Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sorenson Genomics, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sorenson Genomics, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Sorenson Genomics, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 02, 2003 Business started: 07/01/2001 Business started locally: 07/01/2001 Business incorporated 11/29/2000 in UT
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Bethann Layton, Business Contact Chris Harmston, Dir. of Quality, Records Ms. Carmelita Martinez, Supervisor Ms. Kimberly McGregor, Company Contact Ms. Amber Shaw, Client Support Supervisor Mr. James Sorenson, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Bethann Layton, Business Contact
Business Category

Medical Testing Companies

Alternate Business Names
Identigene, LLC Relative Genetics Sorenson Forensics, LLC Sorenson Genomics / Identigene

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Sorenson Genomics, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2495 S West Temple

    Salt Lake City, UT 84115 (888) 404-4363 (801) 462-1413 (888) 693-6266 (801) 462-1410 +800-DNA-TYPE (800) 362-8973 (801) 462-1401 (801) 462-1494 +888-404-GENE (888) 404-5363 (888) 488-1122 (801) 462-1446

  • 2511 S West Temple

    Salt Lake City, UT 84115 (801) 462-1400

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/23/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had submitted a DNA testing at the beginning of March 8, 2015. I had gave all information that was needed and was told to wait 5 business day for results. I waited. 6 business days and called and was told it was placed on hold cause they needed another relative DNA and there will be a extra charge that will need to be paid. So i told them to send me the kit for another relative to test and I paid the extra charge. I was told it would take 7 to 10 business for the DNA test to reach the lab once its mailed to them. I waited the 10 business days from when it was mailed to them and I was told they put it on hold again cause they were waiting on a DNA test from grandparent. I explain that I had told that when i paid for the additional fee there was only two relative that can test and no other DNA was going to test. She then submit for it to be tested and told me ti will take 5 business days to get result. I wait until the 6 business days and still in process and was told it would probably take another 48 hours. I ask why i was never sent a email or phone call telling me the delay or additional information needed. They said they sent a email, but it was the incorrect email. I advise them the profile was set up online with correct email and the DNA sample had the correct email on it. This is has been going on for about a month and they have been practice unfair and false advertised of when you get test result and information. As I still have not receive any progress due to fault of theirs and not inform me of any delay. I have to keep calling and keep getting different stories of why delay and taken so long. I shouldn't go though all this for what I paid for the testing. And it seem like they are dragging there feet to result there error and get result it quickly.

Desired Settlement: to get some of money back and get the result back due their error and delay and getting the result to me like they had promise.

Business Response:

In looking over your case, we note several instances  where we could have performed better in terms of keeping you notified of your test’s progress and helping you view your results. We offer our sincere apologies. Our customers’ complete satisfaction is our top priority, and so a refund of $150 has issued back onto your credit card. If you have any other questions, please feel free to contact us at ###-###-#### (M-F, 9 am to 6 pm Eastern Time). 

3/31/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They offer 100% accuracy results in two business days as advertised online. I had a DNA test done and the results were 100% incorrect. Who knows how many kids are out here without a father from an at home DNA test that is a hit or miss company. Some people get lucky while others suffer for something they are innocent about. I want a refund and they also guarentee two day results and they give them back in a week. You call them to ask questions and they act as if they can't hear you all of a sudden and hangs up. Horrible company

Desired Settlement: I want my money back and I also want others to know they should go into a lab instead of purchasing this they should no longer be allowed to scan people.

Business Response:

We understand that paternity testing is an emotional experience for families and sometimes results are not what the participants hoped or expected. Difficult as it is to accept, just because the result wasn’t anticipated doesn’t mean it is “100% incorrect,” as claimed by this customer. We stand by the results of the test. Our two-day results policy guarantee goes into effect once the samples arrive at the lab and doesn’t include sample mailing time. The two-day results guarantee was indeed met for the customer, and according to case notes she was never disconnected from phone calls by our customer service staff.  The customer signed sample envelopes and agreed to the Terms and Conditions of service and her claims do not meet the conditions of our Refund Policy. 

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I went to a real lab and received different results they results are not accurate and it shouldn't take 10 whole days and no it's not emotional it's not true

Sincerely,

****** ******

3/2/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Trying to find out who my father is so I went to website it tells me they can process it if father isn't around it just says call and we can help with this. It's Saturday they are closed but my supposed tone sibling leaves Sunday to go back home so I purchased a paternity test from Rite aid on the box says lab fees $89 paid $24.99 in the store. Get the DNA and it has a spot for other on the package you put swab in it also advises you to set up test online so when results are in you get them immediately. Tried to do that last night but it only gives an option for alleged father so. So I call this morning to be told its a $399 dollar lab fee for siblings not $89 that is specified on packaging I feel this is clearly false advertisement. They only offer this one product in stores which doesn't say there are other test or fees. I need to run this test accurately I need to know who I am. I want the test for $399 done for $89 advertised price on box.

Desired Settlement: I want the test for siblings ($399) ran at the cost advertised on the $89 before the DNA is good for 6 months per the rep

Business Response:

Our home paternity test kits sold at drugstores and supercenters provide testing materials  for one alleged father, one child, and one mother (her participation is optional).

We explicitly state on the outside of the box :“This kit is for one alleged father and one child.” This statement is also clearly marked in the kit’s instruction booklet, therefore we do not consider it a false advertisement. Unfortunately, the customer may have neglected to read the outside of the box prior to purchase or misinterpreted the statement based on what they needed and wanted. In this case, the customer wanted to test his sibling, and the $89 lab fee does not apply in this context.

As this customer mentioned, our website does describe test types if an alleged father is not available for testing. However it also advises anyone interested in these tests to contact our Client Support Center  for further instruction and information. Because these tests are more complex and require more testing time, the lab fee is $399.

It appears this customer tried to do too much too fast and didn’t read the clearly-marked description on the outside of the kit box prior to purchase, nor did he obtain more information from our Client Support Team as instructed on the website.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Attached are picture of the box this is the only available product in stores world wide so it wasn't in haste.  So where is the additional kits if there a specific one for siblings there are none.

The same kit is used for all test and by the way I am a woman not a man *** referenced as throughout the complaints.

So again there is false advertisement because I still have to by the kit for alleged and on child. Website told me to purchase the kit.  Then to call in for further institutions if sibling. All that's specified on website.  So my request still stays the same

Best,
******** ******     

Business Response:

Although we regret that this customer misunderstood the purpose of the IDENTIGENE Paternity Test Kit, we do not believe we’ve engaged in any kind of false advertising – as stated in our earlier response: “We explicitly state on the outside of the box : This kit is for one alleged father and one child. This statement is also clearly marked in the kit’s instruction booklet, therefore we do not consider it a false advertisement.” As a DNA testing company, IDENTIGENE can also do sibling, avuncular, and grandparent testing for a higher fee, but this service is separate from the one associated with the kit sold on shelves. When we address this topic in the FAQs section of our website, we explicitly request that customers contact us directly for more information, as seen in the screen shot attached.

1/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Identigen Changed Their Billing To $89.00 Dollars Back In September. I Bought My Kit From WAlmart In December. The Kit I Bought Said The Lab Fee Was 129.00 So I Sent A Money Order For 129.00 Dollars. After Calling The Person I Spoke With Stated That Identigene Was Not Doing Refunds For The Forty Dollar Difference, But Merely Processed My Test Faster. That Is Stupid Because In The Kit It Says They Are Usually Processed In Two Days.....How Much Faster Can It Be? Instead Of Contacting Me Identigene Chose To Conduct Business In A Scandalous Manner. This Issue Will Not Be Resolved Until I Am Refunded The Forty Dollar Difference.

Desired Settlement: I Would Like The Forty Dollar Difference Mailed To me.

Business Response:

 Identigene recently changed the price of our laboratory fee to $89. Unfortunately, not all kits on the store shelves have been replaced with updated order forms. The customer sent in a kit with a money order and order form showing $129. When this happens we automatically apply a 1 day rush to the customer’s account. Our records indicate Mr. ******' test samples were received at our laboratory on 12/29/2014 and the laboratory released results to the customer on 12/30/2014. We understand that the price change may have caused confusion; however, there was no intent for us to make the customer buy what they did not need. Even though the customer agreed to the price on the order form included in their test kit, and sent in a money order for $129, we will honor the price of the new laboratory fee and refund the difference to the customer. In order to process the refund, please have the customer contact us to so that we can obtain their contact information to process the refund.

Consumer Response:   I Requested A Refund Of The Difference When I Called And Discovered Identigene Had Lowered The price.Identigene Refused. On The Packet It States That Most Tests Are Completed Within Two Days So A One Day Rush Is A Minor Difference. Also Identigene Does Not Call The Client Or Update The Automated Phone systemWhen I Had To Speak To a Customer Customer Service Rep To Discover My Results. I Will Be In Contact With Them For The Refund Difference. 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ******

12/31/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bait and switch- Quoted a price of $ 306 for all costs, later informed it would be an additional $ 138.00 I contacted Identigene LLC after a search on the internet of Immigration DNA testing companies. Their address is listed as **** * **** ****** ******* **** **** ***** ** *****. Upon contacting Identigene LLC I spoke with a woman who identified herself as "****". I asked her for the total cost to do a Immigration paternity DNA test for my daughter and myself including all shipping costs including a prepaid return envelope as required by the Embassy. I was quoted $ 306.00 dollars for all costs. I promptly paid with my bank visa card and waited for the DNA kit to be mailed to the Embassy. The next day I called Indentigene LLC to ask if my kit had been sent to the Embassy and was told I needed to pay an additional $ 138.00 to have it shipped. I told the person that was not what I was quoted and I was very specific about asking if shipping was included in my original quote of $ 306.00 dollars. I was told by the rep that they usually ship by UPS and they found out that the Embassy in Honduras requires they send it by FedEx or DHL. I stated that was not my fault that they didn't know that, and that they advertise on the first page of their website that they work with more than 174 Embassies worldwide. I was told at that point the only way they would send the test kits was an additional payment of $ 138.00 dollars. To me this is a classic bait and switch tactic and their claim that they didn't know about the shipping requirements was false or they are falsely advertising that they work with 174 Embassies worldwide.

Desired Settlement: I would like my additional charge of $ 138.00 dollars refunded as that was not quoted to me.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ***** *********
Contact Phone: ************
Our records indicate Mr. *********** contacted our office December 16, 2014. Our notes show that, during this conversation, he made a prepayment for an immigration paternity test and we discussed other details about the ordering and collection process. Unfortunately our pricing recently changed and we misquoted the shipping price to the customer. We apologize for the confusion this has cause and will go ahead an honor the original quote that was given to Mr. ***********. We will be happy to refund the difference to him. We will be in contact with him to refund him money.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I am very happy that Sorenson Genomics has agreed to
refund me the additional shipping costs that were not quoted to me when I made my purchase.
Being in business myself for many years I understand mistakes can be made inadvertently by employees, but the real test of integrity by a company is it's willingness to correct mistakes and I commend Sorenson Genomics for their decision.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Sorenson Genomics, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart