BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Utah

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/12/2011

Summit Machine Inc.

Phone: (801) 576-8424Fax: (801) 576-8425

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
04/19/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: I ordered a few things on feb 2 and never got them. I called, emailed 15 times with no response. Terrible customer service.
I ordered safet washers and 2 right handed flex joints on feb 2 for a total of 166.63. On feb 7 ****** ******, vp of summit machine emailed me saying that they only had 1 right handed joint in stock. It could be swapped out for either a left handed or the order could be canceled and my money could be refunded. Since I was on a bit of a deadline and really only needed the safety washers I said just send the washers and when the correct rh flex joints were in stock they could send them at that time. That email was never responded to by ms ****** on feb 7. On the 13th I sent another email saying about the same along with asking if they had received my last email since I hadnt heard from them. I then called them and left a message saying I'd appreciate a call back or something because now my deadline was up and still haven't got any of my order or a response to any of my emails on the 15th. I then called everyday for a week leaving messages starting on the 20th ending on the29th with no return call or email. All along writing email after email requesting a refund for the money debited from my account a month ago and never receiving my order or a response to any of my emails or cals. I sent an email today Monday march 12 to ****** ****** at summit machine again requesting a refund.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******, Vice President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@summitmachine.com
Ms. **** and Mr. ******,

First off, I would to offer my sincere apologies for the frustration that Mr. ****** has experienced in relation to his order with us.

I received notice of this complaint from the BBB on Friday, March 30, 2012. The notice is dated March 28, 2012, and states this is a follow up to a prior communication sent. I do not have record of any prior communication or I would've responded immediately upon its initial receipt.

I have read over Mr. ****** complaint. I agree with his information in first of the complaint (date of order as well as my email to him on February 7th.) I do have disagreement with his further claims of the number of attempts of contacting my company without response. However, my defense to this is superficial in nature, so even if I disagree with the number of attempts he claims to have made in contacting us, it still has the same result which is we failed to fulfill the customer's order and failed to effectively communicate with him.

As a matter of record, I will respond to his claims of unresponded communications. I did take time to check my voice records, but I do not quick access to any calls prior to March 16th. I do recall one voicemail from him in mid-February. Mr. ****** indicates he left a message every day from February 20th-29th, but I do not have record of this. I retrieve all messages and am certain of only the one message from him in mid-February. I would certainly recall this number of messages.

I also took time to look thought my emails. I was able to locate his email from March 12, 2012 titled "Wtf..." It had been detected as spam and automatically put in my Junk email. I checked his email address throughout my entire email system and was only able to locate the email I sent him February 7, 2012, as well as his email dated March 12, 2012. As for his other emails he states he sent, I wasn't able to find them.

On Friday, March 30, 2012, I issued a refund to Mr. ****** in the amount of $166.63. This amount was refunded to the same card he used when making the purchase through our webstore. When I submitted the refund, I requested that Mr. ****** receive a copy of the transaction details for his records. This would've been sent via email to him at *****@aol.com.

I do apologize for the inconvenience and frustration that Mr. ****** has experienced. My company did not provide the appropriate customer service and communications in regards to his order. I have taken this matter seriously and will work to incorporate corrections to the errors we made.

In Closing,
****** ******
Vice President
Summit Machine, Inc.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Machine Shops

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.