BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Utah

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Malouf Fine Linens

Phone: (800) 517-7179

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
02/08/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a new mattress & protector. The protector failed in less then 2 months & Malouf is not honoring the waranty.
In September 2012 we purchased a new twin xl matress for our son that has autism. We bought from discount matress in st george. Our main concern when looking for a mattres was customer service, and a good protector. Our child still has bed wetting from time to time. After visiting every store we could find in town, we felt comfortable with discount matress and the protector they offered by malouf. We were assured by the owner of the mattress company that malouf was a local company that cared and would stand by its product. We picked up our mattress and protector on September 24, 2012. The protector fit great and I followed all washing instructions. The second week of november we noticed the mattress protector had failed. Our son's new mattress had a urine stain on it. The protector was tightly on. I examed the protector and it looked like some of the backing was gone. I called discount mattress and they tried to help me. They called Malouf and got the warranty process started. I called malouf and talked to Ashly on Nov 18th. She explained the warranty process might take a few extra days because fo the holiday, thanksgiving. I called discount matttress back upset that I would have to wait so long and the owner called malouf and got the process speed up. I took pictures of the protector and emailed them to ****** on Nov 18th and sent at my own expense, $7.85 the protector back to the company for testing priroity mail on Nov 18th. Discount mattress felt very bad an offered to give me another protector and gave me some spot cleaning tips while I was waiting. I did not want my child sleeping on a urine soaked mattress. Discount Matress said that malouf would either have the mattress professionally cleaned or replace it. 4 days later I got word from ****** that they got the protector back, it was tested and it did have leaks. It was not punctured. The backing had failed. Then comes the long list of excuses why the won't honor the warranty. They said I could have washed it with jeans. My austistic son does not wear any long pants, except a suit or tux for orchestra which are dry cleaned. He has sesnory issues as well as problems buttoning so everyday he wears shorts. His teachers and our neighbors would confirm this. I also made it clear I only wash the protector seperate. maybe it is just me but I would never wash a urine soaked item with clothes or other items, gross! Then they said it could be an older washer dryer. I have a new bosch top of the line set. I have the receipt from lowes. It is still under warranty and I even has someone check it. It is working fine. Then the last excuse was power surges. Now how can I prove this one? I called out local power company dixie escalante and they said this is hard to disprove, but since we have owned out home, 5 years there has been on one power outage in 2009. There has been no issues in our area since. I feel like there is no way to win with this warranty. It is bogus, They can just claim anything and void it. I thought I was careful picking a local company. They sent me a new protector a few weeks later, but the mattress company had already given me one, so I gave it back to discount mattress. Since the holidays Malouf has not commicated with me so this is why I am here.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be paid for the professional cleaning of the mattress or get a new matress. I expected when paying close to $500 I would get a mattress that was urine free for more then 2 months. I did nothing wrong and feel like I have waited long enough. A professional cleaning is around $50, The mattress cost is currently $359ish. My son deserves to sleep on a clean mattress. This company's run around is horrible. If it was a defective vacuum or car part I would be telling everyone my bad experience but since it is a sensitive subject like bedwetting of an autistic teen I think they think they can get away with cheating the customer because who can I tell except my child's doctor or family, no one so they get away with a great reputation and make a child have a urine soaked matress or have me pay out of pocket for cleaning or a new mattress.

I am writing this with my husband, ******. My name is *** *****. The matress was purchase under my husband's name and with his credit card and that is why we put the complaint under his name. Since he works full time, I have been handling most of the interactions. Either of us would be happy to get this problem resolved. I wasn't sure who had to be listed, since our next step was filing with our credit card and it is under ******'s name. Thanks for listening.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ********** - Customer Service Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@malouffinelinens.com

Our warranty clearly states that we will cover the mattress under the extended warranty if the protector is found to be defective and purchased on the same receipt as the mattress; if it is damaged then we do not cover the mattress. If the protector fails we have the customer send in the protector so that we can test it and see if it is defective or if it is damaged. As was mentioned, there were areas of holes on the waterproof area of the mattress protector which was the reason it failed. All of the protectors we sell are tested and carefully inspected prior to being packaged and shipped so we can be certain that if there are holes on the back of the protector, they were not there when it was purchased. I gave the customer a list of possible causes, but it certainly was not an exhaustive list. It is impossible to say exactly what caused the holes, but it is obvious that there was damage done to the protector in question. A defective protector would be one that would leak liquids without any noticeable holes. I have attached a picture of the backing of this customer's protector for verification. There are several areas of these holes throughout the waterproof area.

05/02/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a sleep tite mattress protector because the place I purchased my mattress recommended it. It came with a 15 year mattress protector "warranty". The elastic sides came apart after a month or two and then we noticed the stain on the mattress, which is what the warranty was supposed to cover. I immediately contacted the company. After a lot of hoops, (taking pictures, actually sending the protector in for testing) the company determined we had microscopic holes in our cover that allowed liquid to pass through. They also said this is evidence of the protector being "damaged" and not "defective" even though I had followed the laundering instructions carefully and never had it off the bed except to launder.
Product_Or_Service: Sleep Tite Mattress Protector

Desired Settlement
I want the surface of my new mattress cleaned or replaced (so it looks new again) as indicated by the extended warranty (when the mattress cover and a new mattress are purchased together).

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ******, Office Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@malouffinelinens.com

****** ****** contacted our company regarding a leak in a mattress protector in February 2012. She originally stated the sides of the protector fell apart eight months prior to contacting us the first time and now the protector was leaking;no immediate contact was made regarding the sides or seams of the protector. Had a claim been made then, we would have immediately replaced the protector at that time, without requiring her to send it in. We have a warranty process in place that if a protector leaks we must have pictures of the defective protector and/or the soiled mattress, a copy of the receipt and we also have them send in the faulty protector for examination and further testing to determine why it is defective and how it is failing. During our email correspondence, ****** would mock our company and the processes we have in place for warranty situations, handling the situation very inappropriately. ****** was mad that we require documentation in warranty cases; her case was no different than any other. We require the same documentation and that the protector be sent in to verify faultiness or defectiveness, no matter who the customer is. ****** purchased a new mattress recently, and because the mattress manufacturers warranty requires a protector to be in place to honor the warranty, we sent ****** a replacement protector before she sent hers in for testing. That is not something we normally do, and we did that to be courteous and take care of our customer. Once she received the replacement protector she sent her leaking protector in for testing. Upon first opening the package you could immediately see it was damaged. Not only were the sides torn as she had said, but there were small tears resembling melting damage on the back of the protector as well as other holes. The top was stained as well. The holes were not microscopic as ****** states; they were easily visible to the naked eye. Her protector was heavily damaged, therefore allowing fluids to leak through and penetrate the mattress. Her protector was not defective; if we could not find any damage whatsoever the case would be different, however as I stated previously, *******s mattress protector was highly damaged and abused in several different ways, therefore voiding the warranty. She states she followed the laundering instructions but it was evident that the protector had been abused. She received a copy of our warranty card upon purchase of the protector and it clearly states that the warranty does not cover protectors that have been mishandled or abused.Had the protector arrived to us in good condition and cared for, we may have been able to warranty her mattress had we found the protector defective, but due to the damaged nature of the protector, the mattress warranty was void. We did replace the protector as stated earlier as a courtesy for the inconvenience to her. We have handled her situation fairly and appropriately and feel no more action is needed regarding her mattress.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
****** (Office Manager): I'm not sure what you mean by "mocking" your company in my emails, but that is certainly not how I handle problems. Generally, I do not complain unless there is good reason to do so. In fact, this is the ONLY complaint I've ever filed with the BBB. When I purchased a mattress protector that was "guaranteed not to leak for 15 years!" I didn't realize there would be so many disclaimers. I just wanted something that would protect my mattress. Yes, the sides fell apart soon after the purchase, but I don't think reporting that fact sooner would have produced different results. There were also stains on the mattress cover when I sent it in to you, as you indicated, but I thought that's why I purchased it (to protect my mattress from those stains). Please send the mattress protector I sent in back to me so I can have evidence there was not "abuse" on my part. I do not believe there were any any holes, MELTING DAMAGE, or tears in the main portion of the protector. If you truly want to "take care of your customer" you wouldn't make things so difficult. To me, it comes down to the principle of the entire matter . . .what a warranty means to you and what it means to your customers. (Asking for a cleaning kit was not an unreasonable request and wouldn't have cost your company much, if anything.)

Business' Final Response
I am happy to provide the email correspondence between myself and ****** upon request.

05/21/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues
07/23/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Malouf Fine Linens refused to warranty the protector or mattress even when their product failed and it was laundered using their package instructions.
I purchased a new mattress, costing over $2500 and therefore purchased the waterproof mattress cover because I have small children. My son had an accident one night and the waterproof mattress pad failed causing my new mattress to get wet and stained. When I contacted the company they wanted pictures of the mattress pad, the mattress itself and a copy of my reciept. I sent all of that in and then they contacted me to send the entire mattress pad back to them for "inspection". Of which I had to pay for the shipping. I sent it to them and after a week they emailed me saying they found (under microscope) small microscopic melting spots which supposedly caused the leak. She says my dryer, even though I followed the laundering instructions on the package and used low heat, must have caused these "microscopic melting marks". So, basically you cannot wash or dry this product at all or your warranty is invalid. She admits that the launder instructions aren't always accurate, that dryers can cause melting in these pads. If the package instructions said do not dry, then I would have not dried it and we would not be having this issue right now. But it doesnt. It says dry on low heat. I had the mattress & mattress pad for under 2 months before this happened so the mattress pad was only washed/dryed on low heat a couple of times. (I don't wash the cover every time I was my sheets)When I disputed this finding and asked for the manager she says she is the manager and there is nothing I can do. When I asked to see proof of these "microscopic melts" and that they were in direct relation to where the leak occured she says "she'll see what she can do". I still have not heard back from the company. My brand new mattress is now stained, which is why I bought the protector in the first place to avoid that & keep my new expensive mattress nice. I am very disappointed in the quality of this product, so fragile that you can't even wash it without ruining your warranty. I am disappointed in the way the company handled the transaction with me. I used my valuable time, efforts and money to follow all of their steps and they did nothing in return. You should see the explanation of what they found with my mattresss pad. It's clearly the smallest of small melted spots that they could hardly even justify why they weren't fullfilling the warranty themselves.

Desired Settlement
I feel they should not only refund my money for the mattress protector since it failed, but I feel they should have to replace my mattress as the warranty states. I would also like my shipping refunded as I had to pay to have it "inspected".

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* *******
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ****@malouffinelinens.com
May 21, 2013: ******** ******** contacted Malouf Fine Linens to complain about damage on her mattress which she blamed on the mattress protector. She also sent four pictures showing the damage done to her mattress, and various angles of the mattress protector.
May 22, 2013: Malouf Fine Linens replied to ******** asking for a copy of her receipt.
May 22, 2013: ******** sent a picture of the receipt.
May 23, 2013: Malouf Fine Linens asked ******** to send in her protector for testing. Directions on where to mail it to were given, and two scenarios were given. Malouf Fine Linens told ******** that if the protector was shown to be defective then Malouf Fine Linens would honor the extended warranty. ******** was also told that if the protector is found to be damaged, then it would no longer be protected under the warranty.
May 23, 2013: ******** agreed to send in the protector and asked if she has to pay for shipping.
May 23, 2013: Malouf Fine Linens explained the warranty does not cover transportation costs, but if the protector is found to be defective she will be reimbursed.
June 4, 2013: ******** says she mailed the package.
June 4, 2013: ****** from Malouf Fine Linens says she will watch for the package and will contact ******** when the testing is completed with the results.
June 12, 2013: ******** asked for verification of Malouf Fine Linens receiving the package.
Testing was done and found that the mattress protector had been damaged. The mattress protector had multiple small holes gathered closely together in three areas. In each area we found puckering of the polyurethane where it had been melted leaving the terry surface unprotected. (photos attached) The hole pattern and the puckering of the polyurethane layer was consistent with dry heat damage. This type of damage is caused by excessive heat in the drying process and voids the warranty on the protector.
June 13, 2013: Malouf Fine Linens told ******** the results of the testing and advised her to check what temperature her dryer is set at. ******** was also told that the warranty was voided because of the damage found.
June 13, 2013: ******** was very upset with the results and asked to speak with someone else.
June 14, 2013: ****** from Malouf Fine Linens explained again that the warranty is voided because of the damage that was found. She also explained that she is the Warranty Manager so she is the best person to talk to about the issue.
In her Better Business complaint, ******** says that she is angry because the product melted while following our care instructions and that "If the package instructions said do not dry (sic), then I would have not dried it and we would not be having this issue right now." However, as seen in the image attached, Malouf Fine Linens advises to line dry, and to machine dry only if necessary. This warranty card is included in every package and is easily visible when the product is removed from the package. We also state to not dry at temperatures higher than 135°F. It is the customer's responsibility to know what their dryer is set at.
Malouf Fine Linens respectfully submits that this complaint is without merit because Malouf: first, timely and thoroughly responded to the customer; second, conducted an investigation about the customer's complaint; and third, correctly determined that the product warranty was voided by the customer's actions.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am not satisfied becuase they make it obvious that they will find anything they can to get out of warranty. I just want other consumers to know that if they should purchase a Malouf product, they are getting a poor quality product and they will deal with a company in which poor customer service and warranty service is the standard.

Business' Final Response
We're sorry to hear that the customer was not satisfied with our response. As previously stated, testing was done that proved the mattress protector was damaged, not defective. Again as previously stated, we advise to line dry and to tumble dry with low or no heat only if necessary. As shown in Figure 1 below, immediately following our advice to tumble dry low only if necessary we state very clearly to not dry at temperatures higher than 135 degrees F.

******** wishes for us to pay for her shipping, but in our warranty we clearly state that transportation costs are not covered by the warranty. Additionally, in our email correspondence (Figure 2) we were very clear that shipping costs would only be reimbursed if the protector was found to be defective.

We hope that ******** will understand the multiple reasons why her protector cannot be honored under our warranty. To try to help her with the unfortunate situation we already sent ******** a new mattress protector free of charge. We acknowledge that ******** is upset that she was unable to get a new mattress but Malouf holds no blame for the failure of the protector. Therefore Malouf respectfully submits that this complaint is without merit because the protector clearly fails the terms of the warranty.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Linens - Wholesale & Manufacturers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.