helpful, and only somewhat responsive. We sent pictures of the damage and are hoping for this to at least be made right because we were scammed with the actual move. However, due to our experiences it does not look promising. I would not recommended this company to anyone.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@allmysons.com
We worked this out with ******'s husband, ***** ******. Please see the following e-mails (read from the bottom to see sequence):

*****,

Thank you for your reasonable response. I will refund the $164. I appreciate your willingness to work this out.

****** ******
All My Sons Moving & Storage
XXX-XXX-XXXX

From: ***** ****** mailto:*****@gmail.com
Sent: Tuesday, March 20, 2012 7:48 PM
To: ****** ******
Subject: RE: Damage done during move

******,
Let me begin by thanking you for getting back to me in such a timely manner.
Regarding the damages, I can assure you that they were not preexisting. Once my wife and I knew we were going with a moving company, we paid particular attention and thoroughly inspected our possessions before the move.
Regarding the amount charged above our expectations, I feel that even had our amount gone up another $109 because of extra time needed, (which we were told MIGHT happen) we'd be looking at $471. We ended up being charged $635, and the difference there would end up being $164. I know we're only talking about a $27 difference, but that is an amount I feel is fair and that I would feel comfortable with.
My wife works for KSL and knows the AE you speak with about advertising on their website, and that AE has said nothing but good things about you. You seem like a fair man, and I apologize that this unfortunate situation went down the way it did.
I want to again thank you for getting back to me so quickly ******, and it shows a lot of your character as a business owner.
Regards,
Ty ******
On Mar 20, 2012 7:22 PM, "****** ******" <*****@allmysons.com> wrote:
*****,

Thank you for your feedback.

After speaking with you earlier and reviewing this with my employees, I would like to offer a $137 refund.

It appears that we were misaligned with price expectations from the beginning and should have given you more of an indication that the job would be longer than originally anticipated. I did find out from the crew that it was a 1-bedroom apartment, not 2. I apologize for the earlier report that you had 2 bedrooms.

I really do not want to penalize the crew for damages. You had indicated that they had worked hard and that your issue was primarily with the office staff. The crew made a very strong argument to me that the damages were pre-existing.

I came up with the $137 by taking half of the amount we charged above the expectation of $362. Please let me know if you agree to that and I will refund the credit card that was charged.

I am sorry that moving day was not a good experience for you and your wife and hope that this will alleviate some of the pain.

Sincerely,

****** ******, Owner
All My Sons Moving & Storage
XXX-XXX-XXXX



From: ***** ****** mailto:*****@gmail.com
Sent: Tuesday, March 20, 2012 10:42 AM
To: *****@allmysons.com
Subject: Damage done during move

******,

Attached you will find the pictures you asked for showing the damage done during the move.

I do appreciate you following up with me, on my wife and I's concerns about the move as well.

Thank you,
******

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/06/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Customer Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: They continue to call after they have been ask to stop.

They are the most annoying bunch of people, I recieved over ten calls and 8 emails in one day, they have been told to stop calling but continue to do so and refuse to stop, their number has been blocked but somehow they are using different numbers to get through.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******, President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@allmysons.com

Our sincere apologies to our prospective customer Mr. ******. A computer malfunction that day caused some of the prospective customer records to not correctly show a status of having been called already and kept showing up in our list of individuals to be called to respond to their internet request for a moving quote. This problem is being addressed by our information technology support group.

We have multiple outbound telephone numbers, which is the reason if one number was blocked but another was not. Please know that we were not trying to circumvent Mr. ******' desires.

Mr. ****** will not be called again unless a new request for information comes to us which may be from one of our multiple marketing partners like vanlines.com, 123 Movers, and Movers.com.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
From the first line this is all lies, I am not a prospective customer and never will be, everytime I recieved calls or emails I ask these people to stop contacting me because I was not interested in what they had to offer, but I continued to recieve the calls and emails from the same people, so everything that ****** said is nothing but a lie. The calls was coming from the same consistant number, again another lie, these guys are the worst business there is out there, all of the posted responses are all negative about how they conduct their business, they say that these people take peoples furniture and belongs and pack them in their trucks and when they get to there destination, all my sons moving holds them as ransom, demanding more money and extra fees and if people won't pay they take them to some storage unit and make people pay the extra storage fees and for double moves, they also are very neglegent in the moves and with breaking things and will not pay for them, this company is the worst and needs to be run out of business on a rail, people kept begging me not to use them and to run in the oppisite direction from them, also online people hate this company with a passion, they beg for people to read the reviews and to check with the BBB for all the negative complaints against them.

There is no way that I will accept this guys very unsincere and fake explanation of what happenend, I have the proof to prove him a liar. I also what to know about an employee that was very rude and unprofessional, and how someone has such poor and unethical behavior can keep a job, this guy did not even address this in the complaint and I would like to know why not, are they hiding behind the fact that they are completly unethical and unprofessional? This business is horrible and needs to be forced to shut its doors. I would like to sue these guys and make them pay me for all my time that they have wasted, I hate this business and hope they go out of business very soon.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

10/03/2014Delivery Issues
09/17/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Moving and Storage Companies, Relocation Service, Moving & Storage Company, Movers - Office, Shipping Masters, Storage Units - Household & Commercial

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.