Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Urban provides models and actors to clients for the purpose of advertising and marketing.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.




Additional Locations

  • 718 N 300 W

    Salt Lake City, UT 84103 (801) 539-0800

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went into Urban Talent after responding to an ad about female models wanted for local print work. I talked to a rep from Urban Talent that confirmed the opportunity sounding straight forward. When I went in, I met with 2 different women. The first women who claimed she had worked for the company for 10+ years alongside the other woman who was a part owner with her X Husband. The rep was inappropriate in asking personal things about myself along with unprofessional disclosing information about one of the owners colorful histories. The rep pulled up photos on the Internet of the woman's x husbands mugshots, talked about things the x husband had done to this woman. This rep also told me about her sister and her sisters struggle with mental illness and her frustration and irritation with it. The approach of this woman was strange and unprofessional. When it came to talking about any "real work" she continually came back to this "contract" for modeling. The contract totaled $2700.00. I told the rep I was a single mom. I had just started working at a new job that pd $10/hr and I wasn't interested in modeling classes or a contract. I didn't come in with that in mind. I looked into the ad as a potential opportunity for supplemental income. This rep was a BULLY. She made passive aggressive comments about me and my future, how was I really going to make it ? I told her I needed to think about things, I didn't feel comfortable signing a contract that day. She said " If you EVER want to be considered to do work for this Company you have to sign a Contract today. I wanted to run out of the building. Thank God I didn't have my card information that day for them to drain my account. I started getting so many phone calls from them I eventually had to block all their numbers. I spoke to "Ryan" on a couple of ocassions, another person appearing to be helpful and understanding but absolutely not. This business is crooked and unbelievably dishonest. I have never written a review or reported anything in my life, after dealing with this business I didn't feel like I had any other choice. If I could help anyone avoid their scam I felt I should. I have now been sent to collections with a balance of $2700.00. Most unbelievable, dishonest dealings I have ever had with anyone.

Desired Settlement: Dissolve the false contract and charges. I ABSOLUTELY NEVER EVER AGREED TO ANYTHING!!!!

Business Response: I would love to investigate this complaint and respond but I have no record of an Amanda C**** in any of my systems. Is it possible she signed under a different name, perhaps a maiden or married name? The only Amanda that I have that could possibly be her is Amanda G***. Please let me know so I can look into this matter.

2/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/8/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Signed a contract and forced to pay an substantial amount of money. Money Scam I signed with Urban talent not to long ago, 2 weeks at max. I was not really aware of what everything about my contract was about. I spoke with models in the industry, bigger ones then Urban talent. They told me I unfortunately fell for a scam. Modeling agencies should not be collecting money, they don't need the money. I understand I have to invest in the classes, but $1000 for head shots. I have to do it through their photographer? Reading online the regulations and laws Agencies should abide my concerns my contract and what I have been told. I would like to be released from this contract immediately. Reading everyone's complaints makes me wish I would have read them before I signed with this company. It is true they make you feel wanted and overly use compliments to make you think maybe I can be a model, I can do this. Did not hesitated on the contract, due to my background with self esteem issues, I feel they used that to their advantage. I understand I am an adult and no one forced me to make this decision. I would just like nothing to do with this company after hearing how an agency really should me. Which is don't ask money from your client until your client is making money, then take it from my paycheck. I have not gone to classes nor got head shots, so I do not understand the need to take this money from me if they have not provided me with any services yet. I'm not looking to go to another agency, I just simply wish to be removed from my contract.I'm not going to say terrible things about this agency, just would like nothing apart of. If I have to pay what is on my contract every month, that is horrible but I don't want to fight about this, just wish to be civil. Let someone go if they have no interest in working and being happy with this company.

Desired Settlement: I am simply just asking to be let out of my contract. They already have 206 of my money, that is fine keep it.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: **** *** CEO
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ***@urbantalent.com
Ms ***** was good enough to contact us and we have worked this out directly with her.

Thanks,
**** ***

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept the response. We have worked together peacefully and came to a mutual agreement.

11/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I want to cancel the contract I signed under duress. I had no time to think about or read the contract. This agency is a scam. I thought I was going for a job interview as I have never worked as a model. As soon as I got there, I was showered with thousands of compliments and presented with a contract to sign. I am 18 and have never signed a contract before. I did not have any time to read the contract or even to think about it. The whole time I was there, I was being assured how easy it is to sign it and that it will be piece of cake to pay for it. When I called back 3 hours later and I told them I changed my mind, they said NO WAY. That I had to settle the contract by paying Urban Talent Management Inc $800. For what? They did not provide any services, and I did not receive anything from them. I want hem to cancel this contract. After I did some research on the internet, I found out that they do this a lot and take advantage of 18-teen year old girls who do not know what they are signing. This is a terrible way to do business and get money from students who are already suffering from lack of funds.

Desired Settlement: I want Urban Talent Management Inc to cancel the contract I signed. I feel like I was pressured into it, sweet talked the whole time, showered with compliments so that I would not have any doubt about signing it. This company is a scam!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/17) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX I have communicated directly with ***** and we have worked this out. **** ***

10/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Urban Talent aka Style Inc. collected 1st two payments, and then sent me to collections. Not cooperative in helping resolve this issue Met with ****** ******** in Feb 2014 I was told I am very marketable and would do well. She pulled out the contract, and said basically here is what it says for each page. We can't get you booked for any shoots if we don't have this contract. I asked ****** again if she was blowing smoke up my rear or am I really marketable, and again she assured me that I am very marketable and would well. The owner, **** ****** walked by at the moment and saw that I have an athletic build and marketable face and asked me if I knew how to ski/snowboard and what level I was. I told her that I was very good on a snowboard and decent on a pair of skis. She told me they are doing a shoot for The Canyons ski resort the coming weekend and and she needed to find some models by the end of the following evening. I voiced some interest. She expressed that I would be good for that shoot because I am bigger and athletic and have a great smile and face. I was told that I would first need to have the contracts signed and to get a head shot to her with my contact info by noon the following day. I signed the contracts put together a headshot for her and sent her my contact info. Never heard anything back. I started receiving emails for "talent" for different shoots and movies. The workshops started the following month. I went to the first workshop and they talked about getting a head shot. They have a guy they contract and it's $90 or something for him to take a couple head shots and get them back to you. I didn't have money for they, so I sent them an email asking if I do my own head shots what is the criteria for that headshot. Gave it a week, never heard anything back from them. Sent another email requesting information about criteria for a headshot as I was going to take care of it myself. Never heard anything back. Have never heard anything from them since that first workshop. They processed my credit card in March and April leaving me with a balance of $1500. At the end of May I started receiving phone calls from a collections agency on behalf of Style Inc. I also received a letter in the mail from them stating that my balance with Style Inc. was $1500 plus 24% interest and $500 fee for the collections agency fee. I have never to this day received a call or tried to be contacted from Urban Talent Management or Style Inc. that my credit card payment did not go through. I never received any information from my credit card company that there was an issue. I called the credit card company and asked them about activity on this card and if there had been any issues with payments to Style Inc. I was informed that there had not been any issues and that my account was perfectly fine and there shouldn't be any reason that a payment would not go through. This card had more than enough to cover the balance $1800. This card was specifically set aside for this purpose. They processed 2 payments so there were no problems with the money. I called Urban Talent Management and spoke with ***** ****** and he told me that they tried contacting me several times about this issue. I have never received a phone call, text message, or email from them about this or anything else for that matter regarding my account. After I told him that and asked him to help me figure this out he hung up on me. To this very day, 3 months after being sent to collections, I still receive emails from Urban Talent Management listing talent openings. I can't help but feel that this is a scam. From the get go it is about getting $1800 from everyone that they can. Everyone is marketable, and when I questioned them, they were very reassuring and came back to getting the contract signed now, payment set-up now, because that is the only way they can do anything with my "marketable" ability.

Desired Settlement: I can't help but feel that this is a scam. Therefore, I want the contract between Urban Talent Management and Style Inc. and ****** ********* terminated, and for the fees to the collections agency dropped and the money that has been charged to my credit card refunded.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/27) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***@urbantalent.com ****** entered into a $1750 contract with Style Inc. for training and photography services. He agreed to pay $150 a month until the total was paid in full (see attached). As you can see on the attached contract he initialed paragraph 3 which clearly states there are no refunds or cancellations. He paid two payments of $150 and he did attend apportion of the workshop. When his third payment of $150 declined he was contacted by one of my staff, ****** with no response. ******* claims that he was not contacted until he received a call from the collections agency, however, ***** assures me that ****** was contacted multiple times with no reply. When ****** did finally return ******** call he was belligerent and used profanity so ***** ended the call. At that point, as agreed upon in the contract, Style set the unpaid balance to a collections agency. ****** agreed in the contract to be sent to collections if he defaulted on his payments. We simply honored a contract he chose to sign. Style has done nothing wrong here. The only party in breech of contract is ******. As far as a resolution, If ****** is willing to call and speak with ***** in a respectful way, I am willing to work something out with him that will be a win/win for both parties. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 12, 2014/10/20) */ Spoke with the business and complaint has been resolved.

10/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Request to cancel contract not allowed I saw an ad for Urban Talent online and was interested in how easy they made it sound. I wrote them an email telling them how I wanted to pursue modeling. A day later they called my cell phone and told me how they would be to represent me and how I had all the qualities for modeling. We set an appointment to meet a few days later as I was currently living 6 hours away and in the process of moving. The day of the meeting I was very anxious and felt rushed and overwhelmed. I went into my interview however, feeling confident because I had recently done some modeling work in New York and had some professional portfolio pictures taken which I brought with me. I was introduced to a woman named ******. She looked at my portfolio and seemed impressed. She complimented me and then called the owner and a few other girls in to look at them. After all the compliments and praise, she then told me that I would need to do a photo shoot with their photographer to make a portfolio with them. I was shocked when she told me this would cost $1000 which I did not have. ****** started to go over the contract and details very quickly and I felt rushed and confused. She went through the contract but didn't even read it to me, just brushed over the contents and told me where to initial and sign. I felt pressured to sign it even though I was confused. She didn't give me time to read the contract myself. I felt rushed and overwhelmed and couldn't even think of the right questions to ask. Feeling pressured, I went against my instincts and did as she instructed, initialing and signing where she told me too without really understanding what I was signing. She then told me about a class I would need to take that would teach me how to model better and it was going to cost even more. I told her that I was in the process of moving and didn't even have a job yet. ****** told me not to worry and told me about how fast I would make this money back with them. She told me that I would get jobs very quickly. ****** said that she could set me up to make payments that I could easily pay each month. Looking back, I felt like she knew how confused I was and used that to her advantage to close the deal. After signing the contract I hadn't really read, I was feeling uneasy. My mom and I called ****** the next day to tell her that I had changed my mind. As a courtesy, I felt that I needed to contact them right away before there was any time, resources or materials expended on my behalf by Urban Talent. We explained that I was having a financial hardship at that time and I did not feel like I could spend that much money on something that didn't feel right to me. She immediately told me that I could not get out of the contract and that I owed them money. After the initial call, ****** called me several times a week telling me, and leaving messages, about how if I didn't pay, they would turn me over to a collection agency. I followed up my telephone request six days later with a registered letter again explaining my situation and requesting that the contract be canceled. They acknowledged receiving my letter by text, but continued to bully me. At one point ****** even proposed that instead of paying the $2000 they felt I owed them, that they would settle for $500 and let me go. Not only did I not have the money, but I had requested the cancellation of the contract immediately before any time or resources had been expended by them.

Desired Settlement: This harassment has continued for months now. They continue to call and text me about getting their money. They have now sent a collection agency to collect it from me and their bullying and threats are even worse than Urban Talent's. I have tried and tried to make this a win/win situation for myself and Urban Talent, but they seem very intent on taking advantage of my inexperience and confusion, and collecting something for nothing. I feel it's important to let anyone interested in Urban Talent know about the dishonest and confusing practices I experienced with them. I have been advised by an attorney that the conduct of Urban Talent and of the collection agency violated the Federal Debt Collection Practices Act. All I want is for this contract to be canceled and for Urban Talent and their collection agency to leave me alone.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: **** ***
Contact Phone: ************
I've read Ms. ***** complaint. I can't verify ******'s side of the story because she no longer works here, so I can't speak to her experience.

The 3 things that I'm having a hard time with are 1) why did she wait 1 and 1/2 years to make a complaint, 2) she says she's tried to create a win/win, when actually all she's tried to do is get out of a contract 3) calls Urban dishonest when we have done nothing wrong.

Someone that breaches a contract is dishonest, Ms. ***** is the dishonest party here.

Having said all of that, I am sympathetic to her situation. If Ms. ***** is willing to call me or email me, I will work this out for her.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Situation was favorably resolved for both parties. Thank you.

8/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had an interview with Urban in June. The lady who interviewed me, ******* talked fast and it was hard to keep up with what she was saying. After only a few questions she told me they'd be very interested in having me. She than, even faster, began to go over the 2 separate contracts with me. While going over the 1st contract I heard her say that I had 60 days to see if it was a good fit. The 2nd contract for Styles inc was for workshops and a photo shoot, total coast $1750. I told her I was uncomfortable with the amount, I had just got engaged and it would conflict with my other job. She acted as if I was crazy to be considering my other job still. She said I would make it back fast and they even had a job for me already. She left to let me read it and came back almost immediately. I was rushed, confused and I felt I had to make a decision then. I didn't have a chance to read all the contract so I asked *******, I have 60 days right and, knowing exactly what I meant, she said yes. So I signed and was then given a hand book and left. It wasn't till I got home and read thro the hand book that I knew I had made a mistake. There was hidden fees for head shots and a $10 charge to be on their web site. I then looked up the business online and found many complaints. I then read my contract closer and found that the 60 days to get out was 60 days before the year was out. This was not my understanding and I believe ******* was aware of this. I called 1st thing the next day and asked to speak to *******. I told her there had been a misunderstanding and I need out of my contract and she became instantly defensive. I even desperately offered to pay a cancelation fee and was told she would ask the owner and get back to me. When she didn't I called back and was told she was busy but she promised she would call me. Needless to say I never heard from anyone at urban till it was time for me to pay. Now they're threatening to send me to collections tomorrow for payment of services I never received

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want to be let out of my contract and left alone by this company. This agency has misrepresented itself and I want nothing to do with it. I will not pay them anything for services I did not receive and wish to no longer be threatened to be sent to collections by them. If I am sent to collections I will continue to report this agency every where I can till everyone knows not to trust them.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/28) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX We spoke with Ms. ******* today by phone and came to a resolution. She will be coming in tomorrow to sign the appropriate paperwork. I thank her for her cooperation.

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
5/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services I found out about Urban talent through an ad on craigslist. I emailed them and they emailed me back for an interview. When I met with them, the proceeded to tell me how they were excited to work with me and that they have work for me. They filled me up with compliments and then the lady I talked to, who said she was a formr law student, told me how simple and straight forward the contract was. She didn't even give me a second to read it for myself. She immediately started telling me about the contract in her own words. She pretty much just picked out a few key parts of the contract, like the part that I would have to pay over $1700 for classes and headshots. But she made it seem like it would be a breeze to pay that money back through all the bookings I would be getting. I am a poor college student, and I made that clear to the lady I was speaking to. She assured me that I would easily make back the money from bookings that I would get but I told her that I wasn't comfortable with that just incase I didn't get booked for any jobs, because I would have no way to pay them unless I was getting paid from bookings. She told me it would be no problem to make that money back. But after getting a minute to think about the situation, and my research of all the negative reviews online that Urban Talent has on many credible websites, I realized that I can't take that risk of not getting any work and being in debt to this agency because of it. Now that I look back on the interview, It wasn't an interview at all. It was a sales pitch that I had no choice but to listen to and believe because it was being so forcefully shoved down my throat from the moment I walked in the door.They set you up with false hope, tell you how great you are, and that you will do really well. But its all lies to get young girls money from them.I realize this now and I am very very unhappy with how I was treated and pressured into this. DO NOT trust this agency. They are king at telling what you want to hear and not giving you a second to think about what you are doing. Think twice before signing with them. Oh and it wasn't until after I signed that I was given a "talent handbook' that has hidden fees for headshots. $10 for them to upload a photo of me to their website? That makes no sense at all that they would try and charge me for them to simply upload a picture of myself onto their website. I learned long ago that if an agency is legit, they will not ask you to pay a dime for anything. I knew better but I didn't listen to myself. In summary, Urban talent= Scam city.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be released from my contract as I feel I was hastily pressured into signing it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/11) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***@urbantalent.com I spoke the woman in my office that signed ****** and learned that most of ******'s complaint is exaggerated. ****** was never forced to sign any contracts. We did not take away her free will and choice. She is an adult and is certainly capable of making decisions for herself. She knowingly and willingly signed with us. Regarding her claim about bookings, while bookings early in a new model's career are a possibility it typically takes some time to get up and running. We do not promise immediate bookings. Regarding any on-line complaints ****** read, if she chooses to believe "anonymous" postings by people who have dishonored their contracts with us and are now mad at us because we simply asked them to honor their contracts, well that is her choice. That doesn't change the fact that she signed a contract. Contract law does permit termination of a contract because of gossip and hearsay, which is really all that anonymous online complaints are. I'm also not sure why ****** is complaining about the agency not delivering bookings. She signed with us only 6 days ago, so we haven't had the time to fail her or fail to live up to our commitment to her. Also, she did not at anytime contact us to resolve this in person. She simply posted a complaint on the BBB which I feel is unfair to us. She could have at least contacted us directly to resolve this matter. Instead she took the passive-aggressive approached and posted this inflammatory and misleading complaint. ****** is basically making this complaint because she is regretting a decision that she made and is hoping that by complaining, rather than coming to us directly, that she can get out of her contract. Even though I feel that what ****** is doing is dishonest and unfair, and even though we are under no obligation to do so, I am willing to let her out of her contract to show that we are honest and ethical, that we operate an ethical business and that we are willing to work with people. I will let her out of her contract provided that she commit to not say, write, post, or complain either in person or on-line anything negative about Urban Talent Management. Sincerely Final Consumer Response /* (2610, 16, 2014/01/16) */ Final Business Response /* (2600, 15, 2014/01/15) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***@urbantalent.com We made an accounting error. ******'s file was not pulled from the active account queue and a payment was run on Jan 6. She contacted us yesterday to let us know of the error. We promptly refunded her card yesterday Jan 14. Also her file was pulled from the active so this will not happen again. This was not failure to honor our agreement, it was simply a mistake. Since we have processed this refund, we have absolutely been our word and honored our settlement agreement. I would attached a copy of the mistaken charge and subsequent refund, but here is nowhere on this page to attach the document.

1/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: False advertising, Hollow promises, and the neglecting of clientele. Where to begin.... It seems as if it were yesterday that I was walking into the agency, anxious, yet apprehensive about the whole prospect of modeling. I remember coming into the agency, and of course, they tell you how "perfect" you are and how much of a "natural" you are either in the fields of acting and/or modeling. They fill your head with grandiose ideas of fame and success, but fail to mention the money you have to invest into their little "get famous quick" scam till you have already signed the contract. My reason for filing this complaint is because I feel as though I have been scammed, regardless of the contract signed on my part. I was told by a **** ****** that I had the potential of becoming an "international model" after doing an auditioned catwalk and how all I had to do was sign with them, and because it was the summer (May 2012), that there were a plethora of international reps coming in to see who they wanted. I felt extremely pressured into signing the contract, because of course, they are seeking to take you for all you're worth and then some. I remember telling one of the reps that I was unsure about it and that I was going to go home and think about it, but she wanted the money, and coerced me into signing it with the hollow promises of being able to book me in films, commercials, and fashion shows. I understand that this is a modeling agency, but what I don't understand is that if you are truly invested in your clients, you wouldn't lie to them as I felt like I have been and you wouldn't require your clients to fork over money they don't have until they have begun becoming successful with various gigs. You too wouldn't not respond to emails they send weekly, because we are told to do so, and act like it was a mistake because of the busyness. I have called the agency a number of times complaining about this and am told that it must have gotten sent to the wrong person, which I know is a pack of lies. When I first signed with them, I was extremely dedicated, because I had faith that I would land a movie, book a modeling gig, and/or become successful, but as time passed, I became to them a distant memory and forgotten among the dollar signs that obviously encompasses their deceptive purpose. I paid 1750 dollars for classes and workshops, all of which I attended, and a photo session with a ******* ******** The classes were not bad, and I felt as thought I learned quite a bit, but once again, after contacting the agency about auditions and replying to emails, I felt lost amongst the 4 or 5 clients from whom they make most of their revenue. They were always calling me when something was the matter with my Bank of America card, but never about auditions. As soon as I had my photo session with *******, who they 1) claim is an amazing photographer 2) is sane down to earth and 3) is from New York and assume that again he is amazing. I talked with ******* that day in April during my shoot and he says that Urban is robbing him of his money and they never fulfill their promise of paying him. He also said that he only sees $400 dollars of the money per shoot. He advised me to get as far away from Urban as I can before I get sucked even more into their scheme. So I guess my motive for writing this complaint is to make others aware of Urban's business practices and their moral code of conduct which they are far from fulfilling. It has been 7 months since my shoot with ******* and of course, I have not received a single call from them asking how I am doing, or even if there is something that is coming up that would suit me in any way. I wish I had done more research before I decided to sign with Urban, which is why I'm telling others not to sign with them and fall into their trap.

Desired Settlement: What I seek out of this complaint is to be compensated the full amount that I had paid to the agency for their "services." That totals to 1750 dollars. I paid the money in full, so I expect to be compensated for my faithfulness in making payments, in full. If I do not receive any compensation I will go ahead and turn to the media to seek a resolution. I will NOT be ignored as I have by Urban and their representatives in the past.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/30) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ***, CEO Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***@urbantalent.com As I've reviewed Mr. ******'s complaint and as I've investigated his claims, I've discovered that most of his complaint is exaggerated, untrue, unclear and confusing. Here are the facts regarding this claim. Over a year and a half ago, on or around 5/15/12, Mr. ****** signed 2 contracts, one with Style Inc for training and photography services, and the other with Urban Talent Management for representation services. Pursuant to the Urban contract, no money changes hands until a model books a job and then Urban gets a 15% commission from the model. When Mr. ****** refers to the investment that he made it was with Style for the workshops, photo shoot and a portfolio, which are necessary for a model to book jobs. Yes Mr. ****** did meet with an agent and also with **** ****** and yes he was told that he has a strong look and that he has local and international potential. All that is true. He does have a strong look that is appropriate for modeling. He was also informed that the clients pick which models they book, not the agency. To that end we do not guarantee bookings as we cannot make a client book a given model. We submit models to clients for various jobs and the client picks. Mr. ****** is submitted for bookings everyday on the website. Furthermore, in both contracts it states explicitly that we do not guarantee bookings. Mr. ****** was never lied to, coerced as he claims. He was presented with an opportunity and he chose to sign up with the agency. Mr. ****** is an intelligent adult and is capable of making decisions for himself. We did not take away his free will and choice. He chose to enter into these contracts. Regarding Mr. ******'s claims that only 4 or 5 models are responsible for most of our bookings, that is preposterous. We book 100's of models every year. Actors as well. Regarding his alleged unanswered complaints to the agency, we log the calls we received and in addition I've talked to each of my staff and none of them recall any complaints from Mr. ******. IN fact we were surprised to see this complaint. I've also talked to our booking staff and Mr. ****** has not checked in as long as we can remember. Regarding his experience with the photographer, I've spoken with the photographer and strongly denies that any of the conversation, that Mr. ****** claims, took place. As for the training and photography services that Mr. ******'s received, he admittedly saw value in the workshop and he clearly liked his photos as several of the images from the photo shoot are prominent posted on his Face Book page as of 12/30/13. What I think is happening here is that Mr. ****** is using the BBB and threats of "going to the media" to extort money from Style Inc. for services he has fully received and for which he was satisfied. Mr. ****** is not entitled to a refund. We have done nothing wrong. What we are open to is creating a win/win here. We would love to invite Mr. ****** to come back in and get going again with the agency. We will create a game plan with him and review what part he plays in the booking process and what his responsibilities are in creating bookings. Our door is open. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2014/01/16) */ I am writing to inform you of the results of the dispute. Urban Talent has given me a 75% refund, given that write a good resolution. It took some time, but after much discussion, we were able to come to an agreement and I can say that I am satisfied with that. I shall fulfill what has been asked of me. *** ******

11/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I feel like this company is taking advantage of me and other people in our desperate moments in life where we need a job that pays good. When I first applied to the ad on craigslist, it said nothing about the initial start up fee of 1750$. I scheduled an interview and missed it, I did so again, I did not have any contact with them whatsoever, then they call me out of the blue one day, and asked me when I would be available for another interview, I told them whenever seeing as how I didn't have a job. They scheduled me for the next day and knowingly invited me to an offer that requires 1750$ when I had no job and no means of paying that bill, So when I arrived for my interview and my "agent" threw that bill at me, I was a little intimidated by the number. I told the agent I was a little intimidated by the whole offer, she then went on to tell me that everybody that signs up gets it paid off in two bookings and that they receive 3-4 bookings a day as an agency that I could apply to. It has been a week and I have received two emails for bookings, that seems a bit shy of their claimed 3-4 bookings a day. Not only have I hardly received but two booking emails, the two that did come, one is for older men and the other is for females only, neither of which apply to me. While I remained confident that I would receive more e-mails I also felt a little scared, so I did a little investigating and it turns out that many people have the same opinion as one another and they are all claiming that this is whole thing is a scam and that good agencies make money off of bookings not the "start-up" fee, which I feel is how urban talent makes its money. I have not used any of the services which urban talent management has offered in the contract and I also find that attending all your workshops and classes proves impossible for me to attend due to where I live, and schooling and work. I have no time to pursue this kind of career.

Desired Settlement: All I am asking is that I be released from the contract that I signed, I do not think it's fair to take advantage of people in need of work and money. I do not even have a car that I would need to drive in order to make it to urban talent's location. My friend let me borrow his car to take up there the day of the interview. They never asked me if it would be a problem to work for them, and frankly for me it's just too far. I wrongly signed your contract. I am 19 and about to go to college I don't need a bill that is larger than my tuition before I even start. If you could release me from all contractual agreements, I would appreciate it. If you choose not to it just makes my life a living ****. I really hope you can just terminate it for me without some ridiculous fee that I have to pay, I need my money just as bad as you want it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/27) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***@ubantalent.com I will release **** from both contracts and any future obligations to Urban Talent provided that **** agrees to show this matter as favorably resolved and agrees not to say, post or write anything negative about Urban Talent Management. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2013/11/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you, I greatly appreciate this.

11/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have requested to be released from the contract with Style Inc due to the one-sided nature of the contract, but have had no success. I have to say that this is the worst business in town that should not be allowed to operate! They pray on the hopes and dreams of ladies young and old, make all kinds of claims about how they are able to negotiate hundreds of dollars for modeling gigs, but really are just interested in roping people into one-sided contracts, charging for 'modeling classes' and over-priced photo shoots in order to even be placed on a rigorous casting list. When I first met with senior booking agent Camilla and owner Ms. **** ******, I was told that I had a great look, that I would be booking so many gigs through their agency that they would be surprised if I could not pay back the nearly $2000 contract the agency required of me (to pay for classes and photos) within 3 months, because I was a racial minority in this town and perfect because promotional companies look for women in their 30's. I hesitated quite a bit, but they kept repeating to me how they negotiate for their models an average of $1k for a full day's work, $500 for a half day's work and $200 minimum for a few hour's work. I had been a freelance model before, and when I mentioned a booking that I had done on my own, **** told me that her models were paid at least 10 times more than I was paid. She worked on convincing me that what I had succeeded decently in doing for myself up until that point, could be ten fold if I signed with their agency; however, because I was an amateur model, I had to take approximately $800 worth of classes to become a 'professional' model they could work with. ******* sent me to one casting call, and when I attended this casting I immediately realized that what they had claimed to me was false. The gig was for a hair show, and they were paying models $200 for total for two 14-16hr work days. Whatever happened to $1000 for the whole day?? In addition, when I got to the casting call, I realized there were about a hundred models waiting to get a chance to be picked by the stylists. First and foremost, who has time to sit around for 4 hours and hope to make $200 for two days worth of work?? This is an industry for young ladies, not women in their 30's such as myself who are employed full-time and run many projects!! Secondly, I noticed that the the stylists looked over me 6 times, and picked Caucasian ladies. I am Asian, and **** and ******* claimed that I would do well BECAUSE I was Asian and there's not too many of us modeling in this city but the stylists looked right over me, so I knew immediately this was mostly about the agency sending in as many models so that they could increase the chances of booking and earning, and not anything to do with customized bookings for someone like me! Then the emails came through from the modeling agency, and after tracking about a 100 email casting calls that came through, I determined that less than 3% of the casting calls applied to me only because they were such general casting calling to all ages, genders and ethnic types. Besides those few, all the other jobs that came through were specifically looking for Caucasians, Latinos, children, couples, etc., women in their teens or 40's and even when there were casting calls specific for Asians, they were all for Chinese women and not for Japanese women such as myself. I emailed Ms. ****** and requested to be released from the contract as I have absolutely no time to be sitting in a 16-hour class, attending casting calls for hours and also felt that they completely misrepresented what they could do for me. The worst part is they rushed me over signing the no-termination clause! How one-sided is this? She has not responded to my email and continue to charge me $50 a month and so far have taken $309 from my account though I have not attended any classes. What does this say about their business? They just care about lying and rushing you into a financial contract that you can't cancel to take your money!

Desired Settlement: Please a) immediately release me from the contract, b) stop any future charges to my credit card and c) refund me the money you charged to my credit card!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/15) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***@urbantalent.com It seems that Ms. ******** wants to play the victim and blame everyone but herself for a choice that she made. That said I will honor Ms. ********'s desired resolution provided that she does not say, write or post anything negative about Urban and gives a favorable resolution to this matter. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2013/10/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I appreciate Mr. ***'s swift response on this matter and acceptance of my proposed resolution. I agree to Mr. ***'s request if he could kindly specify when and how the refund will be completed.

9/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I believe this company is a scam, I never received any services from them and I have found dozen of complaints against them. I would like my $100 back I was laid off and looking for work I went in to urban to see if they had work for me. I was told that i had to take classes that cost just about $1800, when I told my "agent" that I wanted to work for her but couldnt afford to add such an amount to my already established debt. She then told me that I would be getting jobs that would pay it off before the summer was over and it wasnt a big deal, that everyone there did it and I'd be making money in in weeks. I naively desperate for work and trusted her. I called my parents and told them what had happened and they said immediately it was a scam, and that no modeling agency would ask you to pay them because they'd be making money off your bookings. I told them they were wrong but investigated Urban that night and saw a disturbing amount of complaints against them, a lot of them within recent weeks. I called, emailed and left messages with them that I wanted out of my contract and since i had never taken any classes and hadn't heard from "my" agent after contacting her profusely that I didnt feel comfortable with their agency. Then they told me that I was stuck and had no choice. They only ever called me for money after that, never my agent or someone who I had left a message with about leaving just someone asking me $200 for classes I had never taken and had no desire to. I left messages and called everyday informing them that if they didnt contact me back I would report them to the BBB.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $100 back for one, they dont deserve it. They literally have done nothing for me and all the jobs they said they had for me and needed me to do asap because they didnt have a lot of african american models never happened. I also want them to stop sending me emails and kill our contract together, they obviously have no interest in me and getting me work. I've acquired 3 jobs since going into their office and just proves how worthless their services are if there are any. I feel they should be investigated because I met a lot of people in town dealing with the same problem.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/03) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *** CEO Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***@urbantalen.com I am willing to cancel both contracts between Urban Talent Management and Style Incorporated and Ms *******, and refund the $100 provided she gives a favorable resolution to this matter. Please let me know where I can mail her refund check. Sincerely, **** ***

9/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: WORST PLACE EVER Absolutely terrible THE WORST AGENCY YOU COULD GO TO. I repeat do not sign there contract Urban talent had an add on KSL I was interested on the part like a fool I walked into there office they filled me up with words that seem to be valid at the end of the day I made the worst decision trusting what they had told me. I am writing this report so that no one has to ever go through what I went through with them. They'll tell you that their the best agency that you need to take classes they have professional photographer ABSOLUTELY LIES . I called in the next day to cancel my contract and the lady told me that I couldn't I called in again and she told me in order to cancel it I'll have to pay a cancellation fee of $$$875. Please people girls out there do not sign up with them you will get scam out of your money I GUARANTEE YOU WILL REGRET IT. I plan on posting this every where for at least a year till I feel that every model I know EVERYONE understands how terrible they are. I've learned now that a good agency wont charge you a dime they will make money off you but only because of the jobs you book not for classes or anything like that. I am now working and doing pageant allot of these girl I work with are also interesting in modelling I absolutely TELL THEM NOT TO DO IT and hopefully I HOPE IF YOU READ THIS THAT YOU WILL DO THE SAME. Hopefully in April I will be the Next Miss Haiti IF THE MAKE ME PAY THAT $875 I plan On taking this to the media and as far as I can YOU CAN BET ON THAT I refuse to be scam like this. Please take my advise and not sign there contract Sincerely ********

Desired Settlement: END CONTRACT.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/09) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***@urbantalent.com On July 17, 2013 Ms. ********** entered into 2 contracts, one with Urban Talent Management, and the other with Style Inc. The contract with Urban Talent Management is for management and representation services, no money changes hands in that agreement unless the talent books a job. The contract with Style Inc. is for training and photography services. In that agreement Ms. ********** agreed to pay $1750, in installments $150 a month on the 10th of month until paid in full. This contract clearly states that it does not provide for cancellations or refunds, a paragraph which she initialed. Ms. ********** chose to sign these agreements. We did not force her. She breached her agreement with Style Inc. on 8/10/13 when she failed to make the payment as promised. We wanted to create a win/win so in good faith we offered to settle this contract with her for half of the original amount even though the law is on our side. She agreed to this. However, based on her libelous and false claims above, it's clear that once again, Ms. ********** has no intention of honoring that promise as well. For the record, Style Inc. does in fact offer a workshop and it does have photographers that it works with. Why Ms. ********** claims that this is a lie is beyond me. Even though we are under no obligation to do so, and even though the law is on our side, I am willing to cancel her contracts and forgive any and all amounts due and owing, provided that Ms. ********** does not say, write, post or otherwise communicate anything negative about Urban or Style and that she show this dispute favorably resolved. If Ms. ********** fails to honor this provision, we will seek any and all remedies at law. Sincerely **** *** Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/09/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Anything to get me the heck away from Urban Talent them will do.

8/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I want to describe how I have found many hidden facts about Urban Talent Management after getting sucked into their contract. I want to start out by saying that I first heard of this opportunity through an ad on craigslist. I was having financial problems and thought that I could really use the extra money. They did not have their company name listed on the ad, so I had no idea who I was meeting with. When I went in to my "interview," I first noticed that their office was in a really shady neighborhood-I was almost scared to go in. However, the inside did look nicer. The "interview" lasted about 5 minutes; after telling me that I was perfect, and showing me the runway, my interviewer walked me to a cubicle in the same room where the agent at the desk brought out a contract. She read through everything with me so I never had a chance to read it for myself. She used her own words to make it sound more appealing. Also, she explicitly told me that she was previously a law student, and that she had signed the contract when she first started working there, giving me a false sense of security. I signed a contract with them, saying that I would pay off the $1750 fee for classes and headshots in payments of $150/month. I had expressed concerns, especially with finances, since I was in a lot of debt at the time, and could barely afford the $150/month. The agent continued to assure me that money would not be an issue, and that I could "work off the money," by going to jobs and having the earned money go straight to the agency. This way, she said I would not have to pay any money out of pocket, and that this was what she had done. After signing the contract, I was eager to start, as I mentioned before, because I really needed the money. The agent then said that there was an audition later that day, and that I could audition for it if I was interested. I was, and they said that I needed a headshot to take with me, and that they could take a temporary one for me while I was there. They ended up using a cell phone, taking a few pictures, and printing one of them out on nice paper, which was fine, but the picture was horrible! I never went to the audition, because I did not want that picture to represent me. It didn't even look like me. AFter that, I took a look at their website, to see their other models and other pictures, and, although there were a few models who had lots of headshots, and good quality ones too, most of the models only had the three headshots that were included in the up-front fee, and the pictures were of horrible quality as well. THat's when I first realized that their fees were outrageous-especially for the service that you would get for them. I had planned on going to the classes that I had signed up for. However, I recieved an email saying that if we had not already gotten our temporary headshots, that we would need to get them done after class, and that they would cost another $40! Also, they had listed several other fees, including a large fee if you wanted to have your portfolio. I was never told that there were other fees we would have to pay as we go, and could not attend the classes or get my temporary headshot because I could not afford to pay anymore money to them. Also, the first week after signing the contract, I checked my emails daily, looking for any jobs that would fit my description. I have to say that after being on their list for 3 months, I have recieved few emails about job opportunities from them, and from those few emails, maybe only one or two of them were jobs that I could do, that fit my description. Now I know that they will sign people up, fully knowing that they won't be able to do most of the jobs that they get. One last thing that I wanted to mention, and had not even noticed until now, was that only took out money for the first month I signed up with them. However, instead of only taking out $150, I noticed that they actually took out $154 for some reason... This is the only money that they have received from me.

Desired Settlement: All I would like is for them to void the contract since there was obviously a lot more to it than they first claimed. Also, since I did not utilize any of their "services," I would like a refund of the initial $154.50 that they took from my account.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/08) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***@urbantalent.com I will release Ms ******* from both of the contracts that she signed and refund her 154.50 provided that she gives us a favorable resolution. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/08/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I will accept their response and am glad that this issue has finally been resolved.

6/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service