Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sorenson Genomics, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sorenson Genomics, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sorenson Genomics, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 02, 2003 Business started: 07/01/2001 Business started locally: 07/01/2001 Business incorporated 11/29/2000 in UT
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Bethann Layton, Business Contact Chris Harmston, Dir. of Quality, Records Ms. Carmelita Martinez, Supervisor Ms. Kimberly McGregor, Company Contact Ms. Amber Shaw, Client Support Supervisor Mr. James Sorenson, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Bethann Layton, Business Contact
Business Category

Medical Testing Companies

Alternate Business Names
Identigene, LLC Relative Genetics Sorenson Forensics, LLC Sorenson Genomics / Identigene

Additional Locations

  • 2495 S West Temple

    Salt Lake City, UT 84115 (888) 404-4363 (801) 462-1413 (801) 462-1446 (888) 693-6266 (801) 462-1410 +800-DNA-TYPE (800) 362-8973 (801) 462-1401 (801) 462-1494 +888-404-GENE (888) 404-5363 (888) 488-1122

  • 2511 S West Temple

    Salt Lake City, UT 84115 (801) 462-1400

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Identigen Changed Their Billing To $89.00 Dollars Back In September. I Bought My Kit From WAlmart In December. The Kit I Bought Said The Lab Fee Was 129.00 So I Sent A Money Order For 129.00 Dollars. After Calling The Person I Spoke With Stated That Identigene Was Not Doing Refunds For The Forty Dollar Difference, But Merely Processed My Test Faster. That Is Stupid Because In The Kit It Says They Are Usually Processed In Two Days.....How Much Faster Can It Be? Instead Of Contacting Me Identigene Chose To Conduct Business In A Scandalous Manner. This Issue Will Not Be Resolved Until I Am Refunded The Forty Dollar Difference.

Desired Settlement: I Would Like The Forty Dollar Difference Mailed To me.

Business Response:

 Identigene recently changed the price of our laboratory fee to $89. Unfortunately, not all kits on the store shelves have been replaced with updated order forms. The customer sent in a kit with a money order and order form showing $129. When this happens we automatically apply a 1 day rush to the customer’s account. Our records indicate Mr. ******' test samples were received at our laboratory on 12/29/2014 and the laboratory released results to the customer on 12/30/2014. We understand that the price change may have caused confusion; however, there was no intent for us to make the customer buy what they did not need. Even though the customer agreed to the price on the order form included in their test kit, and sent in a money order for $129, we will honor the price of the new laboratory fee and refund the difference to the customer. In order to process the refund, please have the customer contact us to so that we can obtain their contact information to process the refund.

Consumer Response:   I Requested A Refund Of The Difference When I Called And Discovered Identigene Had Lowered The price.Identigene Refused. On The Packet It States That Most Tests Are Completed Within Two Days So A One Day Rush Is A Minor Difference. Also Identigene Does Not Call The Client Or Update The Automated Phone systemWhen I Had To Speak To a Customer Customer Service Rep To Discover My Results. I Will Be In Contact With Them For The Refund Difference. 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ******

12/31/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bait and switch- Quoted a price of $ 306 for all costs, later informed it would be an additional $ 138.00 I contacted Identigene LLC after a search on the internet of Immigration DNA testing companies. Their address is listed as **** * **** ****** ******* **** **** ***** ** *****. Upon contacting Identigene LLC I spoke with a woman who identified herself as "****". I asked her for the total cost to do a Immigration paternity DNA test for my daughter and myself including all shipping costs including a prepaid return envelope as required by the Embassy. I was quoted $ 306.00 dollars for all costs. I promptly paid with my bank visa card and waited for the DNA kit to be mailed to the Embassy. The next day I called Indentigene LLC to ask if my kit had been sent to the Embassy and was told I needed to pay an additional $ 138.00 to have it shipped. I told the person that was not what I was quoted and I was very specific about asking if shipping was included in my original quote of $ 306.00 dollars. I was told by the rep that they usually ship by UPS and they found out that the Embassy in Honduras requires they send it by FedEx or DHL. I stated that was not my fault that they didn't know that, and that they advertise on the first page of their website that they work with more than 174 Embassies worldwide. I was told at that point the only way they would send the test kits was an additional payment of $ 138.00 dollars. To me this is a classic bait and switch tactic and their claim that they didn't know about the shipping requirements was false or they are falsely advertising that they work with 174 Embassies worldwide.

Desired Settlement: I would like my additional charge of $ 138.00 dollars refunded as that was not quoted to me.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ***** *********
Contact Phone: ************
Our records indicate Mr. *********** contacted our office December 16, 2014. Our notes show that, during this conversation, he made a prepayment for an immigration paternity test and we discussed other details about the ordering and collection process. Unfortunately our pricing recently changed and we misquoted the shipping price to the customer. We apologize for the confusion this has cause and will go ahead an honor the original quote that was given to Mr. ***********. We will be happy to refund the difference to him. We will be in contact with him to refund him money.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I am very happy that Sorenson Genomics has agreed to
refund me the additional shipping costs that were not quoted to me when I made my purchase.
Being in business myself for many years I understand mistakes can be made inadvertently by employees, but the real test of integrity by a company is it's willingness to correct mistakes and I commend Sorenson Genomics for their decision.

12/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service