Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

TruGreen Salt Lake

Phone: (801) 974-5429 Fax: (801) 972-6960 View Additional Phone Numbers 2435 Custer Rd, Salt Lake City, UT 84104


Click for BBB Rating on TruGreen Salt Lake

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that TruGreen Salt Lake meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for TruGreen Salt Lake. BBB of the Mid-South has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for TruGreen Salt Lake.


Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1969 Business started locally: 01/01/1969 Business incorporated 10/31/1990 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Agriculture
350 N Redwood Rd, Salt Lake City UT 84116
Phone Number: (801) 538-7100
information@utah.gov

Business Management
Ms. Shalena Williams, Corp Customer Support Ms. Megan Morin, Office Supervisor
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Shalena Williams, Corp Customer Support
Business Category

Lawn Maintenance Pest Control Services

Alternate Business Names
TruGreen Lawncare TruGreen Lawncare SLC TruGreen Limited Partnership
Additional Information

This company's corporate headquarters is located in Memphis, Tennessee. You may want to check with the Memphis BBB for a report at www.midsouth.bbb.org or at 901-759-1300.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

TruGreen Salt Lake has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2435 Custer Rd

    Salt Lake City, UT 84104 (801) 974-5429

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 6 lawn treatments 3 were added without my permission I can not get confirmation that service is cancelled. In the spring of 2013 I purchased 6 lawncare treatments. The company provided 3 more treatments. I was not aware of those treatments. I was contacted by the company in September and informed that I owed them $193 dollars for those services. I asked for a final bill so I could review it. I was again contacted today by phone and told today that the money had to be paid or it would be sent to collections. I asked for a written confirmation that the account was cancelled I was told a written confirmation could not be given but that I had a cancellation number. I recorded the number. Then I paid the bill to avoid it going to collections. I then was told that an email confirmation of my payment would be sent. I got that confirmation of payment but no indication the account was closed. I then called the customer derive and was told someone would call me tomorrow about cancelling the account. I then logged into the online account management only to find there was no way to cancel on my online account. I was told that there was a written statement delivered to the property letting me know to call them or they would keep servicing my lawn. I do not reside at that address and am unavailable for contact during the months of June through mid September. I am in the bush of Alaska at that time and that is why I only agreed to 6 treatments. My son watches the property for me. I want $193 dollars back but more importantly I want a written confirmation that the service is cancelled. Chemlawn does not have my permission to step foot on my property. I see that as trespassing at this point if not already that they have trespassed.

Desired Settlement: $193 refund and a written confirmation that my account is closed and a letter of apology for having taken 4 hours of my day to dispute this.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Customer Care Coordinator
Contact Phone: ************ ext ***
Contact Email: ***********@trugreenmail.com
I have issued the adjustment request and the refund will be processed for $193.32. She should see the refund in approximately 7 to 10 mbusiness days. A letter to confirm Ms. ****'s cancelation of service and that the refund is being issued will be sent out with tomorrows mail. There will be an apology for any inconvience to Ms. ****

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I feel that the response demonstrates the company having recognized the poor business practices regarding lawn care service agreements and communication which is not in good faith to its customers. I am actually surprised this company is responding so appropriately. I hope this event has helped for future better business practice standards for chemlawn

10/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Trugreen is charging me for a re application of a aerate and seeding that "failed" from last fall. They are denying any record of this agreement. Last year I had Trugreen do a Fall aeration and seeding to hopefully strengthen and thicken my back lawn. I have a problem with a large tree in the front so I had no expectations that it would take there. When spring rolled around and I could see no difference, I called them. They said they would send a technician out to survey the issue. He didn't show up for 2 or 3 weeks later and after my 1st spring treatment. The Technician told me they could redo the service but when I told him my lawn had already had a couple of my regular treatments he advised against it at that time saying the seed would be unable to germinate. He said they would set it up again in the fall. On Thursday September 11,2014 a Lawn Tech showed up saying he had a work order to re aerate and seed my lawn. I told him no one had called me to let me about Aeration, just the routine application and asked if this was the reapplication from last fall. He said he didn't know about that, he just had a work order for my address for the service. What else would it be? I tried calling Trugreen while he was here but couldn't get through. Then I get a bill. I called again and stayed on the line until I got a live person and explained the issue to the CS representative. She said they had no record of the reapplication for the failed service. I asked to speak to a Manager but of course no one was available. I asked her where it was stated that they called me about this service and where I had approved it? They normally call customers with different specials. That way you can OK it or reject it. But not this time. She did not answer that question. I had no reason to believe this was nothing other than the re application. Why on earth would I have them come out again when it failed last year? At $16 more. On a final note, my backyard has more crabgrass than ever. So whether or not it is related to the failed Fall seeding or regular treatments. Trugeen is not backing their services or products.

Desired Settlement: Take the $***.00 aeration and seedng charge off my bill. I have already paid for the other treatment. Trugreen needs to honor their Technicians agreement with me for last falls failed service.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Customer Care Coordinator
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ***********@trugreenmail.com
Trugreen has credited Ms. *****'s account for the $*** for the aeration/over seed. I will get in contact with her to set up a service call about the crabgrass in her backyard.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Business agreed with my terms and even offered another service.
Great Customer Service on their part. I only wish it hadn't gotten to this point

9/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cancelled service with Trugreen and received another invoice for services that were added without my consent. Received call on 6/16/14 from ***** ******** stating he's going to be in my area spraying for pests and he wanted to put me on his schedule. He just needs my credit card number to get started, Visa or MasterCard. He was very patient and even said he had time to wait for me to go get my wallet. How he phrased it seemed like I had to, as he didn't ever say he was selling an additional service. I traditionally refuse to give that info out and called TruGreen and spoke w ****** who told me he was selling an additional service for them. I told her I didn't want the pest control service. I received an email the next day saying pest control had been added to my account. I called and spoke to ***** who's a manager. She said it was a mere error and tried to keep me as a customer. I also spoke to her of my concerns of their sales practices in asking for credit card numbers. I'm concerned for the elderly as it was even confusing for me. Of course no real concern on their end. I wanted my account closed #XXXXXXXXXX and it's in my husbands name ***** *********. She gave me a confirmation number of: XXXXXXXXXXXX. Yet I've received a invoice for pest control at $60.00x3=$180.00 and when I went to my online account there is nothing on there that states they cancelled my account. In fact nuisance pest control #XXXXXXXX had been added and it had added to easy pay WITHOUT me or my husbands consent. I cancelled the easy pay on the pest control and lawn plan as it was still active even though I cancelled service as per *****.

Desired Settlement: I want my account cancelled with a confirmation number emailed to me as I had originally requested from *****. I want my credit card information deleted from their records as I'm no longer their customer. Me and my husband to be placed on their do not call list. BBB to please take a closer look at their sales practices. I'm very concerned for the elderly and mentally incapacitated who're the ones that get taken advantage of.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/08/28) */ I responded to the ************* via email as per the request in the BBB letter on 7/11/14. I have included the informtion below. Good afternoon Mr. & Mrs. *********, I do apologize for the sale practice used by TruGreen that made you feel pressured into additional services. As per your request I am confirming your service for both lawn & pest control have been discontinued. The confirmation number per your BBB complaint is XXXXXXXXXXXX. I have updated our Do Not Call systems to remove your information from any sales channels. Your card information has been removed from our TruGreen records as well. The welcome aboard letter you received for the pest control please disregard since the service is no longer active. If you have any further questions or concerns please call me at XXX-XXX-XXXX my extension is XXXXXXXXXX. Thank you, ***** ****** Customer Care Coordinator 2435 West Custer Rd Branch 5300 Salt Lake City, UT 84104 (XXX) XXX-XXXX ext XXXXXXXXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/09/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I would appreciate TruGreen accepting responsibility in their actions by admitting they signed us up for pest control without our consent.

12/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND TRUGREEN TO ANYONE. I HAD DISPUTED A CHARGE ON MY CREDIT CARD FOR $52.55, RECEIVED A CALL BACK FROM TRUGREEN ACCOUNTING, WHO WAS EXTREMELY RUDE AND UNPROFESSIONAL AFTER ARGUING WITH THER FOR 20 MINUTES I GAVE UP, AND MY CREDIT CARD ACCOUNT WAS STILL CHARGED THE $52.55 THAT I HAD DISPUTED DUE TO THE MERCHANT ADVISING THE CHARGE WAS VALID, AND NOW I JUST RECEIVED A COLLECTION NOTICE THAT I OWE THEM $52.55, WHICH I DUE NOT BECAUSE THE CHARGE WAS ALREADY CHARGED ON MY CREDIT CARD.

Desired Settlement: THEY HAVE ALREADY RECEIVED MY MONEY, LEAVE ME THE **** ALONE.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/12/10) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Customer Service Representative Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX ext *** Contact Email: ***********@trugreenmail.com I have looked into Ms. *******'s complaint. I find Ms. *******'s credit card company withdrew the payment of $52.55 on June 8, 2013 for the service that was completed on April 22, 2013. We spoke with Ms. ******* on Oct. 9, 2013 while explaining this is a valid charge for service rendered on April 22, 2013. We tried to reach Ms. ******* when the call was lost leaving a message with the individual's direct number. On May 23, 2013 TruGreen did go back to Ms. *******'s property to do a free re-service from the concerns about the April 22, 2013 visit. We did receive Ms. ********** payment Nov. 19, 2019 which was forwarded to our processing center in Phoenix. The paymnet was applied to the account on Nov. 21, 2013. The payment was received after the balance of $52.55 was referred to Transworld Systems on Oct 18, 2013. Transworld Systems sent Ms. ******* a notice of collection dated Nov. 20, 2013 prior to the payment being processed. TruGreen has since notified Transworld Systems that the debt has been satisfied. On Dec. 4, 2013 I received a notice from Ms. ******* on the Transworld Systems letter about the bill being paid and to stop the harrassment. The payment crossed in the processing with the letter to her from Transworld Systems. I tried to reach Ms. ******* to explain that we did receive her payment and that it had crossed with the Transworld notification on the following dates and times. Dec. 4, 2013 at 145pm, Dec. 5, XXXX XXXXam & 301pm each time I left a voicemail message with my contact information to discuss the account and her concerns. TruGreen notified Transworld Systems that the payment was received. She should also receive a letter from Transworld Systems showing the debt has been satisfied. I will be happy at address any concerns Ms. ******* has about her TruGreen services on April 22, 2013 or the re-service on May 23, 2013. The re-service was due to a poor score on our NPS survey for poor color which was set up by our service manager. My contact information is ***** ****** XXX-XXX-XXXX extension XXXXXXXXXX.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on TruGreen Salt Lake
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart