Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mr. Mac

Additional Locations

Phone: (801) 966-6400 Fax: (801) 966-6482 View Additional Phone Numbers 5690 S Redwood Rd, Salt Lake City, UT 84123 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.mrmac.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mr. Mac meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mr. Mac include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mr. Mac
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 03, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1987 Business started locally: 01/01/1987 Business incorporated 03/26/1982 in UT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stan Christensen, President Mr. Scott Christensen, Vice President Mr. Wayne Ware, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stan Christensen, President
Business Category

Mens Clothing & Furnishings - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Mac's of Midvale Inc Macs of Orem Inc Mr. Mac's
Products & Services

This company offers mens clothing retail, suits, sport coats, slacks, shoes, accessories


Additional Locations

  • 1309 N Main St Ste 80

    Logan, UT 84341 (435) 753-0020 (888) 453-0020

  • 160 E South Temple

    Salt Lake City, UT 84111 (801) 355-6443 (888) 601-0669

  • 1706 S 500 W Ste 106

    Woods Cross, UT 84010 (801) 292-1236 (888) 871-4393

  • 1986 N Hill Field Rd Ste 1A

    Layton, UT 84041 (801) 614-1366 (888) 663-7039

  • 36 S State St

    Salt Lake City, UT 84111

  • 3651 Wall Ave Ste 1194  (Newgate Mall)

    Ogden, UT 84405 (801) 627-3152 (888) 350-5518

  • 5690 S Redwood Rd

    Salt Lake City, UT 84123 (801) 966-6400 (801) 966-1321 (888) 676-2201 (801) 355-6472

  • 575 E University Pkwy Ste 36  (University Mall)

    Orem, UT 84097 (800) 438-0361 (801) 224-4520

  • 62 N 600 W Ste 1 # F-1

    American Fork, UT 84003 (801) 492-9400 (801) 792-9400

  • 7208 Union Park Ave

    Midvale, UT 84047 (801) 968-1766 (801) 566-9537

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr Mac doesn't honor their lifetime tailor policy or help out a customer when pants have been ripped. Their answer to both problems is buy a new suit. I had a couple of suits that I bought from Mr. Mac before my mission in 2001. The suits were old but in great condition as I wore them each about 1 dozen times before trying to get them altered in 2010. They informed me that the suits were too old and they couldn't be tailored anymore. They wouldn't even look at them because they heard when I had purchased them even though they offer a lifetime of alterations. So even after I was hesitant to purchase new suits, I did buy two new suits from them in 2011. After two years I had an accident while wearing my suit pants and they ripped. I went back to Mr Mac hoping to buy a new pair of pants and was mocked by the answer of having to yet again buy a new suit. It seems like the general answer to any problem at Mr. Mac is to buy a new suit and they offer no help to any problem that arises. They don't even stay true to their lifetime offer of alterations. I have been dissappointed with the customer service and don't have much confidence with how they do business. They have seen both of these problems before as they almost laughed at me for thinking I could buy new pants. It seems to me that this is a problem that could easily be fixed, as many others have had to have had similar situations to both of these.

Desired Settlement: It would be nice if they could honor their lifetime alteration on the two suits that I have already purchased and sell me a new pair of suit pants to go with the suit coat that I already have.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/01/15) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********** Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX The manager of the Bountiful store called Mr. ******** on Monday, 1/13/14 at 6:00 p.m. and got his voice mail. His message was that he heard Mr. ******** was unhappy with the service he received and that he wanted to discuss the problem personnally and resolve the issues. He requested Mr. ******** call him back. To this point Mr. ******** has not returned the managers call. We gladly alter clothing for customers where possible and practicle. ie; We can only let out clothing where material exists. We can not take in clothing past a certain amount. Most suits come nested with 1 coat and 1 pant and additional pants are not available from the manufacturer to replace torn or worn pants.