Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sundance Catalog

Phone: (800) 422-2770 Fax: (801) 487-3452 View Additional Phone Numbers 3865 W 2400 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84120 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.sundancecatalog.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Sundance was founded in 1969 by Robert Redford. The goal of the the Sundance Village, located at the base of Mt. Timpanogos, is to offer community art and nature that would foster the arts. Sundance Catalog was created to offer artistic items to all


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sundance Catalog meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Sundance Catalog include:

  • 6 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Sundance Catalog include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sundance Catalog
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 25, 1996 Business started: 09/01/1989 Business started locally: 09/01/1989 Business incorporated 05/17/2004 in DE
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. TaMara Gold, Customer Service Manager Cindy Vunder, Outlet Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. TaMara Gold, Customer Service Manager
Business Category

Mail Order & Catalog Shopping Womens Apparel - Retail Costume Fabrics, Trim & Accessories General Merchandise - Retail Home Accessories Jewelers - Retail

Refund and Exchange Policy
If at any time and for any reason, you do not feel that your purchase has lived up to your expectations simply return it for an exchange or a refund. Sundance outlet purchases are accepted within 30 days of the original purchase for an exchange or refund.
Alternate Business Names
Sundance Catalog Outlet Sundance Catalog Outlet Store Sundance Holdings Group LLC Sundance the Store
Products & Services

Sundance offers artisan created jewelry, apparel and home decorative items.


Additional Locations

  • 3865 W 2400 S

    Salt Lake City, UT 84120 (801) 973-2711 (800) 422-2770 (801) 487-3400

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Item #***** Cloud Layer T was never credited from partial exchange order for $239.00 in January. Over 15 messages have been sent/received, each being answered by someone pretending to know nothing about previous response. Ridiculous competence. ******* ****** acknowledged on March 23 that they would issue credit for the item. That has been over a month and 10 e mails ago.

Desired Settlement: Please credit $29.99 for Cloud Layer T .

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this inquiry.  I have researched this matter and found the following:
1)    
 The Cloud Layer T in question was never actually ordered, or shipped, to Ms. *****.

2)      On January 7, 2015, item 66834, a red jasper bracelet, was returned to us.  This bracelet was refunded the amount of $****** in “in house” credit.

3)     On order ********, Ms. ***** asked for items 66966 (Coiled Tear drop earrings, $138) and 63344 (Silver Cross Charm, $58) in exchanged.  These items, totaling $196, were sent along with a Sundance Gift Card in the amount of $44.   These three items, earrings/charm/gift card total exactly $240.

4)     On Feb 23, 2015, we received the Coiled Tear drop earrings back.  Ms. **** asked for item ***** (Cloud Layer T) as an exchange.  No size was indicated on her return paperwork.  We tried to reach her, unsuccessfully.  Instead, a gift card for $138 was issued. 

5)     The Cloud Layer T was not added to this order, nor was it shipped/returned.  Our customer service notes indicate that Ms. **** called about the status of the Cloud Layer T on March 6, March 20, March 23 and April 13.   Resolution for her questions was not provided at the time she called.

6)     The end result is that A) Ms. ***** has been refunded in full for her purchases and returns and B) we have not provided the service and answers she deserves.

 In reviewing this account I see that several contacts were made, without resolution.  This is not an example of our best customer service and I hope you will accept our most sincere apology.  I am happy to offer a $** coupon toward your next purchase with us if you will contact me via phone or email.

Date c = credit/I = charge Amount
1/07/15 C -$****** Refund for return of 66834 Red Jasper Bracelet
1/08/15 I $****** Charge for 66966 Coiled Teardrop earrings
1/08/15 I $***** Return Gift Card
1/08/15 I $***** Charge for 63344 Silver Cross Charm
2/23/15 C -$****** Return of 66966 Coiled Teardrop earrings
3/04/15 I $****** Return Gift Card


$0.00
 

****** ****  I  Customer Service Manager  I  sundance catalog company 

 

Consumer Response: Thanks for clarifying. I got an order # and an answer! You can keep the gift certificate. ******** *****

3/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I returned 3 items for refund. I received 1 refund. Sundance claims they refunded all three. However, my bank will verify I only received 1 refund. Sundance will not help me recover the other refunds which total 277.00.

Desired Settlement: I need help in resolving this issue.

Business Response:

Dear BBB and ******* ****,

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to these concerns.  Our staff has done extensive research into the matter of this returned merchandise and found the following information; as the customer claims, there were three items (three pair of boots) returned for refund in September of 2014.    All three items have been refunded to the original method of payment as noted below. 

We can appreciate the frustration of our customer not receiving her refund, but since we have done the refund back to her original method of payment, and can provide Visa reference numbers for the refunds, this now becomes an issue between her and Visa/her issuing bank.   We are unable to refund again for an item that has already been refunded for.

---------------------------------------------------------------------

Order #1, 

Order number:  *******

Order placed:  December 16, 2011

Item Ordered:  52735, Sorel Cate the Great Boot.  $200.00

Paid by Visa, ending in ****

Item Returned:  September 23, 2014

Refund done:  Sept 29, 2014, $200.00

Refunded to:  Original method of payment, see above.     

 Visa Corp Reference number for  Refund:  #***********************

 Issuing bank, The Bancorp Bank        

Issuing bank phone #************      

 REFUND COMPLETED.

----------------------------------------------

Order #2,

Order number:  ********

Order placed:  December 24, 2013

Item Ordered:  59025, Iceberg Boots, $71.99

Paid by Visa, ending in ****

Item Returned:  September 23, 2014

Refund done:  Sept 23, 2014, $59.04 (71.99 minus $12.95 for use of the SmartLabel return label.  This SmartLabel fee is for the return of all three pair of boots that were included in the same box)

Refunded to:  Original method of payment, see above.     

Visa Corp Reference number for  Refund:#***********************

Issuing bank, Bell State Bank and Trust        

Issuing bank phone UNKNOWN      

REFUND COMPLETED.

----------------------------------------------------

Order #3,

Order number:  ********

Order placed:  January 1, 2013

Item Ordered:  54762, Lorena Boot,  $77.99

Paid by Visa, ending in ****

Item Returned:  September 23, 2014

Refund done:  Sept 23, 2014  $77.99

Refunded to:  Original method of payment, see above.     

Visa Corp Reference number for  Refund:# ***********************

Issuing bank, The Bancorp Bank        

Issuing bank phone #************      

REFUND COMPLETED.

 

 ****** ****  I  Customer Service Manager  I  sundance catalog company 
************ Office  I   ************ Toll Free  | t**********@sundance.net

2/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/20/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Order delayed , company sent postcard denoting second delay, requested refund...nothing has happened...it's been another 2 weeks Lamp ordered I late August, postcard came in September giving shipped date October 15th. We received nothing, I place another call to company Oct 20-23 time frame, company stated"another delay until November". I cancelled order, monetary refund has still not come I have ordered three times from this company and it is always a headache. Very very poor communication and follow through I like my refund

Desired Settlement: Merely want my refund, they have had my Monet for two months.... That is outrageous

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/01) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****, Customer Service Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***********@sundance.net Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this customer's concerns. It is my practice to look at the order history on situations like this. My research shows the following: September 6, 2013 - Order placed via mail. Customer advised of back order date via phone; message taken by customer's husband. September 6, 2013 - Postcard back order notice sent to customer; expected date 10-18-13 October, 14, 2013 - Vendor advised Sundance of production delay. Postcard back order notice sent to customer with updated backorder date of 11-8-13. October 21, 2013 - Customer contacted us by phone and asked to have order cancelled. October 22, 2013 - Referred to supervisor to cancel order and begin check request process October 23, 2013 - Check requested with Finance department October 25, 2013 - Check XXXXX sent to customer at address on file via USPS. At this time it is has been four working days since mailing so there is no reason to believe that this check is lost or delayed by the U.S. Postal Service. If the check has not arrived within the next 5 working days I will be happy to send a replacement via FedEx. Our customer experiences are very important to us. Please extend my most sincere apologies for any frustration experienced during this order. ****** **** Customer Service Manager Sundance Catalog

10/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I returned a necklace in July 2013.To date, I have not received my refund. Sundance first refused to listen when I told them the account used to purchase it had been closed. They then figured it out and sent the check to an invalid address. On September 3, 2013, I advised them by email of the correct address. They were quite snotty when they advised me they only processed refunds once a week and it would take another two weeks for me to get a check mailed from Utah to New Mexico.On September 21, 2013, I discovered they had again sent the check to the invalid address despite my email of September and again told me it would take another two to three weeks to received my check.It has been THREE MONTHS since I returned a $68.00 item. PLEASE ASK THEM TO REFUND MY MONEY IMMEDIATELY WITHOUT FURTHER EXCUSES. Product_Or_Service: necklace

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I have told them twice they ought to overnight it at their expense. Unfortunately, they don't care and just parrot the same "excuse." "It takes two weeks to process the check."

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/24) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****, Customer Service Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***********@sundance.net Dear BBB, Thank you for forwarding this concern to me. I have researched this matter and found the following: Ms. **** is correct that we have issued two refund checks to the incorrect address. The merchandise returned to us was from an order placed in 2006; an old address was still on the records and the original refund check was sent to this old address. The second check was also sent to the old address due to an oversight on the part of our employees. Today, I have requested a third check to be issued by our Finance department. As soon as that check is in my hand (expected within 12-24 hours), I will send it by overnight carrier to the correct address of ****** **** **** ***** ****** NW, **** Albuquerque, NM 87114 I have also contacted Ms. **** at XXX-XXX-XXXX and left her a voice mail acknowledging her concerns and stating the above information. As soon as the check is in the hands of FedEx I will contact Ms. **** again by phone to provide the tracking number. The agents involved in the original handling of this complaint will be coached/re-trained; it is of the utmost important that each customer feel that their concerns are valid...and handled in the most expeditious way possible. Thank you for allowing me to be part of the resolution. I understand that it is the preference of the BBB to not have an personally identifiable information included in responses, however, to illustrate the details of this resolution this information is necessary. Please edit as you see fit. I am available if you have questions, XXX-XXX-XXXX, ****** **** Customer Service Manager Sundance Catalog