Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

TruGreen Salt Lake

Phone: (801) 974-5429 Fax: (801) 972-6960 2435 Custer Rd, Salt Lake City, UT 84104

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that TruGreen Salt Lake meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for TruGreen Salt Lake include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on TruGreen Salt Lake
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1969 Business started locally: 01/01/1969 Business incorporated 10/31/1990 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Agriculture
350 N Redwood Rd, Salt Lake City UT 84116
Phone Number: (801) 538-7100

Business Management
Ms. Shalena Williams, Corp Customer Support Ms. Megan Morin, Office Supervisor
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Shalena Williams, Corp Customer Support
Business Category

Lawn Maintenance Pest Control Services

Alternate Business Names
TruGreen Lawncare TruGreen Lawncare SLC TruGreen Limited Partnership
Additional Information

This company's corporate headquarters is located in Memphis, Tennessee. You may want to check with the Memphis BBB for a report at or at 901-759-1300.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

TruGreen Salt Lake has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2435 Custer Rd

    Salt Lake City, UT 84104 (801) 974-5429


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 6 lawn treatments 3 were added without my permission I can not get confirmation that service is cancelled. In the spring of 2013 I purchased 6 lawncare treatments. The company provided 3 more treatments. I was not aware of those treatments. I was contacted by the company in September and informed that I owed them $193 dollars for those services. I asked for a final bill so I could review it. I was again contacted today by phone and told today that the money had to be paid or it would be sent to collections. I asked for a written confirmation that the account was cancelled I was told a written confirmation could not be given but that I had a cancellation number. I recorded the number. Then I paid the bill to avoid it going to collections. I then was told that an email confirmation of my payment would be sent. I got that confirmation of payment but no indication the account was closed. I then called the customer derive and was told someone would call me tomorrow about cancelling the account. I then logged into the online account management only to find there was no way to cancel on my online account. I was told that there was a written statement delivered to the property letting me know to call them or they would keep servicing my lawn. I do not reside at that address and am unavailable for contact during the months of June through mid September. I am in the bush of Alaska at that time and that is why I only agreed to 6 treatments. My son watches the property for me. I want $193 dollars back but more importantly I want a written confirmation that the service is cancelled. Chemlawn does not have my permission to step foot on my property. I see that as trespassing at this point if not already that they have trespassed.

Desired Settlement: $193 refund and a written confirmation that my account is closed and a letter of apology for having taken 4 hours of my day to dispute this.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Customer Care Coordinator
Contact Phone: ************ ext ***
Contact Email: ***********
I have issued the adjustment request and the refund will be processed for $193.32. She should see the refund in approximately 7 to 10 mbusiness days. A letter to confirm Ms. ****'s cancelation of service and that the refund is being issued will be sent out with tomorrows mail. There will be an apology for any inconvience to Ms. ****

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I feel that the response demonstrates the company having recognized the poor business practices regarding lawn care service agreements and communication which is not in good faith to its customers. I am actually surprised this company is responding so appropriately. I hope this event has helped for future better business practice standards for chemlawn

10/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Trugreen is charging me for a re application of a aerate and seeding that "failed" from last fall. They are denying any record of this agreement. Last year I had Trugreen do a Fall aeration and seeding to hopefully strengthen and thicken my back lawn. I have a problem with a large tree in the front so I had no expectations that it would take there. When spring rolled around and I could see no difference, I called them. They said they would send a technician out to survey the issue. He didn't show up for 2 or 3 weeks later and after my 1st spring treatment. The Technician told me they could redo the service but when I told him my lawn had already had a couple of my regular treatments he advised against it at that time saying the seed would be unable to germinate. He said they would set it up again in the fall. On Thursday September 11,2014 a Lawn Tech showed up saying he had a work order to re aerate and seed my lawn. I told him no one had called me to let me about Aeration, just the routine application and asked if this was the reapplication from last fall. He said he didn't know about that, he just had a work order for my address for the service. What else would it be? I tried calling Trugreen while he was here but couldn't get through. Then I get a bill. I called again and stayed on the line until I got a live person and explained the issue to the CS representative. She said they had no record of the reapplication for the failed service. I asked to speak to a Manager but of course no one was available. I asked her where it was stated that they called me about this service and where I had approved it? They normally call customers with different specials. That way you can OK it or reject it. But not this time. She did not answer that question. I had no reason to believe this was nothing other than the re application. Why on earth would I have them come out again when it failed last year? At $16 more. On a final note, my backyard has more crabgrass than ever. So whether or not it is related to the failed Fall seeding or regular treatments. Trugeen is not backing their services or products.

Desired Settlement: Take the $***.00 aeration and seedng charge off my bill. I have already paid for the other treatment. Trugreen needs to honor their Technicians agreement with me for last falls failed service.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Customer Care Coordinator
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ***********
Trugreen has credited Ms. *****'s account for the $*** for the aeration/over seed. I will get in contact with her to set up a service call about the crabgrass in her backyard.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Business agreed with my terms and even offered another service.
Great Customer Service on their part. I only wish it hadn't gotten to this point

9/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cancelled service with Trugreen and received another invoice for services that were added without my consent. Received call on 6/16/14 from ***** ******** stating he's going to be in my area spraying for pests and he wanted to put me on his schedule. He just needs my credit card number to get started, Visa or MasterCard. He was very patient and even said he had time to wait for me to go get my wallet. How he phrased it seemed like I had to, as he didn't ever say he was selling an additional service. I traditionally refuse to give that info out and called TruGreen and spoke w ****** who told me he was selling an additional service for them. I told her I didn't want the pest control service. I received an email the next day saying pest control had been added to my account. I called and spoke to ***** who's a manager. She said it was a mere error and tried to keep me as a customer. I also spoke to her of my concerns of their sales practices in asking for credit card numbers. I'm concerned for the elderly as it was even confusing for me. Of course no real concern on their end. I wanted my account closed #XXXXXXXXXX and it's in my husbands name ***** *********. She gave me a confirmation number of: XXXXXXXXXXXX. Yet I've received a invoice for pest control at $60.00x3=$180.00 and when I went to my online account there is nothing on there that states they cancelled my account. In fact nuisance pest control #XXXXXXXX had been added and it had added to easy pay WITHOUT me or my husbands consent. I cancelled the easy pay on the pest control and lawn plan as it was still active even though I cancelled service as per *****.

Desired Settlement: I want my account cancelled with a confirmation number emailed to me as I had originally requested from *****. I want my credit card information deleted from their records as I'm no longer their customer. Me and my husband to be placed on their do not call list. BBB to please take a closer look at their sales practices. I'm very concerned for the elderly and mentally incapacitated who're the ones that get taken advantage of.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/08/28) */ I responded to the ************* via email as per the request in the BBB letter on 7/11/14. I have included the informtion below. Good afternoon Mr. & Mrs. *********, I do apologize for the sale practice used by TruGreen that made you feel pressured into additional services. As per your request I am confirming your service for both lawn & pest control have been discontinued. The confirmation number per your BBB complaint is XXXXXXXXXXXX. I have updated our Do Not Call systems to remove your information from any sales channels. Your card information has been removed from our TruGreen records as well. The welcome aboard letter you received for the pest control please disregard since the service is no longer active. If you have any further questions or concerns please call me at XXX-XXX-XXXX my extension is XXXXXXXXXX. Thank you, ***** ****** Customer Care Coordinator 2435 West Custer Rd Branch 5300 Salt Lake City, UT 84104 (XXX) XXX-XXXX ext XXXXXXXXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/09/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I would appreciate TruGreen accepting responsibility in their actions by admitting they signed us up for pest control without our consent.

12/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes



Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/12/10) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Customer Service Representative Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX ext *** Contact Email: *********** I have looked into Ms. *******'s complaint. I find Ms. *******'s credit card company withdrew the payment of $52.55 on June 8, 2013 for the service that was completed on April 22, 2013. We spoke with Ms. ******* on Oct. 9, 2013 while explaining this is a valid charge for service rendered on April 22, 2013. We tried to reach Ms. ******* when the call was lost leaving a message with the individual's direct number. On May 23, 2013 TruGreen did go back to Ms. *******'s property to do a free re-service from the concerns about the April 22, 2013 visit. We did receive Ms. ********** payment Nov. 19, 2019 which was forwarded to our processing center in Phoenix. The paymnet was applied to the account on Nov. 21, 2013. The payment was received after the balance of $52.55 was referred to Transworld Systems on Oct 18, 2013. Transworld Systems sent Ms. ******* a notice of collection dated Nov. 20, 2013 prior to the payment being processed. TruGreen has since notified Transworld Systems that the debt has been satisfied. On Dec. 4, 2013 I received a notice from Ms. ******* on the Transworld Systems letter about the bill being paid and to stop the harrassment. The payment crossed in the processing with the letter to her from Transworld Systems. I tried to reach Ms. ******* to explain that we did receive her payment and that it had crossed with the Transworld notification on the following dates and times. Dec. 4, 2013 at 145pm, Dec. 5, XXXX XXXXam & 301pm each time I left a voicemail message with my contact information to discuss the account and her concerns. TruGreen notified Transworld Systems that the payment was received. She should also receive a letter from Transworld Systems showing the debt has been satisfied. I will be happy at address any concerns Ms. ******* has about her TruGreen services on April 22, 2013 or the re-service on May 23, 2013. The re-service was due to a poor score on our NPS survey for poor color which was set up by our service manager. My contact information is ***** ****** XXX-XXX-XXXX extension XXXXXXXXXX.

8/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: July 28, 2013TruGreen ************* ************** W. ****** ******** Lake City, Utah XXXXXTo Whom It May Concern:I am making this payment under protest as I did not receive the promised service or at least the quality of service advertised by your company. The $72 is less important to me than your potential damage to my credit history. I allegedly received two different services on the same date, however, only received the flag in the lawn that said the trees and shrubs had been serviced. There was not notice on the door and had been done previously. I didnt receive an initial invoice for the alleged April lawn service. The first notification that I received was a past due notice. I called the TruGreen office and spoke with a lady there. By that time I had received four services that I was aware of and had sent three checks, two for $72 and one for $104. The lady that I spoke with said that my account was current, and that she would notify the billing department that they had sent out the past due notice incorrectly. I then received a second past due notice within a couple of days of that call about mid-June. I called the TruGreen office again and spoke with a different lady. She said that I had received two services on one day in April, and that there was an additional $72 due. I asked for a copy of the invoice which was sent to me in early July. I am still unsure that I didnt already pay for this service with one of my earlier $72 checks. I also told her that I was totally dissatisfied with the quality of the service and was cancelling my service right then. She told me she would notify their management that I didnt feel that their service had done what it was advertised to do and see if they would cancel the bill. I did not hear a word from them until this latest notice. I then received a phone call on Tuesday, July 23, 2013 from TruGreen asking me what could they do to regain me as a customer? I told the lady that called this time that I was very disappointed in their system of alerting customers to their services provided and I was totally unhappy with the quality of their products. She then told me that they had a new weed and feed formula which would take care of the weeds that are still growing in my yard. I told her that that certainly didnt make me feel any better and that I was not interested in resuming service with ********************** *******917 ********** ********** Falls, ID TruGreen Corporate HQ Customer Service Idaho Better Business Bureau Product_Or_Service: Lawn and Treen Service

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like my $72 back, plus verification that no negative information has been placed on my credit report as a result of this dispute.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/08/28) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** Pocatello Satellite BranchManager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************** I spoke to Mr. **** ******* today (X-XX-XX) we will be refunding his last payment of $72 as requested and I did inform him that no negative information will be reflected upon his credit. He thanked me for my help and we have resolved the customers concerns. Sincerely ****** ******** Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 10, 2013/08/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Mr. ******** was very professional and gave me exactly what I was looking for, plus he apologized for the way my situation was handled.

7/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: we paid for a year service of lawn care they never came to spray the yard I called several times we asked for refund they keep saying sending check they said they came and sprayed once but that day it was raining and there was no notice on the door and we have a dog so no way they could spray the back yard with him loose we request a refund and they keep saying they are sending a check and never receive the money and today the 6th they said the check is pending wil be sendt in 10 days which we have been told over and over and taking out for the service we never received. the ceck number was 2581 cleared our bank on 4-26 we first contacted them the middle of may and have been contacting them every week and getting same story we live in Blackfoot id our account is under my cell number XXX-XXX-XXXX we always get transferred to salt lake city this was a guy that came to our door and signed us up they acknowledged the contract that I have a copy of we just want our money and if they wantto charge us for the spraying they guarantee it andwe still have weeds in the yard so they can come respray and do the job we just want this resolved

Desired Settlement: our money f 396.54 or come spray the yard like they said they did and refund of 314.54

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/07/11) */ I spoke to the customer ****** ***** on 7-10-2013. She let me know that she had recevied the first credit from the account and was waiting for the last $79.31. I let her know that the credit has been issued for the $79.31 that she is waiting on and it had been last updated on 7-02. I let her know that if she does not receive the credit by 7-17 to contact my directly. Mrs. seemed happy with the follow up and that the credit has been issued. Sincerely ****** *********

7/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: 4 weeks from contract and 3.5 weeks from full payment with no service given, 5 calls to cust svc with promises of scheduler callback. No calls or svc. On Saturday April 20th, 2013 I signed an agreement for five lawn fertilization treatments, and the sales associate indicated they would have someone out "next week" for my first application. That very afternoon someone called me to take care of full service credit card payment for a 10% discount as agreed. I missed the call but called back two days later on Monday April 22. Provided Credit Card for payment of services in the amount of $391.xx. No service technician showed up that week. I gave an additional few days then called customer service. The service representative told me she would enter a note into their system to have the local scheduler call me. I received no call and 3-4 days later I called customer service again. This time I was told "there is no scheduler, it is all automated and it takes 5-6 weeks to get into the schedule." Significant difference from "next week". I requested that someone call me within 3 days. Again I received no call. At almost 4 weeks, my credit card payment was due, but still no service, so I called again and the service rep indicated she would enter a note to have the scheduler call me. I challenged the suggestion based on the previous "automated system" statement. This time the service rep elaborated, "Yes it is automated, but we still have schedulers at the local branches who can manually schedule service." She indicated she was in Utah and would add the please call tomorrow note. She also suggested that if I didn't hear from anyone by 4:00PM the following day I should call back, as the scheduler should still be in the office. I did not get a call the next day and was unable to call until the following Monday. This time the service rep again offered to put a note in the system. I said no, so she offered to call the local branch. I requested that I be given the local branch number so I could call them directly myself. She indicated she didn't have a direct number only the extension associated with their main number. I agreed to have her call, and no one answered. At this point I indicated I was fed up and wanted to cancel my contract for a full refund. I was then transferred to the cancellation department, which turned out to be with Terminex (apparently the parent company of Tru Green). The cancellation department offered to call the local office, since I doubted that would work, I simply said I want to cancel and expected a 100% refund. She offered to have someone come out tomorrow for $39. What? I had already paid for the full year's service and they were offering to send someone out for an additional $39! At that point I insisted that my agreement be cancelled, that no-one from Tru Green call, visit or provide service and that 100% of my previous payment be refunded immediately. I also indicated that if anyone showed up to provide service it would be a gratis service. She indicated it would be 7-9 business days before the credit would be issued. It didn't take them that long to charge my card in the first place and so I requested that it be done immediately. She re-iterated the 7-9 day policy and I said I would contact my Credit Card company and the BBB to file a complaint and the conversation concluded with and exchange of "have a nice day".

Desired Settlement: I expect my full refund of $391 and a written apology from the local SLC office of Tru Green with an explanation of why their service was not given, why the requested call backs never occurred and a promise to never contact me again.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/06/26) */ I have reached out to the customer in regards to the BBB complaint and completed the customer's desired resolutions. They have been put on a national do not call list, their money has been refunded and I have sent a letter of apology. Please close case. Thanks ***** ******** SERVICE MANAGER

7/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Service provider would only service half my lawn and was charging me full price for the service. The service provider would either schedule a service date and not show up on the service date or show up unannounced. I have two large dogs in the back yard that roam free and need to be kenneled upon service. Because of the lack of communication by the service provider the back yard would not get serviced. In addition, to the back lawn not getting serviced the gate to my back yard was left opened and the dogs were getting out. I was able to tell that the back lawn was not getting services when the provider would apply pellet or granuals to the front lawn but there were no pellets or granuals in the back lawn. I complained to the company several times but the responses that I got were we can't possible schedule appoints or send phone notifications to every one. The last appointment that lead to the cancellation of my services was schedule for a thursday. I worked from home that day so I could be there to discuss the issues with the provider. The provider did not show up on thursday. Tuesday of the next week I noticed that the front lawn was serviced because of the white pellets and a receipt was left for service in full with no indication that the back lawn was not serviced. In addition, my dogs got loose as the gate was open and were roaming the neighborhood. Two days later the dogs were let out again. I called to cancel my service. Then collection calls started coming and coming. When I explained my situation the collection agent said he would speak with his manager to see if they could resolve the issue. No collection calls for a period of time. Then the collection calls started again. I finally settled for half payment to quit the collection attempts. My complaint is dishonest business practices, if only half the lawn is serviced then they need to notify the customer and make every attempt to complete the service. When service calls are scheduled especially since I had expressed concerns about my dogs and there is a potential for injury then they need to work with the customer and deliver service on the appointed day.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the last payment.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/07/12) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********** Service Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************* i called for Mr. ******* today. There was no answer so I left a message that I would issue a credit for $49.00. This was the charge for the last treatment and is what he was asking for in his letter. I informed him that the credit process normally takes about two weeks to complete. I left him a call back number in case he has any questions. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2013/07/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Payment for last service will be sufficient to settle complaint and severe our relationship

6/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service